Dirt Tricks KTM Timing Chain Tensioner

Customer Reviews for Dirt Tricks KTM Timing Chain Tensioner

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 22 Reviews

Return to Dirt Tricks KTM Timing Chain Tensioner Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dirt Tricks KTM Timing Chain Tensioner Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Got Insurance!!

Thomas in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Mar 08, 2014:This should be on all bikes ,as it will save you from destroying your top end and maybe your bottom end. Both of them!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Design but User Error is a big issue!

Andre in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:It is nothing but my own fault for not reading the instructions after removing the tensioner when doing new rings. You ***HAVE TO MAKE SURE THE TENSIONER IS COLLAPSED FULLY BEFORE INSTALLING** otherwise this will over tension your cam chain and it will break. A symptom is poor starting ,as if your autocompression isn't working. Don't take out your piston and valves like I did due to user error...
TECH NOTE: All auto cam chain tensioners need to be collapsed before installation regardless of brand

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked as stated

Jordan in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Dec 18, 2013:I bought this to replace the factory tensioner and it was surprising how much less noise it actually makes now. I used to be able to hear the cam chain slapping around in there and it was not cool but now it runs smooth as can be! I bought it with a new piston and gaskets to do a top end rebuild but I have only done the tensioner and it was money well spent to replace the stock one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no more rattle!

jonathan in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Nov 18, 2013:installed very quick and easy. directions were spot on. this solved my rattling cam chain issue and the bike sounds 10x better than before. make sure you install it in the correct closed position or things could be fatal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really quiets the engine

A. D. in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Sep 04, 2013:I replaced the stock tensioner in about 10 minutes using a new copper gasket and two o-rings, then cranked the engine with the the kill switch in the off position to get oil pumped everywhere. Then started the bike. I couldn't believe how quiet the engine was. I didn't expect that much difference.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No more rattle when started or at idle

Sam in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Aug 31, 2013:Easy to install and stops the rattle at idle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Piece of mind

jamie in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Aug 26, 2013:Product was easy to install and knocked the timing chain noise down by 50%. Best thing of all is I know my timing chain is at the proper tension always!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

craig in TAS – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On Jul 04, 2013:Stopped the ticking at idle

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked just as described!

russell in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Jun 16, 2013:Got rid of my timing chain rattle first time I started my bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get rid of that annoying click

Shane in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On May 21, 2013:Easy to install. The bike sounds better at idle. It is what it says it is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great & simple product!!!

Wes in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On Feb 10, 2013:This is a tried & true spring/ratchet design tensioner. It works great. It could be less expensive, but it works so well I'd buy it again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No ticking. Engine reduild runs strong.

William in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Feb 06, 2013:Complete engine rebuild of my 2006 KTM 250sxf. Tensioner works as described. Engine is running strong at 10 hrs, no ticking.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

pure awesome

Kyle in VIC

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:easy fitment with great instructions, stopped that annoying engine noise

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ktm

blake in TX

Comments On Oct 01, 2012:did the trick. worked perfectly no more engine noise

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy timing chain tensioner fix.

Darrell in OR

Comments On Apr 05, 2012:Gets rid of that horrible noise at idle! Saves the valve train!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

just what the doct ordered

MATTHEW in MO

Comments On Apr 19, 2010:I've got a ktm 530exc was making a concerning noise and got worse the longer the ride. This took care of it. well worth it.

Additional Comments On Jan 15, 2012:I am updating this review. I read another review that complained about the lack of gaskets. I reused the copper ring,and o-ring. had no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommended Product

LAUREN in OK

Comments On Dec 05, 2011:This is a product highly recommended by the KTM rider community to cure the ails of the OEM tensioner and keep proper tension on the cam chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

engine noise

craig in AB

Comments On Oct 04, 2011:helps reduce engine noise and gives peace of mind for chain tension in engine

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must buy for KTM 4 stroke

Jeffry in MA

Comments On Aug 08, 2011:This product is a must buy. I had no timing chain noise at all.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good product, wish they included the gaskets

Kevin in CA

Comments On Apr 12, 2011:like other people have stated this solves the timing chain rattle on start-up. Installed this on my 450 EXC with no problem but ended up re-using the copper gasket and o-ring and sure enough it leaked oil like crazy. Looks like i will be placing another order for $2.00 in gaskets. Not sure why Dirt Tricks does not just include them or at lease say that you will need to purchase gaskets separately.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

works as described

BRIAN in TX

Comments On Jan 24, 2011:installed great did as advertised, no problem a season later.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works perfect. Easy install

Don in OR

Comments On Dec 17, 2010:High quality and easy to install

Was this review helpful?