Warp 9 Complete Wheel Kit - Rear

Customer Reviews for Warp 9 Complete Wheel Kit - Rear

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 27 Reviews

Return to Warp 9 Complete Wheel Kit - Rear Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Warp 9 Complete Wheel Kit - Rear Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2013 crf450r

jeremy in ID

Comments On Apr 14, 2014:Good looking rim set. And perfect fit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

got a matching rear

Kev in New Mexico – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:got a matching rear after I toasted the front OEM wheel, again I was impressed. the sprocket bolts had thread lock applied as did the rotor. and just like the front I purchased the wheel spacers were installed with grease in the seals. these wheels are literally ready to roll out of the box. I have been running these wheels for about 6 months, I checked the spokes like the instructions suggested but I haven't need to tighten them at all. with the rotors and sprocket included its the best deal I could find.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better then expected.

Rodney in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:This wheel came and surprised me with the look of it. What a great looking wheel. It is going to look AWESOME on my KTM. Made well and comes complete with sprocket and disc brake. Spokes seem to be sturdy and my friends that have this wheel love it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Wheel Set

DAVID in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Sep 07, 2013:As good if not better that higher priced wheels. Holding up well in cross county and MX. Check spokes during and after first ride, as with any new wheel they will loosen.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice wheel

Frode in 1 – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Aug 21, 2013:Bought this wheel to use with my sand tire, fits nice and have a cool look, but remember to thigthen the spokes after a few rides. This was the cheapest wheel i could find out there. Only thing i am missing are the possibility to choose a different tooth on the sprocket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Now it's Dangerous

Jeffrey in NY

Comments On Apr 09, 2013:Bought both front and rear set for 2011 KX250F. Warp9 rear hub and rotor is not compatible with stock. Holes are spaced properly, but bolts are smaller. Nuts striped easily when trying to remove, so needed to use vice grips. I replaced the bolts with higher quality hardware and fabricated spacers to work with the OEM rotor. The sprocket is interchangeable, so that was good. Front rotor was fine, too. But, the front wheel hub is thinner than stock, so special spacers came with the kit. Unfortunately, the right spacer was 3mm too short. Not just annoying but potentially dangerous. The OEM cap for the right side won't work either. So . . . Annoying. They look good. We'll see how they hold up. Yes, I will check the spokes!

Additional Comments On Apr 27, 2013:OK, so here is the update. Despite the initial disappointments, we put these wheels on our 2011 KX250F after installing the proper spacer (which I am sure the company would have sent me if I had asked, which I didn't). I have the sprocket and rotors that came with the wheel, and I'll probably sell them on e-bay, but here is the bottom line:
The rims came out of the box perfectly straight and round. I followed the instructions to the letter, even buying a torque wrench (from RMATVMC of course) and using it properly. My son hit the various tracks with lots of speed, and even hit a few trees in the woods. Those rims are still looking brand new, and they are perfectly straight and round. Comments around the track among buddies is that the hubs really make the bike stand out. I may upgrade to 5 stars later in the season, but for now I still remember the hassle of putting on my brand new stock rear rotor and having to fab spacers so it would fit, and, of course, the front spacer was wrong. So that takes a star off. Would I buy these again, knowing what I know? Yup.

Additional Comments On Jul 28, 2013:Most people aren't maintenance freaks in general, and that's OK. I am, but I have never paid so much attention to spoke tension as I do now. Reason being, I re-torqued those Warp 9 spokes with a spoke torque wrench (bought on RM) to spec as directed. Then again after the next ride. Then again, and again, and they were fine. Then I let a couple of practices go, and re-checked before a race on Friday.
I had anywhere from zero to 4 turns on the spokes to get them tight again. They were loose enough so I could move them with my fingers. This is a recipe for disaster.
I think if you are diligent about checking spokes, you won't have an issue, but this should not be as much of a concern as it has become.
I buy a LOT of stuff from RM, and I hope someone takes note of this, because I don't usually have time to post product reviews, but this is a safety issue, and RM is better than this product, by far. Don't buy these. Really.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

Tim in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jul 14, 2013:Love this wheel no problems with it have had on bike for almost 2 months an ride at least twice a week I have checked the spokes every other ride but they have not loosened up at all so I'm not shore what other people are talking about checked with(spoke torque wrench) an bearing are holding up nicely defiantly recommend this wheel!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great wheel / Good price

Sheldon in Colorado

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:I stumbled across Warp 9 looking for a replacment wheel after breaking my oem excel wheel. man oem and talon are asking crazy money. I took a chance and order a Warp 9 and I must say im really impressed with the quality of the wheel. the pictures dont do them justice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CRF450X rear wheel

Kevin in Wyoming

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:Cracked my D.I.D. rear rim and this complete wheel was cheaper than just the rim. ran it in 3 desert races so far and shes straight as an arrow. great value with the rotor and sprocket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Second set and love them

John Brady in California

Comments On Mar 14, 2013:This is my second set of Warp 9's. Sold my 2008 bike that had them on there so I purchased this set for my 2012. My old wheels worked perfect and I ride pretty much every week. They lasted just as well if not better than any wheels I have ever owned. My new ones look sick and look to be more refined than my last set. Honestly can't tell the machine work and quality apart from the expensive wheel brands. Have ridden the new ones 7 times and still perfect. Totally transormed the way my bike looks and they perform perfectly. Warp 9 is great and the price is soooo much better than any other wheel assembley. Not to mention mine come with a killer black sprocket that was not even shown in the photo.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I love these wheels

Bill in Rhode Island – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 400 XC-W

Comments On Mar 12, 2013:I purchased a front and rear set almost a year ago. I rode them thru Baja and punished these poor things by riding almost 20 miles offroad with a flat tire and they held up great. the whole reason I bought the Warp 9 wheels because my stock Excel rear rim cracked in 3 spots. so far there holding up great and I havnt had to touch the spokes other than the very first ride. I will definatly be buying another set if they ever wear out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

looks super nice and good quality

JEROME in QC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Jan 25, 2013:looks very nice, quality seems good after few month of riding. a super alternative, innexpensive choice for replacement!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Spokes will drive you mad.

HUTCH in AB

Comments On Oct 07, 2012:I had a pair of warp 9 wheels and had a constant problem of the spokes coming loose all the time even after a year of riding. One day forgot to check them went for some laps around the track and then I started to get a really bad vibration in the front tire over a big jump.. Stopped and front tire was flopping around. Every spoke had backed completely off and was missing several. This was after like 5 laps. Any wheel that can go from fairly tight and safe to falling apart and almost killed me in 5 laps doesnt work for me. This was the second time this happened to me with the front tire and it did it once on the rear. So after three times I got rid of them. Ive never had wheels that the spokes would come loose so fast in my life. I could understand if they were brand new and just breaking in but I had road on them for a year and used a spoke torue wrench on them after every second ride. If I ever forgot to check them it always turned out bad Keep a very close eye on your spokes if you have bought these rims.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

installed on 2007 yzf 450

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Aug 05, 2012:when i bought these i had a problem with the dust seal cover making a high pitch noise rubbing the alminum hub. called the dealer he said to trim down the dust seal so it wasnt rubbing with the hub. after i did that worked good. but later on after riding i had problems with breaking spokes. for the time and money i would of rather buy something better than these rims.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dont ride hard!!

SHAWN in CA

Comments On Sep 21, 2010:I use this wheel about two times a year since 07 after a few trips to the dunes I started to loose spokes ( pulled through the hub )I would snug them up before each ride but they didnt last long. If you dont jump or ride hard they might hold up, if you do look for a better wheel,spend the money now or later,but after loosing a weekend of riding due to a cheap wheel I will spend more for a higher quality wheel next time.
TECH NOTE: MAKE SURE NOT TO OVERTIGHTEN SPOKES. USE A SPOKE TORQUE WRENCH TO GET THE PROPER TENSION

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good for a while...

Vince in AZ

Comments On Jan 19, 2010:I bought this wheel for my 00 Honda CR250 in 2007. it was only ridden at the dunes a total of 25-30 times. Today I took a close look at the bike and happened to notice seven spokes had snapped... my stock wheel, which has been abused much harder than this, is still working great..

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well built

Zachary in PA

Comments On Oct 12, 2009:I love this rim. I bent my stock rim and replaced it in june of 09. I have had no problems with it. I haven't even had to tighten the spokes. The best part is I saved $140 by buying this instead of a stock replacement. The rim and spokes are thicker than stock but it is still lighter. It is awesome and it comes fully assembled right out of the box.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

quality wheel

ERIK in NV

Comments On Mar 11, 2009:I put an 18" rear wheel, complete with sprocket and rotor, on a YZ250. After much trail riding in the high desert, it hasn't dented, its spokes are still tight, and its bolts are still tight.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent for the price, but...

Glen in IL

Comments On Aug 31, 2008:Wheel bearings exploded after a couple rides.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cheap Hubs

Jimmy in AR

Comments On Feb 12, 2008:Works well and looks good. Great price good wheel.
Additional Comments On Aug 22, 2008:Be careful you get what you pay for. I bought a rear wheel kit and on the 6th ride out my hub busted in the middle. When my mechanic saw this he was in shock. Note this was not done on a MX track but in the woods. When I called the manufacture they just wanted to sell me a new hub at half the cost of a new wheel. No thanks.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for a good Price

TRAVIS in UT

Comments On Jan 13, 2008:This is a good 2nd wheel setup for the switch in and out for the sand.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Warp 9 Complete Wheel Kit - Rear

Nicholas in CA

Comments On Dec 05, 2007:The wheel is great for the inexpensive price. It comes with 1 spacer which I found to be absolutley useless, but the spacers from my stock wheel popped right on this wheel. Wheel works great as my spare with a paddle tire.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Warp 9 Wheel Kit is Terrific

Patrick in HI

Comments On Nov 10, 2007:I purchased a Warp 9 wheel kit and I am very happy with it. The pricing was very good and the wheel holds up to the usual wear and tear of trail riding.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Spokes break on flat ground.

LARRY in IL

Comments On Nov 01, 2007:I purchased a new Warp 9 rear wheel. made sure spokes were not too tight or loose . Wheel ran true. Spokes were breaking on flat ground, on a CRF450r flattrack bike. I had to relace the wheel using all stock Honda spokes. Now I love this wheel. Larry from Il.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

wheel kit

THOMAS in MI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:wheel is awesome, very good quality. does not come with the spacers that go in between the axle and the wheel, you will need the ones from your old wheel but it is simple to switch between the two. makes changing tires very easy or is a great replacement for an old rim.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome wheel

MIKE in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:The WARP company really surprised me. This is superb quality. I have ran it everywhere and to date, no "tacos". It is strong and holds its shine.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great wheel

JASON in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Wheel works great, looks good, includes rotor and sprocket, excellent spare wheel.

Was this review helpful?