Motion Pro Mini Chain Press Tool For 520 Chain

Customer Reviews for Motion Pro Mini Chain Press Tool For 520 Chain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 33 Reviews

Return to Motion Pro Mini Chain Press Tool For 520 Chain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Motion Pro Mini Chain Press Tool For 520 Chain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best

Brandon in UT

Comments On Aug 15, 2014:If you run an o ring chain and a clip type master link this is a must have. Makes installing it a breeze. BUY THIS!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just ok

Michael in NJ

Comments On Jul 14, 2014:The problem with this tool is that the channel milled into the side plates which is supposed to allow the chain pins to clear is not milled deep enough. When pressing on the master link end plate, the side plate of the tool bottoms out on the chain pins before the link end plate is fully seated.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No more Hassle

Manuel in CA

Comments On Jun 26, 2014:GOOD to have no more problems;no guessing ,very Compact , Im spoiled Now

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

CHRISTOPHER in WI

Comments On Mar 29, 2014:a must have when doing any chain work - makes life easy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

light duty

John in TX

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:I had to force a master link together with this tool and it bent pretty severely on first use. I was able to beat it back flat with a hammer for future use, but I wont carry it on the trail as I dont have faith in it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works well

James in ON

Comments On Jul 13, 2013:I used this to install a 520 x-ring chain, it worked exactly as described. I reccomend this product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

its okay

Jared in OH

Comments On Jul 08, 2013:I thought at first this tool was for breaking chains. its not, but it helped me a bunch when putting on my xring chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

big help

Scott in WV

Comments On May 17, 2013:this makes pressing master link together on 520 o-ring chains so much easier. Don't know how I went so long without it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I like it

Thomas in IN

Comments On Jan 14, 2013:Sure makes it a breeze!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

EDIT - earlyheimers

Lawrence in CO

Comments On Jan 10, 2013:I think it is possible that I overloaded the tool and bent it. If true, that is my bad so I didn't totally trash the rating. Suggest if you buy this, don't get heavy handed or it will fail. Still, I didn't whale on it with vise-grips or cheater bar, so I don't think it should have bent. Just sayin'.

Additional Comments On Jan 10, 2013:I bought 2 chain presses and mixed up which was which. I'm revising my rating of this press to 5 star because it is NOT the one that failed. Earlyheimers kickin' in again. I narrowed the threaded press bolt nose by grinding so I could use this with clip type masterlinks. This really works great for pressing the plate fully on without having to omit O-rings or X-rings. Following that, installation of clip was a snap! (argh; pun intended)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain press

Jacob in WY

Comments On Nov 25, 2012:Not much to say, it did its job.Handy little tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not that great

Koby in NE

Comments On Sep 10, 2012:It works....but only marginally. Cant get enough leverage with the course thread bolts.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a little mod needed

SHAWN in AB

Comments On Sep 15, 2012:I found that the grooves that allow the chain's side plate to be pressed onto the pins are not quite deep enough. The press tool plates were just pressing or squeezing the chain pins (on each side of the chain and so didn't move once the press was tightened). I will drill 2 small dimples into the press tool plates (get the spacing correct) - to allow the chain pins to move into and allow pressure on to the chain plate/link to press it over the protruding pins enough to put the retaining clip on:) Took me a while to figure out what was happening... but I got it eventually:)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works like a charm.

David in WA

Comments On Aug 23, 2012:Very easily compressed the master link together on my RK 520 x-ring chain. Would not want to try without it, those links are beastly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

How did I get by without it?

Seth in TX

Comments On Jul 12, 2012:If you run o-ring chains, you need this tool. Wil save time and misery!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth It

Paul in WV

Comments On Jun 26, 2012:A little cumbersome to use but makes o-ring chain link install much easier. Wish I had bought one of these a long time ago.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Its OK

Ash in VIC

Comments On Jun 14, 2012:I used this for fitting and EK 520 chain to my bike. The groove that is supposed to sit over the chain pins is way to shallow so you can't fully press the side plat onto the chain to allow for the clip to be slid into place. I ended ip removing one of the plates and just having the bolt press directly on the side plate. This seemed to work well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works like it is supposed to

Gary in SK

Comments On Apr 25, 2012:I tried this tool on a #520 O-ring chain and it worked perfectly and with little effort.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain press

BENJAMIN in AZ

Comments On Aug 31, 2011:this chain press is so easy to use. great tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Compact and gets the job done

KATHLEEN in MO

Comments On Mar 05, 2011:If you run an o-ring chain you should have this tool. It makes the job of installing the masterlink much less a chore and, with a little practice, setting the right tension/pressure on the o-rings.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These things should come standard with any chain k

Dean in NSW

Comments On Feb 26, 2011:Awesome tool for connecting a new chain up

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

horrible

Adrian in AZ

Comments On Jun 28, 2009:did not work on my DID chain metal press plates bent and bolts stretched before it could even press the plate enough to see the master clip groove. had to take the tool apart and use just the plate with the slot and a medium size industrial vise to press the side plate o enough to get the clip on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain press

Dustin in OK

Comments On Feb 16, 2009:takes the hassle out of putting the master link on o-ring chains

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool for the job

DOUGLAS in CA

Comments On Dec 10, 2008:I use it every chain replacement and it has worked great every time!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

handy tool

PHILIP in CA

Comments On May 24, 2008:Does exactly what it says it will and does it well. Nice little tool to have

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't put an O-ring chain on without it

David in CA

Comments On Feb 19, 2008:Ever tried to squeeze an o-ring chain together with pliers? Me too, and I'm over the frustration. This tool is cheap and makes installing the master link clip MUCH easier. I love this thing and it's simple to use, well made, and very helpful.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

BOZO in NC

Comments On Feb 14, 2008:Chain press is made very durable. Works exactly like it should, even came with its own allen wrench

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product for the money!

RYAN in PA

Comments On Oct 30, 2007:This product makes pressing on a master link side plate a snap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for fanny pack

DAN in MN

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:Does the job and small enough to go into your fanny pack

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain press tool

Kelly in CO

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:This press may be little but it works great on press linked chains.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tool You Wish You Thought Of

ALAN in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This tool takes all the hassle out of getting a new, o-ring master link on. It compresses the o-rings so the master will slide right on. It's weel worth the few $.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome product

TROY in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:this is the answer to chain asembly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works

JEFF in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:It works as designed. Gotta have one in your tool box.

Was this review helpful?