Primary Drive Steel Kit & O-Ring Chain

Customer Reviews for Primary Drive Steel Kit & O-Ring Chain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 79 Reviews

Return to Primary Drive Steel Kit & O-Ring Chain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Primary Drive Steel Kit & O-Ring Chain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Happy

JUSTIN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA XR650R

Comments On Apr 18, 2014:After 6 months, I'm happy with the performance for the price. Very good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

has streched a little but has held up

gene in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Mar 17, 2014:i had used this chain for about a year now thru mud,dirt,snow,and rocks, and has held up with minimal wear.it is worth the $$$

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

PERFECT

Ron in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Mar 02, 2014:Bought a used 2000 400EX. The chain and sprockets were so worn I couldn't adjust the over amount of slack out. This kit was exactly what I needed. Perfect fit. Install was a breeze. High quality without the high price tag. Will buy again if the need ever arises.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great deal

CHARLES in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Feb 23, 2014:This Chain and sprocket set has lasted forever. No need to buy those high dollor brands primary drive is the best.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Clayton in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 HONDA TRX 300EX

Comments On Feb 20, 2014:It's a chain. I don't have much to say. It fits good and it looks good. If it lasts as long as my stock chain I will be in good shape.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent and affordable

Paul in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Feb 17, 2014:Great kit. Strong chain and good sprocket life. The price made the deal even sweeter.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great value for the money

Colin in NB – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jan 15, 2014:450 4 strokes are hard on drivetrain parts, no doubt about it, this kit represents good value in a complete set of sprockets and chain, note that these o ring chains are wider than most, make sure to check case clearance when installing, you might need to shim the countershaft sprocket out a bit. The Master link is a clip style however there are dimples on the ends of the pins, can we rivet these master links too?? Also I like to have spare master links but I can't find them on the site, can they be ordered?? its a "Primary Drive" 520 O ring master link whats the part number...anyone??
TECH NOTE: The master link for the chain is Part# 1021270020

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain kit

James in MI

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:works great and great value!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no complaints.

braden in CO

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:nothing fancy, but holds up and by far the most economical way to change out sprockets and chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain kit

Scott in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 1986 HONDA TRX 250R FOURTRAX

Comments On Nov 26, 2013:This is an excellent product, will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect fit

Andrew in FL

Comments On Sep 05, 2013:Fit my bike perfectly without having to cut the chain to length. I have used this kit before and I am always satisfied with the life and quality of the product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the money

JEFF in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Aug 10, 2013:So far so good. Had this set up on the bike for about 2 months now, seems to be wearing and holding up good to the wet and muddy northeast conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YZ 125 new legs...

Austin in WA

Comments On Jul 09, 2013:So I purchased the entire o-ring kit to replace an extremely worn out system. For the price, fit, and feel out of the box it wasn't bad. Response was quick, chain tension constant, and the O-rings sealed out the sand. 2 months later there are small signs of wear, mild chain slack that is less than standard chain stretch (adjusting it half as much as before and riding harder), small signs of wear on the rear sprocket (though I did expect less). Overall if you are on a budget this kit is a great buy, holds up to abuse, and cuts down on maintenance. probably get a season and a half out of it with the way it is going as opposed to the 5 to 6 races from the aluminum I was used to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Why Pay More?

Scott in WY

Comments On Apr 19, 2013:I have no idea why anybody would pay more for other bands. Primary Drive is excellent quality!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Kit, will use again!!!!!

Corey in UT

Comments On Mar 14, 2013:This is a great kit with a good quality chain and sprockets, bought last season and expect this to last all this season.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Saves you money

Mark in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Dec 29, 2012:Buy the combo pack. It's recommended that you change all 3 together. You wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good set

KEITH in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KTM 200 MXC

Comments On Dec 28, 2012:For the price, this kit had done really well. I have 80 hours on the chain and sprocket and its just now ready to be replaced. While my 200 is no 450, this set has held up great. I am not super religious with chain lube, sometimes it just gets wd40 after a wash. Will buy again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good buy

RUSSELL in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Dec 27, 2012:RMATV shipped fast and this kit looks great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Value!

AARON in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Nov 26, 2012:I have been using Primary Drive products for several years now and haven't been disappointed. The fitment is perfect with this kit! The rear sprocket is heavy, but that's to be expected from a steel sprocket vs. aluminum.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Complete kit for a good price

Rob in IL

Comments On Oct 16, 2012:Nice oem replacement for a good price. I like to always change both sprockets and chain at the same time so this kit is perfect for me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Jeramy in VA

Comments On Oct 07, 2012:I run about 90 percent MX and 10 percent rails. I have runa few races on this kit and a few practice days. Its is holding up very well with little wear or elongation. Granted, i clean it between motos and lube it religiously, but i am very happy with it. The steel kit is doing well, but i am going to try the alloy next time. I dont think you can go wrong with this for the money.
You wont impress your friends with a PD product and the chain snobs will always look down their noses, but if you are on a budget and want a good product, go with this option. If you treat it right you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sproket kit and chain

Tyler in IL

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:Great set, easy to install and well worth the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Jeremy in BC

Comments On Sep 06, 2012:great price, chain and sprockets hooked up and go nicely

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

DAVID in FL

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:pd chains/sprockets are the best bang for the buck

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Aug 05, 2012:this is great. talk about hooking up and doing its job

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quality machininging of the sprockets

Walter in WA

Comments On Jun 16, 2012:Just installed the kit on my klr650. The machining of the sprckets seems to be very well done. the front sprocket fit to the spline was a amzing fit to the spline. The chain seems to be of good quality. some miles will show more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Christopher in IN

Comments On May 24, 2012:First time i used this kit was on the race track. i couldnt be any happier. it gave my bike so much more low end power and the throttle was more on demand. best upgrade i ever put on my bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great price for great kit

jon in AZ

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:this is a good chain and sprockets kit. cheap and long lasting

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best for the $

STEVE in IN

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:Excellent quality steel sprockets and a strong chain. Will definately buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

So far so good

David in AZ

Comments On Mar 31, 2012:This chain was a bit tight despite being supplied as a part of a front and rear sprocket kit. I believe that the chain was tight because I had to use a swing arm buddy which works great by the way. Overall the quality is good though especially for the price. For reference its for a CR250R and its my first bike and it was my first experience changing out a chain & sprockets.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Stuff for the price

BRANDON in MI

Comments On Jan 26, 2012:Only had about 5 hrs on the chain and sprocket before I sold my Kx450 but the wasn't any sign of wear and only adjusted the chain once. I am anal about my chain slack too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect fit

Randall in CA

Comments On Oct 18, 2011:Went on my KlX300 like OEM.Bought a chain press and it made the installation easy. I will be taking it out this weekend and see how it all performs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Matt in MI

Comments On Jul 26, 2011:Installed very easily and is much tighter than the old chain was. Put 150 miles on it this weekend, sprockets and chain are still like new. Looks to be good products and definitely a great deal!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Steel Kit & O-Ring Chain

GARY in OR

Comments On May 09, 2011:Work just as well if not better than the fancy high priced kits. I swear by these products and have used many kits with no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best buy

brian in OH

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:Good parts at a great price

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good long lasting set

Keith in CT

Comments On Mar 19, 2011:I have been using the primary drive o-chain and sprockets for over 4 years now. Excellent long lasting chain and sprockets. Only draw back is teh master link is not compatable with other brands so if you break a chain in the trails and your buddies have a master link, it most likely will not work as the pin diamaters on other master links are too thick. Buy extra master links if you order this chain so that you do not get stranded

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great stock replacement

LOGAN in KY

Comments On Mar 07, 2011:cant beat the price, for normal riding this is a great buy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Durable and Long Lasting

W in PA

Comments On Feb 12, 2011:This chain will last as long as you lubricate it and keep it clean.Mine lasted 3 years without incident.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's a steel at this price!

SHAWN in IA

Comments On Dec 25, 2010:This chain and steel sprockets kit will last you at least one season of riding or racing.The chain will need adjusted after the first few rides,than very little after that.Chain looks kinked after a few rides but is still ok.Great looking rear sprocket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Buy

Duane in OR

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:Excellent kit to get you on the trail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just got the kit Today

Brandon in NC

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:I haven't got to try them out yet since its raining but I can't wait till it quits

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Value

john in NE

Comments On Nov 15, 2010:The chain and sprokets fit like OE parts. Have not needed to adjust after several days of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD PRODUCT

ORION in WA

Comments On Oct 17, 2010: Very inexpensive for what ya get . This set lasts for ever !! I hightly recommend . I put this set on all my bikes .....Once -- they never wear out !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Chain

Charles in IN

Comments On Jul 16, 2010:Be aware that these chains have slots in the inner links. They look nothing like any mc chain you have seen. I purchased one, but I am not going to install it. I will keep it for an emergency. Live and learn.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

chain streches too much

Ryan in PA

Comments On Mar 30, 2010:only rode on it 3 times and had to adjust my chain twice, nothing is coming loose the marks stay the say on my blocks just have to keep on adjusting it to stretch it out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

primary drive

Michael in FL

Comments On Feb 17, 2010:This is by far the best value of any chain and sprocket combo-cheaper and lasts longer

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great chain!!!

Frank in NM

Comments On Feb 16, 2010:I have not had to adjust this chain since I put it on almost a year ago!! and I ride almost every weekend... chain has held up great and when i look close at the o-rings they still look like new!!! A tooth brush and some 80w-90 is what i use to take care of it and i don't think i will every use anything different.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this package deal

BRYCE in UT

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:Can't beat this package deal, what a great price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Chain not what you think it is.

Mario in TN

Comments On Dec 28, 2009:The sprockets are steele sprockets so they are your average steel sprockets cant go wrong there. Now the chain has cuttouts in it on the side so rocks might get stuck in the chain but very small ones. And small sticks might get caught up in it and stop the chain. I will use the sprockets but went ahead and bought a Regina chain to replace the Primary drive chain.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good value

Roy in IL

Comments On May 20, 2008:I bought the chain and sprocket kit for my KTM 200 and my son's RM 125. We've done five hare srambles on them with no problems. The one for my KTM was a little too long, so I had to grind the side plate and punch out the pin. The metal felt a litle soft on the grinder, but for the price they've held up well. No more stretch than I've had with some of the more expensive chains. Supporting two racing habits has me looking for cheaper parts. I've had good luck with Rocky Mountain so far.
Additional Comments On Mar 29, 2009:It's been a full season, starting on the second one now. Still going strong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far I love this chain and sproket set

NATHAN in AZ

Comments On Jan 27, 2009:I've had this for over a year now and it shows hardly any wear. Great kit, great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great on a yamaha blaster

Zachary in NC

Comments On Jan 20, 2009:good quality chain and sprockets, didnt come the right length though had to take 2 off

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

On a 400ex in the dunes

TIM in OR

Comments On Jul 15, 2008:The sprockets will wear out sooner than the 7800lb chain but not too bad. The chain will definitely have wear on it. 7800 pounds is plenty for the dunes on any of the 400cc class machines. If you go with the 8400lb chain, the sprockets will wear just as fast, the chain will be in very good condition, and you will have paid more un-necessarily.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Kit Great Price!

MASON in PA

Comments On Jul 13, 2008:bought this for my '04 raptor 660. i have about 25hrs on the new kit and for the money it is the best chain and sprocket kit out there. The only thing that i have had trouble with is I tightened my chain a tad too tight and my sprockets are started to wear fast, but thats a mistake on my part. I am definitely going to buy this product again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BAD CHAIN

JANEESE in IN

Comments On May 28, 2008:it seemed good when i bought it but after a couple rides the links started braking

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great set for the money

Ben in OR

Comments On May 20, 2008:this was a great deal. the sprockets are wearing well. i had to take two links out of the chain to get it to fit correctly but other than that it was all good. i would buy this set again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Fit!!

jack in CA

Comments On Apr 27, 2008:Perfect fit for my 97 kx250, no cutting of any kind. Exact factory fit. Chain broke in within 30min, adjusted and been on 3 rides and no problem. For the price you pay, its well worth it!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great deal

Jeremie in NE

Comments On Apr 19, 2008:Can not beat this set for the money. O-ring is a little more maintenance but will last alot longer. Hardly any stretch on my 02 CR250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok for the price

PATRICIA in IL

Comments On Apr 13, 2008:Ok for the trail rider or weekend warrior, not for mud or racing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

primary drive is perfect

scotty in MA

Comments On Mar 27, 2008:I have this kit on my raptor 660 and have no problems with it.Great product at a great price,what else could you ask for.Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best deal

MARK in MA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:this is the best chain kit deal going

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

o ring chain

Brett in PA

Comments On Mar 16, 2008:great chain.. for a cr250r it barely stretches after hours of riding time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great kit

DANIEL J in KS

Comments On Mar 11, 2008:The kit was great everthing you need and easy to put on, very durable, and inexpensive!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

primary drive

AARON in MA

Comments On Feb 24, 2008:i bought the kit bolted right on and the chain was cut to length and ready to go. awesome

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Long lasting

Jimmy in AR

Comments On Feb 12, 2008:I have all kinds of chains. This seems to be the best I have owned. Does not stretch and looks good for a long time. will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great kit!! Awesome price!!

MICHAEL in KY

Comments On Feb 12, 2008:I love these kits! Very well made and dependable!! If you don't have to have the name brand and you enjoy getting quality for your dollar, these are the sprokets for you!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

primary drive

bryan in AE

Comments On Feb 01, 2008:this kit is a good buy and last a while never had any problems with it a lot better than OEM parts and cheaper

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

everything you need

TYLER in WI

Comments On Jan 18, 2008:everything you need nothing you don't

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sprockets and chain kit

Gregg in IA

Comments On Dec 19, 2007:This is a very good quality and less expensive way to keep your machine running smooth

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product - Amazing quality , low price !!!!!!

JIM in AR

Comments On Nov 14, 2007:We race in some of the toughest conditions around, water, mud, sand & dirt from Feburary to December 12 to 13 races 2 hours at a time and we had next to no stretch in the chain and made the complete year on only 1 sprocket....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sprocket Kit

KENNETH in AZ

Comments On Nov 05, 2007:Would buy again. Great deal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My parts source

RICKY in MD

Comments On Oct 31, 2007:Great chain with the best prices on the internet.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive "Steel Sprocket & O-Ring Chain Kit"

ERIC in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:No frills, great price. The chain masterlink was easy to assemble (many are not). The kit fit fine but should include the metal retaining washer (bent over metal tabs to lock countershaft retaining nut) common on many countershaft sprocket applications (this should be a $1.00 part or at least an option when you purchase). After installing several countershaft sprockets the metal retaining washer is fatigued and should be replaced. I would also like to see these kits be available with non-factory gearing ratios/options.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a value!

Jim in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:So far no wear on sprocket or chain. I like the price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

decent chain

MARK in PA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:nice chain for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sprocket and chain kit

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:These sprockets and chain have held up really well. For trail use they are excellent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Complete

JOHN in PA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Direct replacement of stock sprokets.I barely had to adjust any thing fit perfect.masterlink was a pain but they all are.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great deal

BRYAN in KY

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:purchased for a 1999 KTM. The price was great and so was the quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Oring chain

GARY in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Fit well, so far so good.

Was this review helpful?