Tusk L.E.D. TailLight/Brake Light Under Fender

Customer Reviews for Tusk L.E.D. TailLight/Brake Light Under Fender

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 28 Reviews

Return to Tusk L.E.D. TailLight/Brake Light Under Fender Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk L.E.D. TailLight/Brake Light Under Fender Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice light

paige in NJ

Comments On Mar 28, 2014:Nice light, got it in the whole dualsport kit but just used the stock light on my ktm

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Slick

Josh in AL

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Good stuff. Sleek and trail-proof.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheap but not very strong

Kirk in CA

Comments On Dec 01, 2013:I had a crash on my first ride with this light and the plastic cracked so bad the fender fell completely off the bike with the led taillight and my license plate getting lost ( didn't realize until back at camp it had broken ) The remnants of the fender seemed very brittle, not flexible like most off road plastics. It's cheap and might be fine for just a putt-putt bike but if you ride hard it doesn't seem too strong to me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre

ROBERT in VA

Comments On Oct 05, 2013:Mounted the light up to dual sport my KTM 450XC. The Good: 1) nice bright lights 2) light weight.
The bad: 1) dust accumulates behind the lens and there's no way to clean it. 2) three of the LEDs stopped working after very few hours of use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Bright!

russell in CO

Comments On Jun 16, 2013:Had to make minor adjustments to mount to my KTM, but the light works great and uses very little power.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Brittle plastic

Mathew in ID

Comments On May 13, 2013:Accidentally backed the bike into something and the plastic fender extender cracked. I loved the look of the light/extension, but would have hoped that it would have had some flex being for a dirtbike

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Would buy another

Jonathon in MI

Comments On Feb 18, 2013:Pretty easy to install, good instructions. If you're wondering, YES, this also comes with a license plate light! After I bought it, I realized that it didn't mention it in the description and I was worried it wouldn't pass inspection. It fit a little funky under my bike fender, but not the fault of Tusk, just the design of the fender on my 2005 KTM 300 EXC. It works, looks good, etc, so no complaints. Secured the front of the fender through to my tool bag. If I ever loop my bike and lose it, chances are I'll buy another.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great D/S TAIL LIGHT

MATTHEW in MO

Comments On Dec 27, 2012:just be prepared to do some minor modification.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent quality, great price.

Kevin in CO

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:Very bright LED's and fit my 2004 XR 600R very nicely. The components were well constructed and durable. Another phenominal Tusk product at a ridiculous price! Thanks RMATV!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

REALLY bright brake light

Lorne in CT

Comments On Nov 02, 2012:I added a daub of goop to the hole where the wires go in to keep the water out. Other than that is works great. My son says that the brake is so bright that it ruins his night vision while night riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great value!

Kelly in AZ

Comments On Jul 23, 2012:This one works as good as the Trail Tech version IMO and is way cheaper. The only negative, and a minor one at that, is that it doesn't fully support a MC license plate mounted horizontally. The built license plate light works good. If you are putting together your own dualsport conversion I highly recommend this Tusk tail/brake light setup!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

led is nice and bright

jon in AZ

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:better than oem on my ktm

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LED Tail / Brake Light Not Water Resistant

Peter in CA

Comments On Feb 22, 2012:The function is very good. My issue is on the first ride and wash down (no high pressure unit) the interior has moisture present.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Works great but not dust-proof

TYLER in IN

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:Used on the DRZ to make it street legal for the TransAmerica Trail. Worked fine. Dust/dirt will engress and cover lens some. Should have sealed it first. Good size and bright. Good enough for the street. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good price, low profile. NOT WATER PROOF!!!

MATT in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2010:Mounted to a stock 04' WR450 rear fender. Same width as OEM fender, but had to drill my own holes in LED Fender to match to existing OEM fender holes. Does not hang down too low, no rubbing from rear tire, and out of way from exhaust. LED light has running light, brake light, and white LED for license plate at night. 3 wires, has standard DS conversion type connector. I cut connector off and re-wired it to my own connector with OEM light and brake switch. (both OEM and LED work now) Used existing OEM taillight bolts and existing fender bag holes to bolt to/thru. Plate mount area is too narrow for plate. Had to make aluminum adaptor bracket to mount plate to plastic fender.
LED light/lens is NOT WATERPROOF or dirt proof. Several creek crossings, and there is water and sand inside lens. I suspect the water/sand got in through the rubber seal around the wires. The clear lens on outside does separate from the LED body. The whole LED assy will come off the fender though. Need to silicone seal the wire/grommet/seal on back of lens.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

Tony in VIC

Comments On Aug 22, 2011:big and balky but works well. ill try the acerbis one next time

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Took a bit of work to make it fit but worth it.

Trevor in VIC

Comments On Jul 04, 2011:Took a bit of work to make it fit but worth it. I fitted it to my '07 DRZ400E. Had to cut and shape a it a lot to get it to fit neatly under the fender. Looks heaps better than the big cumbersome stock unit. I also stuck a gob of silicone sealant to the grommet where the wires enter the lamp assembly just in case.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent fit for APOLLO 250RX / AGB-36

Frederick in VA

Comments On Jun 19, 2011:Just bought an Apollo AGB-36 and this product fits perfectly after cutting the forward half of it off. The hole for the wiring lines up under the rear tail-piece on the bike and the wires easily route to under the fuel tank. Another "plus" is that the LED lights are very bright and have very low amperage. My wife says it looks like it came on the bike, colors match up, all-in-all very suitable to the Apollo 250 RX.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Brake light

Emile in BC

Comments On May 31, 2011:really bright

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very bright, very well-made

Jon in UT

Comments On May 17, 2011:LED is very bright and the wires look properly sealed (this is a big problem with the Baja unit. Water eventually enters via the harness and fries the board) however I don't want to risk it and opted to completely seal the junction with a large gob of hot glue. As expected you will need to do some trimming/molding with a heat gun to make it fit your application.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Patman in KS

Comments On Nov 18, 2010:(xr250r) Great light. Does take some molding to fit. The light is bright and looks good to. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Tail/Brake light works great!

JEFF in AZ

Comments On Oct 04, 2010:This tail light is a great value. The brake and tail light are super bright. It does take some cutting and molding to fit a KTM, but not a big deal. I have bolted my license plate directly to the drop down plastic tail and have had no issues keeping it on. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bright light!

GRANT in OR

Comments On Oct 01, 2010:verry bright but I did have some dust and sand get in the housing from around the wire gromet with no way to clean inside the light. I did dab some silicone around the wires where they go past he gromet to prevent this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great! destroyed my Baja Designs unit

Frank in CA

Comments On Sep 04, 2010:...replaced it with this Tusk piece, this is basically the exact same as the Baja Designs unit without the "label" or the price. I am pretty sure the same company makes both though. This is my second one (2 bikes) and they both work great even after some seriously rough rides all LED's are still burning bright.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

like it

STEVEN in OR

Comments On May 18, 2010:Nice and bright.Took some work with the heat gun to fit a KTM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good

Tyler in IA

Comments On May 17, 2010:easy to hook up and works great. Get the brake switch so you can run the brake light too. works nice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great price

Mark in CA

Comments On Jan 05, 2010:I have seen similar ones in the market for double the price. I bought this and it is better than expected. lights are bright and it was easy to install on my crf. thank you tusk off road.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

bright

clint in TN

Comments On Dec 19, 2009:this works better than expected. i had to trim it a little to fit my WR, but for the most part it was easy to mount. i used the existing taillight mounts and my fender tool pack bolts to hold it on. the lense is clear but the led is red with a clear light shining on my license plate. brake light is real bright too.

Was this review helpful?