Tusk Chain Press Tool

Customer Reviews for Tusk Chain Press Tool

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 82 Reviews

Return to Tusk Chain Press Tool Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Chain Press Tool Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works at a Great Price

Derek in IL

Comments On Mar 25, 2014:Have used several times and at this price you can't beat it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tools

Scott in IL

Comments On Mar 24, 2014:works great easy to use

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good

brandon in GA

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:works good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

time saver for sure.

Rodney in ON

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:Got this product after struggling for hours to change a link track side. Got this product and now I can change a link within minuets. Small compact will be easy to fit into your packs on those long rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Fine

Peter in CO

Comments On Dec 16, 2013:It does what is suppose to do for cheaper than the other brands. Ive used it multiple time with no problem. Its a great tool to have

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain tool

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:works great to take links out

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Knuckle saver

aaron in NM

Comments On Nov 30, 2013:This is some of the best money I have spent. My chain is on and off without any damage instantly!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Press Tool

Zane in CA

Comments On Aug 16, 2013:Very simple tool I think I barely used it. It would be worth to buy a full kit instead of all three tools. You can almost just press the chain with your hands. But this does go a good job and is the right tool to use. Remember you still need to lock the Master Link in place this tool wont do that.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You Never Need It Till You Need It.

Kyle in MT

Comments On Jul 17, 2013:Got stuck in the trail a few weeks back when i broke a chain. I was carrying a spare but this little guy was sitting at home in my toolbox. Long story short this would have saved me from buying myself & my buddy both new leathermans

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

everyone should have one

Andrew in NB

Comments On Jun 22, 2013:good tool for garage or trail fix

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy it!!

CHRIS in OH

Comments On Jun 14, 2013:This little tool is worth having in your tool box. Good quality at affordable price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not a necessity but extremely helpful!

Travis in NJ

Comments On Jun 12, 2013:Getting the master link clip on the chain can be a tricky task but this turns that job into a minute. Works great every time and took away the frustration of getting those clips on. One of the best tools I own

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as advertised

JOSHUA in NY

Comments On Jun 10, 2013:Works as advertised, makes installing the master link a breeze.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Makes master links easy

Joshua in NB

Comments On May 21, 2013:cheap, small and tough. This tool lakes today O and X ring links easy to put together and has a lot of other uses.
Works great, I would recommend to my friends!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good to have

Craig in MO

Comments On Apr 26, 2013:I have used this several times and am always glad I have it. Makes putting the clip on so easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Made installing my new chain a breeze!

William in WA

Comments On Feb 09, 2013:Nice quality tool, easy to use.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must have

Danny in MO

Comments On Feb 02, 2013:This is another tool that you MUST have in your tool box. Why spend an arm and a leg on a chain and then damage it trying to put it on without the correct tools. Just buy it keep it lubed and you will have it for life and owe me a great deal for my good advice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works....

Mark in AZ

Comments On Oct 24, 2012:Works just like it should....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Chain Press Tool is awesome!

tod in CO

Comments On Oct 02, 2012:This tool takes all of the hassle out of putting a master link on an O-ring chain. I cannot believe how long I waited to buy this tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Handy to Have Around

Jesse in CA

Comments On Sep 22, 2012:When you need it, this is the tool to have. Easy to use, sturdy product by Tusk.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This tool is very helpful

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Aug 16, 2012:This tool is not "Completely" necessary; however, this tool does make the job much easier. I would recommend it to a friend or a person trying who is close to the $99 dollar mark for an order and wants to get that free shipping.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool to have

Randy in NY

Comments On Jun 25, 2012:Makes putting the chain back on much easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very helpful

Michael

Comments On Jun 21, 2012:This tool is great, it's easy to use and is a must have for installing new chains. It did the trick compressing the master link plates together and it really helped getting that tricky master link clip on. Buy it if you are installing a chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Kevin in ID

Comments On Apr 30, 2012:Great tool for the price! Easy to use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk-Chain-Press-Tool

ROBERT in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2012:This is just way too easy. Works perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does the job

Tyler in IA

Comments On Jan 30, 2012:works very well. I have cut a dozen chains with mine I'll bet and they work great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

slick

Stan in ID

Comments On Jan 26, 2012:works great. nice price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Breaker

KEN in CA

Comments On Mar 24, 2008:Helps making changing your chain a breeze.

Additional Comments On Jan 25, 2012:Just barely replaced the original after 4 years and have done several chain changes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Broke

Bob in NC

Comments On Jan 02, 2012:I know I reviewed this chain breaker a couple of years ago, no idea where it went. Anyway, used it a couple of times then the hook area broke. I know RMATV, in their tradition of excellent customer service, would have replaced it had I asked, but why replace poor quality with another of equally poor quality? Bought another brand.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain tool

Paul in FL

Comments On Dec 19, 2011:it works

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Well.

Chad in MO

Comments On Dec 19, 2011:I took the advise from another reviewer and use the outter two screws to press the chain. The larger center bolt uses course threads and is much more difficult to press stubborn links. The fine threads of the outter two screws give you much more leverage to prevent it from breaking. The only problem is that you have to tighten them together by switching back and forth between them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Larry in NSW

Comments On Dec 18, 2011:A must have for installing a new chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works well...

G. in VA

Comments On Nov 22, 2011:Works well...great quality...good price...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good

Brent in AZ

Comments On Nov 08, 2011:the chain breaker works good. I used it to swedge the cam link together on my ktm 520 and it did just that. be careful though not to bend the tips because they will bend fairly easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Rick in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2011:Works great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

TERRY in TX

Comments On Aug 24, 2011:Simple and easy to use. Pressed on my master link perfect just like it was supposed too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

No Problems

Ryan in CO

Comments On Jun 17, 2011:Works as it should for a good price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A simple tool but a must have.

Lucas in NY

Comments On May 16, 2011:If you ever put on your own chain you will need this tool. Makes it really easy to install the master link.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works, but cheaply made

Thomas in OH

Comments On Apr 08, 2011:Bent one of the plates.. It works but made out of cheap metal. Don't expect it to be the last one you ever buy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tusk

Shawn in WV

Comments On Feb 08, 2011:worked good & easy to use

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easier?

Anthony in WA

Comments On Jan 06, 2011:way easier then trying to use a hammer and punch out pin.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Chain Press Tool

john in OR

Comments On Dec 02, 2010:what can I say but its Tusk and it got the job done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain press tool

James in MT

Comments On Oct 28, 2010:It works great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

works ok

Jeffrey in OR

Comments On Aug 04, 2010:this works. it did its job but feels kinda weak. it is a good size to carry with you along with an extra master link in case your chain breaks while riding

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Strong

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:Good quality and has a much better price than other brands. I love Tusk products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did its job!!

Jason in PA

Comments On May 14, 2010:Worked great!! It did exactly what it needed to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great, a must

Shannon in CA

Comments On Mar 16, 2010:a must for putting togeather a o ring chain, never fight a master link again great quality

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Works well.

KEITH in CA

Comments On Mar 04, 2010:Only problem I have is that the screws back off really easy while in my tool bag. So its hard to find the little bolts. I guess I will just keep it in the garage and hope I dont need it on the trail...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

looks good

JENNIFER in WA

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:hope it works

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does the job

Andre in SC

Comments On Dec 14, 2009:I messed up one master link trying to make other tools do the job, and once I ordered a replacment master link I got this tool as well. Does just what it says it will do. Good price too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

TYLER in IL

Comments On Jun 24, 2009:Used this a few times and it's helped every time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

handy

DONALD in CA

Comments On Nov 10, 2008:works fairly well nice and small to fit in camleback

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love this tool!

COLE in UT

Comments On Aug 24, 2008:makes life so so much easier when changing chains. If you even press one chain together one time you'll be happy you bought this. especially x ring and o ring chains. strongly recommend this tool! also just to be helpful, i find it much easier to tighten down the side bolts evenly instead of using the center bolt.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, didn't like this one

Rob in AZ

Comments On Aug 02, 2008:This tool did nothing for me. I'll stick with vise grips. My Tusk chain press tool will reside in the depths of my toolbox forever and eventually rust into nothingness.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Tool

BILLY in ID

Comments On Mar 29, 2008:Very handy to keep in the tool box. Works great makes the job very easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

Mark in CA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:Great product at half the price of other brands. I love TUSK!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Crap.

PAUL in CO

Comments On Mar 13, 2008:simply didn't do the job. I borrowed my friends chain tool and it worked great, though a "real" chain tool is $100+
TECH NOTES - This tool is for clip type master links, not rivet type.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works Great

SHAWN in MA

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:Great addition to your toolbox. Pressed on master links were a pain to put on with pliers till i bought this. Should have gotten one years ago!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Got the job done

James in CA

Comments On Mar 12, 2008:Made life easy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

PATRICIA in IL

Comments On Feb 25, 2008:Another great Tusk value

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk chain press tool

Steve in AZ

Comments On Feb 24, 2008:Works perfectly if you have a press fit master link. A must have.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Time Saver

Jeremy in MO

Comments On Feb 18, 2008:This little tool is pretty slick. Kinda awkward to fumble with while getting it set up, but works like a charm.
Don't risk chain damage using wrong tools, do it right and save time with this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

if you ride much at all you will need one.

BRIAN in OK

Comments On Feb 13, 2008:it goes to every practice and race with me. the idea is to rarley use it but when i need to it works just fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

top notch chain breaker

greg in AZ

Comments On Feb 13, 2008:Worked like a champ on the old stock chain. i will never go back to the days of grinding away the pins and prying the links apart. in 5 minutes i had the old chain off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice,

ADAM in OH

Comments On Jan 23, 2008:Gets the job done when you have a hard time with those stubborn chain links

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good investment

jake in AZ

Comments On Jan 23, 2008:Very helpful with the o-ring chain!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

TRACY in NV

Comments On Jan 20, 2008:Good quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worked great

TYLER in WI

Comments On Jan 18, 2008:very nice product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy to use.

Joselito in CA

Comments On Jan 05, 2008:it can press any chain like new. no need to buy high priced chain press tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A bit unwieldy

STEVE in IL

Comments On Dec 26, 2007:Difficult to manipulate effectively but works OK.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works okay

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Dec 19, 2007:Saves a little time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

handy

FRANCISCO A in AZ

Comments On Dec 11, 2007:helpful tool

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain tool

STANLEY in TX

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:good product better price than other brands

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you have an O-ring chain, you need this tool

Tim in MN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I've tried to take the O-ring chain off my trail bike with a plier, vice-grip, and homemade tools. Normally, it took forever get that chain apart and back together. I finally broke down & bought this tiny tool. It's so easy, it's like having your friend work on your bike for free.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Tool

JIM in NJ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Excellent tool w/ great price point works just as good as higher priced models!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Right tool for the job!

JOSHUA in LA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:A must have if riding and wrenching on your personal machine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good principle

JEREMIAH in MI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:really dosent work that well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice !!!

neil in PA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:If you work on your own bikes by one now. Saves soooo much time.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy to use

MARK in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This tool is very easy to use. Makes chain changing easy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great.

Brian in FL

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Does the job, better than using pliers.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very handy

Benjamin in DE

Comments On Oct 21, 2007:This tool comes in very handy for those PIA rivet type chains. Ive installed many with out the tool and this makes it a breeze. A must have for any power sport owner!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a must have

Craig

Comments On Oct 21, 2007:This tool is the only way to install a master link. I used to fight the press fit links before I got one.

Was this review helpful?