E Line Carbon Fiber Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for E Line Carbon Fiber Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 26 Reviews

Return to E Line Carbon Fiber Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

E Line Carbon Fiber Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

skidplate

richard in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Feb 17, 2014:does the job well, no hole for oil plug.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

poor quality

MARIBEL in TX

Comments On Oct 17, 2013:I didn't crash or hit my motorcycle but the plate is broke. since the plate was placed on the bike and the motor gets hot all the coating from the skid plate broke off and the fiber gots too soft.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

E line Carbon Fiber Skid Plate

SAUL in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:The best protection for your bike. Really light and very strong to impact. No noise from rocks. A must have to protect your investment

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

save your money - buy plastic

CHARLES in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Sep 08, 2013:save yourself some money and trouble, buy a quality brand plastic one. I bought this thing and had to elongate the holes to fit my bike. it doesn't provide protection for my water pump, and is actually fiberglass. first ride out, I threw a rock up w/ my front tire and put a hole through it. plastic is half the price and slides over rocks as if it were a slippery grease mound and covers more of the bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

eline skidplate

CHRISTOPHER in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Jun 11, 2013:excellent fit and was very easy to install very lightweight quality product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not worth money. have to remove to change oil

richard in RI – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 250 SX

Comments On May 08, 2013:Does its job but gets beat up easy and fast. pain in the butt when u have to remove it every time to change oil. i drilled holes so i could drain it with the plate on but makes a mess.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hardware is crappy

Don in CO

Comments On Jun 21, 2012:The skid plate is nice, however it only mounted to the bike frame with 2 bolts! The front bracket was wedged between the frame and the engine case, not on my bike! and one bolt holding it in place in the back... an returning it...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Saved me from destroying my main frame

SIMON in GA

Comments On Jun 10, 2012:The first ride after installing this skid plate I had a serious wreck. No injuries to me thankfully, but I watched my bike get airborne 2 to 3 feet over a berm and rapidly slide down a steep slope. My bike slid on its side for several feet and the skid plate took the direct hit into a large tree. Amazingly there was a hardly a scratch on the skid plate itself and no damage to the main-frame bottom rails. As for the rest of the bike there was $1,500 of damage inc. new rear sub-frame, exhaust etc. This skid plate literally saved my bike from being a write-off as without it the main frame would definitely have been badly bent. This is the first carbon fibre component I have had, and I have no doubt that a metal skid plate would not have fared so well. The force resistance properties of carbon fibre is amazing and this E-Line skid plate is one tough piece of armor! No hesitation to recommend - I bought one immediately for my son's CRF150R!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

if this skid plate is good enough for JCR,

nick in AZ

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Its good enough for anyone. Bought this skid plate and put it on my Baja 500 race bike. Held up awesome and laughed at everything thrown its way. I was pretty concerned since it was only mounted via 2 spots but it was as solid as the rocks bouncing off of it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hard to mount

TROY in UT

Comments On May 17, 2012:looks good...hard to mount on my Honda 250
clutch still needs more protection

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Light and strong!

Darrell in OR

Comments On Apr 05, 2012:Cool looking way to protect that expensive investment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks great

James in CA

Comments On Mar 15, 2012:Looks really nice and fits perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit and protection, looks great too!

CHRIS in MO

Comments On Nov 08, 2011:Not sure what all the fuss about fitment is, mine fit my 07'YZ450 like a glove. It must be removed to change the oil but that takes about 2 minutes to do, and 2 minutes to put back on also. Protection is great, I ride a lot of shelf rock and do a lot of brush busting and this thing takes the abuse no problem. I've used aluminum plates for years and will be using CF from here on out. Mine fits snug up to the bike and protects alot more than any aluminum model can since it wraps around everything.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not CF, Mounting system sucks!

Carl in CA

Comments On May 30, 2011:First of all this is not true Carbon fiber, it is just thick heavy fiberglass with 1 layer of cf looking cloth underneath. fit was terrible, I had to grind off a corner so I could adjust my PV. and the mounting system, 2 threaded bars that have to ride inside the frame rails - the worst design ever by a human being. it also collects lots of dirt mud and oil.
so if you want an overpriced piece of bling you can brag about to your buddies - go for it. to actually protect your bike, you have alot of other choices, better prices and better engineered!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The Best

John in MA

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Awesome Product! Expensive, but the best.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits and Works Awesome!

Doug in OR

Comments On Sep 20, 2010:If your a Track rider or out in the woods this product is a MUST HAVE! Take the old one off and this guy mounts right on, it did on my 08 YZ450F anyways. I used some Blue Loctite just because I hate to loose bolts. It sure helps keeping all the mud and debris from getting under the motor and in between the frame and cooking due to heat. I spray with Pam, Yes the cooking spray and I have not yet had to use a stick to pry off track mud. Great product and YES, it's light too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Product

Taylor in WA

Comments On Jun 30, 2009:I bought this for my '05 RM-Z 250 and it took forever to put on because my mounts are bent out of place. But i Love the plate and will buy one for every bike i own!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Trick product

Tim in MI

Comments On Apr 28, 2009:I run on the last few bikes, they flow better when going through mud. They seem to hold up to plenty of abuse. Some maintenance is more difficult with them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect protection for my YZ125

Stephen in AZ

Comments On Dec 28, 2008:This skid plate looks awesome, fits great and has already saved me a lot of money. The plate took around 10 minutes to install and is a very solid fit. It doesn't resonate a tinny noise like some aluminum plates do. I really like this skid plate, and I would recommend to it anyone.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

There is no better choice really

JEFF in CA

Comments On Oct 25, 2008:I've used E-Line carbon skid plates for years and they are fantastic. Will they wear forever especially when compared to a metal based skid plate? No - but for what I look for, it is perfect. It is very lightweight, fits well, stands up to rocks/roots/etc. and doesn't seem to make as much noise. Metal plates seem to loosen up more often and rattle - haven't had that issue here. The only knocks on the product are the price (I think it's worth the cost) and oil changes. Depending on the model, you may have to remove it when changing your oil. I have an 08 YZ450F and it has to come off.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fits Great- super tough.

DYLAN in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2008:The plate fit just right no problems getting it on! i have done 1000 miles in baja going 50 to 90 mph and i ride rocky trails, all with out any problems. I like the plate a lot. Recommend it for sure. I wonder if some people order the wrong one for their bikes because no one i know has had an issue with fitting, that's one benefit of the material is that it can easily be formed to a perfect custom shape.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

poor excuse for protection

EDWARD in TN

Comments On Apr 01, 2008:Bought for 2008 KLX450r and the plate had a 1.75" gap between the frame and the front of the plate. Made a spacer to take up the room and then rode with it one time at Loretta Lynn's. The black "carbon fiber" looking outer layer peeled off and one rock thrown almost penetrated the plate. I have an aluminum plate on a CRF250X which is four years old and is still holding up great. I would not recommend this product. Also saw one ordered for a WR250F and it fit worse than mine, he sent it back also.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bolts Right Up!

LEE in CO

Comments On Nov 27, 2007:I put the skid plate on my 07 KX450F and it bolted right up. I even left the original plastic case guard on the bike behind the skid plate. I haven't taken any real hard hits with it yet but it does hold up well to front wheel spray. It comes off easily for oil changes and is well made with quality hardware.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The perfect skid plate!

R. Scott in GA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I've had this skid plate on my '06 CRF450R since I bought the bike. I ride woods/mtns. and have the bike set up accordingly. The ELine skid plate has performed perfectly. I've hit many large rocks, logs, etc. and the plate has laughed at all of them. I've been told by others that the carbon fiber won't hold up to impacts and will crack and shatter. I know differently. It's tough as nails and there is no annoying echo as is found with aluminum plates.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Have a hacksaw handy

Dave in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The product arrived intact & appeared to be dynamite! However, not realizing I would have to retrofit this product...it's a good thing a hacksaw was near by. For my 1999 CR 250 equipped with a pro circuit pipe the part on the right front side had to be cut, re-cut & then re-cut to fit. For $140.00, I would think it would have been a snap to install...WRONG! Next time, I'll opt for a works connection aluminum plate for my CR 500 for less than half the cost.
Other than the cutting I suppose it's alright. It looks cool, super light & seems to have good protection for the under carriage. I guess I just expected more.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Fit

KEVIN in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Skid plate bolted right up. I tried a different brand before this one and it wouldn't fit right. This one bolted right up and fit's well. Strong enough to handle climbing around on slickrock.

Was this review helpful?