Bridgestone M404 Intermediate Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Bridgestone M404 Intermediate Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 182 Reviews

Return to Bridgestone M404 Intermediate Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Bridgestone M404 Intermediate Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tyre for the average rider

Ash in VIC

Comments On Jun 14, 2012:I am very much an average rider and these tyres are perfect for me. They seem to work well in most conditions from mud to rock. They are not perfect but good enough. They are easy to fit and give pretty good life. I am sure there are better tyres and everyone has an opinion as to what is best but these just suit me. I ride a 2007 KTM 450 in Victoria, Australia. The conditions are sometimes rocky, sometimes muddy and sometimes dry and dusty but these seem to take it all. If you ride similar conditions you should give them a go.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tough Tire

MARKO in BC

Comments On May 27, 2012:I bough this tire to replace the stock Dunlops my wr250f came with. Got the 403 for the front too. I got them in 90 for the front and 110 for the rear, one size bigger than stock.
This tire really hooks up on the loose stuff, climbs hills well. It seems indestructible. Only thing, it's kind of a rough ride on the fire roads. I might consider getting a trials type tire next to see how that goes. However this tire is probably the best in the mud and loose dirt.
THe front tire is amazing. I like the feel of a slightly larger front tire, it smooths the bumps out a little and grips better in the turns.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

johnny in OH

Comments On May 15, 2012:Best tire I've ridden. Holds up and hooks up!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't like rock

Jason in VIC

Comments On May 07, 2012:I have used Bridgestone M404's for years and loved them but recently the compound seems to have changed. They still offer excellent grip but they are wearing faster than they used to and are chunking and cracking all over the tyre when run in rocky conditions. I ride a WR450F.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the snap of a cr250r

Ray in WA

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:Keeps me planted when reeds open up but still allows a slide when needed . Cant complain about anything , just does good in every kind of dirt/sand mix .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great all around tire

KATHLEEN in MO

Comments On Apr 17, 2012:2007 Yamaha YZ250 - 19" Tire worked well in mud, rocks, sand and hard clay. If I kept the bike and knew how well it wore I'd have given it an Excellent rating.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire and it lasts!

JOHN in GA

Comments On Apr 09, 2012:I love my 404 (and the front 403). The tire works great on intermediate and HARD terrain here in Georgia. WAY better lasting than my last few Dunlops.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Robert in NY

Comments On Mar 12, 2012:Great tire, I will buy nothing other than the 404 combination. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad

colby in UT

Comments On Feb 18, 2012:I have this tire on the rear it works pretty well for the terrain in utah it wears good have probaly 6 rides on it around 200 to 300 miles from cherry creek to slick rock rides in rock and Mtns i will buy this tire again. THKS rockymtn

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good traction and tire life

KEVIN in CA

Comments On Feb 01, 2012:I run these on my kx450 and crf150, great tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bridgestone m404

Kenneth in CA

Comments On Nov 16, 2011:Great tires. Perfect intermidiate terrain tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

CARTER in OR

Comments On Oct 13, 2011:hold up much better on the track than the D-lops

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

BRUCE in CA

Comments On Sep 20, 2011:My favorite tire for the conditions here in So Cal. Works well on Int to Hard terrain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

Tony in VIC

Comments On Sep 06, 2011:good solid tire

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Probably the best int. tire out

KRIS in KS

Comments On Aug 23, 2011:Great grip, great wear

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

bridgestone motocross tire

France in QC

Comments On Aug 10, 2011:perfect

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tires

gregory in SD

Comments On Jun 28, 2011:good just need to pick the right tire for the track

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

M404

Anthony in VIC

Comments On Jun 23, 2011:Best tyre & great price thanks RM

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

JEFF in WA

Comments On May 16, 2011:This is a great all around tire. We have them on three of our bikes when they wear out we will order more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CRF150RB

DAVID in ID

Comments On Apr 28, 2011:Excellent choice for OEM replacement.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

never again

DUSTIN in MT

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:Decent traction to start with - no longevity to tire. Wear out way too fast.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire I have used

Matt in MT

Comments On Apr 19, 2011:I like the traction this tire ofers on the track better than any ohters I have used.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Brenton in NSW

Comments On Apr 10, 2011:top tyre this is the only tyre i buy now have used for 3 years now

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

M404

JOE in CO

Comments On Apr 04, 2011:This is the tire for trail riding in the Rocky Mountains!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bridgestone M404 Intermediate Terrain Tire

ART in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2011:Super value and long lasting tire. A++

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tire

Keith in CT

Comments On Mar 19, 2011:great all around tire. Only downfall is on wet rock. Excellent wear

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great on the play bike

LEE in NC

Comments On Feb 08, 2011:got this tire for the xr 100. great grip and holding a nice edge.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

M404 crf250

chris in CO

Comments On Feb 02, 2011:Tire is amazing. Got it for my state championships and I had never had a better tire. I was thinking what kind of tire I should have used for a river sand track and holy crap hooked up everywhere. Will buy again. I have a combo of the m404 120/80x19 And Maxxis surcross Maxxis is sketchy. And I live In CO and our dirt here doesnt hold moisture so the m404 had a amazing hook up. Plus it has a amazing roost

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tire

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Jan 31, 2011:great tire. would buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

this is a good all around tire

RALPH in CA

Comments On Jan 10, 2011:I like this tire - easy to mount also, i buy others on occasion but buy this one most of the time. Feel price and performance good on mud to hard front and back.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Tires

MIKE in UT

Comments On Jan 08, 2011:I was very happy with this set of tires. I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The last tire you ever need to dominate!

TODD in CA

Comments On Dec 26, 2010:What more can be said about this tire in the performance category other than 'the standard'. Got these tires as replacements and the pattern defines the MX lifestyle. Some tires imitate and others dominate. These tires dominate in value and where the rubber meets the road!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bridgestone M404 Intermediate Terrain Tire

COSTIC in PA

Comments On Dec 03, 2010:This tire lasted longer than any of the Dunlop?s that I had on the rear of the Monster KX450F. It came stock on my kx450f 2010 and I did a lot of riding on all types of tracks from sandy to hard pack and the tire gave me very good feedback. It is the only tire that I run on the rear of my KX450F's. Love the way they last!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires

Joe in AZ

Comments On Oct 26, 2010:These tires grip so good on the track. I can really feel the difference from my old tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

BRENT in UT

Comments On Oct 27, 2010:Very good tire lasts long, good traction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Never again

Daryl in CA

Comments On Oct 18, 2010:Tire works well when it's new. However, when it's 1/2 gone it's worthless. Problem is... 1/2 gone comes in as little as 3 or 4 good rides. Not a good wearing tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Its an ok tire

EDWARD in NY

Comments On Oct 19, 2010:Great tire if you like spanding time and money replacing them...works very well for the first few hours but i wasnt impressed with the way it tracks after that....I tried it but wont use it again, back to michelin

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good all around rear tire

ROBERT in WA

Comments On Oct 01, 2010: This is a very good rear tire. It does it all well. The only down side is it wears a little faster if U ride pavement and gravel to get to the trails. But I still keep buying the same tires. 'Cause they work so well at everything!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product For The Price

Mitchell in LA

Comments On Sep 22, 2010:Great all terain tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's a good tire, but short life

Aaron in CO

Comments On Sep 16, 2010:Hooks up great all around the track, but after a couple times at the track I started to tear off knobs on the tire (I ride a 09 YZ450F). I'm running the MX51 now and haven't had that issue with 4 trips to the track so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this tire for offroad

DANIEL in CO

Comments On Sep 01, 2010:On my second 404. I ride Colorado and this tire wears long and has good grip in a wide variety of terrain. Great cornering tread, very predictable. Doesn't wear as long as Maxxis IT but offers superior hook up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent all around tire.

JEFFREY in MO

Comments On Aug 26, 2010:Works great in the woods and on the track.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok product

Steffan in MD

Comments On Aug 23, 2010:Ok product doesn't last long in Maryland hard pack dirt

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

404 Bridgestone

James in ACT

Comments On Aug 03, 2010:good grip in moist soils

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire, short life

BENEDICT in AZ

Comments On May 06, 2010:Worked well but wore faster than expected in moderate desert environment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

run this tire

CHRIS in MD

Comments On May 05, 2010:Ive been a advid motocross racer fo over 13 year's and i can honestly say this is a awsome tire. It hooks up every where and i can put confidents in knowing its gonna stick when i need it to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

RUSTY in UT

Comments On Apr 05, 2010:Bought a set had minor expectations totaly blew me amay. how well they worked made the bike turn on a dime and hook up like crazy. You could pull hole shots all day with these sweet things on your rims.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

NATHAN in ID

Comments On Mar 29, 2010:This tire is a good tire. It gets pretty good traction and power slides in a consist fashion. I'm guessing it works well in mOtocross, but for off-road, its luke warm. It replaced the 402, but I find it a sad replacement. It is better than most tires out there, but lacks ultimate traction the 402 had. I and the guys I ride with like big traction at all times and the 404 comes in as just good. For off-road, especially difficult single track, I would try to find another. Also, its carcass is super light, so resulted in the first puncture flat I have every had.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Grip

chuck in CA

Comments On Mar 16, 2010: I went into a hare scramble having never used Bridgestone. I bought the soft 403 for the front tire and 404 rear. I ride hard and confidence came right away and performed great. Predictable power slides that would drive forward in the corners and would hook up perfect as the bike stood up while pinned. The front had traction and grip so good that all I had to be concerned with was my riding and not so much the surface and would just stick when standing on the brakes. Great match in moist/ loose conditions. Climbed me out of bad situations. Wear was good also. I'm sold and not changing. Can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

M404 tire

William in CA

Comments On Feb 16, 2010:the tire is OK. good traction but does not last. I do a lot of desert riding and a little bit on the track.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

mark in MO

Comments On Feb 15, 2010:I race Hare Scrambles in Missouri, and for as rocky as it gets out here I wanted to find a good all around tire to fit the extreme needs of racing woods. This tire was a good buy. Great traction everywhere and long lasting too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Mike in CT

Comments On Feb 12, 2010:Worked very well on my crf230

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great sneakers for your bike

Mark in CA

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:M404 and M403 won product of the year by Motocross Action magazine a couple of years ago. They come standard on KX250Fs, which is what I have. I think they have more traction than the standard Dunlop tires that come on CRFs. I've used it on 15+ rides and they've done great by me so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

TRAVIS in UT

Comments On Feb 04, 2010:I ride in southern utah and ride a mix of desert terrain with rock and sand. they seem to hold uo really well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

SHAYNE in UT

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:I have ran this tire for 3 years now, and it is a very good tire, I have never found any problems with it, I feel very confident when i am running this tire, and i recommend this tire to anybody.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Grip really really well, about average wear

leo in CA

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:Great grip, darn good bang for your buck! Very easy to mount compared to my previous Maxxis IT tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

M404 Good all around tire

PAUL in MO

Comments On Dec 22, 2009:B class rider.I ride Sand/embedded rock/loose rock/ and rooted trails and did not have any issues with traction unless ground was slick and slimy. Longivity of tire is average 300-350 miles. I consider this 2nd to the Michelin S12. M204 is great for Muddy or soft terrian, with dry conditions longivity is around 230-280miles and is still one of my top 3 tires. Price determines which is selected.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

ROBERT in IN

Comments On Dec 14, 2009:Great tire for my sons mx bike.Its the only tire he will run now

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

One of the best!

TYLER in UT

Comments On Nov 09, 2009:My rmz450 came with this tire and i loved every 500 miles i put on it. I have ridden everything with it sand, slickrock, trail, track, highway...Shhh. Its been great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

richard in ID

Comments On Oct 20, 2009:I put this on my boys kx250 hook's up great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Rear Tire

JESSE in NM

Comments On Sep 16, 2009:This tire is so much better than the stock Honda tire. It lasts twice as long as a the stock tire and has a much better tread pattern & hook up. This is my new favorite rear tire!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Well rounded tire

Chris in IL

Comments On Sep 15, 2009:I have a few mx rides/races on this tire and so far its been ok. Hard terrain is so so, nothing bad but not the greatest. In well prepped loam it does its job pretty well although I found the Kenda Wahougal to hook up better on race day conditions. The biggest highlight is the wear, i am very impressed with how little wear is showing so far...Not a bad tire choice but i will likely be looking for something better.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bridgestone M404

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Sep 12, 2009:Provides good drive out of corners and holds up well in hardpack conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Tire

CHRISTOPHER in CO

Comments On Aug 26, 2009:This is my rear tire of choice. Works great in all conditions. After trying all the brands I have settled on Bridgestone for good. Wears better than any of the other tires that hook up as well. Only issue is it will chunk some after lots of wear. But by then its time to replace anyway.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best i found

arthur in NY

Comments On Jul 07, 2009:great all around traction, excellent wear ,good value

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Steady purchase

Owen in WV

Comments On Jun 15, 2009:I have 2 sons each on YZ250F's. We have tried Pirellis and Dunlops before, and are now on our 3rd set of Bridgestone 404's. We don't feel we are at any disadvantage over the rest of the field, but are still in search of that WOW tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tires

Chase in GA

Comments On May 17, 2009:I got the 403 for the front too and these tires are great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

balls to the walls awesome!

Andrew in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:This is my favorite tire by far. I do it all, rocky jeep roads, horse trails, singletrack, sand, slickrock, etc... and this has never let me down. It wears well and is tough. You'll use one, maybe 2 a year if you ride a lot like me. (500+ miles)

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

403/404

Jean in OR

Comments On Mar 02, 2009:if you are a B level rider, this tire will take you to the next level! so confidence inspiring you will be riding harder and faster, unbelivable grip in the corners, soft or hardpack. great wear, the last tire you will ever try.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tire!!

DOUGLAS in CA

Comments On Feb 15, 2009:I really like it in good sandy/loamy soil, not so much when on harder packed surfaces. Tires seemed to want to slide out on dry hard pack, but then again, it wasn't designed for hard pack. I would not recommend it for an all purpose tire, but five star for prepped and watered tracks.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

M404

Brent in UT

Comments On Jan 18, 2009:loved the 402 and the m59 the 404 hooks up the same as the 402 on must everything but sand

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ok tire

DAVE in WV

Comments On Dec 24, 2008:might work well on a track. not very good for woods riding wears fast.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

Kevin in TN

Comments On Dec 09, 2008:This tire hooks! It's tread pattern looks almost identical to my old Michelin MS3's. I prefer this tire though because I have less pinch flats. Michelin's are notorious for getting pinch flats in rocky terrain. I think the Michelin's sidewalls are too thin. If you ride only motocross tracks, then both tires are great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect track tire

Bryan in OH

Comments On Oct 29, 2008:I use this tire on a soft, wet sand base track that tends to dry mid-day. On a 450 I'm pulling the front end up out of the turns. The soft tire handles the track pretty well when it dries out. On the dry straights the off center stability seems a little loose. I do not think this tire would last very long on the trails, but plenty of groomed track days.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bridgstone missed the mark on this one.

CURTIS in ID

Comments On Oct 19, 2008: I love the old 401/402 combo!! But this new rear wears too qwik and lacks feel. It has decent traction but way off the mark of the old 402. I'm a agressive but mature (older) rider that rides hard but is good with throttle control, use these on 250cc ding ding KTM, Gas-Gas. I'll try something else next time. Front seams to perform ok but not up to m59 standards.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire, lasts a long time

mike in NH

Comments On Oct 02, 2008:i've used this tire a few times with the 120/80-19 size. the wear is awesome, it lasts way longer than its competitors. also it hooks up really well in varieties of terrain. the only problem i've had is the sidewall seems to have some slop. i'd have to check to make sure i didn't have a flat. but that was only on 1 of them. maybe i just got a bad one. will buy again!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre woods tire

ROBERT in NC

Comments On Jul 06, 2008:Not crazy about this tire. Traction is never better than 'just ok' no matter what the conditions, and it seems to be wearing pretty quickly. The 402 was a better tire IMO, and I can't imagine why they replaced it with this.
Additional Comments On Aug 31, 2008:edit 8/31/2008 - An update in the interest of fairness: Ran a harescramble in Martinsville, VA last weekend with this rear tire and -finally- found a set of conditions this tire is suited for. We've had virtually no rain for the last few weeks and the trail conditions were dry, dry, dry. The harescramble course featured some steep silty, rooty and rocky uphills and this tire performed flawlessly. I had all the traction I needed when I needed it and it was never once unpredictable. There was some minor chunking, but I think that's to be expected under thsse conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best hook up in dry condtions I have ever had!

RONALD in AZ

Comments On Aug 25, 2008:I used this Tire in the mountains of Arizona on a dry weekend where I usually slide around the forest road turns like a flat tracker drifting across the gravel. This tire gave me very nice control and confidence to go into flat turns with much more speed I am not used to having with the M602. When climbing very vertical assents on loose terrain it gave me great traction. The trails had taken a beating from monsoon winds the prior week. I found myself having to wheelie over fallen trees. Every time I twisted the throttle the tire hooked up and lifted the front wheel much better then the M602 I replaced at a much better price. I am very impressed, I hope they keep the price low. Life is too short to ride on bad tires.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bridgestone has done it's homework

WILLIAM in WA

Comments On Mar 23, 2008:My son has run this tire for about 2 months mostly on concrete starts. The tire wear is doing great. He says it hooks up well in the turns. Will definitely buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bridgestone M404

TREY in AL

Comments On Dec 14, 2007:This tire is different than any other tire I have ever ran, it works great, turns and hooks up no matter how far the bike is leaned over or how much you are on the gas. I'm running the tire on a yz450f and I will try to buy this tire everytime I buy a tire. Buy it it is worth the money!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

buy it

ROBERT in AZ

Comments On Nov 02, 2007:great in all types of terrain from silt to rock wears fairly fast on a 450

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

nice tire

KYLE in UT

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:this tire is not as good as their 401 tire but it still hooks up with the dirt nicely

Was this review helpful?