MSR Swing Arm Chain Rub Plate

Customer Reviews for MSR Swing Arm Chain Rub Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 37 Reviews

Return to MSR Swing Arm Chain Rub Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

MSR Swing Arm Chain Rub Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YZ400F

WENDY in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA YZ400F

Comments On Feb 28, 2014:works great, easy to install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Robert in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 HONDA CR250R

Comments On May 26, 2013:heavier duty than acerbis

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

DAVID in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 04, 2013:I was skeptical to purchase at first, after reading the reviews. It installed without a problem. Perfect fit!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality, poor fit

ADAM in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KAWASAKI KX80

Comments On Nov 21, 2012:This was extremely tough to install, it was not long enough to reach holes in swingarm. Took alot of work with heat gun and muscle to get it to fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheaper than OEM

ART in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Not the best fit but it does work as advertised

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works, but had to modify

Keith in OR

Comments On Aug 09, 2012:Installed on my 98 YZ400 but had to file the inside down so my sprocket bolts did not hit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough

BERTON in ID

Comments On May 30, 2012:Seems to be wearing very well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's. Chain slider

Kyle in CA

Comments On May 23, 2012:Went on very easily onto my xr600

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2001 XR650L

Gary J in NV

Comments On May 18, 2012:Perfect fit. Outlasts stock. Can't go wrong buying this swing arm slider.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MSR-Swing-Arm-Chain-Rub-Plate

jon in AZ

Comments On Feb 13, 2012:just like oem

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worst product I ever received !

BOB in TX

Comments On Dec 25, 2011:When the slider was placed on the KX85, all 4 holes were 1/2 inch away from the 4 screw holes. A 15 min.job turned into 2 hours. Had to file the 180 radius that wrapped around the front of the swingarm. File and fit many times- this plastic is tough as it has to be. Plastic was extremely thin when fitted!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1995 CR125

NOLAN in FL

Comments On Dec 29, 2011:At first I thought this was the wrong size because it looked like it wasn't going to fit. I pulled on it and it barely made it on within the adjustable screws and plates. It makes sense that it's tight at first- it's better than being loose and sloppy! It's worked good so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked perfectly.

KEITH in MN

Comments On Aug 28, 2011:This rub plate installed easily and was still in great shape after two years when I sold the bike. I will buy another MSR rub plate when my new bike needs a replacement.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does not fit. Returned. 2006 XR650L

Michael in CA

Comments On May 14, 2011:The holes that align with the phillips head screws on the top and bottom of the swingarm would not reach far enough. There is not enough material to trim in order to make it fit so I returned it. I recommend sticking with OEM. It's only about $5-10 more anyways.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent product

Daniel in NY

Comments On Mar 10, 2011:Works just as well as OEM but the fitment isnt quite as good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

better have some muscle to install

Shon in IL

Comments On Aug 04, 2010:put it on my sons kx85, was over a half inch off, so grinded some off the inside bend and heated and stretched it, then pry bar to make it work, couldnt find my tap set or would have just redrilled holes. pain to install, but seems like it should last a long while.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

1999 YZ400F

DAVID in CA

Comments On Jul 04, 2010:The MSR Swing Arm Chain Rub Plate needed a little tweaking to fit right, for example, there was a little extra material from the mold (manufacuring) on the inside of the bend part which kept it from fitting all the way onto the swingarm. I had to file and cut away at this extra material so it would fit right, seems just a little QA would take care of this. But once this slider is on, it is a very solid and high-quality piece. The material is very stiff and hard but not brittle. Haven't been using it long but shows very little wear and I expect it to last a long time. Good product, rated 4/5 due to poor finishing.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MSR CHAIN RUB PLATE

ROBERT in NV

Comments On May 17, 2010:Installed on a 2004 wr450. The part fit a bit tight but nothing a little muscle could not handle. Would purchase again. (A-)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits and works great

Lucas in ID

Comments On May 06, 2010:Yes it fits snug, but was easy to install and didn't require any more tools than it should have on my XR600

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A tight fit on my 95 xr600

Kevin in CA

Comments On Oct 30, 2009:As other people have mentioned, this was a tight fit on my 95 XR600 also.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I would expect better from MSR

James in FL

Comments On Oct 18, 2009:It didn't quite fit right on my on my '95 Yz 250, it was close but maybe about an 1/8th of an inch off. I had to modify the bolt holes with a Dremel. It works though and its easier to order the MSR part from RMATV then to wait 2 weeks for an OEM part from the dealer. So I guess I would order it again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fit XR400 perfectly

Jason in TX

Comments On Jun 08, 2009:I bought it for my '98 XR400, fit perfectly, and was half the price of an OEM replcacement

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

miss fit

JASON in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2009:purchased for a '95 cr 250. it is way to short about an inch. had to cut holes out to make fit now the metal spacers pop out. took way to long to get a rub plate on. and caused more frustration then is needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

BRIAN in OH

Comments On Feb 03, 2009:Nice and slippery. Does as advertised.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poor fit

Ben in KS

Comments On Aug 13, 2008:bought for a 2004 kx100. Rub plate did not fit. It was an inch short of the holes lineing up. Had to modify to make fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Too Tight

GREG in TN

Comments On Aug 08, 2008:This is not a perfect O.E.M fit on my bike like it says. Very tough to get screws in because it was too tight/short. Maybe it is supposed to be this way. Once I got it on seems to be working fine. Might consider stock or another brand. I still like buying from R.M. and you should too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

An excellent value

TERRY in IA

Comments On Apr 12, 2008:Great value-excellent product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

to hard

MARK in MA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:product is to hard wears the chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fits well, wears well

DREW in WA

Comments On Mar 09, 2008:I bought this rub plate for my DR350, it has lasted me a couple years now and is good shape. Fits the bike perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did not fit at all

JOHN in VA

Comments On Mar 04, 2008:Purchased for a 2006 RM250 bacck in 2006. I still have this sitting in my garage becaus eit did not fit even after trying to modify the holes!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

did not fit my bike

JOSH in UT

Comments On Feb 24, 2008:the holes were a half inch off on my 03 rm 100 so i had to grind the crap out of it and finally after a half hour of grinding the plastic i got it to fit i could of made one from scratch in the same time with the trouble i went threw

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great fit and seems to be wearing well

David in CA

Comments On Feb 19, 2008:I chose this one over Acerbis because it is supposed to be a little thicker and wear a little better. I've had it on my CRF450r for two glamis trips and so far it is wearing great. Everyone with a CRF450r knows about its chain slapping problem. I tore through my stock chain slide in 5 dune trips. This one is half the price of a stock slide replacement and I think it's a good value. I also heard about installation issues, but I had no problem with it. Went on easily for me on a 2007 CRF450r.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fit ???

trent in UT

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:The fit of this rub plate on the RMZ 450 2006 could be better I had to heat it and strecth it to fit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Value

STEVEN in TX

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Didn't fit as well as the stock piece, but has worn very well and is an excellent price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great material

MARK in GA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:better material than stock but one of the bolt holes was a little off.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

OK

STEWART in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Was a third of the price of the OEM, would have liked a better oval washer system for fastening. but fine.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Product.

COREY in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:It was a little tight to get on my Honda CRF450R swingarm, but it has worn really well so far and it is twice as thick as the OEM Honda swingarm chain rub plate.

Was this review helpful?