Park Tool USA Steering Race Remover

Customer Reviews for Park Tool USA Steering Race Remover

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 18 Reviews

Return to Park Tool USA Steering Race Remover Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Park Tool USA Steering Race Remover Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tool

Owen in OR

Comments On Feb 25, 2014:Worked great. wish I would have had this the first time!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DOES NOT WORK ON 2006 CRF250X

Andrew in UT

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:I spent multiple nights trying to get my bad steering stem races out. Mulitple tools from different shops and nothing. I finally broke down and bought this tool. I was so excited to finally have my bike put together. Inserted tool, waited for the prongs to engage the race and it never even came close to touching them! The taper on the stem head wouldn't allow the tool to engage the races. So mad I wasted $40.00 for a tool I'll never use again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tool

JOHN in OH

Comments On Jan 24, 2014:I used to hate trying to feel around in the steering head with a punch, not anymore. Snap it in place and tap the race out, works great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works like MAGIC !

Owen in WV

Comments On Jan 13, 2014:LISTEN UP FOLKS !!!
2008 YZ450F.
Steering races were in really bad shape. I home-made a special punch to try get the races out. No go. Then I made an "Improved version" punch. No go again. Not even close. Struggled for hours over a 2 day period. Even "Spoke very sternly" to the obstinate races, but they would not listen.
Then I broke down and bought this tool. In 30 seconds both races were out. Easy as pie.
If you don't like struggling, BUY THIS TOOL.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Steering stem race remover

Brandon in AZ

Comments On Dec 09, 2013:Ingenious tool! I have used this tool to replace steering stem races in two motorcycles so far, and the race remover has worked beautifully. This is definitely worth purchasing if you plan on changing out steering stem bearings/races.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Made the job simple

Justin in NV

Comments On Oct 11, 2013:This tool saved me a lot of time and curse words.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does Not Work On Yamaha

Jason in FL

Comments On Sep 09, 2013:Bought this due to the reviews that everyone posted. Went to use it tonight and it doesn't work at all. On the YZ 250 there isn't enough of the bottom of the race exposed for this tool to work. So it goes in the tool box and maybe one day it will get used.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to use

DAVID in WA

Comments On Jun 22, 2013:30 seconds or less and I had both upper and lower races out of my 97 XR400. May not use it often but it sure is nice havin the right tool for the right job. BUY ONE!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

totally worth every penny

Troy 414 in Ohio

Comments On Apr 23, 2013:Spent an hour trying to get the races out of the 2004 RM 125 I just bought. They were stuck . Less then a minute with this tool . Also bought the installer . Worth every penny . Don't loan it to your buddies , they will keep it . Charge them a small fee to do it and this tool will pay for its self . Must have for any moto head .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Right tool = more wrenching pleasure

Brad in UT

Comments On Feb 19, 2013:I love wrenching challenges but wow, my steering stem bearing races were in there to stay! I can't imagine an aluminum frame withstanding the abuse I put my steel frame Yamaha through in trying to pound the old races out. I went from loving to wrench, to hating to wrench (thanks to above mentioned bearings), then two-days later (how does RM ship so FAST?) back to loving wrenching. I know you'll probably never use this tool again but hey, think how your popularity will soar when your riding buddies find out YOU own the special tool they need!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

steering stem bearing tool

ALAN in OK

Comments On Jan 07, 2013:This tool is well worth the money! I beat on my sons RM 125 steering stem bearing races for an hour without moving them. I ordered this tool and knocked them out in 20 seconds! Plus the tool arrived 2 days BEFORE they said it would! VERY happy with the product and the service from RM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked Awesome on 2006 YZ450

CLAY in MS

Comments On Jun 14, 2012:I got the 1 1/2" - 2 3/16" one, honestly took less than a minute to knock out the upper and lower races. Perfect!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to use tool

JAESON in CA

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:This tool made removing the bearing races a breeze! I had to bend the tips to catch the race edges, but worth it's weight in gold.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

remove races

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Nov 03, 2011:works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best!

Mimi in CA

Comments On May 18, 2011:I have always used a impact chisel that I had modified the tip on so that I could get it to hold securely to the edge of a race, but found that I couldn't make it work on a small diameter steering head, do I ordered one of these tools. I ordered the bigger size, and found that it would work on the steering head bearings of a CRF150R as well as a CR85. What a snap the removal was. I wish I had ordered one of these things a long time ago. Quick and safe, with no slippage. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

the only way to do steering stem bearings

AARON in NH

Comments On Jun 26, 2010:dont waste your time trying any other way, this tool is soooo worth the money you will spend. tryed one time without the tool and it took hours, then bought the tool for next time and it took about 3 min to get both races out!!!! just buy it if you value your time and temper!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pricey but worth it

Christian in CA

Comments On Mar 16, 2008:I ordered this for my 05 CRF250R and out of the box it didn't line up with the steering races. Took a hammer to each of the prongs in order to bend them out further then it worked perfect. So other then about 3 extra minutes of my time and some loud banging.. it worked! Would I buy again? absolutely... I understand they are universal and sometimes minor tweekng is needed. 4 outa 5 only because I had to get the hammer.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Much better than a screwdriver

DAVID in CA

Comments On Jan 05, 2008:I could not have removed the races from my '05 YZ125 without it, but I also had to use a Dremel to grind some reliefs in the steering head so that the prongs of the tool could engage the lip of the bearing race. Without doing the grinding, the tool would not have worked. By the way, replacing the races is no walk in the park either. If I had it to do over, I would just take the bike to a shop and have them do it. My time's too valuable.

Was this review helpful?