Alpinestars Bionic MX Knee Protectors

Customer Reviews for Alpinestars Bionic MX Knee Protectors

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 14 Reviews

Return to Alpinestars Bionic MX Knee Protectors Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Alpinestars Bionic MX Knee Protectors Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No padding

Eric in Arizona

Comments On May 08, 2014:The first day I wore these just before my ride I knelt down next to my bike for maintenance and it was so painful on my knee caps. These guards do not have any soft pad between the hard protectant plastic cap and your knees. I imagine if you had a direct impact it would feel the same as falling on concrete without them. I removed them immediately and went back to old guards.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Poor manufacturer product support

dave in Maine

Comments On Apr 19, 2013:The plastic breaks, the elastic and velcro give out, the circlips can pop off in a crash and unless you want to spend another $100 bucks, you can't get replacement parts. Those replacement parts should cost very little and be easy to get but Alpinestar won't give them to you - very poor product support. I'll never buy them again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Comfortable

Logan in UT

Comments On Sep 19, 2012:These knee protectors are so comfortable you forget that you are wearing them.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Knee Pads

Stefan in WY

Comments On Jul 03, 2012:For the money these are good knee pads. I've had mine for three seasons and they did what they are supposed to do, protect my knees. Both are cracked now down the middle from heavy impacts, but that is better than a cracked patella. In a perfect world, I would get the knee braces, but the price difference is too great. For those that complain about walking and kneeling, look at how much time you spend doing that as opposed to riding. I would rather have protection that comfort kneeling. Tighten the lower strap above the calf to keep them from sliding down. Good product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Protection

Bryan in TN

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:I've had these knee pads for several years, Yes just one pair has lasted. I have wrecked bad enough to crack one cup but the 2 cups overlap and knee received no injury at all.. I race harescramble races SR A class and have raced alot with these.. They are not good for walking but i don't walk when i'm riding..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not the best for the price

Cory in MB

Comments On Sep 27, 2011:These knee pads are not the greatest, they are bulky and they make noise as you walk cause of the hinged joint . It is really annoying

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

They are what they are...

ALBERT in AL

Comments On Aug 30, 2010:....which is an effective and very reasonably priced protection to the shin - kneecap and particularly the muscle area just above the knee. The bars seem to hit that last area every time I have a get off, and the protectors have really prevented more of those type injuries. Granted, the straps become pretty worthless after a while. With a little thought those are easily replaced and simple to improve upon. And, yes, they do make annoying noises when you walk around in them. Regardless, they are well worth the little money, and I strongly suggest you wear them EVERY time you mount up. Leaving them back at the truck won't help.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Keep shopping

David in NV

Comments On Jan 01, 2009:Being an alpinestars product, I really expected a lot more from these. They protected well for the sores you get from clasping your tank (at least on an ATV). but as others have said they are terrible off the bike. Especially if you get down on your knees to try and fix something. When on your knees they are down right painful!
If i could do over i would spend the extra $20 on the higher up version, or just try a different brand all together.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hockey Anyone?

GLADYS in NV

Comments On Jun 23, 2008:These knee guards do what they are designed to do...GOOD. They WILL protect your knees from rocks & hard impacts every time. But they are VERY large and bulky. If I had it to do over I would save up for the knee brace systems!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good protection, painful fit

Bryan in OH

Comments On Apr 19, 2008:The concept of these knee guards is sound and movement is great, except for standing. When you get off the bike and walk around, these things dig into your shin like a knife after a while. I had no problems with sliding since my boots hold them up pretty well. Anyone with athlete sized legs should stay away unless you like shin pain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

To large

jackie

Comments On Apr 09, 2008:I have had the same experience as another reviewer. These knee braces slide down my legs, even with my boots on. I don't have small legs either, my boots are maxed out in the calf, but these braces seem to be really large. They are all over the place and really annoying.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

saved me

John in AZ

Comments On Jan 23, 2008: This device saved me from a catastrophic injury. Long story short, I had 3rd gear pinned and went off a 20 foot bluff and landed in brick sized granite crush, then went down another 20-30 feet tumbling and sliding. My bike is trashed. I walked away with a broken right knee pad and a busted helmet. Make your own decision...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

lots of protection , bulky

sean in AZ

Comments On Jan 05, 2008:The guards definately give good protection and secure well with wide strethcy velcro straps, they rotate well, the adult size seems plenty big - good for a larger rider. Downside, pretty bulky, might be too big for a smaller adult rider.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poor Knee Brace

Eric in TN

Comments On Dec 09, 2007:Knee brace slips down while riding and actually hurts your knee worse when you fall than if you didn't have one on at all. Wish I could send it back but I'v already used it.

Was this review helpful?