Tusk Motorcycle Enduro Lighting Kit

Customer Reviews for Tusk Motorcycle Enduro Lighting Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 32 Reviews

Return to Tusk Motorcycle Enduro Lighting Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Motorcycle Enduro Lighting Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gets a dirt bike legal

paige in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Aug 15, 2014:Good kit! Everything to make a dirt bike road legal. I bought it with the front brake switch too since thats all i ever stop with. The rear lights leak some moisture into them but thats no big deal. just seal them up before you put them on. over all its a great kit for the price compared to the other expensive brands that are all the same stuff

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kdx200 1995

Lord Williams in New York

Comments On Jun 29, 2014:For such a cheap price this kit works very well and I will be buying another one very soon

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Simple and cost effective kit.

Ted in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:I installed this kit onto my father in-laws '06 crf450x. The Kit was easy to install, wiring diagram was simple and effective and the parts were good for the price. Very cool to be able to get it all together. Took 4 hrs to install complete kit and fab up front turn signal mounts. I know I could do it again in half the time... first time you are learning the layout of the harness and best location for relay, signals and horn etc.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent kit for converting to dual sport

Edward in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Apr 28, 2014:I installed this kit on my 2006 Honda CRF 250x, mostly in preparation of some upcoming riding in Moab, but also so I can do the occassional ride from my house to trails. I probably could have pieced together the parts and built my own kit for less, but the Tusk kit was well priced and easy to install. I did not install the rear under fender brake kit however, instead I wired into my existing brake light which is an Acerbis one that came with a Acerbis plastic kit I previously bought. For those that have the dual tail light (can do tail and brake functions) and want the tail/brake light to come on without having to use the Tusk on/off switch, just leave the existing wiring into the brake light that turns on the tail light, and then wire into the brake light wire, the wire that comes from the banjo bolt switch. This allows the tail light to come on when the bike starts, and the brake light will function as well. So now I only use the Tusk on/off switch to turn on the horn function and the turn signals. The only thing the kit does not come with is a way to mount the front turn signals. I went to Home Depot, bought some cheap metal flashing and fabricated some small mounts to allow the turn signals to attach on outside of the top triple clamp pinch bolts. I should also say figuring out the wiring of the headlight off/low/high beam took a little tinkering and I wish the Tusk instructions were a little better on this side. All in all, a well priced kit that works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I am Very Pleased !

Aubrey Roche in Oregon – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 SUZUKI DR-Z 400E

Comments On Apr 25, 2014:I really Enjoyed installing this kit ! The Quality was surprisingly Good for the Price !
It works Very Well !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent value...Almost Perfect.....

James in Colorado – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Feb 20, 2014:Good: Fit and finish is great. Lights are bright and easily visible during the daytime. Harness is a good length and goes together well.
Bad: The headlight switch was a little confusing to get working. The black wire isn't a ground but a B+ feed, and there is nowhere on the harness for it to go. The wiring diagrams call this wire "Main". In my mind it should be a red wire and have somewhere on the rest of the harness to plug into.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great!!!! used in CRF450R 2005

francis in PUERTO RICO

Comments On Feb 13, 2014:I USED THIS ON MY CRF450R WITH TRAILTECH STATOR KIT, WORKS GREAT!!!THE ONLY THING IS THAT THE HEAD LIGHT SWITCH ITS JUST THAT A SWITCH, YOU HAVE TO POWER THE HEADLIGHT FROM THE BATTERY THEN TO THE SWITCH, CUZ IT ONLY SWIYCH FROM OFF TO LOW AND HI BEAM IT DOESNT GIVE POWER TO THE HEADLIGHT, YOU TAKE THE NEATRAL DIRECTLY TO THE HEADLIGHT AND THE POWER FROM THE BATTERY TO THE BLACK CABLE OF THE SWITCH AND IT WILL WORK!!! OF COURSE THIS IS ONLY FOR MOTORCYCLES THAT DOESNOT HAVE A STOCK HEADLIGHT LIKE THE CRF450R HOPE THIS HELP YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Josh in AL – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA XR400R

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:This kit is worth the $. Stop looking elsewhere and buy this. You will not find a better product for the price. I have many TUSK products and this is another great TUSK product. I mostly ride in the woods and only use the license tag and this kit to get me to the trails. I didn't need anything fancy. This kit does exactly what it needs to. I have had it installed for many miles now and have not had any issues. The only thing that's annoying is the battery. But, I've only had to charge it once. I will only turn the power to this kit on when a car gets behind me of if an officer is around. Also, installation is a breeze!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

Davide in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KTM 250 EXC

Comments On Aug 04, 2013:After watching the video, and reading instructions, I install the kit ,everything work fine, great product

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

wr450

jolayne in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2013:the parts reached my door in 3 days killer lighting kit installation was easy & very clean thanks rocky mountain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to install

Darin in NV

Comments On Jan 31, 2013:This kit was very easy to install and has held up very good for the past year. Since you can install the entire system without cutting into the stock wiring is a big plus. The battery hold up well and has only needed to be charged once in the past 8 months. This is the kit for an easy conversion

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good kit for the money

dave in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Dec 23, 2012:For half the price of other kits, worth the money. Most of us use this set up to get to the trails, not for constant street riding. Goes on pretty easy, but the headlight wiring was a bit of a puzzle. Remember, most components of the kit are generic- you'll have to fit/drill/cut, etc. for your particular bike. Getting everything to fit on the handlebars is a squeeze. The mirror is only good for making the bike legal.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well worth every dollar

Ray in OH

Comments On Jul 14, 2012:I put this kit on my 2005 CRF450X. It was easy, just a little time consuming. Directions are very clear. I suggest watching the video also. You might get a lot of air in the brake line so be sure to take time and bleed them properly.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quality kit at an affordable price.

DOUGLAS in WA

Comments On Jun 12, 2012:This kit is complete and simple for the standard dual sport conversion. For the price you can't beat it! I installed the kit on my CRF450X with no problems. I do have some recommendations to improve the kit.
When you install it buy a key switch that has a closed and open circuit (standard cheap Chinese 4 wheeler switch), wire the "closed" circuit it to replace the "on/off" switch that's include with the kit. After that's done you can wire in your factory kill switch to the open side and you have a key switch that turns on all your accessories and kills the bike when you turn it off. This also makes it a little harder for the honest thief to steal your bike.
The minor complaints that I have are that the headlight switch is separate from the accessory circuit, this means the headlight is not turned off by the "on/off" if you have the headlight wired via fuse to the battery vice the stock power supply(this is easily solved by a standard normally open relay). Also, the license plate mount does not extend down low enough for most states street legal requirements, this is easily solved with a rubber mud flap (I used a factory KTM).
The ability to add Hi/Lo functions to the stock headlight is a great feature and the controls look clean and almost factory. I would diffidently recommend this to anyone that doesn’t want to shell out the 500 bucks for a "not much better" Baja Designs kit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Turn signal lights are bright

DAVID in OR

Comments On Jun 11, 2012:Had to make some brackets to hold the front lights, but was easy and they look great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WR 250

Pat in CA

Comments On May 25, 2012:I have had this kit on my bike for about a year now and have few complaints. The install was really easy (watch the video tutorial first). The biggest gripe for me would be the battery. NiCds are 1980's technology and perform like it. Found a post on Thumper Talk on how to run the kit off my stator (AC) with an inverter (about $2.50 at radio shack). Could add a real (lead acetate?)battery, but I don't really need to. Buy it dude.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DRZ400E INSTALL

STEPHEN in TN

Comments On May 12, 2012:Kit was straight forward - BUT check local requirements - I had to purchase an additional hydraulic brake switch for my front brake (same type as rear) and a second (right-side) mirror in order to pass inspection. Only issue I had was getting rear brake switch to fit. It will not fit at the master cylinder (too tall), but I was told that it would fit at the caliper end. I ended up upgrading my master cylinder to a Honda CRF450 master cylinder and still needed to trim bracket where the old stock reservoir mounted. Kit headlight switch enables you to use both high and low beams with the stock headlight - no extra bulb required. I would recommend buying other side mirrors as the Tusk mirrors are too short to view around/over your arms. I also purchased a speedometer which was a simple install as well. After all is said and done - street legal DRZ400E!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice set up

MICHAEL in ME

Comments On Apr 26, 2012:tail light needs to be sealed better otherwise excelent kit for the money

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product & Low price!

George in CA

Comments On Apr 11, 2012:I installed this Kit on my 2006 Honda CRF 450x. It was simple with little hard wiring & easy to follow instructions. i really like the low profile turn signals and taillight. Awesome kit for the money.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good value

JEFF in CT

Comments On Feb 29, 2012:I have purchased 2 and installed over 5 of these kits over the years. For the money you can't beat them. However, I have experienced multiple brake light switch failures. RMC will replace them free if you send the bad one in first, so buy an extra switch with your kit. Also the mirror is too short to be of any use but longer mirrors are very cheap. Overall I will continue to buy these kits and recommend them to someone looking to cheaply and easilly convert their bike for street use. Why spend more?

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cant beat it

Jeff in NV

Comments On Nov 01, 2011:Installed on my XR600 and Xr250. Excellent quality for the price. Passed Nevada DMV. Excellent video and support, why buy Baja Designs for more. Tell everybody about this kit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quality at a discount

Jed in UT

Comments On Jul 21, 2011:I decided on this kit for my CRF 450x. The install was simple and it works great. I have used it for over a year now and have had no problems. It is cheaper than some of the other designs out there and is just as good if not better.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good- could have been better

REX in UT

Comments On Jul 01, 2011:I have a 2006, KTM 450 EXC, all stock.
The kit was good but could have been better for my application. The stock KTM tail light already comes with a standard trailer light (number 1157- buy anywhere)that has the tail light and brake light pre-wired in and ready to use with the wire connector under the seat. However, the Tusk wiring harness connector does not mate with the stock KTM connector. I wanted to keep using the stock tail light/fender extension, much stronger, well designed, so I needed to modify the Tusk connector to mate with the stock version. Also, my KTM came stock with Pro-Taper handle bars. Those bars are thicker than regular bars and the control module, on/off switch, rear view mirror only fit right next to the grips making things difficult to work in. Hope this helps with KTMs'

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

sweet

Stan in ID

Comments On Jul 12, 2011:great kit. I have put three of them on now and i am very happy with all of them. The kit has been proven over miles and miles of gnarly off road. i like it!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable for the price!!!

janette in CA

Comments On May 26, 2011:very good product....some parts are cheap quality like the mirror mount,but for the price a full enduro kit is crazy good,it passed dmv inspection.if you bought the baja designs kit you would spend around 350$ for a tiny bit better qualaty,its not worth it,get tusk!!!! i have the baja one on another bike.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product!

BRENDA in IL

Comments On May 14, 2011:it was relatively easy, and quick to install. i worked on it for about 3-4 hours, and had my bike set up. with a little of tapping into the stock wireing harnus, you can hook up things to the switches also. Great product, got my klx300 street legal!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent.

Jeremy in AB

Comments On May 04, 2011:I have dual sported 2 WR450s in the last few years and this kit is heads and tails above the other one I used. Easy to follow instructions, quality bits and pieces, everything just seemed to go on easily and there is no other kit which can come close to the price. Only minus would be the Tusk side mirror. Not good at all.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can't beat it for the price

brad in MI

Comments On Mar 22, 2011:Easy to install and look good, but the flasher module didn't work out of the box, had to be replaced, Rockymountain sent a new one, no questions asked and now its up and running. For sure would recommend a friend to buy. Keep up the great work rockymountain!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

No one beats it

John in IN

Comments On Oct 27, 2010:Most of these components are the same as Baja Designs kits yet cheaper. The parts are produced by the same companies just branded differently. The switch doesn't have the indicator like the Baja but it's no big deal. Easy enough to tell which is on. This meets all of Indiana's standards except for having speedometer. Easy to hook up, does not hook into the stock harness unless you want it to. I hooked up a trail tech regulator/rectifier to charge the battery. It works great too. The battery had to have some wires spliced but simple enough. Love this kit for the price, you really can't beat it if you are on a budget.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great kit

Brad in UT

Comments On Jul 27, 2010:We just installed this kit on our 2009 WR450F. It fit like it came from the factory and works great. This product is much nicer than the Baja Design kit. Rocky Mountain knows how to treat their customers and sells quality parts. Thanks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great kit

Mark in CA

Comments On Apr 27, 2010:I have put one on my WR and now I am going to put one on my wifes TTR125 (I put a polisport headlight on as well). Excellent kit! the componants are very nice and it is easy to install. Thanks rocky mountain for the install video as well. very helpful!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

me likey!

Tyler in IA

Comments On Feb 08, 2010:Just put on my crf250x. looks great and works great. by far the best priced kit on the market. another great product from tusk.

Was this review helpful?