Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 211 Reviews

Return to Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice tire

EVERETT in RI

Comments On Aug 19, 2014:Nice tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So this is what grip is like

George in VIC

Comments On Aug 11, 2014:Excellent grip but they do wear fast.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not what it's hyped up to be

Harry in South Carolina – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On Aug 03, 2014:Got the front and rear set for mainly moto use. The tracks I ride are normally clay that packs and once in a while I ride some soft sand trails. The front tire always feels like it's nearly flat...it wanders and pushes more than I like. It's worse as the soil gets softer. I don't get it....they look like great tires. Wear is ok though, if you can get past the loose, wandering feel enough to use it for long.
The rear is better and holds up ok for a Dunlop.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire

Robert in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:Fit well and wear the best

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire!

Eric in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF50F

Comments On Jun 17, 2014:So much better then the tire I had on my kids crf50. He loves the grip these have.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MX51 worst tire ever

Chad in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 27, 2014:I thought that I would save $10 and buy an MX 51 instead of my typical Maxxis tire and it lasted 2 rides before it disintegrated. The tire literally came apart. I was forced to ride it back to the trailhead flat and then damaged my rim doing so....so much for a $10 savings...I am sticking with the Maxxis from here on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

DAKOTA in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 YAMAHA TTR125L

Comments On May 26, 2014:turning has improved since i've put it on and so has the front braking. i love this tire, when i need another, i'll definitely get this again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Grip every where

anthony in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On May 12, 2014:Work best at around 12psi. Awesome traction in a variety of terrain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire Choice

Robert in KS – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On May 01, 2014:Good, not great tires. Work very well in Midwestern dirt, not quite as good in the Midwestern rocks. Buy a knobby knife, they will need a little work but will last through most of a hare scramble season.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best all around tire

Damian in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Apr 28, 2014:I ride in coal country PA which is pretty hard on tires. These are the best all around tire you can put on a bike. They grab well in all sorts of terrain and wear like nails. Getchy some!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it

Terry in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 22, 2014:Best tire out there

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best intermediate MX tire available...Period!

Chris in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 17, 2014:Best intermediate MX tire available...Period!
I run the stock 120/80-19 on my 450's, but I also like to run the Low-Profile (110/80-19) MX51 on my CR250 2-stroke. Few options in this size, but Dunlop has it in the MX51...same width as a 110/90 with LESS un-sprung rear wheel weight and phenomenal traction.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the hype

James in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Apr 08, 2014:My son thought this would make a good all around tire for woods racing, trail riding and MX. It is his least favorite tire he has raced on in the woods. Didn't get a chance to try it on the MX track. His complaint was that it pushed in the turns.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlops never disappoint!!

Robert in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 07, 2014:This review might be a bit biased since I've never ran anything but Dunlops, but I feel that the MX51s are the best tires for the money. I've been racing for going on 20 years and these tires have always been good to me. They have excellent wear and grip, even on my 450. Anyone looking for a great mx tire, I would highly suggest picking up a set of these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

LAYNE in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KTM 50 SX Pro Senior LC

Comments On Apr 06, 2014:Great tire. So far so good and no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Keith in FL

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:This tire performs great in a variety of different dirts and holds up really well!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Holds a sharp edge

alex in MO

Comments On Mar 20, 2014:Tread wears vary slowly good for woods and the track

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good off road tire

Kyle in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Mar 12, 2014:Works well in all kinds of terrain. Holds up well, but side lugs will tear off in rocky conditions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must for stock CRF50 replacement tires!

derek in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF50F

Comments On Feb 20, 2014:These tires hook up and are night and day better then the stock tires on my sons CRF50... Why did we wait so long to replace the crappy stock tires on that bike?? He has fallen over so much because the stock tires lost grip on loose dirt or rock. These things work outstanding and should last. My only note is to be very careful changing them because these have very stiff sidewalls and are much much more difficult to change then the stock ones. A tire changing stand is a must for dirt bike tires.. The MSR one RM sells for less then $100 was an awesome investment and will pay itself off in changing 2 tires compared to pay a dealer to do it for you. Buy good quality tire irons (3 makes it easier) and tire mounting lube along with the stand.. Also an extra tube is advised as it is super easy to pinch a tube on these little bikes even with lots of experience changing tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

God tire, but not the best

BRENT in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 19, 2014:i prefer the traction and wear of the Bridgestone 203/204 or 403/404 tires on the socal tracks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire

Marshal in IA

Comments On Feb 14, 2014:It is an excellent tire. the only I run on my bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good at first

Chris in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Feb 11, 2014:tire was good at first. it really hooked up for the first many rides. then, it just started falling apart. chunking was a huge issue. desert terrain with mixed rocks tore this thing apart. after 1/2 the season it was destroyed and I was on to another tire ...maxxis desert IT, which is awesome in the desert with no chunking. this mx51 should stay on a groomed track.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great woods tire!

craig in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Feb 03, 2014:This was a great hare scrambles tire! I like the way it hooked up and how versatile it was in the woods. However, if you are riding much hard pack like the desert that I currently live in, don't waste your money! They won't last more than a few months and start chunking very quickly!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good at first but average once rounded

PETE in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Feb 01, 2014:Not the best choice for any slippery conditions

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

dunlop geomax

bobby in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Jan 20, 2014:Tire hooks up great!! I messed up w/ the wrong size and rmatv had it replaced in no time!!! You guys are awesome thank you again!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire works great

Toby in MB – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Jan 14, 2014:Tire holds up well. Rounds off somewhat fast. Other then that its a great tire. Ride single track with it. No pinched tubes yet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fast Shipping !

Steven in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF50F

Comments On Jan 13, 2014:Awesome tires. Really grip the track and make handling so much better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

what a difference

Marylou in CA

Comments On Jan 08, 2014:great tire, so much better than the cheap one that was on the bike when I bought it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tyre

James in NSW

Comments On Jan 08, 2014:Good tyre for the money. It hooks up great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tyre

James in NSW

Comments On Jan 08, 2014:Good tyre for the money. It hooks up great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rides great, wears fast

braden in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:I ride a lot of mixed terrain: hard rocky trails, sandy slickrock, and softer stuff. This tire seems to hook up pretty well, but seems to wear a little faster than some others.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great!

angie in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Dec 14, 2013:looks cool. great traction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it

Darrell in BC

Comments On Dec 12, 2013:Tire is awesome in screened soil

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not the best choice but not worst

JOHNNY in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Dec 04, 2013:I bought a mx51 for my 07 crf450r before selling it to try what my buddy raved about and did not like, then I just purchased a 13 yz450f that unfortunately came with a set of 51's. They aren't the worst performing tire but I prefer the 403/404 combo bridgestones or after having to buy a Pirelli scorpion mextra in a time pich at my local dealer I now prefer them as well. The Pirelli seems to soak up a lot more of the rocky terrain and roots similar to the way the Michelins do. I would say the 404 would be the best for performance and longevity though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire!!!

David in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Nov 14, 2013:For a rear tire suitable for all types of different terrain the MX51 is a great tire. I prefer the MX31 for the front but the MX51 is a great rear tire. Very durable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire

Justin in MD

Comments On Nov 11, 2013:Went with the 110 on my 450 and I love this tire. Traction is great and it holds the edge really well. It doesn't wear too fast. I've tried this and the M404 and I preferred this tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop Rear Tire

Geoff in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Nov 11, 2013:This tire is great, I will definitely purchase them again in the Future.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Traction

Joe in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Nov 08, 2013:Great tire, Grips well, Matched up with MX51 on front was much better than the stock tires. Very hard to mount rear time pinched tube so make sure you have some good tire spoons!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop tires mx51

Brandon in Washington – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KAWASAKI KX85

Comments On Nov 09, 2013:I have used this tire on my bikes before and it hooked up every time Maxxis and Dunlop both are my go to tires depending on what im using my bike for I am now on much bigger bikes and my little brother is now on this bike but it is a very great tire that always hooks up no matter where you are at.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51

SCOTT in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 XC-F

Comments On Nov 04, 2013:works great every where. long lasting

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

SARA in NE – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 85 SX

Comments On Oct 16, 2013:Always ships fast and always is what is says.. Thank you RMATVMC

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tire

Kim in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF150R

Comments On Sep 25, 2013:Excellent tire and with the rebate you can't beat the already low price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tires/ motocross

Wade in AL

Comments On Sep 23, 2013:Awesome

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing tire

Larry in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Sep 20, 2013:Use mine for motocross on semi plowed dirt. Does amazing and hooks up great!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

very good tire

Haskin in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Sep 17, 2013:this tire is really good on intermediate to hard packed terrain, but doesnt do so well in softer terrian, it lacks the bite of other tires. but all around it has very good cornering grip and excellent stability. would buy again! and again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Troy in OH

Comments On Aug 29, 2013:I've been through three of these on my ktm 300. I haven't had a tire hook up and pull straight since I bought my bike. Highly recommended. Seems to hold up decently for a mx tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

work good

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:not as good as bridgestone but at a cheaper price not bad at all

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MX51 front and rear

Jeff in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI KLX110

Comments On Aug 21, 2013:Great tire. Holds our well and has great bite around the track. Great price for the tire set as well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

amazing grip

spencer in Indiana – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF150R Expert

Comments On Aug 04, 2013:this was a great tire I have all the grip I need I race motocross and it doesn't make the bike grab funny like some other tires on a take off of a jump and for the price I would by this again and again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grip City!!

Phillip in AL – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Jul 29, 2013:I race muddy hare scrambles and this tire is simply amazing. I have put this bike in place I thought for sure it would get stuck and it just finds grip and pulls though, even rutted uphills with rocks. I have probably 60% left (starting to flatten out a little), dropped air pressure a little and raced; still hooking up! I will definately be buying this tire again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

the only tire I'll buy

ANDREW in NE – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 350 SX-F

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:Holds up well. I bought this to replace a MX51 that I ran it in almost every condition possible. Never had a flat and it had 6 hare scrambles on it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

chris in PA

Comments On Jul 23, 2013:Love this tire. Works great in the woods & on grass track.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

Lane in SD – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF50F

Comments On Jul 23, 2013:kinda hard to put on

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire BUT

Jack in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Jul 21, 2013:So far its a good tire but nothing super. I will still try something new and shop the sales.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Tire

MICHAEL in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Jul 17, 2013:I only ride on the dirt so I do not need DOT tires. This tire has excellent grip for hard to intermediate terrain. It is the best tire I have used on my 530 EXC.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Yep

Mitch in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jul 16, 2013:Best tire I've used so far. Love the 120/80/19

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Eddie in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA XR50R

Comments On Jul 04, 2013:great tire at good price. my son has tons more traction with these over stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the track, not for the woods

Seth Bott in Missouri – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jun 23, 2013:I take a trip to the motocross track every now and then and it hooks up great on the track, but otherwise I'm in the woods, the MX51 was not good for trail abuse, the tire wore out fast and started tearing chunks off in the rougher hillclimbs, I'm going to be sticking to my Pirellis from now on

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

120 80/19

Nathan in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 19, 2013:Great tyre for grip and durability.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok for med conditions

ROBERT in OH

Comments On Jun 17, 2013:good in med dirt when new, not great in mud and wears fast.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tire

samuel in QC – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Jun 10, 2013:very good tire

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop's grab!!

DONNA in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 250 XC-W

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:These dunlop tires really grab the dirt and throw you into first place!! My husband races and these tires made a huge difference in performance. Thanks again rocky mountain for suggesting these tires and giving us a discount for shopping with you!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

IT WORKS

Richard in ND – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On May 23, 2013:Ok the tire is aggressive but not so where the hard pack slips. it pulls hard and a non lifting rate which dissperses water all in terrian types. And the tire was cheap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great motocross tire im intermediate terrain

Jason in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On May 20, 2013:I get great hook up in soft and hard dirt, If it gets muddy then this tire goes away.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Feels great!!

Gabe in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ85

Comments On May 20, 2013:These hook up and so far last... Great tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great intermediate tire

Scott in WV

Comments On May 17, 2013:Ive put this tire on every bike ive got, including my sons ktm 50. good grip and fairly durable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MX51

Royal in UT

Comments On May 19, 2013:Awesome track tire! Hooks up great when leaning the bike over. Does wear out like any intermediate tire. If you are a trail rider i suggest MX71.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great rear tire

COLE in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 18, 2013:Get traction at any track you ride. The front sucks but the rear is amazing

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love the Dunlops

Christopher in MD

Comments On Apr 18, 2013:Like a magnet on metal, these tires grip the dirt! Might cost a little more than some but you definitely get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop

brad in IL

Comments On Apr 18, 2013:One of the best tires I've purchased

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome MX Tires

Bradley in NY

Comments On Apr 08, 2013:These tires Rock! I have been using them for 2 years and have no complaints. Read the reviews...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Rear For Desert

Tim in AZ

Comments On Mar 28, 2013:Love this tire here in Az...Lasts as well as any on sandy, gravel trails

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire for the price

Laura in TX

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:This is a great tire for a great price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rear great, front chunks bad

Michael in WA

Comments On Mar 23, 2013:Most of my other dirt bike tire combos I'll run 2 rears to every front, and the front isn't too bad. This front chunks off side knobs fast enough that it should be replaced before I've burnt up my second rear. Other than that, fantastic tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good but tread life not long for little bikes

Joseph in OH

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:I bought these for a jr50 and drz70. The jr50 is doing fine, but for the drz70 treadlife is quick. The center tread is allready breaking off and worn out after a few rides. These were used in dirt, mud and rocky soil.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great all around tire

Daniel in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Mar 13, 2013:These tires are all I have used for the last 3 years. Great for all around terrain and hold up good in the rocks never had one chunk yet. Rear is excellent but front may push a little in softer terrain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok tire

JAKE in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Feb 15, 2013:it grips well but wears out super fast and cost too much.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Off road use

TOM in MT

Comments On Feb 10, 2013:I am a sort of "maxxis IT" junkie, so i thought i would try this tire as you see so many. I thought it was great new, but a bit wide. Traction was typical dunlop-when-new: excellent. Wear was decent but to me it was also typical dunlop: once it hits 1/3 way into life, traction really suffers. I am a budget racer and although it was a decent tire, i took it off and went back to a maxxis IT and put this on a trail bike to be destroyed. I would not get another. I ride rocks, extreme terrain, mud, sand..mx, xc, enduro..and it was just "ok"...for the price..would rather stick to maxxis.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hookn up!

jeff in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:This is the best tire ever! Makes driving off the back tire come true!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seems ok but costly.

DOUG in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:Can't tell any difference from the stock tire i took off, but seems to be holding up well but cost too dang much!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, but I'm still looking

Daniel in New Mexico – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Feb 08, 2013:I ride on a wide range of conditions, so tire choice is tough. The MX51 is a good all around tire but I didn't like that it ended up chunking knobs off on the rear. The front wears well and provides good traction but when it lets go its all at once. I remember the old 756 was more forgiving in the front, though the traction may not have been quite as good. I'm on a starcross MH3 at the moment, so we'll see how it stacks up to the MX51 in about another year. Thats about what I got out of the MX51, but it was legitimately toast by the time it came off. If it can be improved upon, I would like longer wear and better performance in sand.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire

loren in NV

Comments On Feb 04, 2013:Great tire for a great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This is a great do all tire

gerrit in CA

Comments On Feb 03, 2013:One of my favorite tires

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality tire

Mark in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jan 31, 2013:One of my favorite Intermediate tires. Traction is great and they hold up fairly well to rocky terrain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Keep the rear, ditch the front.

Jared in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Jan 14, 2013:The rear tire is a great tire. Wears good and hooks up. Front tire can't hold a turn and was too unpreditable. Used it for an entire season. It was brand new for the Idaho City 100. Would buy a rear again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

kyle in NV

Comments On Jan 11, 2013:Great product would recommend these parts for any one to use on there ride.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Intermediate Tire

Thomas in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jan 07, 2013:Used the tire in a hare scramble yesterday and it preformed flawlessly in mud, sand and hard pack. Very happy with the tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire, best price

Kevin in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI RM85L

Comments On Jan 01, 2013:Famous Dunlop tire, great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

FELIX in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Dec 29, 2012:I use to be a fan of the Dunlop 756 front and rear and I still like the tires but I cannot purchase because they are no longer available for my bike. I'm not pleased with the MX 51 because it is not a durable tire. After a couple rides there is evident wear to the tire and I only ride groomed motocross tracks. I have not noticed slide nobbies ripping off like other tire manufactures but the Dunlop are way over priced and it does not last long.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Mike in KS – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 50 SX

Comments On Dec 20, 2012:I will buy these again for my sons bike when new tires are needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Corey in WY

Comments On Dec 19, 2012:This tire was a life savor for it's price and quality you can't beat it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

like the rears

JA in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Dec 13, 2012:the MX51 rears are good. I have mixed feelings on the MX51 fronts- the knobs aren't very tall so maybe better on hard surface vs say mud

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome all around tire foe all contitions

John in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Nov 30, 2012:I have never been a big fan of factory tires until this one. All 3 bikes have them now. Great Tire at a great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire

SEAN in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Dec 02, 2012:Good pattern for the areas I ride. Lasted 30% longer than the Michelin 12's, did not chunk as badly...as soon.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rear tire

James in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 23, 2012:Good tire for the east TN area

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Stop crying

Ethan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Nov 25, 2012:For everyone that is crying about this tire in the woods, it's called the "MX" 51 for a reason. It's a motocross tire. Use a tire that is meant for woods riding and stop crying.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Going back to Michellin.

Daniel in MI

Comments On Nov 14, 2012:This tire came stock on my YZ450F, tracks I ride are pretty loose, as are the trails, but even on the harder stuff, this tire is ALL OVER THE PLACE. Would not recommend it to anyone whatsoever. Going back to my old tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this tire.

ROBERT in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Nov 20, 2012:I ride primarily in North-Western NV, ie: rocks, single track, sandy washes, and fast roads. The tire hooked up grate everywhere, especially the sandy washes. The side bite was incredible. The tire seems to be wearing nicely as well. Would and have already purchased again and would recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ktm 450

Robert in NJ

Comments On Nov 12, 2012:excellent tires,my son has them on is yz and i liked them allot,so i had to try them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not like the old dunlop

Sean in NM

Comments On Oct 24, 2012:I've heard nothing but rave reviews for this tire, but for where I ride (desert with hard pack and sand) the older D745 and D756 work a lot better!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great, good price

Rob in IL

Comments On Oct 16, 2012:Got this for my 02 YZ85 as a replacement for a worn out Michelin. Seems pretty good. I don't race the bike, only trail riding. The price on here was way less than my local dealer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not good for rocks/Chunks off outer knobs

Rick in ID

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:I ran this tire for trails in Idaho and it didn't hold up well at all. Outside knobs started chunking off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great front tire

Guy in PA

Comments On Sep 28, 2012:Works great in all terrains on my 2012 ktm250xcf

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hard to control

Edwin in CA

Comments On Sep 11, 2012:this tire was all over the place i wore it down in 75 miles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great price

Jeramy in VA

Comments On Sep 15, 2012:The Geomax is a good all around MX tire, so I bought one for my son's little 50. Besides being a solid tire, the price is what was really great. I have made the mistake of not checking RMATVMC before and ended up getting a lesser quality tire for more money. I will be buying a new set of buns for the big bike this winter.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Race Tire!

MATTHEW in IL

Comments On Sep 07, 2012:Love the MX51. Excellent hook up, cornering, and wear resistance. Always be sure you are purchasing the appropriate size tire for the type of terrain you intend to ride/race on. YZ250 Two Stroke - Hare Scramble

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hard wearing

Robert in WA

Comments On Sep 04, 2012:this tyre is a very good all rounder and very easy to get used to , some magazines dont rate the front but I have found a lot of riders that do

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire

Michael in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:about as good as the Bridgestone 404, 403. Best you can buy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME TIRE

KEITH in CA

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:This tire gets great traction!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51 front and back

ROBERT in OH

Comments On Aug 23, 2012:These tires woorks very well for all around riding. Great for harder MX track riding

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tires for son's 50

Jonathon in FL

Comments On Aug 04, 2012:Bought for son's CRF 50 to replace the OEM tires. Excellent traction in the NW FL sand and clay, he's already corning better and not having the front end washing out as much. Definitely thinking of putting them on my CRF 250.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a great tire

Kristin in UT

Comments On Jul 31, 2012:We race motocross with these, and I just wish they lasted a little longer. Knobs tend to chunk off. Would be superb for a regular rider. We do love this tire though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good tire

dylan in UT

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:My bike came with this as a stock tire. Tire has lots of traction in most soil conditions, with plenty of tread sand is not a problem untill it wears down a bit. Wears quickly when on the harder terrain, but its not meant for it. Had no issues with chunking or slicing, and i'm a bigger guy that loves the throttle. Running it at specified air pressure. Going to try a couple different brands see if i can get more miles out of them. Nevertheless this is a good tire and i would recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

Daniel in NV

Comments On Jul 23, 2012:I had the Geomax MX71 before the MX51 and it was a good tire but the tread didnt last very long. I like MX51's better for track riding and the tread seems to be lasting quite well. Will buy again next time around.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

Lyle in AZ

Comments On Nov 27, 2011:Has good grip and works well in sand, rocks and hard pack. Haven't used in mud. Doesn't tear or lose knobs.
Wears a little to quick but you can't have everything in one tire.
On my 2nd one on a KTM 200. Tire size 100/100/21.

Additional Comments On Jul 16, 2012:Do not like the MX 51 on the front. Shreds knobs in rocks and doesn't have the grip of a Kenda Washougal Sticky or a Maxxis SI.
Ran all these tires with 12# of air.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome.

Jonathan in MO

Comments On Jul 15, 2012:Lovin it so far. Seems to be wearing a little less than my last Michelin Starcross. The best part was the affordable price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire for intermediate terrain

Mike in NC

Comments On Jul 02, 2012:These were purchased to replace my worn out Dunlop 756 tires on my YZ125. Great directional stability. Good traction. Seem to be wearing well and I expect long life out of them.
Terrain is light sand on clay and some mud. They work well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great rear, front not so much

Florian in BC

Comments On Jul 02, 2012:been using these for a few years, really like the rear tire in almost all terrain except pure rocks or desert. the front is a little all over the place and i wouldn't recommend it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fresh Meat

MARK in AZ

Comments On Jun 27, 2012:Hooks up great on intermediate terrain and found it suprisingly compliant in the soft stuff as well.After two races it still has square edge.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best alrounder

tony in VIC

Comments On Jun 27, 2012:I run mine at about 13 psi and they do the job well. last longer than the old 756 and grip the same if not a bit better. had the 404s and would rate these as good if not a bit better certainly for wear. perhaps hard loose shale surfaces not quite as good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop!

Richard in IL

Comments On Jun 15, 2012:I like the MX51's Tons better than previous michelins

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BEST!!!!!!!!!!

Brice in SC

Comments On Feb 15, 2012:These are the best tires I ever hand on my 85 they are really good on the track and in the woods.they are also good on hard and soft terrain don't buy Michelin ms2 they are terrible the nobbies tear off in chunks. Dunlop mx51 are the best!!!!!!!

Additional Comments On Jun 06, 2012:This is the best tire ever invented,I ride hard on the track and it still doesn't wear out. I will defintily use the this tire again!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Grip

Matt in UT

Comments On May 23, 2012:These tires are awesome for the terrain here in Utah.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good durable tyre

Jason in VIC

Comments On May 07, 2012:I ride a YZ450F and where as other tyres are chunking and cracking in rock, the MX51 seems to be holding up well. It also offers good grip in softer muddy conditions. A good all round choice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51

Derek in OH

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:These tires are realy good for the back tire. I use the MX31s in the front makes for a good combo.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Tire!

Nick in MO

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:The tire hooks up great on fair / ideal conditions, but it does slip a little in the mud. Overall a great product, at a great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

amazing!

Everardo in CA

Comments On Apr 12, 2012:these are very good tires they grip really good and wear great i am definately getting them again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire.

Brian in AZ

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:Love the geo max tires, hold up well and give you great traction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best front I've had

Kristian in WY

Comments On Mar 30, 2012:This is the best front tire I've ever had. I ride in everything from mud to dry desert rock. All I can say is it lasts!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's a Dunlop

Tim in TX

Comments On Mar 17, 2012:The MX51 is one of the better rear tires Dunlop has come out with. Works on varied terrain, even sand. Would like to see more size choices.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Didnt last

JOHNNY in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2012:the tires only lasted two rides. there was significant wear with the knobbys breaking off on both the front and back tires. they were on my Honda 250x. probably OK for a soft MX track but I wouldnt buy these tires again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

Kevin in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2012:My 14 year old son loves this tire. great traction in all kinds of riding conditions. lasts well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD TIRE

WALTER in GA

Comments On Feb 23, 2012:Of all the offroad tires I have used, this tire has the best versatility for soft to harder terrain. I would recommend this tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hoped it was better

Michael in VIC

Comments On Feb 21, 2012:Has a different fee to what i'm used too with michelin tyres Defintaly didn't wear as long.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This tire is the bomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Parker

Comments On Dec 22, 2011:Dunlop Tires are awesome I had them on my 65 and they were great, and i really want them on my 85!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

SHELEEN in UT

Comments On Dec 18, 2011:Son loves the tire and for the price, you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not bad. Get what u pay for

Jonathan in AR

Comments On Nov 15, 2011:These seem to work ok. The knobs are little and they dont last long. Not a bad tire just not the best

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

kenneth in NC

Comments On Oct 31, 2011:Of all the offroad tires I have used, this tire has the best versatility for soft to harder terrain. The next experiment will be using it with the Nuetech Tubliss system to see if it allows even more traction on rocky surfaces

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good traction... got shredded by rocks.

Robert in CO

Comments On Oct 20, 2011:Front tire performed rather well in decomposed granite, however, on rocky trails (babyhead) I started to notice significant chunking of the knobs. Was on a KTM525exc. I still like the 952 better for durability reasons.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

Michael in TX

Comments On Oct 21, 2011:Replaced my OEM tire with the MX51 and have good results. Seems to be wearing well and hooks up most everywhere. I ride terrain that changes from rock and hardpack to sand quickly and the tire performs well in each of them.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

not a good all-around tire

Charles in AZ

Comments On Sep 19, 2011:I ran the front 80/100-21 on my XR400R. It worked well on hard pack with loose dirt on top, providing precise steering and grip. However, it was downright scary (unstable) in sand. Also, the side knobs tore off on just one rocky ride, plus it provided very sketchy steering on rocks. So perhaps this tire is good on a groomed mx track, but its focus is much too narrow for off-road riding. This is the least favorite tire I have used in 7 years.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Terrain tire

Sarah in MI

Comments On Sep 10, 2011:Good grip in the sand.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Using 120/90/18 over 110/100/18 on KTM

chuck in CA

Comments On Aug 08, 2011: I switched to using 120/90/18 over 110/100/18. The 110 stands very tall and I use my bike on track for practice- and in Hare scramble competition. The new rear size works great overall and is more stable. It offers a wider foot print and lower sidewall which is good on the 450. The tire feels light and installs pretty EZ. The front and rear have great grip. . Actually prefer the 51 & 71 over Bridgestones.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mx 51 rear tire

Jeffry in MA

Comments On Aug 08, 2011:Great rear tire that last.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlap GEOMAX 51

Tracy in TX

Comments On Jul 11, 2011:Great tires for my CR250R. Hope they wear as well as the GEOMAX 71's on my CRF450R, Rocky Mountain MC is great to do business with and has great pricing. I will continue to do business there in the future.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best set of tires that I've ever gotten

Ben in AR

Comments On Jul 01, 2011:I put a set of these on my YZ 250 last week and couldn't believe how well they hooked up on wet clay. Thanks to these tires I have finally been able to rail a berm hard enough to rip my undies. The rear tire reminds me of the good old Dunlop K695 that I loved so dearly back in the late 90s.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great all around tire

Ryne in TN

Comments On Jun 24, 2011:Tire hooks up well and so far has held up great!!! Best tire you can buy for the money.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good all around tire

Tim in MI

Comments On Jun 18, 2011:This has ended up being the staple tire for Yamaha race bike, the tread life seems very good and it works well in everything from hard pack to sugar sand. We have run the MX31 too, the tread life seems a litle bit better with the 51 and tire suits a greater variety of terrain. Primarily used for GNCC, National Hare Scramble and Enduros.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop Geomax MX51

JESSE in NM

Comments On Jun 14, 2011:Im an MX racer 100%. The MX51 is the best rear tire and have the MX51 rear tire on my CRF250R and CRF450R. The rear MX51 is 5 stars and is Absolutely excellent! The front MX51 though is not so good. The rear is definately better than the D756 that it replaces. Better traction, great tread paddern and lasts longer. Unfortunately the D756 front is a much better front tire than the MX51 front. The front MX51 tread paddern looks better than the 756, but slides unpredictably on loose hard terrain and washes out easily unless the track conditions are perfect. So 4 stars for the front.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Mike in CA

Comments On May 23, 2011:For the money this is a great tire! Has lasted through many races and will buy again for all 3 of my bikes..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire Great Price

lisa in FL

Comments On May 20, 2011:We love the geomax tires. RM has great shipping fast can't beat them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Geo 51's great rear tire

MARK in NC

Comments On May 19, 2011:Great rear tire. good wear. If your riding a 250f or 250 2/smoke try the 110/90x19. Huge improvement in cornering and less wheel spin.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Chris in TX

Comments On May 15, 2011:Bought this for my 01 YZ426F. I live in TX and the tire does well on dry hard pack, and mud too after recent rain. Have used this tire at buffalo valley, which is not groomed, and at cycle ranch, which is a groomed track, and it performs very well on both.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

needs broken in

MANOJ in KS

Comments On May 09, 2011:i didn't really prefer this tire on the front, felt a little shaky until i raised the tire pressure and put a few hours on it. the rear was great, held up well for giving so much grip

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51

GARY in OR

Comments On May 09, 2011:Very good tire for intermediate conditions on my yz450f,the tire life was excellent too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sick Tires!!

ERIC in VA

Comments On Apr 28, 2011:These tires hook up in all terrain. I feel comfortable leaning the bike down in the turns and the tires last a long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Should be called plowmax

KENNY in TX

Comments On Apr 14, 2011:Im 39 and ride over 30B cross country in Arkansas and usually run up front.. i have never taken the time write a review on anything ever but do read them before i purchase.. For the front i usually run a maxis cross it or the old Dunlop 756, or whatever it was called that this tire was suppose to replace.. This tire doesn't even get close to them other than it being round and black! I would not recommend this tire to anyone other than the other guys that run in my class... On second thought I don't think I could deal with the guilt.. It's that bad...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this tire!

Shane in IL

Comments On Apr 12, 2011:I bought this tire for the front on my kx450f and it is an awesome front tire. Not sure on the rear I use the D756 but im sure it is just as good on the rear. Great hook up in corners

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great MX Tire

Dylan in VA

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:This tire really impressed me with the way it sticked in allmost all terrain. This is really good and would recomend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

Travis in CA

Comments On Mar 26, 2011:like others have said this tire has great traction all over the track and on trails. they keep rutts from ruining your day and can last on trails. the tire also lasts longer than the last few tires ive had. 02 yz 250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does not last

Keith in CT

Comments On Mar 09, 2011:great traction but wears quickly

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire

Kyle in AZ

Comments On Feb 21, 2011:Awesome tire great traction lasted a long time. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX 51 Geomax

Kevin in CA

Comments On Feb 15, 2011:A very good tire for the money. I run these and the Maxxis Desert IT. Very comparable in wear. I think the Dunlop hooks up better. I ride mostly off road, desert, mountains,singletrack.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51 Front

JOHN in AZ

Comments On Jan 07, 2011:This tire i feel is really bad. Especially in soft or loose soil. It feels sketchy on all other terrain. I do not like it. I have one ride and one race(Desert) on it. It's going in the trash.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I dare you to Find a better tire

Clint in UT

Comments On Jan 18, 2011:this thing is amazing I have 3 rides on it and it has no wear looks brand new and hooks up great!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Jan 16, 2011:sure am glad they came out with this tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Five stars

Marko in VIC

Comments On Jan 08, 2011:I love the tread pattern, grip and durability of this tire. It tracks extremely well on hard pack and well prepped watered tracks.This tire works exellent in different tipes of terrain. Used in Australia, VIC.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chunky

LANCE in UT

Comments On Dec 28, 2010:Great hookup but im not a factory rider and can't afford to replace a tire as soon as the mx51 needs

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Tail and Track.

Juancarlo in FL

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Excellent traction and Long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire for soft or intermediate terrain.

THOMAS in AZ

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Rear tire worked very well at the track when prepped. Very good hook-up. Do not use in hard terrain or in rocks as it will chunk badly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

COSTIC in PA

Comments On Dec 04, 2010:Good tire front and back. Provides very good traction on all types of track conditions also lasts a lot longer than the Dunlop 756.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

DAVID in FL

Comments On Dec 03, 2010:Tracks well, way better than the stock tire I had before. Is holding up well, knob edges aren't rounding out bad at all after a few months of riding every week.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok tire

JAMIE in TX

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:good tire but broke knobs off in thee rides on hard terrain go with the 71

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

Jim in CO

Comments On Nov 24, 2010:Great tire for the first 30 miles, then it's like any other worn tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate Terrain Tire

LOUIS in LA

Comments On Oct 25, 2010:These look as good as they perform

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love em'

Jason in NY

Comments On Oct 18, 2010:I have gotten at least half a summer on this riding rocky technical trails with lots of hill climbs and the rear looks a little beat up but a most of the knobs are still intact and still roostin! I haven't found a tire I have liked more!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good.

Jared in VIC

Comments On Oct 15, 2010:These MX51's are great. They're wearing quite fast, but the traction they provide is huge. I'm over-jumping everything now, there's just so much more drive from these than my previous Michelins. Cornering they're brilliant, but the rear does tend to let go abruptly when pushed hard, not progressively.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best for the desert

brad in NV

Comments On Oct 07, 2010:i have tried a variety of hard pack and intermediate tires and the mx 51 is hands down the best tire for desert racin. u cant match the amount of traction with the price , i am hooked on this tire and i ride a 450 in the cali, las vegas, and laghlin desert and i get easily 300 miles on it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Contolled slider

casey in UT

Comments On Sep 30, 2010:Only used the 756 for the last 6 years and now forced to switch, Mx51 is as good in all terrain and far better in blue groove and groomed conditions. Still gets a little loose in the front on hard pack track with a bit of dust or sand on top but its controlled. Mx only so far, very very good. Seems to wear quicker but hooks up better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good

Larry in OK

Comments On Sep 24, 2010:Only a few rides on the new tires so far, on quite varied terrain ranging from hard packed dirt and rocks to sand and mud, but from what I've seen and experienced, they are living up to my expectations. Have ordered several more for my kids bikes as well now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Front and Rear Intermediate MX51

Daniel in BC

Comments On Sep 20, 2010:Great tires, the grip of the 756 with added durability. What else can you ask for. Performed well everywhere I took them racing this year. I'm sold on these!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tire

John in BC

Comments On Sep 09, 2010:I ride in rocky rooty wet terrain and this is where these tires shine! wanna pull out of a slick as snot rut? no problem for these bad boys! they do wear quick but after spending cash on useless tires while trying to find a replacement I just gave up and ordered another set of mx51's.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mx 51

James in ACT

Comments On Aug 03, 2010:good grip in moist soils better than 756 skatey on hard pack and dry loose soils does not cross over soil types like the 756 used too

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

New design

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:The new design looks like it has more or bigger knobs towards the edge of the tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51

AUSTIN in AZ

Comments On Jul 19, 2010:Soft and sticky. Great for tracks but not a ton of life

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Front/Back

Hunter in OH

Comments On Jul 18, 2010:This is an awesome tire. Both front and back of shown only about 5-10% of wear for over 25 hours of riding! I can corner much easier with less sliding but if you do slide you still feel planted and NOT out of control. Grip in both hard-soft terrain is awesome! Dunlop makes the best tires. I put this on a CRF150R.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT tire!

jimmy in GA

Comments On Jul 13, 2010:I like this tire..it has lasted me twice as long as others ive tried.Great traction in all conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Scott in OK

Comments On Jul 01, 2010:This is the only tire I ever use on my sons RM85L. Never had a problem. It wears great in all types of terrain.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

average at best

GEORGE in WA

Comments On Jun 26, 2010:I usally run Bridgestone 403/404 but I thought I would give Dunlop a try again after quiting on the 756 a few years ago. I was pretty disapointed in the tires. The front tire started loosing the edge knobs within 200 miles. The rear is holding up better then the front, but is no where near the tire that the 404 is. Traction is good for awhile but goes away pretty quick, as was the problem with the 756. I will not be using them again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Charles in VA

Comments On Jun 27, 2010:A great Intermediate Tire. Hooks up really good and is long lasting on hard terrian. I switched from the D756 and like this tire much better.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

37 Hours of use!!

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jun 27, 2010:You read correctly. Put this tire on last year! and kept track of riding hours. Got 37 hours of hard riding including two hare scramble races in rocky terrain. The tire may even still be good enough to get more hours out of it if I were a beginner/novice rider but as it is right now, the side knobs are tearing away so time for a new one. I will probably be going with the MX71 this time since it is a harder terrain tire. Also, I love having the 90/100 as compared to the 80/100 for the stuff I ride as you have a bit more sidewall and the tire can take head-on hits by rocks much easier. Much smoother ride for the trails. Less pinch flats.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX51 Geomax Intermediate

TERRY in BC

Comments On Jun 13, 2010:Great tire so far! Has a few rides on it now, and still works and looks like new. No chunking and hooks up really well! Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

working great

Jason in IN

Comments On Jun 04, 2010:I ride in vaious conditions from hard packs to soft loamy to rocky loose stuff. I am running the MX51 on the front and rear of my 05 crf450r and they are hooking up great. I have not had any instances of loss tracking in all of the terrains.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire...

Adam in IA

Comments On Jun 07, 2010:Hooks up well on a different types of terrain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good all around tire

Nathan in ON

Comments On Jun 05, 2010:I bought this tire to be my "do-it-all" rear tire. I have been happy with it, wear seems pretty good. I have noticed a little bit of chunking on a couple of the side knobs from riding on very dry, hard tracks.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ok, but Hyped

NATHAN in ID

Comments On Mar 29, 2010:FRONT:It seems I struggle to understand what motivates people to buy and believe in a tire. The MX51 has come out with loads of hype and real people I've talked to say it is spectacular. Same with the rear 51 and Bridgestone?s 404. I've tired all these tires. I experiment a lot and ride with about 6 friends to help me evaluate. The mx51 front slides. A lot. I found myself breaking in places I never braked before, when I asked myself why, I discovered I was afraid to turn going fast. Idling through corners seemed much safer. I had a friend ride it. He said, Wow, that stinks! I said, "You noticed." He said, "You can?t miss it." This was in sand, gravel on hard-pack, and sand on hard pack and any terrain like that. Maybe it is a star somewhere else. Perfect, loamy soil? But if you are looking for an all-around off-road tire that gives you confidence, look away from this, and look away fast. It does seem like it might last a long time, but since it doesn't get traction, I can see how the knobs can hold up a long time. For me, it might last ten years, since after a little more testing I think I will take my nearly brand new tire off and put in my storage shed. REAR: Better than most tires available. A good, even slider when you power slide, and has good drive and braking traction. Its probably great on a track, but for off-road, too much power slide in soft terrain, no where near enough serious grip in tight corners. If you like a slider, this is a four or five star tire. If you like great grip while turning, look for something else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These tires are GREAT!

MARC in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2010:I love this tire on the front of my KTM 525! It gives me plenty of confidence when riding in varing conditions. I usually run the Maxxis 18 on the back, but I am trying the MX51 rear and it ROCKS also. Although it is not lasting as long as the Maxxis Desert. It is a great tire for most conditions.............

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Grip

Anthony in NSW

Comments On Mar 15, 2010:These tyres offer excellent grip. Definitely an intermediate tyre as described. Grip well in all conditions and in my opinion better than the dunlop 756. Unlike the 756, the knobs can tend to tear off in hard/rocky conditions. You will get about the same amount of wear as the dunlop 756.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best for single track

TIMOTHY in AZ

Comments On Feb 23, 2010:Put one of these on the rear of my 200XCW and found that the grip is not what I expected. I find it breaks loose very easily when cornering on hard pack and lacks grip in the rocks as well as the sandy areas. I've tried different pressures from 8 up to 14 lb.s. It might work well in tacky loam but there's very little of that in this part of Arizona. This tire is worn out at 350 miles of use, not what I expect on a small bore 2 stroke. On a positive note, it was easy to mount.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Desert Tire

Spencer in UT

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:I ride all over southern Utah and Nevada. Sand, rocks, you name it this tire holds up to the worst punishment you can give it. I definately give it 5 stars!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX51 Geomax

Braden in UT

Comments On Feb 09, 2010:Good tire. Provided great traction initially but wore fast on the rear of my YZ450F. I just flipped the tire and am curious to see how long it will hold up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rear is good. Front is not.

SUN in TX

Comments On Jan 29, 2010:That's it really.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GEOMAX!

Stephen

Comments On Jan 17, 2010:This tire has some BITE! I used to always run michelin starcross but i decided to give these a try and so far i love them. really good hook up in sand/clay and georgia clay. give them a try!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

my fav tire easy install

dan in CA

Comments On Dec 12, 2009:great tire one i will be useing on my 09 crf 450r for a long time lasted me 6-10 trips to the track

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

mx51

Mark in OK

Comments On Nov 22, 2009:I ride trails and MX, and have different wheels for each both with dunlop mx51 used to use 756.
The 756 is a soft tire in my opinion and 51 is a int tire with more knobs and longer life.
The mx51 lasts longer than 756 on both trails and track. I have not noticed a lack of traction in muddy/soft conditions but have noticed an improvement in int and definately an improvement in hard rocky terrain.
For now they are my tire of choice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!

PAUL in CA

Comments On Nov 16, 2009:The MX51 is an outstanding tire. The big knob's hook up well on the straight and especially in the turns. After a few rides it is holding up just as good as the IT. Dunlop really came through with the Geomax series. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than D756

Josh in WA

Comments On Oct 27, 2009:I've been running D756's for years, and still love them, but- The MX51 DEFINITELY lasts quite a bit longer and the side knobs didn't tear at all. Traction is as good or better, but tread life is noticeably better, which equals a better value, even tho they cost a tad more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

need help

Tyrel in UT

Comments On Oct 26, 2009:ok i have a honda cr80r expert and my back tire is toast i need to know if this tire will go on asphalt a little bit and be ok. i mostly ride on dirt and gravel but anywhere i go to ride i have to ride asphalt.
Tech Note: Limited exposure to asphalt we be fine for this tire.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best Tires for Desert Rider

JUSTIN in NV

Comments On Sep 17, 2009:The absolute best tire for Nevada Desert riding and racing!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best we've tried

Owen in WV

Comments On Aug 15, 2009:I have two boys on YZ250F's. I am talking of the REAR tire. Have tried Pirelli, Michelin, 756 and Bridgestone (Bridgestones were stock). Especially in the corners we see the MX51 as having CLEARLY better hook up. We do our own tire installation and must say that the MX51 is harder to get on than the M404, but it is well worth the effort. Now have this tire on the back of both bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

Mark in CA

Comments On Jul 04, 2009:I have this tire on my 2001 YZ250 and it is awesome. it hooks up in all types of terrain and dry or wet conditions. I would definately recomend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful?