Nemeses Racing Body Armor

Customer Reviews for Nemeses Racing Body Armor

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 43 Reviews

Return to Nemeses Racing Body Armor Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Nemeses Racing Body Armor Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good armor for the price.

Trevor in UT

Comments On Apr 08, 2013:Fits tight and very little adjustability. It rides high in the stomach area and for me its a little bite of a pain. While the price point is amazing, I would like to see more protection in the chest. Very little protection via the plastic guards. There is more padding then actual plastic protection. I am looking at getting the Fox Titan suit as a replacement as it is CE certified and offers better chest protection.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality, bad sizing

Darren in Washington

Comments On Dec 28, 2012:Ok guys... I'll admit it. I have the ol' belly a lot of us have. I'm 225lbs and i'm 5'9. I'm thicker around the midsection, and my fiance bought this for me as a christmas present. Long story short, it doesnt even come NEARLY large enough. I'm an XL in all tops. This thing, no joke was 4 inches away from being able to zip up. Unless you're rail thin, dont buy. If you're a size L, get the XL!!!!!!!! If you're a medium, get the XL!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poor design

Tiberiu in UT

Comments On Mar 11, 2011:Not impressed. Hot, thight in the chest, back protector hits the back of my helmet as the ride goes on and the jacket starts lifting on the body. Front plastic protectors very small and almost getting in the way rather than providing assurance. I am quite sure I bought the correct size. Similar products used: EVS balistic jacket (very good) and Thor impact rig (excellent).

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice fit. feels great

Daniel in WA

Comments On Mar 11, 2011:i feel much safer wearing this than a regular coat w/out any protection.
im 6' tall, and almost 200lbs, w/a 43" chest and a slight spare tire. it also has an extra kidney belt. that part is necessary...if you have an option to get with a kidney belt, do it...as it totally secures the lower spine panels too.
the large fits me perfect, and i now have spine protection from my shoulders to below my belt.
i like how all the extra guards have their own Velcro straps to keep them taught, and in place, i haven't wrecked but will write another review if i ever get its full potential.
this is a much better value than separate armor and this has the best spine protection i have seen yet.
also, the straps are additional rash protection where the plastic gaurds are the heavy hitting areas...
also, the forearms (among other vulrnerable areas) have an additional weaving and padding for low hanging limbs and/ or road/ dirt rash prevention.
a lot of thought went into this, and it shows.
im really happy with this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the price but warm.

Kelly in WA

Comments On Mar 10, 2011:Good for the price but warm. Only used it in winter so far, and it keep you very warm. Not sure it will be bearable in the summer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

this is a "you get what you pay for"

jon in AZ

Comments On Mar 01, 2011:for the price this is absolutely to most protection youll get. it has saved my skin several times.
the down side is its hot and doesnt breath real well. summers in az this thing is suicide. in the winter its fine but doesnt fit as well as the more $$ brands.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

Edward in MA

Comments On Dec 16, 2010:This body armors alright-- its good light-armor, not weight wise, but protection-wise. The movement is fine, because the plastic armor plates are not very substantial. Friends ride different brand armor, and they have more protection, but this seems to have easier movement. Elbow pads could be better. Size definitely run BIG, so get it one smaller size for a nice snug fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

for a girl

TOM in WA

Comments On Dec 09, 2010:I like the looks and function...but the zipper in on the wrong side for a man and it was a perfect fit for my skinny wife. It was ordered as an XL man. Buy it for your wife

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value but little heavy

Allen in CA

Comments On Oct 28, 2010:Product offers O.K. protection, little on the heavy side, specially after starting to sweat. Elbow protection could be better. Sizes run bigger. It's a good first body armor. Value is good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bruised and battered but not dead.

Robert in CA

Comments On Jun 14, 2010:I bought this body armor, but the sizes run small and it didnt fit, instead of paying return shipping I talked a racer friend of mine to buy it from me for the purchase price and try it the next day while racing, he came over for the race since I lived close to where the race was being held. Next day I get a call he had crashed hard and was on his way to the hospital, Broken hand, Bruised chest where it impacted with the armor, but nothing else broken! The armor didnt survive the impact but performed its job well! Talking later he said he said if it had not been for the armor he would have been way worse off, his bike had a bent subframe and other damage but money can fix that, thanks Rocky mountain!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!!!

SCOTT in AZ

Comments On Apr 10, 2010:This armor is outstanding. Comfortable, breathable, fits well, and most important...two major "offs" in hard desert riding over the last year and a half and I walked/rode away sore, but no major damage. The back protection is increadible. Better protection agaist roost then what it looks like.
Only issues I have found: velcro straps for the forearms are way to small if you are even slightly larger then "average" size. I leave mine undone and that works fine. Also, the XL is a tight fit for me. I am 5'11' and 250lb (X-football player body hiding under a layer of office job fat) It works, but is tight.
Overall, ABSOLUTLY recommend!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product for the price

Dan in MT

Comments On Apr 02, 2010:I purchased this item for under jersy protection. This product offers excellent protction for the price, however I never tried it in riding conditions. I am 6'6" and have a longer than average torso. This product fit me in the chest area but ended just below my sternum leaving my stomach and belly exposed. It was very uncomfprtabe for me and I felt that I would have to wear under armor undernath this product to really be ale to wear this pruduct during a ride. This however was unacceptable because who wants to wear another shirt under this during a ride? This is a recipe for over-heating. This product is built well and would remain relativley cool if your moving a lot, however I think you would over-heat in the tight stop and go technical trails that I tend to ride. I sent it back in exchange for a different system.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Body Armor

Braden in UT

Comments On Feb 10, 2010:Pretty comfortable and I don't notice it once I'm riding. I haven't crashed hard with it yet so I can't speak to how well it works in that regards.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good armor

Ty in NE

Comments On Feb 04, 2010:has hard plastics. is also cool. very good product for the money!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked great !!

ROB in WA

Comments On Jan 26, 2010:I am 6' 210 lbs and the XL size fit perfect. The zipper in the front is very nice since it does get warm. Very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME GEAR

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Jan 19, 2010:BOUGHT THIS GEAR ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF AGO AND HAVE NOT HAD ANY ISSUES. FITS GOOD A LITTLE SNUG AT FIRST. (I AM 5'9" 240 LBS AND PURCHASED THE X-LARGE) DEFINITELY NEED TO WEAR FOR A LITTLE BIT BEFORE YOU GO OUT RIDING TO BREAK IT IN. HAVE CRASHED MY SCOOTER (04 WR450) MANY TIMES AND HAVE WALKED AWAY WITH SUBSTANTIALLY LESS BODILY HARM THEN WHEN I WAS NOT WEARING IT. AA++

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sizing Small

SCOTT in CA

Comments On Dec 10, 2009:Nice quality good design but no way the XL was going to fit my 220/5' 10" body. My friend is 5' 8" 180 lbs and it fits him great. The front is a little high waisted but the back extends down nicely I wish they had a XXL

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet armor

Corey in UT

Comments On Jun 05, 2009:This is great armor. It's light weight and it breaths. It looks uncomfortable but it's really comfortable. Love it. My little boy says it looks like the Batman Armor when I put it on. LOL. Love it. Thanks RMA. You all rock

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Won't Ride without it anymore!

REGGIE in UT

Comments On Apr 04, 2009:I purchased this armor after reading the reviews on it and I must say that it is everything it says it is. It can be a little warm when not riding, but when you are moving on the bike, you really don't notice you have it on. My only problem with it is when you stop. I have to take my jersey off and unzip it to keep from overheating. I'm 195, 5'8" and bigger in the middle than I am in my chest. I ordered the Large, and it is a little tight in the beer belly, but a good fit everywhere else. The band across the bottom does just as good as my previous kidney belt. Hope this helps future riders.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Comfortable

Philip in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2009:Haven't used in heat but it is very comfortable

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Meh, it does the job.

DARIN in UT

Comments On Mar 09, 2009:There are better products out there, but this is the cheapest. So don't be expecting to get what more expensive alternatives offer. My two main complains are that it doesn't have a kidney belt, it is just a strap to hold the suit in place; and some other brands have the zipper on the side, which enables the chest protector to offer seamless protection where this one has a zipper going right over your sternum. But for the price it is definitely worth the protection offered!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

comfortable and good protection

Ryan in WY

Comments On Mar 09, 2009:this body armor works well and fits well. It is a little short around the waist to be worn alone, but this provides excellent range of motion at the waist. Very happy with this armor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good protection

BRYAN in NY

Comments On Feb 15, 2009:great price a little hot on long rides.and i have a hard time wearing this with a fanny pack on. but still you can't put a price on protection.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice product

Brad in WA

Comments On Aug 26, 2008:Went out riding some difficult trails recently and wore this armor for the first time. Temperture outside about 75 and this was not hot and sweaty as I thought it might be. Had a large evergreen branch hit me square in the right shoulder on the trail, did not feel any thing but a bump to the shoulder. I will feel safer riding with this and would recommend. I weigh 200 lbs and ordered the XL and it fit fine. Good luck & good riding...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good protection.

MIKE in OK

Comments On Aug 13, 2008:This armor is very comfortable, but you can not use this on a hot day for racing you will melt down.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Chest Protection Alternative!

Jeff in MI

Comments On Aug 12, 2008:As a 1st time trail & track rider, I wanted more than roost protection. This suit covers it all...elbows, forearms, shoulders, chest (even though it's small coverage), arms and back. I thought it would be hot, but it's not bad. The venting is surprisingly cool. The fit is perfect @ 6' & 180 lbs., a large is right on. For the money...it's a deal.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nemeses Racing Body Armor

WAYNE in MD

Comments On Jul 06, 2008:took a fall at 80mph and it save me, i got up and walked away without a scratch.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you have any doubts about this product......

Jeffrey in AZ

Comments On Jul 06, 2008:I race in a local off road / Desert racing series. During which time I've had a few minor "get offs". After my previous experiences of sampling the soil and having to scrub the dirt and gravel out of my skin I decided to purchase some body armor.
Recently during a 6 hour marathon, I was doing my final lap to turn over the transponder, coming down the trail to "pit row" in a sweeping right hander, in 4th gear pinned. When I was bumped and turned totally side ways. Gravity took over and off the quad I flew!!! I landed about 20' later in granite rocks and slate with mud! Normally you could expect a trip to the hospital!
I honestly believe the Nemeses body armor truly saved my skin, literally! Being 6' and 220lbs and crash is going to cause damage, the only thing I have is a small bruise, and of course being sore, to be expected!
When the time comes to replace the Nemeses, I will be purchasing another one!! Ride hard and fast! And protected!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nemeses Body Armor

Juan in MEX

Comments On Mar 13, 2008:Excellent fit excellent protection and test it on a fall!!!!! great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chest and back protection

shiloh in NC

Comments On Mar 04, 2008:This thing is great. It's light easy to wear and looks good to.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

SO far so good

Christian in CA

Comments On Feb 17, 2008:Nice product and protection. Much better than having those elbow pads sliding down your arms at the track!
Additional Comments On Feb 27, 2008:After taking it out a few time to the track I noticed it to be WAY more comfy then the old school bulky chest protector I was wearing. It fit great under my Jersey, not to mention the most important plus about it.... NO MORE ARM PUMP! I used to tighten the hell out of my previous elbow pads to stop them from sliding down, but in doing that I got mad arm pump from poor circulation. Well now I have no more arm pump! And to think I was going to need surgery! woot!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent protection

Eric in AZ

Comments On Dec 16, 2007:I wanted something beyond a chest protector. I have ridden a few times with the Nemeses and am very please with my purchase.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nemesis Body Armor

JOHN in MO

Comments On Dec 05, 2007:Comfortable and protective, can be worn under a jersey or with a jacket. I would recommend this armor for dirt or street use. My only criticisms are that the plates on the chest and the kidney belt are too small for the XL that I bought.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hatfield/McCoy

J. GLEN in GA

Comments On Nov 23, 2007:Rode with this gear 4 days on the Hatfield/McCoy trails. Extremely comfortable with great fit. I am a large and bought a large. The back support is awesome! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT PROTECTION

JOHN in TN

Comments On Nov 23, 2007:well made spine protector and forearm pads excellent design not to mention the shoulder and chest guard.Lightweight and comfortable.I trail ride mainly steep rutted hills muddy creek beds with rocks fallen trees with roots sticking up no more bruised forearms tested shoulder guard on a tree when front tire hit a deep rut going down a steep hill it saved my butt will not ride without it

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Neat equipment

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Nov 10, 2007:Checked out all the prices and settled on this one. I usually wear it OVER my jersey so that it does not chafe me during a race. Will NOT wear it during a 2 hour hare scramble as I think I would die. Great for the short race needed protection. Looks bad-a** and says "Ya, you wanna race me?"

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

did not fit me

DOUGLAS in -

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:i spoke with the seller before buying, i told her i was a xxxl in shirt size and she told me that the xl in this body armor was made to fit xxl and xxxl size people. but i did not fit me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Saved my a##

MARK in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I went down hard on my shoulder in some really rocky terrain. All I received only small pressure lines in my skin THATS IT. If I hadn't been wearing it my shoulder would look like hamburger!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Body Armor

MICHAEL in NV

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Fit is great, very comfortable and offers excellent protection, in an all in one package. Way better than a chest protector. If you desert ride aggresivly you need this, for those unexpected get offs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very good value

jeffrey in DE

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:good protection, seemingly high quality. adjustment velcro slightly off but works well with a thick under shirt. very good value

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff

JAMES in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nemeses body armor

HOWARD in TN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This is very comfortable protection. It fits well and the plastic protection is in all the right places. The protection stays in place espectially in the elbows unlike standard elbow gaurds. This really reduces arm pump. There is not a lot of support from the kidney belt. Overall very good.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

For the money, hard to beat

JOHN in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:* I purchased this armor to use instead of a hard plastic outer protector. I had a standard chest protector and it bugged me, choked me, and ended up staying in my gear bag. * This armor doesn't have the best chest protection since it zips up the middle and the plastic is thin. But, the overall shoulder and arm protection is better than what you'd get with a standard protector. * For hotter weather, you'll want to keep moving and get a vented jersey. If you trail ride or stop a lot, you won't want to wear it.

Was this review helpful?