Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 208 Reviews

Return to Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hard to control

Edwin in CA

Comments On Sep 11, 2012:this tire was all over the place i wore it down in 75 miles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great price

Jeramy in VA

Comments On Sep 15, 2012:The Geomax is a good all around MX tire, so I bought one for my son's little 50. Besides being a solid tire, the price is what was really great. I have made the mistake of not checking RMATVMC before and ended up getting a lesser quality tire for more money. I will be buying a new set of buns for the big bike this winter.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Race Tire!

MATTHEW in IL

Comments On Sep 07, 2012:Love the MX51. Excellent hook up, cornering, and wear resistance. Always be sure you are purchasing the appropriate size tire for the type of terrain you intend to ride/race on. YZ250 Two Stroke - Hare Scramble

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hard wearing

Robert in WA

Comments On Sep 04, 2012:this tyre is a very good all rounder and very easy to get used to , some magazines dont rate the front but I have found a lot of riders that do

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire

Michael in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:about as good as the Bridgestone 404, 403. Best you can buy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME TIRE

KEITH in CA

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:This tire gets great traction!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51 front and back

ROBERT in OH

Comments On Aug 23, 2012:These tires woorks very well for all around riding. Great for harder MX track riding

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tires for son's 50

Jonathon in FL

Comments On Aug 04, 2012:Bought for son's CRF 50 to replace the OEM tires. Excellent traction in the NW FL sand and clay, he's already corning better and not having the front end washing out as much. Definitely thinking of putting them on my CRF 250.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a great tire

Kristin in UT

Comments On Jul 31, 2012:We race motocross with these, and I just wish they lasted a little longer. Knobs tend to chunk off. Would be superb for a regular rider. We do love this tire though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good tire

dylan in UT

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:My bike came with this as a stock tire. Tire has lots of traction in most soil conditions, with plenty of tread sand is not a problem untill it wears down a bit. Wears quickly when on the harder terrain, but its not meant for it. Had no issues with chunking or slicing, and i'm a bigger guy that loves the throttle. Running it at specified air pressure. Going to try a couple different brands see if i can get more miles out of them. Nevertheless this is a good tire and i would recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

Daniel in NV

Comments On Jul 23, 2012:I had the Geomax MX71 before the MX51 and it was a good tire but the tread didnt last very long. I like MX51's better for track riding and the tread seems to be lasting quite well. Will buy again next time around.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

Lyle in AZ

Comments On Nov 27, 2011:Has good grip and works well in sand, rocks and hard pack. Haven't used in mud. Doesn't tear or lose knobs.
Wears a little to quick but you can't have everything in one tire.
On my 2nd one on a KTM 200. Tire size 100/100/21.

Additional Comments On Jul 16, 2012:Do not like the MX 51 on the front. Shreds knobs in rocks and doesn't have the grip of a Kenda Washougal Sticky or a Maxxis SI.
Ran all these tires with 12# of air.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome.

Jonathan in MO

Comments On Jul 15, 2012:Lovin it so far. Seems to be wearing a little less than my last Michelin Starcross. The best part was the affordable price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire for intermediate terrain

Mike in NC

Comments On Jul 02, 2012:These were purchased to replace my worn out Dunlop 756 tires on my YZ125. Great directional stability. Good traction. Seem to be wearing well and I expect long life out of them.
Terrain is light sand on clay and some mud. They work well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great rear, front not so much

Florian in BC

Comments On Jul 02, 2012:been using these for a few years, really like the rear tire in almost all terrain except pure rocks or desert. the front is a little all over the place and i wouldn't recommend it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fresh Meat

MARK in AZ

Comments On Jun 27, 2012:Hooks up great on intermediate terrain and found it suprisingly compliant in the soft stuff as well.After two races it still has square edge.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best alrounder

tony in VIC

Comments On Jun 27, 2012:I run mine at about 13 psi and they do the job well. last longer than the old 756 and grip the same if not a bit better. had the 404s and would rate these as good if not a bit better certainly for wear. perhaps hard loose shale surfaces not quite as good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop!

Richard in IL

Comments On Jun 15, 2012:I like the MX51's Tons better than previous michelins

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BEST!!!!!!!!!!

Brice in SC

Comments On Feb 15, 2012:These are the best tires I ever hand on my 85 they are really good on the track and in the woods.they are also good on hard and soft terrain don't buy Michelin ms2 they are terrible the nobbies tear off in chunks. Dunlop mx51 are the best!!!!!!!

Additional Comments On Jun 06, 2012:This is the best tire ever invented,I ride hard on the track and it still doesn't wear out. I will defintily use the this tire again!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Grip

Matt in UT

Comments On May 23, 2012:These tires are awesome for the terrain here in Utah.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good durable tyre

Jason in VIC

Comments On May 07, 2012:I ride a YZ450F and where as other tyres are chunking and cracking in rock, the MX51 seems to be holding up well. It also offers good grip in softer muddy conditions. A good all round choice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51

Derek in OH

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:These tires are realy good for the back tire. I use the MX31s in the front makes for a good combo.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Tire!

Nick in MO

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:The tire hooks up great on fair / ideal conditions, but it does slip a little in the mud. Overall a great product, at a great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

amazing!

Everardo in CA

Comments On Apr 12, 2012:these are very good tires they grip really good and wear great i am definately getting them again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire.

Brian in AZ

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:Love the geo max tires, hold up well and give you great traction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best front I've had

Kristian in WY

Comments On Mar 30, 2012:This is the best front tire I've ever had. I ride in everything from mud to dry desert rock. All I can say is it lasts!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's a Dunlop

Tim in TX

Comments On Mar 17, 2012:The MX51 is one of the better rear tires Dunlop has come out with. Works on varied terrain, even sand. Would like to see more size choices.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Didnt last

JOHNNY in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2012:the tires only lasted two rides. there was significant wear with the knobbys breaking off on both the front and back tires. they were on my Honda 250x. probably OK for a soft MX track but I wouldnt buy these tires again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

Kevin in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2012:My 14 year old son loves this tire. great traction in all kinds of riding conditions. lasts well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD TIRE

WALTER in GA

Comments On Feb 23, 2012:Of all the offroad tires I have used, this tire has the best versatility for soft to harder terrain. I would recommend this tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hoped it was better

Michael in VIC

Comments On Feb 21, 2012:Has a different fee to what i'm used too with michelin tyres Defintaly didn't wear as long.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This tire is the bomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Parker

Comments On Dec 22, 2011:Dunlop Tires are awesome I had them on my 65 and they were great, and i really want them on my 85!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

SHELEEN in UT

Comments On Dec 18, 2011:Son loves the tire and for the price, you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not bad. Get what u pay for

Jonathan in AR

Comments On Nov 15, 2011:These seem to work ok. The knobs are little and they dont last long. Not a bad tire just not the best

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

kenneth in NC

Comments On Oct 31, 2011:Of all the offroad tires I have used, this tire has the best versatility for soft to harder terrain. The next experiment will be using it with the Nuetech Tubliss system to see if it allows even more traction on rocky surfaces

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good traction... got shredded by rocks.

Robert in CO

Comments On Oct 20, 2011:Front tire performed rather well in decomposed granite, however, on rocky trails (babyhead) I started to notice significant chunking of the knobs. Was on a KTM525exc. I still like the 952 better for durability reasons.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

Michael in TX

Comments On Oct 21, 2011:Replaced my OEM tire with the MX51 and have good results. Seems to be wearing well and hooks up most everywhere. I ride terrain that changes from rock and hardpack to sand quickly and the tire performs well in each of them.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

not a good all-around tire

Charles in AZ

Comments On Sep 19, 2011:I ran the front 80/100-21 on my XR400R. It worked well on hard pack with loose dirt on top, providing precise steering and grip. However, it was downright scary (unstable) in sand. Also, the side knobs tore off on just one rocky ride, plus it provided very sketchy steering on rocks. So perhaps this tire is good on a groomed mx track, but its focus is much too narrow for off-road riding. This is the least favorite tire I have used in 7 years.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Terrain tire

Sarah in MI

Comments On Sep 10, 2011:Good grip in the sand.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Using 120/90/18 over 110/100/18 on KTM

chuck in CA

Comments On Aug 08, 2011: I switched to using 120/90/18 over 110/100/18. The 110 stands very tall and I use my bike on track for practice- and in Hare scramble competition. The new rear size works great overall and is more stable. It offers a wider foot print and lower sidewall which is good on the 450. The tire feels light and installs pretty EZ. The front and rear have great grip. . Actually prefer the 51 & 71 over Bridgestones.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mx 51 rear tire

Jeffry in MA

Comments On Aug 08, 2011:Great rear tire that last.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlap GEOMAX 51

Tracy in TX

Comments On Jul 11, 2011:Great tires for my CR250R. Hope they wear as well as the GEOMAX 71's on my CRF450R, Rocky Mountain MC is great to do business with and has great pricing. I will continue to do business there in the future.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best set of tires that I've ever gotten

Ben in AR

Comments On Jul 01, 2011:I put a set of these on my YZ 250 last week and couldn't believe how well they hooked up on wet clay. Thanks to these tires I have finally been able to rail a berm hard enough to rip my undies. The rear tire reminds me of the good old Dunlop K695 that I loved so dearly back in the late 90s.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great all around tire

Ryne in TN

Comments On Jun 24, 2011:Tire hooks up well and so far has held up great!!! Best tire you can buy for the money.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good all around tire

Tim in MI

Comments On Jun 18, 2011:This has ended up being the staple tire for Yamaha race bike, the tread life seems very good and it works well in everything from hard pack to sugar sand. We have run the MX31 too, the tread life seems a litle bit better with the 51 and tire suits a greater variety of terrain. Primarily used for GNCC, National Hare Scramble and Enduros.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop Geomax MX51

JESSE in NM

Comments On Jun 14, 2011:Im an MX racer 100%. The MX51 is the best rear tire and have the MX51 rear tire on my CRF250R and CRF450R. The rear MX51 is 5 stars and is Absolutely excellent! The front MX51 though is not so good. The rear is definately better than the D756 that it replaces. Better traction, great tread paddern and lasts longer. Unfortunately the D756 front is a much better front tire than the MX51 front. The front MX51 tread paddern looks better than the 756, but slides unpredictably on loose hard terrain and washes out easily unless the track conditions are perfect. So 4 stars for the front.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Mike in CA

Comments On May 23, 2011:For the money this is a great tire! Has lasted through many races and will buy again for all 3 of my bikes..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire Great Price

lisa in FL

Comments On May 20, 2011:We love the geomax tires. RM has great shipping fast can't beat them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Geo 51's great rear tire

MARK in NC

Comments On May 19, 2011:Great rear tire. good wear. If your riding a 250f or 250 2/smoke try the 110/90x19. Huge improvement in cornering and less wheel spin.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Chris in TX

Comments On May 15, 2011:Bought this for my 01 YZ426F. I live in TX and the tire does well on dry hard pack, and mud too after recent rain. Have used this tire at buffalo valley, which is not groomed, and at cycle ranch, which is a groomed track, and it performs very well on both.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

needs broken in

MANOJ in KS

Comments On May 09, 2011:i didn't really prefer this tire on the front, felt a little shaky until i raised the tire pressure and put a few hours on it. the rear was great, held up well for giving so much grip

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51

GARY in OR

Comments On May 09, 2011:Very good tire for intermediate conditions on my yz450f,the tire life was excellent too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sick Tires!!

ERIC in VA

Comments On Apr 28, 2011:These tires hook up in all terrain. I feel comfortable leaning the bike down in the turns and the tires last a long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Should be called plowmax

KENNY in TX

Comments On Apr 14, 2011:Im 39 and ride over 30B cross country in Arkansas and usually run up front.. i have never taken the time write a review on anything ever but do read them before i purchase.. For the front i usually run a maxis cross it or the old Dunlop 756, or whatever it was called that this tire was suppose to replace.. This tire doesn't even get close to them other than it being round and black! I would not recommend this tire to anyone other than the other guys that run in my class... On second thought I don't think I could deal with the guilt.. It's that bad...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this tire!

Shane in IL

Comments On Apr 12, 2011:I bought this tire for the front on my kx450f and it is an awesome front tire. Not sure on the rear I use the D756 but im sure it is just as good on the rear. Great hook up in corners

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great MX Tire

Dylan in VA

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:This tire really impressed me with the way it sticked in allmost all terrain. This is really good and would recomend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

Travis in CA

Comments On Mar 26, 2011:like others have said this tire has great traction all over the track and on trails. they keep rutts from ruining your day and can last on trails. the tire also lasts longer than the last few tires ive had. 02 yz 250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does not last

Keith in CT

Comments On Mar 09, 2011:great traction but wears quickly

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire

Kyle in AZ

Comments On Feb 21, 2011:Awesome tire great traction lasted a long time. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX 51 Geomax

Kevin in CA

Comments On Feb 15, 2011:A very good tire for the money. I run these and the Maxxis Desert IT. Very comparable in wear. I think the Dunlop hooks up better. I ride mostly off road, desert, mountains,singletrack.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51 Front

JOHN in AZ

Comments On Jan 07, 2011:This tire i feel is really bad. Especially in soft or loose soil. It feels sketchy on all other terrain. I do not like it. I have one ride and one race(Desert) on it. It's going in the trash.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I dare you to Find a better tire

Clint in UT

Comments On Jan 18, 2011:this thing is amazing I have 3 rides on it and it has no wear looks brand new and hooks up great!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Jan 16, 2011:sure am glad they came out with this tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Five stars

Marko in VIC

Comments On Jan 08, 2011:I love the tread pattern, grip and durability of this tire. It tracks extremely well on hard pack and well prepped watered tracks.This tire works exellent in different tipes of terrain. Used in Australia, VIC.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chunky

LANCE in UT

Comments On Dec 28, 2010:Great hookup but im not a factory rider and can't afford to replace a tire as soon as the mx51 needs

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Tail and Track.

Juancarlo in FL

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Excellent traction and Long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire for soft or intermediate terrain.

THOMAS in AZ

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Rear tire worked very well at the track when prepped. Very good hook-up. Do not use in hard terrain or in rocks as it will chunk badly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

COSTIC in PA

Comments On Dec 04, 2010:Good tire front and back. Provides very good traction on all types of track conditions also lasts a lot longer than the Dunlop 756.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

DAVID in FL

Comments On Dec 03, 2010:Tracks well, way better than the stock tire I had before. Is holding up well, knob edges aren't rounding out bad at all after a few months of riding every week.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok tire

JAMIE in TX

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:good tire but broke knobs off in thee rides on hard terrain go with the 71

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

Jim in CO

Comments On Nov 24, 2010:Great tire for the first 30 miles, then it's like any other worn tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

LOUIS in LA

Comments On Oct 25, 2010:These look as good as they perform

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love em'

Jason in NY

Comments On Oct 18, 2010:I have gotten at least half a summer on this riding rocky technical trails with lots of hill climbs and the rear looks a little beat up but a most of the knobs are still intact and still roostin! I haven't found a tire I have liked more!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good.

Jared in VIC

Comments On Oct 15, 2010:These MX51's are great. They're wearing quite fast, but the traction they provide is huge. I'm over-jumping everything now, there's just so much more drive from these than my previous Michelins. Cornering they're brilliant, but the rear does tend to let go abruptly when pushed hard, not progressively.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best for the desert

brad in NV

Comments On Oct 07, 2010:i have tried a variety of hard pack and intermediate tires and the mx 51 is hands down the best tire for desert racin. u cant match the amount of traction with the price , i am hooked on this tire and i ride a 450 in the cali, las vegas, and laghlin desert and i get easily 300 miles on it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Contolled slider

casey in UT

Comments On Sep 30, 2010:Only used the 756 for the last 6 years and now forced to switch, Mx51 is as good in all terrain and far better in blue groove and groomed conditions. Still gets a little loose in the front on hard pack track with a bit of dust or sand on top but its controlled. Mx only so far, very very good. Seems to wear quicker but hooks up better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good

Larry in OK

Comments On Sep 24, 2010:Only a few rides on the new tires so far, on quite varied terrain ranging from hard packed dirt and rocks to sand and mud, but from what I've seen and experienced, they are living up to my expectations. Have ordered several more for my kids bikes as well now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Front and Rear Intermediate MX51

Daniel in BC

Comments On Sep 20, 2010:Great tires, the grip of the 756 with added durability. What else can you ask for. Performed well everywhere I took them racing this year. I'm sold on these!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tire

John in BC

Comments On Sep 09, 2010:I ride in rocky rooty wet terrain and this is where these tires shine! wanna pull out of a slick as snot rut? no problem for these bad boys! they do wear quick but after spending cash on useless tires while trying to find a replacement I just gave up and ordered another set of mx51's.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mx 51

James in ACT

Comments On Aug 03, 2010:good grip in moist soils better than 756 skatey on hard pack and dry loose soils does not cross over soil types like the 756 used too

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

New design

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:The new design looks like it has more or bigger knobs towards the edge of the tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51

AUSTIN in AZ

Comments On Jul 19, 2010:Soft and sticky. Great for tracks but not a ton of life

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Front/Back

Hunter in OH

Comments On Jul 18, 2010:This is an awesome tire. Both front and back of shown only about 5-10% of wear for over 25 hours of riding! I can corner much easier with less sliding but if you do slide you still feel planted and NOT out of control. Grip in both hard-soft terrain is awesome! Dunlop makes the best tires. I put this on a CRF150R.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT tire!

jimmy in GA

Comments On Jul 13, 2010:I like this tire..it has lasted me twice as long as others ive tried.Great traction in all conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Scott in OK

Comments On Jul 01, 2010:This is the only tire I ever use on my sons RM85L. Never had a problem. It wears great in all types of terrain.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

average at best

GEORGE in WA

Comments On Jun 26, 2010:I usally run Bridgestone 403/404 but I thought I would give Dunlop a try again after quiting on the 756 a few years ago. I was pretty disapointed in the tires. The front tire started loosing the edge knobs within 200 miles. The rear is holding up better then the front, but is no where near the tire that the 404 is. Traction is good for awhile but goes away pretty quick, as was the problem with the 756. I will not be using them again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Charles in VA

Comments On Jun 27, 2010:A great Intermediate Tire. Hooks up really good and is long lasting on hard terrian. I switched from the D756 and like this tire much better.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

37 Hours of use!!

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jun 27, 2010:You read correctly. Put this tire on last year! and kept track of riding hours. Got 37 hours of hard riding including two hare scramble races in rocky terrain. The tire may even still be good enough to get more hours out of it if I were a beginner/novice rider but as it is right now, the side knobs are tearing away so time for a new one. I will probably be going with the MX71 this time since it is a harder terrain tire. Also, I love having the 90/100 as compared to the 80/100 for the stuff I ride as you have a bit more sidewall and the tire can take head-on hits by rocks much easier. Much smoother ride for the trails. Less pinch flats.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate

TERRY in BC

Comments On Jun 13, 2010:Great tire so far! Has a few rides on it now, and still works and looks like new. No chunking and hooks up really well! Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

working great

Jason in IN

Comments On Jun 04, 2010:I ride in vaious conditions from hard packs to soft loamy to rocky loose stuff. I am running the MX51 on the front and rear of my 05 crf450r and they are hooking up great. I have not had any instances of loss tracking in all of the terrains.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire...

Adam in IA

Comments On Jun 07, 2010:Hooks up well on a different types of terrain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good all around tire

Nathan in ON

Comments On Jun 05, 2010:I bought this tire to be my "do-it-all" rear tire. I have been happy with it, wear seems pretty good. I have noticed a little bit of chunking on a couple of the side knobs from riding on very dry, hard tracks.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ok, but Hyped

NATHAN in ID

Comments On Mar 29, 2010:FRONT:It seems I struggle to understand what motivates people to buy and believe in a tire. The MX51 has come out with loads of hype and real people I've talked to say it is spectacular. Same with the rear 51 and Bridgestone?s 404. I've tired all these tires. I experiment a lot and ride with about 6 friends to help me evaluate. The mx51 front slides. A lot. I found myself breaking in places I never braked before, when I asked myself why, I discovered I was afraid to turn going fast. Idling through corners seemed much safer. I had a friend ride it. He said, Wow, that stinks! I said, "You noticed." He said, "You can?t miss it." This was in sand, gravel on hard-pack, and sand on hard pack and any terrain like that. Maybe it is a star somewhere else. Perfect, loamy soil? But if you are looking for an all-around off-road tire that gives you confidence, look away from this, and look away fast. It does seem like it might last a long time, but since it doesn't get traction, I can see how the knobs can hold up a long time. For me, it might last ten years, since after a little more testing I think I will take my nearly brand new tire off and put in my storage shed. REAR: Better than most tires available. A good, even slider when you power slide, and has good drive and braking traction. Its probably great on a track, but for off-road, too much power slide in soft terrain, no where near enough serious grip in tight corners. If you like a slider, this is a four or five star tire. If you like great grip while turning, look for something else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These tires are GREAT!

MARC in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2010:I love this tire on the front of my KTM 525! It gives me plenty of confidence when riding in varing conditions. I usually run the Maxxis 18 on the back, but I am trying the MX51 rear and it ROCKS also. Although it is not lasting as long as the Maxxis Desert. It is a great tire for most conditions.............

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Grip

Anthony in NSW

Comments On Mar 15, 2010:These tyres offer excellent grip. Definitely an intermediate tyre as described. Grip well in all conditions and in my opinion better than the dunlop 756. Unlike the 756, the knobs can tend to tear off in hard/rocky conditions. You will get about the same amount of wear as the dunlop 756.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best for single track

TIMOTHY in AZ

Comments On Feb 23, 2010:Put one of these on the rear of my 200XCW and found that the grip is not what I expected. I find it breaks loose very easily when cornering on hard pack and lacks grip in the rocks as well as the sandy areas. I've tried different pressures from 8 up to 14 lb.s. It might work well in tacky loam but there's very little of that in this part of Arizona. This tire is worn out at 350 miles of use, not what I expect on a small bore 2 stroke. On a positive note, it was easy to mount.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Desert Tire

Spencer in UT

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:I ride all over southern Utah and Nevada. Sand, rocks, you name it this tire holds up to the worst punishment you can give it. I definately give it 5 stars!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51 Geomax

Braden in UT

Comments On Feb 09, 2010:Good tire. Provided great traction initially but wore fast on the rear of my YZ450F. I just flipped the tire and am curious to see how long it will hold up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rear is good. Front is not.

SUN in TX

Comments On Jan 29, 2010:That's it really.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GEOMAX!

Stephen

Comments On Jan 17, 2010:This tire has some BITE! I used to always run michelin starcross but i decided to give these a try and so far i love them. really good hook up in sand/clay and georgia clay. give them a try!

Was this review helpful?