Pirelli MT43 Trials Tire

Customer Reviews for Pirelli MT43 Trials Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 33 Reviews

Return to Pirelli MT43 Trials Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pirelli MT43 Trials Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Tanner in UT

Comments On Aug 10, 2014:The best All-Terrain Tire you can get

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires!

Ross in Idaho

Comments On Jul 02, 2014:I run MT43s front and rear on knarly mountain trails, with MH tubes and 10 psi front, 5 psi rear. Advantages of these tires: 1. Excellent traction. 2. Long wear (front 700 miles, rear 2,000 miles) 3. Stable, unlike a lot of other trials tires. 4. Front does the same thing for the front wheel as the rear, plus then the bike is balanced. 5. Sturdy carcass eliminates problem with flats (if you ride light and don't pound through rock gardens). 6. Very little trail erosion. 7. Works better overall than knobbies on: steep climbs, tracking through rocks, skatey off-camber, snow, wet rocks and tree roots, water crossings.
Disadvantages: 1. Side knobs on front tend to tear off quickly. Otherwise the front tire would last longer than the rear. 2. Not as good as knobbies in slimy mud, rear braking. For responsible riding in technical and sensitive areas, this is THE tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty great tire

Porter in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jul 01, 2014:This tire is great for acceleration and grips just about everything. The knobs are actually bigger than i thought they would be and are not super soft so it wears slowly. The fact that it is DOT legal is just icing on the cake. That being said, the deceleration is not that good because it likes to slide, with just tapping the breaks and downshifting this problem can be virtually eliminated.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

maybe not the best tire ever made...

TODD in GA

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:but close! ...it is my 'do all' tire for 50 mph roads in between gnasty trails not the best on loose downhills,but you learn to compensate and uphills are so easy...who cares! it preserves trail,kicks up less dust and I run it at 5 lbs with the Tublis system (also recommended)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best type tire it's ever had.

Mike in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Jun 22, 2014:I live in SoCal, the Mojave Desert, I've been riding in the desert for 55 years. This is the first time I've ever used a trails tire. This make the bike track no mater where it is. In a sand wash, it hunts much less. Climbing shale trails and rocky canyons you never loose traction.
I only found one weakness, if you through the bike hard into a corner where you need the side knobs, it slides out really quick.
I will use more of these from now on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Converted a skeptic and all my Buddies

Kyle in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Jun 14, 2014:So, I met a friend of a friend about 5 years ago who had a trials tire on his CR250. I asked him why he was running such a goofy looking tire. He explained that it was the best tire he had ever had. Then followed with these "tall tale" like stories of amazing traction in almost any terrain. Well, I waited 5 years and after I chewed up my last knobby I bought this Pirelli and I am truly amazed at how this tire grips everything, even sand. Mud is scarce here in NV so I don't have to worry about that. My buddies watched me climb a dry crumbly hill with ease and catch air at the top when their tires would spin from 1/2 way up and barely carry them up and over. Needless to say 4 of my riding buddies now run trials tires. If you are considering throwing one on, stop thinking and buy one right now, they truly are unreal and you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MY FIRST TRIALS TIRE

Matt in CO

Comments On May 07, 2014:Different than a knobby, but great on trails and on road.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wears like iron

Kevin in CA

Comments On Oct 13, 2013:This tire I used so far for 1100 miles. I have gotten over 2000 miles on one before. The tire will continue to hook up even when it starts to wear. I used on my 500 exc on dirt,rock,street etc and its impressive. I even had a small cut in the sidewall about 500 miles ago and it hasn't failed. Great tire especially not having to replace so often.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome

val in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Aug 10, 2013:works very well everyware including sand . does not work in mud . lasts way longer than a knoby .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked perfectly in Colorado

Brad in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Jul 11, 2013:I bought this tire for my KTM 300 XC for a trip to ride in Colorado. We rode for 6 full days on terrain from gravel roads to the roughest and toughest sharp rock ladened trail in the state. The tire worked perfectly! It just hooks up amazingly well. I would guess we put in 350 - 400 total miles and the tire looks great and worked as well on the last day as it did the first.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

All or nothing

Tom in ME

Comments On Apr 20, 2013:Live in Eastern Canada. Tried this out the other night, this is an all or nothing tire. In everything but mud it is all, in mud, it is nothing.
Even though it is new, I peeled it off today and am going to put a knobbie on until things dry up in the summer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good durability but worse performing

Andrew in Colorado

Comments On Apr 14, 2013:This tire has the hardest compound so its very durable and a great desert and moab tire as it lasts longer. The sacrifice is that it performs much worse than the other trials tires. I really notice it with the lack of braking power and how easily it skids out. I don't like this tire for the mountains as I will always use the IRC trials but I think I will continue to use it for Moab season because it lasts longer and its cheaper. Moab really shreds tire and this one does pretty good. I find that it likes a lower pressure of 6 psi for better traction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire - except in hardpack wet clay

mike.mcmahon@comcast.net in Oregon

Comments On Mar 18, 2013:I tried this trials tire for the first time this winter. I bought this one because it's bias ply and uses a tube. I could actually do a trailside repair on this versus a tubeless radial that I wouldn't even be able to dismount. The bias ply construction also gives handling similar to a regular knobby so you can still brakeslide in corners. Downhill braking is greatly reduced but you can learn to modulate the rear brake to offset that. It works great in everything except hardpack wet clay, where it provides ZERO traction. Even in loamy mud you can get good traction. Best to run a knobby in the winter, then mount up one of these when it dries out a little. If you primarily ride rocky terrain, then a trials tire with ~4-6 PSI is the ONLY way to go. They keep such good traction, that you can go slower through the rocks and pick your line a lot easier. I used to pick up speed when I'd come to rock fields and try to blow through them before I lost speed or traction. Now I slow down and work my way through them. And recently purchasing the right bike helps immensely. LOL

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

trials tire

SCOTT in NV

Comments On Mar 01, 2013:amazing, try one. run it on my 300, 450 and 250f. 10 psi in the nevada rocks all year long. long lasting

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jack of all trades

Zuliandi in Western Australia – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA XR250R

Comments On Feb 26, 2013:Finally, a jack of all trades tyre that bridges the gap between hard core enduro and dual sporting.
On road, the wear is much more even comapred to an agressively radial tyre, making it a very worthwhile buy. Off road, run it at 10 psi or less, and the MT 43 really shines. The rubber hooks up to almost anything, rocks, roots, hardpack surfaces and even sand if used at a lower pressure. An immaculate tyre for technical hill climbs and single track usage.
Great value, even greater performance, not only is it a jack of all trades, but a master of all of them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice all around tire

Wade in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA XR650L

Comments On Feb 26, 2013:This is a great all around tire. I have had it on all season . It wears well and gets great traction and performance on and off road. Its a good 50/50 tire.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bad batch? YES

PHILLIP in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:Tire later blew a gash in sidewall 2" tall. The replaced it free. Been using MT43 for years. Works great on rock. But just like anything, once in a while you get a lemon. Let them know if you do. Still using MT43s.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MT43 on a KTM 500 EXC. Excellent DS/ST tire.

Daniel in WA

Comments On Jan 05, 2013:I have gotten over a whole season out of this tire, about 1100 miles, with just under half the tread remaining. Could've gone another 500 or so, but wanted to try a new Shinko I had.
Excellent wear, very good traction in anything with a solid base including slimy wet clay, even mud as long as there is some rock in it to grip. Long wear I think is due to the relatively hard compound, which probably gives up traction to softer compound tires.
I run a heavy duty (3mm) tube with 8 to 10 psi, 95+% offroad singletrack, no wallowing at speed, and no flats. You could run more pressure for more dualsport/road use, say 12 to 14 PS I, but for off road, these tires really shine using low pressure and little fear of pinch flatting with the fairly high profile. I have a riding buddy that runs his at 6 psi with a tube, his tire looks half flat, but he seems to have no issues, just great traction.
Overall, an EXCellent tire for dual sport and single track use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it

MATTHEW in CA

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:About 500 miles on it so far and I don't think I'll ever buy a different tire. So much grip its ridiculous. Works better than I expected in sand, but still worse than a new knobby. Excels on steep and loose terrain, although it does lock up easier on descents. As long as you expect this, its not an issue and is easily corrected for. Very nice ride on the road as well and is holding up great. Still looks brand new.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

SEAN in WA

Comments On Dec 02, 2012:Better than IRC, not sure if it is better than Michelin. Seems to last longer. Both make my bike pull like a tractor.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Baja- TJ to Cabo

Morgan in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Nov 19, 2012:We rode 1571 miles of every type of terrain and road conditions you can imagine in Baja and the tire was flawless. It's completely roasted now but wow we had fun wearing it out.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire - Jury's out on the wear

MARKO in BC

Comments On Sep 29, 2012:I got the rear tire for my wr250f.
This tire took some finesse to mount. You have to make sure you don't take too much bead at once or it will be super tough. Watch the changing motocross tire video by the bridgestone guy on youtube and it will help you immensely.
Anyway, it took awhile to set the bead on this tire but it was doable with good technique.
I love how this tire makes the bike feel - planted, direct, secure, tight, solid, you name it. Was running an intermediate terrain bridgestone mx tire before. Great MX tire, wore like iron. But murder on the backside on gravelly fire roads.
I did a bit of roosting today and the tires showed it - but I did have 15 psi in there. Will air down to 12 or so tomorrow.
This is by far the grippiest and most reassuring tire ever. I will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Tire EVER!

Kyle in OR

Comments On Sep 25, 2012:I am using this tire in the pacific northwest singletrack with the Tubliss system running around 5 psi. This is the best tire I have ever used for this terrain hands down and it's DOT approved for anyone needing that.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Faulty Batch?

PHILLIP in MO

Comments On Sep 06, 2012:Just put on my Perelli MT43. After 2 rides, totaling 90 miles, the center knobs started to peel off an outer 1/8 " layer revealing a short round nub. This hasn't happened with my previous MT43s. Maybe they changed the rubber compound, manufacturing process or it was just from a bad batch. What ever the case, I'll be looking at other brands the next time I buy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Traction wise, this tire is amazing

FRANCIS in PA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Traction wise, this tire is amazing, its hard to make it spin on my XR650L in the dirt, and on the rd it feels like a street tire,I ride about 60 street/40 dirt. The only reason for the 3 rating is mileage, at 1004 mi the center knobs were at 1mm, (new their at 11mm), which is why I won't be buying it again(I get 1500 mi out of a D606). If it would have lasted 1500-2000 mi, it would be my tire of choice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mounting this is tough!

Tom in ME

Comments On Jul 11, 2012:I thought I'd try a trials tire, it is on the rim and hasn't been run yet. A performance update will follow.
I have to say that I never pinch tubes mounting tire, but pinched two putting this on, it is hard.
Now I have a patched 4mm Bridgestone tube in it. Hate to put a patched tube in, but I ran out of tubes!
Hint, get a friend to help you pull the tire apart to put the stem in, use tons of lube (I use cheap window cleaner), and baby steps with the spoons.
Unless this tire does unbelievable things, I'll be going back to Maxxis knobbies on the back, a lot easier to mount.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dirt Track

CRAIG in NSW

Comments On Jun 01, 2012:I tried this tyre last weekend and then also a Shinko 255Pro
The Shinko was 2 seconds a lap quicker around Nepean Race Track and wore a lot better
If you are buying this tyre for Dirt Track racing save some money and buy a Shinko instead

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up

Don in OR

Comments On Apr 18, 2012:Currently using on a KTM 450 EXC. So far I am very impressed with the traction on most terrain. It does plug up on the wet loamy soil found on some forest floors. On the slick hard clay or rock surfaces it works great. It keeps you going straight without pinging off of the rocks. I will not run a knobby for single track after running this tire. Not sure how it will hold up for high speed desert riding. Time will tell.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

to good of traction

dana in CA

Comments On Mar 29, 2012:im hooked on this tire, it makes tight loose rocks a breeze and loose marble roads are great. strong tire and last a bit more then some other dirt tires. its worth a try.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best Dual sport tire ever!

GARRETT in CA

Comments On Jan 14, 2012:I have this rear tire on all my dual sport bikes. The grip is outstanding thru all kinda of terrain. I have done several dual sport rides throughout California and Nevada and have seen an increase in people using these tires for this type of riding. I will NEVER go back to a rear knobby again. Just completed a 500 mile LA to Las Vegas dual sport rally on my DRZ 400 and the MT 43 handled all the terrain like a champ with little wear and no chunks off the lugs. This tire will not disappoint. Due to the square tire profile, be carefull snapping the throttle coming out of corners because the tire will step out on you very quick. On highway wear is decent and it wears very evenly.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cheater Tire

JEFF in CA

Comments On Jan 08, 2012:I love this tire, from 450 trail bikes to pumped up big bore dual-sport bikes, this tire has worked awsome. The only downside, its worthless in goopy, snotty mud..but you'd expect that from a trials tire. It's the only tire that I'll buy.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for dual-sport; not great for desert racing

JERRY in NV

Comments On Jan 04, 2012:I love this tire on my dual-sport XR-400. It hooks up everywhere except slick mud (what does?). It even hooks up in snow. It lasts MUCH longer than any knobby. It is a flotation tire, so it needs to be run at low air pressure; I run my at 8.5 psi. It is very tall, so it is not prone to pinch flats, even at that low pressure, although I did manage to get a pinch flat once when I really smacked a rock. However, it is so tall that it started to eat away at my swingarm linkage, so beware. I had to add an extra link to my chain to make room for it. I won't run anything else on my XR. My KTM-300 EXC is a different story. In the hard acceleration and braking in a desert race, at least on a light two-stroke, the MT-43 spins and slides and you have to be super careful about feathering the clutch. So, buy it for dual-sport, not for racing.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Close to perfect dual sport tire

Brendan in NC

Comments On Sep 12, 2011:This is a long-lasting "trials hybrid" that ends up being a great dual sport tire - holds up well on the street and grips very, very well. Deal's Gap tested and approved! I've found that leaving the psi around 10-12 all the time works great on or off road. They seem to get too warm and chunk on the street at higher rpms. My rear is @ 2500 miles and just a bit over half worn (WR250R)
Off-road grip is extremely good in wet or dry rocks, roots, logs, etc. - you'll have to re-learn how to ride such terrain up hills since this tire is like velcro and launches the bike forward at those "uh oh" points where traditional knobbies start to spin... Also, unlike a "true" trials tire, this has a heavy sidewall, which absorbs a lot of abrupt hits like a secondary suspension, and prevent pinch flats.
Great in loose or packed soil, and OK in mud (just keep the momentum going and don't make drastic moves and it chugs through the slope just fine).
I will definitely be buying another rear MT43 (I like to run a knobby up front for handling in softer terrain, works out as a perfect dual sport combo).
Additional Comments On Sep 13, 2011:Want to fix a typo - in my experience, they only seem to chunk/wear quickly on the street at higher --> PSI <-- (accidently typed in "rpm"). Keeping them around 12 psi is perfect for almost all conditions on and off road.

Was this review helpful?