Thor Force Knee Guards 2014

Customer Reviews for Thor Force Knee Guards 2014

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 46 Reviews

Return to Thor Force Knee Guards 2014 Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Thor Force Knee Guards 2014 Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice product

CALEB in MN

Comments On May 08, 2014:These knee guards fit well and stay in place well. They haven't been through a massive crash but I have no reason to doubt whether they will do the intended job.

Additional Comments On May 08, 2014:Also, they work well with my Tech 7 boots.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Thor Knee Guard

Gus in CA

Comments On Jan 16, 2014:The knee guard is comfortable and well made, but Thor did not add padding to the pivot point of the knee guard and damages the side of your bike and rips your riding pants.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

thor knee guards

Steven in Iowa

Comments On Oct 24, 2013:I have had these guards for 3 years. at first they dug in the back of my leg under my knee but after about 20 rides it stoped hurting and I have the leg sleves and they helped. after having them for 2 years the top strap broke. I still wear them and they still work the same. they slide down a little when I am just standing but for the most part my boots and pants keep them up. these guards have saved my knees way more than I can remember and I would total recommend them...... I have not tried a knee brace yet so im not comparing it to a brace.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best mid priced knee guards

RICHARD in AZ

Comments On Jul 31, 2013:I first used the RM knee measuring guide for knee guards/braces and so I ordered a set of these L/XL and wow they were way too big. Sent em back via RM's awesome customer service and got the S/M. Now, the problem is the velco enclosure flap is alittle too small on the bottom for the calf and the top is just fine. The straps themselves I have no problem with. Also, I do use knee socks so I don't have any problems with skin issues as most riders do. Moving on, I have tested these knee guards with two bad falls and have had no issues what so ever. I used to wear the cheap evs knee guards, but wanted something with more protection at a mid price point and a knee guard that wasn't too bulky and I found these to be the best thing out there. So, if your looking for a set of mid priced knee guards that get the job done, these Force Knee Guards are the choice. Hope this helps ya out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Average Protection but Poor Desigh and Quality

Hank Nowak in Colorado

Comments On Jun 07, 2013:The first time I put these on one of the two lower strap anchor points broke. They are very sweaty and hot to wear, virtually no ventilation. The upper velcro wraps on both units begin to curl and then the exposed coarse velcro side sandpapers the backs of your knees, very uncomfortable. The fix for that was to buy a pair of above-the-knee sox which makes the whole set up even hotter. I can't recommend these and would not buy another pair.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great after break in

Mark in Arizona

Comments On May 23, 2013:I've had these since feb with about 50 hours on them. Kept catus off my legs during an AMRA race. The left side rubbed a nickle size raw spot on my left leg behind my knee but after a few rides they broke in and it stopped. I think they offer great hit protection but no joint protection. If I had an extra few hundred bucks I'd get a proper knee brace but for now Id recommend these to anyone since they offer more leg protection then just knee pads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit good protection

Daniel in ID

Comments On Mar 13, 2013:Better than most as far as knee protection. Only problems so far is loosing a few bolts and replacing graphics and pants about every 4 races.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

corey in SD

Comments On Mar 05, 2013:great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Knee Guards

Ronald in PA

Comments On Mar 01, 2013:Fit was perfect and they're comfortable, price is higher than the cheaper ones but you get what you pay for and these are the worth it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Protection but not to comfy

WILLIAM in AZ

Comments On Dec 24, 2012:I purchased the large / x-large based on the sizing chart. The chart is not accurate so don't use it. I should have purchased the xx-large ( I am 6 ft 225lbs). I couldn't even get the Velcro to reach around my upper calves. Above the knee the top was also tight. This caused bruising and chaffing on the back side of the leg while seated on the bike.
Also, my riding pants are to tight around the knee area now. This may not effect you since newer riding pants give you extra room in this area.
They do offer the best protection of all the knee guards and are similar in design to high dollar knee braces. Had I purchased the XXL I think I would like them much better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fair price

Jaime in OK

Comments On Nov 07, 2012:They are what is shown. I would like them to fit better, but is good manufacture. One size more could do the trick.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best knee protection out there

STEPHEN in NM

Comments On Oct 01, 2012:I have had the Asterisk knee braces, and they have done well, but the Asterisk braces are not as comfortable as these Thor knee guards. While these may not be as strong, they are really comfortable, and they REALLY protect your knee in a get-off. I've wrecked so many times, and these knee Guards have shrugged off every impact, while yet providing excellent protection for my knee. At one point, I lost a couple of hinge bolts....just came loose on a ride. I contact Thor about this and they sent me out a couple of hinge bolts for free, with a reminder to always check the bolt tightness before riding. Excellent service and great protection. These knee guards are by far my favorite guards.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great protection

Guy in PA

Comments On Sep 28, 2012:Takes a few rides to break them in good but protection seems to be top notch on these knee pads. Comfortable after broke in other than rubbing the back of your upper knee. Helps to pay attention how you lap the upper straps. Also noticed some stitching pulled out on some of the velcro after 12 rides but hasn't affected there integrity. Pretty happy with them overall.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

Chris in VA

Comments On Sep 04, 2012:These knee guards are hardly noticable while riding. The range of movement is is fantastic and they are very comfortable from the first ride. When you fall they stay in place and mine have yet to get a scratch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, could be better.

John in CA

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:For the price these are great knee guards that offer some knee support, but not like that of a full brace. I like the patella cup, and the lower thigh guard as well. After a few MX and desert races they have held up well.
Things to be made aware of with this knee guard. They ARE bulky. I had to get used to riding with my knee's out and not being able to hug the tank like I used to with my old knee guards. The hinge/pivot point will destroy your graphics and scratch your plastics. I suggest buying the next size up in pants to make room for these. My biggest complaint with these is the comfort. Even if you do get them on correctly, and get the velcro straps lined up correctly, these WILL chaff and rub the back of your knee's. It can be so uncomfortable that you don't want to ride. A knee sock/long sock is necessary with these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Like

Doug in KY

Comments On Apr 13, 2012:I put the right one on a little to high the first time and the knee cup got caught when i extended my leg. After i figured out what i did wrong havent had any problems. Would definately recomend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome

brad in CO

Comments On Apr 04, 2012:love them little funny walking at first but works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good but weak points

tony in VIC

Comments On Mar 10, 2012:These are the most comfortable knee guards so far. however in time the large velcro wraps curl up and then chaff the back of your legs real bad. have to wear sock to make them comfortable. now if there was a way to flatten them out it would make them best valuse

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

comfortable

chad in CO

Comments On Feb 25, 2012:Went on a 30 mile ride across the desert. Very comfortable. I happened to wreck in the rocks and they saved me alot of pain. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid equipment

Ken in CA

Comments On Dec 30, 2011:I've had the Thor's for about a year now. They've protected my knees from injury several times now from get offs while doing rocky hillclimbs. 1 or 2 rides will get you accustomed to wearing them, then you'll feel naked without them on. You'll definitely want a long sock because the straps will hurt bare leg skin. I have about 2,000 miles of trail/desert riding and several MX track days in them and the only downside to them is the elastic straps and velcro fasteners are starting to wear out. I will order another pair soon.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit for the price

Steven in TX

Comments On Oct 30, 2011:I have use the EVO kneebrace/guards and they were not as comfortable as these. I would like the Pods or Asterick but cannot afford them. I just wore the Thor guards for the first time over 3 days/400 mile dual sport ride. They rocked! Comfortable, no rubbing, did not move or slip. Definitely like them for the price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Definitely worth it

DAVID in FL

Comments On Oct 10, 2011:Good fit. Great price. Sturdy. You can grip the bike WAY better with them than without. A little stiff at first, but they broke in quickly. No hassles with mobility. Took a couple of rides to get used to, but wouldn't ride without them now. No bruised and battered knees, and my boots fit better. Holding up well after a few months. Make sure you get a knee brace sock for underneath them, they chafe the back of your knees pretty bad without.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Fit

Steven in CO

Comments On Aug 23, 2011:I purchased these as my first knee guards so I have nothing to compare them to. The first time I had them on they felt really tight and hard to bend the knee, but after riding they seem to loosen up. The fit and design are great otherwise, I think they will do well when I need them in a situation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the money. Good for my knees.

DEAN in CA

Comments On May 23, 2011:Been wearing these for almost 2 years. Got use to them in one ride. Had problems with the velcro chafing the back of my legs with the top strap. Folded the corners of the velcro inward and sewed them in place. Need to wear knee brace socks. They work well. Starting to come apart at some of the seems, but I have used them a lot.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

Philip in CA

Comments On May 15, 2011:Not a bad knee guard/brace. Takes some getting use to if you aren't use to wearing something like this. They are a bit bulky and does feel a bit like riding with knees sticking out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Killer Knee guard's!!

tempe in CO

Comments On May 04, 2011:These are the best for the $$,I have about 15 hour's on em and everything is great!!I am 6'1" and 170,i got the Large and fit was perfect,these have taken a couple good spill's and not a scratch!!Well made,great protection and they gave me a bit of confidence knowing they will protect me better at higher speed get off's!!Highly reccomended!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good

Casey in UT

Comments On Apr 28, 2011:These are good braces at a affordable price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great product

elizabeth in NC

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:These knee pads are as close to full knee braces as you can get for under $100. I wear them over my pants and the velcro closer will still sometimes rub the back of my knee but I can deal with that for the protection and sense of security they provide.The bottom tucks in the top of my boots to give you total protection from your toes to your thighs. These were the first knee pads I had ever worn and took a couple of rides to get used to. Now I would not even dream of riding w/out them. I would highly recomend them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the money

GREG in CO

Comments On Oct 28, 2010:I don't have knee stability issues (yet), but I don't want them either. That is why I purchased these Knee Guards. They are comfortable for all day wear, and have done their job the few times I have wrecked. The whole front is protected by a durable hard plastic, with a fabric covered, hard plastic patella cup.
After about five rides, I lost one of the aluminum machine screws which make up one of the hinge points at the knee. I substituted a hardware store screw until Rocky Mountain ATV/MC got me the replacement (Thanks). I have since tightened all screws a few turns and added some Loctite.
Day one with these, I crushed my left leg between a huge rock and my bike while riding an aggressive (all relative) up hill. The force which the Knee Guard absorbed was evidenced by my riding partner's reaction. He assumed that I had crushed my leg. The only evidence of the event are the scratches in the plastic hinge from the rock. (Savings = $20,000 = new knee).
These braces fit easily into my Gearne SG-12.
If you hug your bike with your knees/legs while you ride, be aware, these braces are not kind to whatever stickers you may have on your tank or tank plastics. They will leave little scratches, etc.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well Conceived, Poorly Executed

Jason in AZ

Comments On Sep 08, 2010:Three things: 1) The design concept is awesome, especially the floating kneecap protector 2) Hinges are not parallel to each other, meaning knee flexion cannot occur without some deformation of the rigid plastic portions of the guards. Translation: the design inherently makes it difficult to bend your knee. 3) I ordered L/XL and they were too tight, so I returned them for the XXL/XXXL version and those were way too big! (I'm 6'0", 195) So, now I'm moving on...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Have used these for over 3 years

Mike in NV

Comments On Aug 27, 2010: I have used these Thor's for over 3 years now. They are great knee pads and provide great support on impacts/crashes that I have had. 1- Yes they ARE bulky. Takes some getting used to putting your pants on at first. The Velcro will snag your pants and can be a pain sometimes getting a good adjustment. 2- Flexion is stiff- Flexion is somewhat stiff and increasingly stiffer as you bend your knee. Also, the further you bend you can feel the snag of the Velcro and it CAN get on your nerves as it chaffs the back of your knee joint if you didnt find the sweet spot when you put them on. It's the poor positioning in the contraction of the guard flaps. 3- This brace WILL last you for years. Washing them up is not a problem. Velcro and stitching stays intact with no issues/tares.
Overall this is a great guard for the money. I have used them for over 3 years in Expert class MRAN competition with NO issues other than getting used to the adjustments once they are on and your pants are up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excelent

Irving in TX

Comments On Aug 10, 2010:Nice Guards! Good price! comfortable caring fit well before a long journey

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Thor Knee Guards

Robert in TX

Comments On Jul 31, 2010:- These knee guards are great. They are well built and have help up well to falls. The floating knee cap protector does its job and is comfortable. For the price you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

cesar in ND

Comments On Jun 14, 2010:They are good for the price but the only concern that I had is that they run a little bit small. I'm 150 pounds rider and got the small/medium size but they were a little bit small.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the Ladies

Beata Maria in BC

Comments On Dec 11, 2009:These are the first guards that I have bought after researching many products. One of the best purchases I have made! They are extremely comfortable, don't bother me when I'm riding, and fit great under riding gear. Being a girl I was worried about how they would fit as a mens legs are more muscular but at 5'7, 137lbs the 'M' fit great! Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect knee guards

Derek in AL

Comments On Apr 29, 2009:I needed knee protection and the knee brace extra support and I found both in the Thor Force Knee Guards with the knee brace features built it without the brace cost. Before, after riding my knees would be very sore because of the side to side movement but after purchasing these I have had no problems with my knees. Be sure to buy the tall knee brace socks you will need them.
Additional Comments On Nov 25, 2009:The only problem I have has been the velcro overlap connection behind the knees. It sometimes folds making the loop portion come contact with the back of my knee. With some adjustment I am ready to go again. Even with the adjustment issues this is a great product making what could be a painful end of day ride to no pain at all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sick Thor Knee Guards

Gretchen in CA

Comments On Oct 15, 2009:Have tried others, and these are both comfortable and reliable!!! Have protected my knees in some bad situations.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

seemed bulky to me.

Yuri in CA

Comments On Oct 20, 2009:I have bought 6-7 pairs of knee guards in the past 3 years in search one that is just right. I bought these based off of the reviews. I felt I should add to the list. These pads have a wrap that velcros around your calf and thigh. It also has 3 straps that go over these. They are well made and seem like they would endure a crash. The velcro on mine itch me because the edges are curled around. The knee cap area looks soft in the picture but is actualy a hard piece that floats in front of the knee cap-very nice. Only other comment is that they are somewhat stiff as far as flexing through your full motion. If you get on your knees there is a fair amount of tension. It almost seemed like I was going to rip them or misadjust them. But I think they would be ok. My last pair were fox raptors and in comparison these feel more bulky yet softer (minus velcro that sticks out on mine)inside.
Really it is just a personal fit. These are definately at the top of the list. But I am going to still try another pair in hopes for perfection.
Why cant they just make a perfect knee guard!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does the job

richard in ID

Comments On Oct 15, 2009:I am old and should not still be riding,but someone has to show you kids what is up:)they fit well and make it so my knee's are not so sore the next day. I missed the triple, hit both knee's on the bars, got up and walked away. Awsome protection!!!They are a little warm on a hot day. they are a little bulky under the riding pants but livable. Good product for the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice product

Don in OR

Comments On Aug 24, 2009:I measured my legs per manufactures directions. I recieved the product(large- XL). Product was very tight so returned for next size(XXL). Now almost too big but can deal with it. Very nice and supportive. Once you have them on and riding you hardly notice them on. You will need to by the knee brace socks for sure. Very good protection and would buy again. Had other guard but these are hands down the best so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very comfortable and good protection!

TYLER in IL

Comments On Jun 11, 2009:These aren't too bulky so they can fit underneath motocross pants pretty easy. The lower part fits in my boots and all I had to do was ajust the upper part of my boots to get them to fit in. They fit really well and offer alot of protection. I flew forward from casing my quad on a double and my right knee hit the front shock and I couldn't even feel it. I suggested these to a friend and he likes them too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Christopher in NJ

Comments On Aug 13, 2008:I had a very serious knee injury when i wrestled in high school and ever since then I have never felt the support i wanted in any of the knee braces I have purchased.....until this one. Ever since wearing these I have felt way more safe and comfortable on my bike which has made me a more aggressive rider. Every time I fall on my knees now i barely feel it. GREAT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

YZ 85 Junior racer

JEFFREY in NV

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:My son purchased these for himself and the first time he wore them, they felt uncomfortable to him. The second time he wore them he said they felt great. Now he won't ride his bike without them!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great protection

Nathan in AZ

Comments On Mar 11, 2008:these provide great protection, after a few hours my knee cap does get a little sore. I have fallen on my knees a few times both before and after getting these and I don't ride without them any more.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Way too bulky

JARED in KS

Comments On Feb 02, 2008:OK, first off, I have never ridden with knee protection of any kind but felt compelled to add to my protection by purchasing a set of these. I weigh in at 180 and would not consider myself to have larger than average thighs or calves. I bought the L/XL set and could barely get them on my legs. I own three pair of moto pants (two pair are less than a year old) and could only get two of them to fit over the guards. One pair wouldn't even go over the knees. On the two pair I was able to get on, they were stretched so tight to get over the guards than I couldn't even bend my leg far enough to get my foot on my kick-starter. I rated them a 2 because they appear to be very protective, unfortunately I'd have to ride without pants! There has to be a better solution to knee protection. I returned these.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great For Protection and Confort

joshua in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is a great knee guard. It is a little more advanced one and it is great pertection and you cant even feel them while riding.

Was this review helpful?