Tusk Grip Heater Kit

Customer Reviews for Tusk Grip Heater Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 34 Reviews

Return to Tusk Grip Heater Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Grip Heater Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Defiantly heat the grips

Gene in OR

Comments On Apr 19, 2014:Only had these on for two rides so far. They work great. Just take care to install them correctly, so you don't stress the wires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have for winter riding.

Kyle in OR

Comments On Apr 02, 2014:I have been using these for years on all sorts of bikes and love them. The work well and are relatively cheap. Just be sure to put some thick heat shrink tubing on the clutch side of the bar before putting the heating element on to insulate the bars. If you don't, the left side won't get warm as all the heat will go into the metal bars as opposed to going through the rubber grip and getting to your hand.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Grip Heater Kit - Part# 1246950001

Wolfgang in California

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:I just installed & tested Tusk Grip Heater Kit Part# 1246950001 I would be very satisfied, BUT: I noticed that the throttle side always heats quicker, and on the left side it takes longer...
Quite sure is because on the left side the heating element goes directly over bare metal; therefore, the handlebar absorbs heat.
The package SHOULD include an insulator to prevent this! The add and the instructions SHOULD at least mention this!
Now I am going to have to remove everything and FIX the problem. It should NOT be this way because they are supposed to heat up evenly.
TECH NOTE: THE THROTTLE TUBE DOES ACT AS AN INSULATOR AND THE THROTTLE WILL HEAT UP FASTER. THE LONGER THEY ARE ON, THE MORE EQUAL THEY BECOME

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk heated grips okay

Tom in OR

Comments On Nov 23, 2013:Just installed these and the right hand grip ( throttle) works perfect but the left hand grip ( clutch) barely gets warm. I double checked connections with test light and it has power so not sure what the deal is. Very easy install . I have another set to install on another bike so will see how they work
TECH NOTES: On a motorcycle, the throttle tube insulates the heating element from the handlebar. The throttle side will always heat quicker because of this. On the left, the handlebar will absorb heat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works---Sort of

Cody in WY

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:I can notice a difference, but even on high they do not generate the kind of heat I was hoping. At next grip change will be looking at something a little nicer/sturdier. Need better install instructions as well. It was very difficult to get the grip and the heating unit onto bar and staying put as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

Lane in ID

Comments On May 29, 2013:Good Grip heaters, switch is cheesy plastic and resistor gets very hot on low setting. I replaced the switch with a higher quality unit and used an electronic flasher for the low setting for a much improved setup.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Work great, but...

MATTHEW in CA

Comments On Jan 02, 2013:If you properly clean your bars and wipe them down with rubbing alcohol prior to install these stick great and are very warm. Unfortunately, they're way too flimsy. I only managed about 800 dual sport miles with mine before the resistor wire snapped at the ceramic heat sink - despite making a concentrated effort to provide strain relief to this obvious weak point. The high setting would still work but tends to make your palms sweat in any temp above 'very cold' so I just removed them entirely. The price is great but unless you find a way to adequately reinforce the resistor the installation hassle just doesn't justify the mileage.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Twist throttle instructions should be included.

Chad in California

Comments On Dec 31, 2012:Next to the product description is a very detailed document on twist throttle installation. I didnt see it the first time and people ordering over the phone will never see it. RM really should include the twist throttle instructions in the box.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Adequate, but great price

Kevin in CO

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:This is one of the few Tusk products I've seen that suffers a lack of quality. The components are a little thin and dainty for an off road product, which resulted in failure during a crash. It's my fault they failed, but not sure they would have if they were a little more robust. It still earns three stars due to the low price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

SEAN in WA

Comments On Dec 02, 2012:I have them on both my bikes. For the cost you can't beat them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

they work

JIM in IA

Comments On Jul 02, 2012:i dont like how they wont stay stuck to the handle bars...then your hand grips are loose because of them,,,, but they do heat up ok

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice and toasty

ERIC in OR

Comments On May 21, 2012:I installed these on my '08 ktm 250xcfw and they've worked great at a fraction of the price of other brands. It's better to run these off the ac headlight circuit rather than the battery so the charging system keeps up (I learned the hard way).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the price, but....

Jeramy in VA

Comments On May 03, 2012:As mentioned before, the wires are not that secure at the heating element. But the solution has been posted several times. Either zip tie it to the grip or tuck it up under the grip as far as possible. High is too hot, low is not hot enough, but they work great and have lasted longer compared to the other brand names ones I have used in the past. Just be cognizant of the wire issue and they will be fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Warm

Rick in OR

Comments On Feb 15, 2012:These work great. Throttle side gets hotter, but a couple extra wraps of electrical tape around the handlebar may help for the other side. The adhisive didn't stick for me, so I just used one wrap of tape before sliding my grips back on. High is perfect when I wear heavy gloves, but is a little too much for thin gloves. Low works good for thin gloves. I strain relieved both sides and haven't had a problem with the wires yet. These combined with the Tusk mits keep my hands nice and toasty on cold wet days. These will go on all my DS bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Work well w/minor issue w/switch

TYLER in IN

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:Read reviews on here and reinforced the wires by removing small amount of material from grips where wires pass and using heat shrink to add some robustness. Only issue was high setting of switch stopped working after a couple of days on the TransAmerica Trail. Disassembled switch and cleaned. All is well again. Put out good heat. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Follow the instructions and you're good to go

Ronald in GA

Comments On Jan 13, 2012:I've been using these nearly daily for a month now. If you follow the instructions they will not break at the solder points. Use tape instead of small wire ties and your grips will fit better to your bars. I paired these with the tusk "oven mitts" on my drz400sm and love it. High gets down right HOT but after they get warm switch to low and you're golden.
I've used mine in the rain several times and so far they're still working great. The "oven mitts" are a great addition too because they keep the wind off of your hand.
For the money, I'd highly reccommend these heaters for all weather riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Grip Heater's

JOHN in NJ

Comments On Nov 17, 2011:This Grip Kit is Easy to Rigg and work's Great, Like some other's said,The Hi setting is almost too Hot,I also added the Tusk Hand Boot's, Very happy so far, Just make sure to tape at the Throttle side wire's Together and Anchor it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A FEW TIPS!

Jean-Paul in BC

Comments On Nov 02, 2011:This product works well, help it out by taping or zip-tying the wires to the throttle tube like the pdf instructions say or you will have the wires break. Also I find the throttle side gets much hotter than the other side. Insulate the other (clutch) side handlebar with some electrical tape or big heat-shrink tubing before installing the heater. This forces heat into the grip rather than escaping into the bars. For the price these are a great investment!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very easy to install and works great so far

Lloyd in MN

Comments On Nov 01, 2011:I have had it on the bike for a little over a year and 22,000 miles. So far it still works great and I have had no issues. ** I did drill a small hole through the inside "lip" of the grip and zip tie the wires to is so the pull point is there instead of where they connect to the mat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The switch is junk.

SETH in TX

Comments On Oct 08, 2011:I wired it through a relay and still had to replace the switch with a beefier one after a few rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must for anyone riding in the spring/fall rain

MONTY in AB

Comments On Jun 05, 2011:Once you have grip heaters you will never not have grip heaters. For the money these cannot be beat. I have them on both my machines, and they will go on all my future machines. Great kit, installs easy. If you take the time to CLEAN your bars first you will have no problem with them sticking.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad for the price

Wes in ID

Comments On Apr 19, 2011:considering the fact that the hand warmers were only $20. they still have there flaws. they take a long time to warm up. and i dont like how the connections are underneath your grip so you constantly worry about them breaking from the warmer. other then that they work as they should

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Warms my hands well

Keith in CA

Comments On Feb 03, 2011:They did their job perfectly. Heated my hands fine - almost always on Low.
Great value for the cost. Requires electrical knowledge of you bike to install, but not rocket science.
Wire could be a touch thicker gauge and slightly longer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NOT BAD

JEFF in IN

Comments On Jan 14, 2011:Could use heavier gauge wire, had to resolder back to heater, but warm nicely.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I like em

James in WA

Comments On Dec 01, 2010:They work great on my snowmobiles. They were a bit difficult to install because the adhesive didn't really hold them in place in order to get the grips on without the heaters slipping. I got it done though and they work well.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Keeping the throttle wire/solder from breaking off

Ken in OR

Comments On Oct 17, 2010:This is an excellent product, but the throttle side heater wire needs to be attached to the grip preventing the solder connection from breaking off. To do this; Cut 2 small holes in the grip inner area and use safety wire or small Zip ties to secure to the grip. Normal rotation and pulling now is upon the wire/grip area and not the solder joint! I also put the wires in a rubberized conduit (automotive stuff)

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Warm hands.......

Eric in OR

Comments On Jul 23, 2010:Great little product! Easy to install, includes all necessary electrical wiring and three position switch. When on high, they're almost too warm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does what they are supposed to.....

Aaron in IA

Comments On Nov 04, 2009:I thought these were well made and very durable. Installed on my Honda Fourtrax and my sons Suzuki LT80. Install went easy and they work great.
Dont know what more you could want for the money. Some of the nicer grip heaters dont use a resistor for the low side but then again they also cost 2x as much.
.....Im plenty happy.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great product

clint in TN

Comments On Oct 28, 2009:This is identical to other brands i have purchased in the past and works just as good or better. i have installed a set on my KLR650 and my 300ex. Both work great! Very happy with the product and price.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Craig in AE

Comments On Oct 25, 2009:Easy installation and they work great. Have been using these for a year now and they have been very reliable

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great product

Mark in CA

Comments On Jun 18, 2009:I used these all winter and they were the best purchase I have ever made for my quad. Easy to install and very effective.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed

Don in OR

Comments On Apr 30, 2009:Bought two sets or these. Dissapointed the wires on the throttle side broke at the solder joint after only 4 rides on both bikes. Tusk needs to redesign the connection point. I took extreeme care when installing these to make sure the wires were not stressed yet they still broke.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

WR450 Throttle side wires broke!!!

Dale in OR

Comments On Apr 30, 2009:Wires going to the twist throttle broke after 4 rides. The price is nice at $20 but they need to use a higher grade of wire and isulation on the wire for the throttle side. Broke on a two day ride when temps were in the low 20's over night, maybe it was to cold for the wire, I know it was to cold for my right hand after the heater wire broke. My friends also broke and we had tried different methods of installing because we were worried about this after purchasing the product. I was able to fix the issue with solder but unsure how many rides it will last.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Works very good

Tyler in IA

Comments On Oct 29, 2008:it was easy to install because it had good instructions. They warm the grips very well.

Was this review helpful?