Pirelli Scorpion XCMS Soft To Mid Terrain

Customer Reviews for Pirelli Scorpion XCMS Soft To Mid Terrain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 20 Reviews

Return to Pirelli Scorpion XCMS Soft To Mid Terrain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pirelli Scorpion XCMS Soft To Mid Terrain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire but wears out too fast

Manuel in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HUSABERG TE 250

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:Its a good tire but wears out way to fast.... Better stick to Michelin

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love the tire

Nick in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jan 28, 2014:Five stars says it all, its a personal preference but this tire does better than the geomax for sure. doesnt push through turns and last pretty good. Ill buy again although there are others good ones out there

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

Michael in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Jan 07, 2014:Ive been running the XCMS front for XC racing and it really hooks up in the soft stuff and it's not bad in the rocks and hard pack. The terrain we race in changes so much througout the track that there's no way to pick the perfect tire but this on is really good where it's supposed to be and does the job everywhere else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Scorpion XC Mid-Soft is the best tyre for sand!

Dean in RI – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HUSQVARNA TE 450

Comments On Dec 23, 2013:If riding Sand this is a fantastic tyre. For more rocky riding you have to run the pressures around 10PSI to avoid breaking knobs off the side in my experience.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

has its good and bad.

ryan in Connecticut – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Bought both front and rear after the stockers wore out. I have little to no complaints about the rear but the fronts a little different story. the front seems to work good in anything but flat and/or loose corners, it just washes right out where as the two previous tires I had on this bike were fine. I have tried 10, 12 and 14 psi and haven't really found that they work better with any particular psi.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved it in rocks, "entertaining" in slick mud.

CLINTON C in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Aug 31, 2013:On rear only. It was VELCRO on dry rocks. Ran pressure at 8-9lbs with Ultra Heavy Duty tube at Hatfield McCoy in Feb/Mar, and it was plenty stiff enough to prevent any pinch flats and rim damage. First day had Snow on ground, ice on puddles, so it was muddy everywhere. The rear end was all over the place in the really slick mud, but full knobbies were dancing around too. Climbing muddy inclines was only possible if the rear was spinning enough to sling the mud out. No spin trials technique was useless in slick mud, but I was able to get everywhere everyone with 50% knobbies could, and on the rocky steps and inclines the rear stuck like velcro. Made the front SUPER LIGHT. Ran a bit on street back home, city speeds were fine, but 80 degree weather and any more than 5-10 miles at 70+ interstate, and the rubber started wearing. A tiny lip formed on trailing edge of knobs after one 15 mi interstate jaunt. I'm keeping it for dry mountain trips, knobbies rest of time..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great traction, good wear

Scott in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:I tried a front and rear at the same time for wet, muddy winter riding. They had great traction, even as they were worn down. I'd put these up there with Michelin s12's.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pirrelli xcms soft to mid terrain

Roy in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Aug 07, 2013:Race hare scrambles almost every weekend...Tire does it all great traction especially in the mud!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good intermediate tire

ROBERT in OH

Comments On Jun 17, 2013:Great traction when new on med dirt, not too bad in mud, wears a little fast.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Favorite DOT Tire

Marco in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On May 24, 2013:I've tried a bunch of tires and the XCMS front with the XCMH rear seems to work best for my style of riding and out here in the northeast with all the rocks, mud, roots and sand. Great all around performer, Pirelli for life!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sweet grip

Scott in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Mar 13, 2013:Excellent grip for single track and mud

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

XCMS 100/110

FRED in MI

Comments On Nov 10, 2012:The only bad thing about this tire is it seems smaller than the usual 100/110. More like a 100/100. The traction is unbelievable though. Next time I will get the 100/120. This is going to be my go to rear tire, works everywhere. (But I don't ride in rocky stuff)

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great soft terain tire

brian in PA

Comments On Jul 24, 2012:works great in sandy and loomy dirt.Hooks up good in all terain,but side knobs will tear in the rocks.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

works very well

Randal in OK

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:took it to the rocks in Davis Oklahoma for the 2012 OCCRA race. worked very well on the rocks,roots,mud. a great hill climber in the lose rocks. for a soft to mid range tire did very well in the hard.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Front Tire

STEVE in WA

Comments On Jun 22, 2012:Excellent offroad tire. If you like Michelin M12 fronts, try this as an alternative.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad A

Robert in TN

Comments On Feb 08, 2012:I love these tires. I race southeast harescrambles and after the first tire purchase all my bikes run this tire. The rear hooks up great. I dont run the front because im hooked on the S-12 and cant bring myself to change, but the rear gets a Pirelli every time. These tires last twice as long as the other compareable tires for me. They hook up on almost anything. The only time im not 100 percent happy is when the mud gets sloppy. For an all around tire that hooks up great get one now!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Dry Mid/Soft, Not-So-Good Wet

Bob in NC

Comments On Jan 02, 2012:My bike: 2007 KTM 300XC-W / Terrain: Southeastern Woods / Riding type: Trail/Hare Scramble /
Got a set of these front and rear. This review is for the front tire only. In the front, this tire hooks up best in moist loam (but then, so does everything else) and sticky clay, seems to have an effective range of slightly dry/hard to slightly wet/soft, and is altogether worthless in mud. Once you get beyond slightly wet/soft conditions, this tire becomes very unpredictable and can go away in a hurry. The feedback from this tire as you start reaching the limits of traction is nil, leaving you no time to react/correct before your front end skates away into another zip code.

Additional Comments On Jan 08, 2012:I've modified my rating slightly. After further consideration, I probably could have been a bit more specific in my original review. In DRY softer conditions, this tire hooks up great. It's only when things start to get wet that the problems I mentioned above come into play.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't really hook up that well in mud

Brian in OR

Comments On Dec 14, 2011:Seems to be a durable tire, but it could get better traction in the mud here in the Pac NW. A riding buddy following me up a sloppy hill said my rear end was slipping all over the place while he was hooking up. Expected this one to be a bit better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent all-rounder

Charles in AZ

Comments On Sep 19, 2011:I just put the 80/100-21 front on my XR400R, running 12psi. After two long rides totalling 200mi on every surface imaginable, I can say that this is a great all-around tire. It grips well in mud and sand, but also provides good steering control and braking traction over rocks. I did one of the gnarliest rock trails in S-AZ yesterday, and none of the side knobs tore (the same ride tore off half the side knobs on a MX51 last year). Also, the tire showed very little wear from many highway miles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent front tire

Brian in OH

Comments On Sep 08, 2011: First off I run hare scrambles with a ktm300exc. This tire it one of the best front tires ive used to date. seems to clean out well in the mud and handles the rocks and hard pack very well also. I just ordered the rear and hope its just as good as the front.....

Was this review helpful?