Tusk Impact Complete Front/Rear Wheel Kit

Customer Reviews for Tusk Impact Complete Front/Rear Wheel Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 24 Reviews

Return to Tusk Impact Complete Front/Rear Wheel Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Impact Complete Front/Rear Wheel Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

get what you pay for

rich in Oregon – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:Got these wheels because of all the great reviews and I am disappointed in the quality of the product. The wheels came true and with all spokes tight on the first ride I bent the front wheel super bad and broke a spoke. definitely would not recommend the wheels to anybody better to just spend the extra money and get a good set.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect fit, better than OEM

Simon in QC – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Jun 29, 2014:These wheels are awesome, they are 100% compatible with OEM but are stronger than the stock KTM wheels, very happy with my purchase and as bonus they add some nice bling to the bike!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Unreal price for the quality

Tyler B in Ohio – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 27, 2014:Out of the box this set has flawless fit and finish. Just as nice as any high end wheel set. All spokes came tight and rims true. I have 2 MX rides on them soo far and no complaints. spokes all still tight and true. would recommend them to anyone looking for an aftermarket set. You will not be disappointed. Have several other tusk products and all are great quality expecially for the prices. Keep up the strong work Tusk.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Going strong!

DAIMIAN in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 525 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Jun 02, 2014:Have 2 harescrambles and about 150 trail miles and so far no complaints! As you should already know make sure to check the spokes after the first 4-5 rides and periodically after that. That's just maintenance on any wheel set. People have wondered about weight, my oem KTM (Excel) 21/18 wheelset came in bare at 6.8 lbs front and 9.4 lbs rear. The Tusk wheels (same sizes) came in at 6.6 lbs front and 9.4 lbs rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks Great!

Todd in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Apr 27, 2014:I am really pleased with the durability and look of the rims. Way less expensive than anything else out there.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great purchase

Neal in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Apr 21, 2014:I have put 5 rides on these wheels and have had zero issues with them. They were true on arrival, and check the spokes after every ride and have not had any issue with them loosening. I have put a lot of miles on them in those five rides and have hit big rocks, and have had no bending or any issue. They look amazing and are holding up nicely. Will add to review in a month or so.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

sweet !!!

David in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Apr 14, 2014:For the money you will not find a better wheel set !!! They look sharp and are very durable !!! Very pleased !!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very very very impressed with these wheels!!!!

Robert in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 07, 2014:At first I was skeptical about ordering these, as most people would be especially for the price, but after inspecting them I'm very impressed with the quality and workmanship that accompany these wheels. Everything about these wheels are solid, the spokes are heavy duty, and the fit and finish are on par with other top brands. The spoke nipples even have anti-seize in them. I will be ordering more sets for my other bikes.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

crf 450X not R

STAN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 31, 2014:I wanted to share that I bought these Wheels knowing that the odometer for the CRF 450X would NOT work with these Wheels. All I had to do to get the front wheel to work was remove the odometer hub and REUSE the OME larger spacer. So the down side is that I have one Black spacer that came with the Wheel and then one Silver spacer. I put the silver spacer on the disc side so you don't really notice it. I guess I can put a little black paint on the spacer. I was also told by a local shop that I could buy a CRF R front axle and that would solve the issue as well.
I would say (unscientific guess-timate) the Wheels are about the same weight as the OEM wheels. I would compare the construction with OEM, only have one ride on them and no issues.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

You don't always get what you pay for,

Zach in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 31, 2014:Sometime you really do come by a great deal, like this wheels. The craftsman ship and quality is outstanding for the price. Everything came in perfect shape, with no need to torque or true. Will definitely use Tusk again for all my wheel needs.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Wheels, Even better Price!!!

Lenny in North Carolina – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 18, 2014:These wheels are great just as good as the 1,000$ sets. I'm impressed three rides in the woods spokes still tight. you will need the Tusk spoke torque wrench.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Happy overall

Vince in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 05, 2014:Wheels look great! The rear was tight and true. The front however was not!!!! Bum deal because thats why I bought a complete set was that i did not have a true stand. However was able to get close enough. Just did not want to have to deal with truing them other wise 5 stars!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Buy

kevin in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Mar 02, 2014:If you are looking for great wheels and don't want to spend $1000 these are for you. Excellent quality and durability. Been riding them for 6 months and they are holding up fine. I still get compliments on them all the time too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Totally Sick

DEAN in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Feb 15, 2014:These wheels are top shelf. They look awesome at half the price of $1000. 00 wheel sets. If I could suggest one thing to RMATVMC would be include a set of rim savers and a touch up pen like they have for car touch up paint. Sooner or later they will scratch so this would be a nice accessory to have.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great wheels,fit,finish and pricing are excellent!

Jeff in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:I debated over what wheels to buy for my KTM for months,i think i read every review on every wheel i could find on the internet,I was unable to find any bad reviews on the tusk wheels.The pricing is obviously great compared to any wheel out there and being that i'm maintaining multiple machines that is very important.The wheels were packaged nicely when i received them,the fit and finish are excellent,all the spokes were tight and the wheel was true.I have not ridin on them yet and will continue to add to this review as far as durability,but as of right now they seem to be a pretty solid wheel.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice wheels,fit,finish and price are great!!!

Jeff in Connecticut – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:I debated over what wheels to buy for my KTM for months,i think i read every review on every wheel i could find on the internet,I was unable to find any bad reviews on the tusk wheels.The pricing is obviously great compared to any wheel out there and being that i'm maintaining multiple machines that is very important.The wheels were packaged nicely when i received them,the fit and finish are excellent,all the spokes were tight and the wheel was true.I have not ridin on them yet and will continue to add to this review as far as durability,but as of right now they seem to be a pretty solid wheel.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product at an unbeatable price!

KEVIN in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 125 SX

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:I've had no issues whatsoever with these wheels. Well-built ... durable ... good looks. Take care of these wheels ... and they'll take care of you.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good buy

Chris in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Feb 02, 2014:For the price these wheels are great. Have had no issues with this product other then normal maintenance. Like all wheels, spokes will need to be adjusted. Would recommend tusk spoke torque wrench with this purchase.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pleased.

PRESTON in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Oct 31, 2013:Usually you get what you pay for, especially in a wheel. I found the Tusk wheels to be better than expected. The weight was the same as my stock wheels. The hubs, spokes, and nipples are very heavy duty. I have 10 hard mx hours on them and no problems whatsoever. I found the nipples need torqued out of the box, due to uneven torque settings from the factory. I torqued the nipples before my first ride and have only had to adjust a few spokes lightly since my first ride, and this was only on the rear. I found the maintenance to be the same as riding with stock wheels. I have no dings in the rims and they are still running true. The front and rear nipples are aluminum and are the same wrench size which is convenient. As of now I have no complaints.

Additional Comments On Jan 22, 2014:Usually you get what you pay for, especially in a wheel. I found the Tusk wheels to be better than expected. The weight was the same as my stock wheels. The hubs, spokes, and nipples are very heavy duty. I have 10 hard mx hours on them and no problems whatsoever. I found the nipples need torqued out of the box, due to uneven torque settings from the factory. I torqued the nipples before my first ride and have only had to adjust a few spokes lightly since my first ride, and this was only on the rear. I found the maintenance to be the same as riding with stock wheels. I have no dings in the rims and they are still running true. The front and rear nipples are aluminum and are the same wrench size which is convenient. As of now I have no complaints.-------Update. Approaching 30 hours. No complaints whatsoever! Impressed with the durability.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Quality!!!!

Paul in Washington – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Aug 28, 2013:Bought complete 18" rear Tusk wheel. Looks great and has taken 1000+ miles of abuse. Have ridden on mostly rocky trails with occasional big jumps/flat landings. As others have reported, you must re-torque the spokes after the first 5 or so rides. But you should expect that. Also bought just a front and back rim and have only one ride on the front so far, but quality seems to be the same. Thanks for the great quality and a reasonable price!!!! Fully recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Didn't fit 2000 CR250R

Dakota in Colorado – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Aug 17, 2013:purchased for a 2000 CR250R. These rims look great. But they did not fit my bike, had to fabricate my own shoulder bolts for the rear brake to fit properly, and I'm in the proccess of trying to fix my front brake situation. Although the sprocket did fit. Would not recommend.
Tech Notes: Will fit 2002 and newer CR250r. 00-01 will require 2002 front spacer and 2002 rear rotor.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

So far, so good.

Sandy in GA

Comments On Aug 06, 2013:Needed 2 new wheels and tires so I took a chance on these mainly because of price and some online reviews... They are both true and look great. Made it thru a couple of rough trail rides so far and look no worse for the wear.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great wheels

BEN in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Jul 31, 2013:Great looking wheels awesome looking hubs and for the price .... cant beat it !!!
Been out once so far and hit some pretty rough terrain .... wheels are still running true.....
And shipping .... could not have gone and picked them up faster .. super fast!!!
Very happy with these ...
Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Top quality.

Dane in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Jul 17, 2013:From a quality standpoint I am impressed, really good finish and solid construction. The materials seem to be top notch as well, these are much like the Warp9's from what I can gather. Love the fact that they came pre-assembled too, saved me a bunch of time.

Was this review helpful?