IMS Fuel Tank

Customer Reviews for IMS Fuel Tank

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 107 Reviews

Return to IMS Fuel Tank Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

IMS Fuel Tank Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy Install.

Justin in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Jun 17, 2014:Gets the job done, easy install. Suggest you get a pump to help drain the old tank. Took about 20 minutes to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tank

Shane in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On May 13, 2014:KX 250F Fit great no leaks, had to waller out the rad shroud holes a little but worth it for the extended range. we did each 50 something mile loop at the sage riders national with no alt gas =) Good Novice racer. My friends have the Acerbis and like how this tankl doesn't impead the cockpit area as much.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tight Tolerances

Timothy in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 28, 2014:Was stoked for added mileage but tank won't fit with radiator guards (Emperor Racing). In order to get low profile look, tank is molded around radiators which does not allow for guard clearance. Would have thought a great tank manf. like IMS would have taken that into account for a product geared for trail riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice looking tank, but doesnt fit..

Brad in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 525 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Mar 11, 2014:This is a great tank! but it wont fit a 07 KTM 525 EXC with the factory cooling fan. What a bummer..Had to pay return shipping too:/

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not sure I like this one?

STEVE in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Mar 01, 2014:This tank will do damage to the frame on the left side. Cut up a tire tube and put over the frame. I have had a lot of IMS tanks over the years and this is the first time I haven't liked one....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LONGER RIDES BETWEEN FILLUPS!!

BRENNAN in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA WR250R

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:GOOD FIT AND FINISH. EASY TO INSTALL.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good

JASON in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:Took about an hour and a half to put on. Real easy looks good. But the only thing I don't like is that it sticks up a little high but you got to expect that for a bigger tank.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2004 CR250R

Jon in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 19, 2014:Would be 5 stars but hardware for stock petcock was wrong. Home Depot had 2 screws that fit but frustrating to have to go buy them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

long rides

Dryden in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Dec 20, 2013:i bought a yz with a broken tank and orderd this one not really knowing just how big it was and its really big, takes a while to get used to the look and it still looks kind of goofy but nonetheless a very good tank for those long summer trail rides

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tank

nick in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Dec 11, 2013:Great product. Adds 50 miles to my day. First one that came was cracked so be sure to check it before filling the tank with gas all the way. Great costumer service, as usuall. Hats off to rmatv.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

quality tank

John in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Dec 01, 2013:I installed this tank on a 2012 WR450F. I thought the tank was a high quality piece. The fuel pump fit nicely in the tank. Installation went well and the tank of the fit is good. I only wish the capacity was a bit higher.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

IMS is happy selling inferior products

michael in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Oct 05, 2013:The blue color match and finish on this tank is pretty good. The tank mounted well but the kick starter rubbed. The real problem with this tank is that the shrouds will not fit. The shroud bolt inserts seem to be not spaced correctly, and there are lumps in the plastic at the shroud recesses. When you try to mount the shrouds the bolt inserts in the tank do not align with the holes in the shrouds, causing the shrouds to bow out in the middle, with very large gaps between the tank and shrouds. I tried 2 different pairs of shrouds that fit the stock tank perfectly, I even tried modifying the old set of shrouds. This is not a defect of just one tank, either. I ordered the same tank again from another source and the fit was the same if not worse. For the price of these tanks they should fit perfectly- like all the rest of the parts I buy. IMS has been making this same tank for YZ's since 2002, you would think they could get it right.

Additional Comments On Oct 09, 2013:I called IMS asking about the poor fit of the IMS tank for the 2002-2013 YZ250. The guy I spoke with at IMS said the are aware of the fit problems with these tanks but that is the way it is, they are not going to change anything on the molds for these tanks. Even after I tried modifying an old set of shrouds, I could not get even a decent fit. If you order one of these tanks for your 2002-2013 YZ 2 stroke it is guaranteed it WILL NOT FIT! There is no reason to exchange it for another IMS tank hoping to get one that fits right as they all come out of the same poor fitting mold.
TECH NOTE: It is typical for an increased capacity aftermarket tank to have some fitment issues with the shrouds but in our experience, they will fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Fit

Robert in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA XR400R

Comments On Oct 01, 2013:I helped my friend mount this tank, fitment is good, glad to have the extra fuel. Read many reports regarding other brands and decided to go with what was already proven. Thumbs up on this product. Robert

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

No way to make the shrouds fit

Mike in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Sep 25, 2013:I received the 3.2 IMS tank in blue. The color match was good, the tank fit the frame well, although I had to slightly file the tank mounts to match the bolt inserts in the tank, and the petcock was a good fit. The problem with this tank is there is no way to make the shrouds fit correctly. The inserts for the shroud bolts were misaligned and not spaced correctly. Also, there seemed to be a defect in the manufacturing mold that left large bumps in the plastic around the shroud bolt inserts. When the shroud bolts were tightened, the edge of the shroud would lift away from the edge of the tank, leaving large gaps between the shroud and tank. There was no smooth transition from the tank to shroud, and no way to modify the shrouds to fit. I exchanged this tank for a Clarke 3.1. I have yet to receive the Clarke tank.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice but leaked around the petcock.

DANIEL in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 525 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Sep 08, 2013:I put this on my 2002 so that i could upgrade to the 2003 style rad. shrouds and of course get the added capacity. this tank fits the bike well although it took a little coaxing to get the shrouds to line up with the bolt holes..hard to say if it was the plastics or the tank? also, the joint betweent the petcock and tank leaked. a double o ring around the base of the petcock solved that, but i would expect better fitment here. Overall a great tank that offers good capacity with nice ergos and styling. For the price.. i would expect the fitment issues to be better. that is only thing holding it back from a 5 star rating. I will probably buy another IMS tank one day.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as advertised

ROBERT in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jul 25, 2013:Over much debate between Clarke and IMS, I opted for the IMS for my 04 CR250. I did buy new petcock seal for use with my oe petcock. No leaks, fitment was spot on--no issues. Its served me well on long rides and looks pretty decent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

chris in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jul 23, 2013:Best add on for a woods rider. Its not worth the few dollars trying to buy cheaper. Perfect fit & looks great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ins 3.2g tank

Shannon in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jul 17, 2013:Awesome tank, great fit, slim ergos, massive range now I can fill up and ride all day.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big, bulky, heavy, good fit.

edward in IA

Comments On Jul 06, 2013:Exactly what I wanted.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Happy with purchase

Stefan in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jul 03, 2013:the metal screw rivit thing leaks a little when the tank is cold. but when it gets hot and expands it stops. Rather than that little flaw, perfect fits and every thing fit like a glove! so Im pretty happy!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WR250 X - Great fit, easy install, good mileage

Pablo in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA WR250X

Comments On Jun 21, 2013:Great tank. However, you better google a step by step guide for your machine if not technically inclined, as the provided instructions seem to be designed for the telegraph era (i.e. Step 1) take off stock tank, Step 2) mount tank.......ok...how?). Also, use the thicker gasket supplied instead of the stock one, and careful when disconnecting the fuel line (slide the orange tab!).

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tank

Jerin in West Virginia – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 11, 2013:This tank is big. I had to get it to be able to ride in the woods all day with my buddies who had KTM's because their tanks are pretty big from the factory, my little tank just wasn't cut out for woods riding. When putting on the shrouds, I had to use a thin socket on the bolts so they didn't end up cross threaded. I also had a bad wreck that did damage to my left radiator and i had to wire tie the shroud where the bolt should have went into the radiator. I also put some rubber in different places on the frame to let the tank sit a little different so my seat wasn't bent so bad. The seat is a little hard to get on with the tank but that is minor. The tank comes with a new petcock seal and works just fine...i have not noticed any leaking at all. I also ordered the TUSK gas cap according to the other reviews. The IMS cap that comes with it seems to be junk.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ims gas tank

Alan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 01, 2013:good for long rides i use riding with quads so i have as much fuel as they do works well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality. Fit was just ok.

Dave in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS OUTLAW 525 IRS

Comments On May 29, 2013:High quality tank. The plus is its big. You get a lot more range. The down side is, it's big. The body plastics on my outlaw don't quite fit right and I had to use some zip ties to make it work. But, it's par for the course.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A bit tough to install, terrible gas cap

Seth in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On May 20, 2013:I had to pull really hard on it to stretch it over the mounting points on my WR. Not sure if it's just the my tank or not. Also the gas cap leaves much to be desired as it is really hard to line up the grooves to avoid crossthreading it. Cap also already has the anti leak valve inside of it, so don't use another one in the breather line.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

IMS is the best

Brian in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Mar 06, 2013:I installed this new tank on my Fuel Injected 2012 wr450f and it fit perfectly. Have to trim the side shourds but IMS gives you a paper cut to stick to them and follow. I did it in 2 minutes with a sharp razor knife. Tank and held up well even after a couple of big time get offs.. Totally recommend this items, getting 80+ minles on a tank.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

no petcock!!!

richard in RI – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Feb 27, 2013:250 bucks and no petcock that sucks wish i got the aserbisone instead 210 and comes with one.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not a perfect fit

Austin in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:The tank will mount up to the frame just fine, but when you go to put the seat back on it takes a little patience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Holds fuel and HEAT

Chris in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Nov 26, 2012:Does what it says... but has a huge drawback when riding in hot areas. Due to the enlarged size, the tank wraps around the head. The heat transfers to the tank and causes fuel to expand faster than the check valve allows. This causes to much positive pressure and bike dies. Pull the check valve and its all good.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice fit

val in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Nov 26, 2012:actually holds 15 liters . have to pull the tank to get the spark plug though

Was this review helpful?

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cant change plug

Josh in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Nov 20, 2012:The tank works great and solve my problem of gas shortage for my cr 250 but now I have trouble changing my plug and its a real hassel, I have to pull the seat nad lift on the back of the tank to change a plug.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2004 CRF450R

Michael in CA

Comments On Oct 18, 2012:I had a slight issue with the fit on this tank. The right side bottom of the tank was rubbing my valve cover. I had to shave a tiny bit off of that area of the tank and now it fits perfect. Other than that, no problems at all. tank works and looks great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

a bit leaky..

drew in PA

Comments On Aug 03, 2012:big tank good for going long distances, but when i installed it. it leaked terribly. needed to be sealed.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great tank.

RICHARD in NJ

Comments On Jul 10, 2012:This tank mounted up easily and works great. The cap on the screw cap type is horrible so I would recommend the TUSK one made for the IMS tank because the stock tank cannot fit on it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Indispenable

John in NY

Comments On Jul 02, 2012:I had a mishap on my KLR's left side. Minor radiator bending, broken fan, broken plastic trim, and scratched tank. Normally no big deal. That is until I found the parts came to $905.00. I then decided to spend less than $250 on this tank and am certainly glad I did. Increased range (400 mi incl res), better radiator protection and overall... Better durability. Easy choice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Brock in MO

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:these fit well and are not to noticably different from stock

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price from RM

Charles in VA

Comments On Jun 25, 2012:Nice tank. Works well after a little finishing that IMS decided not to bother with. The brass blocks in the casting for the petcock are not flush so before you install take a flat file to them or your petcock will weep fuel. The mounting tangs they include for mounting the front of the tank require more finishing than you might expect. They work well but are a pain when the tank needs to be pulled.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit and works great

DENNY in UT

Comments On May 29, 2012:Everything bolted up and ways easy to use. Now I can get twice as far.The feel is no different than stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Extended Range is Good

JACK in WY

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:Fit was acceptible. I was concerned (somewhat) after reading other reviews and the fairings didn't fit perfect to the tank but het they're plastic and you can manipulate it to make it work. Good product quality and you can tell it should hold up when you dump the bike.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

IMS tank for 2004 CRF-450R

Florian

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:This tank fit perfectly on my 2004 Honda CRF-450R.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Must have for trails

Brandon in OR

Comments On Dec 20, 2011:No need to worry about fuel anymore!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

yz250f IMS tank

DAVID in CA

Comments On Dec 20, 2011:Fit is great and ims service is great if any problems

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

07 250sx

kyle in UT

Comments On Dec 03, 2011:fits great i love it and it looks so good

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish I hadn't Purchased

SEAN in CA

Comments On Nov 13, 2011:Very disappointed in this tank. I've purchased other IMS products with great results and was very satisfied. This tank however is crap. I would get over the plastic shards inside the tank that they don't clean out but that was just the start. I contacted them regarding it fitting with my GPR and it took a week to hear back. Bottom line is it doesn't fit well at all and there are gaps where there shouldn't be. Can't speak for the Clarke but i feel like i wasted $250 on garbage.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wears on engine valve cover

JIM in AZ

Comments On Sep 25, 2011:CRF 450X 3 gal tank sits right on top of engine valve cover and will wear the top of the valve cover off. AZ desert temps then heat up tank until gas boils. Not recomended without modifications for heat and wear strips.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ims 3.2 Gallon - 2001 Xr650r

ANDREW in UT

Comments On Jul 31, 2011:Got this tank in the mail about 3 months ago. Im REALLY happy with this tank.. It actually feels slimmer than the stock tank and the fit is great. I did have to trim a small plastic piece off the underside of the right side radiator shroud. No big deal.. Also keep in mind the natural color will fade yellow after 6 months of riding and the white (like mine) somehow turns brown in areas.. thats not a big deal either because it comes out with soap and scrubbing. OVerall, great tank

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

IMS on KX450

Ken in UT

Comments On May 16, 2011:Tank was only 2 months old and started leaking around fuel pump bolt. Upon removal to investigate, insert kept turning and I had to saw bolt out. Have a race this weekend so just had to order a new Acerbis. At the time of install I do remember the insert not being completely aligned w pump holes, and I probably should have sent back as the bolt did not go in smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2009 CRF 450R 2.7gal Natural

Mark in NJ

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:Would not recommend this tank. It was fine for a couple of months then it started leaking around the fuel pump. I have contacted IMS and they are supposed to be making a new line of tanks so if you purchase one make sure its the new line of tanks. I have been threw 4 tanks from IMS and 3 from Clarke so do your research before you make your purchase. The IMS tank inserts are coming out were the fuel pump bolts in from the heat of the motor. TECH NOTE: IMS TANKS FOR THIS MACHINE ARE NOW THE UPDATED DESIGN

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

yz 85

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Apr 06, 2011:installed on a yz 85. very happy with ims products

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2010 Yamaha YZ450F

PAUL in CA

Comments On Mar 30, 2011:Bolted right up and looks great!! Got a little over 100 miles on 2.4 gallons!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tank, fit's 2010 CRF450X

Richard in SA

Comments On Mar 30, 2011:Lines up nearly perfectly on my 2010 CRF450X. My only concern is that the petcock at the bottom of the tank sits uncomfortably close to the valve cover. Other than that, it's awesome. Very practical.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very happy

STEVE in CA

Comments On Mar 17, 2011:This tank is awesome. Fit perfect on my 450x and has given me a comfortable 100 mi range in the desert. No more packing gas.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tank has issues

kyle in UT

Comments On Jan 10, 2011:Leaks near the fuel cock and contorts the shrouds. fit good on the frame and bolted up well but I am not real happy about the rest. I wish I didnt buy it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tank fits 2011 KTM 300xc-w(e)

Jeffrey in UT

Comments On Jan 09, 2011:RM was the only seller I could find that offered this 3.7 gallon tank for my bike (Jan 2011). I emailed the IMS factory to verify it would fit and they said their tanks for the 2011 2-stokes were 2-3 months away. Long story short... I received the RM tank and it fit perfectly. I advised IMS.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

IMS FUEL TANK

curt in CT

Comments On Nov 11, 2010:This oversized tank fit my ktm 250 sx better than the stock tank.Shrouds bolted up easly!No change to seat angle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love the Look

ROGER in NV

Comments On Sep 08, 2010:It was a toss up between the Clark and the IMS, but the IMS to me looks so much better. Great fit. My only complaint is that the fuel cap didn't vent properly and so it would vapor lock. Rather than informing RM-ATV I drilled a hole in the cap and then the gas spilled out. I called RM-ATV, they would have replaced the cap had I not drilled the hold, but it should have been vented properly in the first place. Still love the Tank

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

works great

Jeff in UT

Comments On Sep 07, 2010:It seems that all the people with yamahas are the ones having issues with this tank (I guess IMS took more time designing it for better bikes haha) It fit my 07 KTM 450 perfect no problems with it at all. Now I am ready for the longer rides!!!
Additional Comments On Sep 07, 2010:Great tank unless you own a yamaha

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fuel Tank

Michael in WV

Comments On May 04, 2010:The tank has a great fit and excellent capacity. I would fix one thing on my 99 CR250 tank though. The cap is angled bac a bit when the bike is on flat ground, causing the tanks to not be completely filled. That is only a few ounces of fuel though. This tanks fits much better than my friend's Clark in the side panel areas. He had to trim his interior ribs off his panels. I didn't. I highly recommend the natural tanks too. You can see where your fuel is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gotta love extra range

Josh in UT

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:Works great, bolted right in.... just wish I could have kept my WR shrouds

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KLX300 IMS 12 litre Tank (Australian bike)

Craig in NSW

Comments On Dec 20, 2009:For me no more stress late in the afternoon of a long ride. I was surprised to see it is a well made product, well thought out, designed and implemented. If you are putting this on an Australian Model be aware there are slight differences to the US model bikes. The Aussie bike has a full wiring loom as it is road legal with lights and gear. You need to disconect and pull the wiring loom back to the front of the bike and re-route it outside the frame on the left side. It is long enough, but the wire for the rear brake light will need lengthening. The Capacitor and relays under the rear seat will need re-locating, or their wires extended. A cable tie on the sub frame under the seat works well. The 2 wiring loom mounting tangs welded to the frame under the tank needs to be broken off, file the rough dag smooth. The rubber boot on the coil needs to be taken off to be able to slide the tank forward enough. Cover the connectors and wires with electrical tape. The US KLX300 has a plastic tank while the Aussie KLX has a steel tank. The Aussie KLX fuel tap is mounted on the frame and is not used for the IMS tank. So the instructions say use OEM tap but that is only for the US model. I bought one on ebay http://cgi.ebay.com.au/PETROL-FUEL-TAP-ATV-BIKE_W0QQitemZ160374374839QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Motorcycle_Parts_Accessories?hash=item25570ec1b7 and it fits, does not leak and works (for how long!). A bracket needs to be made (flat sheet metal with one hole - easy) for the forward seat mount. The aussie KLX300 radiator shroud can be made to fit with a longer bolt,but the KLX250 shroud may be a better fit. Took me 4 hours working steady with interuptions(minus a couple stubbies) but for me was well worth the effort.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Didn't work out

Mimi in CA

Comments On Oct 26, 2009:I bought this tank for a 2006 CR85 Expert, but upon trying to install it, I found that the seat didn't fit properly and was full of wrinkles. Further inspection showed that the back end of the tank on the right side was bumping into the expansion chamber, so that the back end of the tank couldn't drop down far enough for the seat to fit properly. I also bought the recommended 01 tank shroud to go with the tank, but it didn't line up with the fastener hole on my radiator and was actually about an inch and a half too high. I ended up returning both items. Might fit the earlier models of CR (01, etc.), but not mine. Mislabeled tank? I don't know....just didn't fit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

XR400 IMS 4 gal

MICHAEL in AZ

Comments On Nov 14, 2009:Tank fits well. I like its shape better than the Clark tank. The IMS fells the same width as the stock tank between your knees as the Clark tank feels a lot wider between your knees. Fit and finish seems good. definitely replace the petcock o-ring if you are reusing you petcock valve or it will leak. The Cap works but is not of the highest quality so only four stars.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit 08 WR450

Benny in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2009:good fit, the only downside is I have to use YZ shrouds

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2008 Yamaha WR450

Shaun in UT

Comments On Jun 11, 2009:Bought the 3.1 gallon blue tank. Looks good, but not a perfect tank. The shrouds did not fit the bottom holes by an inch (this is after I had to buy the YZ shrouds). I had to order a new fuel valve because it is mounted at the front of the tank instead of the rear so it faced the wrong way. I had to drill out the holes to make it so the fuel valve would fit. My seat was very hard to fit on. The top of the seat curled slightly, and it took a lot of effort to get the bolts in on the back of the seat. I guess I will put up with all of this in order to get an extra gallon of gas. I just wish it fit better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fit was good

clint in TN

Comments On Apr 21, 2009:Bigger tanks never fit as good as stock, but this fit on my YZ pretty dang good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Had to return

RONALD in CO

Comments On Apr 15, 2009:Tank did not come close to fitting my 07 YZ450. The tank mounted to the frame fine but the lower radiator shroud mounts were off by over an inch. This was when the bike was brand new so it was still straight.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked well on my KTM 300xc

STEVE in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2009: The install was straight forward, just a little tricky to fit the rad shrouds but ok. The finish on the tank is just ok but no leaks. No access to spark plug and it is wider than stock, the price you pay for extra fuel capacity, which is fine by me.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Tank

SHANNON in CA

Comments On Feb 12, 2009: It fits my 2006 YFZ450 way better than the clark tank. The only issue I had was the fuel line holes weren't large enough to install the Pet-cock without modifying the holes. Now that it is installed it looks really good and the fit is great. The tank is slim like stock just taller.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great fit!

MATT in UT

Comments On Feb 06, 2009:Fit my '07 CRF450R perfectly. Doesn't look as big and ugly on the bike as it does off.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

long range perfect fit

ROGER in MI

Comments On Jan 17, 2009:have a 2005 kx125 this tank has perfect fit and easy installation, a bang for the buck!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

the best!!!!!! and easyest to install!!!!!!

andrew in NJ

Comments On Dec 17, 2008:i bought this gas tank in natural color for my 2006 rm 125 its the best 300 dolars i ever spent its easy to install and it hold so much gas u can go for 3 hours or maybee more

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE !

sky in UT

Comments On Dec 10, 2008:bought this tank for my 06 yz250.fit like crap.had to try and strech out shrouds to reach radiator mount holes. the plastic i have on the bike is oem.im pissed off i spent 250 dollars for something of this quality.next time i will defenatly go with a clarke!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Junk - Not at all impressed

Nathan in CO

Comments On Sep 23, 2008:Purchased for a 04 RM125. I just spent two hours getting this tank on my bike, compared to five minutes with the original. The quality of the plastic is awful. There are countless seams on the outside, appears to be cobbled together, then plastic welded. The radiator shrouds then had to be stretched into place and still don't fit properly. I then had to pound my seat into place. I don't believe I have ever been this dissatisfied with any product I've purchased for my bike. A $250 TURD.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MUST HAVE

GLADYS in NV

Comments On Jun 23, 2008:If your friends are mad at you because of limited range, this is the answer to their whining! Easy to install, all shrouds line up perfectly. Natural is best verses the colored tanks as everyone can see your fuel level.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice

mike in WA

Comments On Jun 18, 2008:straight forward easy install..good fit...awesome extra capacity!!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice product

Frank in CO

Comments On Jun 17, 2008:install was borderline difficult due to imprecise manufacturing - however this may be typical for larger plastic tanks. After about a year of use the tank holds up well. It has to be able to take more abuse because on the DRZ400 this tank "replaces" the flimsy stock radiator shrouds. It definitely protects the radiators better. I like the fact that you can see the fuel level (natural finish). Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good product

Raymond in UT

Comments On Jun 10, 2008:This is a good product but the downfall to the desert tank is the wieght and it is very expensive... All i wanted was a stock size but nobody offered it so i had to go with the over sized one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good tank

Michael in CO

Comments On Jun 05, 2008:overall, good purchase, kinda pricey for an oversize tank...install went well...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent quality

STEVE in WI

Comments On May 25, 2008:Worked great on my predator, fit was good and installation was easy. Wish it was a little less expensive but overall a great item.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pently of Gas

eddie in CA

Comments On May 18, 2008:I got one of these for my Banshee,I have done some mods on the motor and the stock tank only got me about a 100 miles,This big tank takes the worry out of running out on long rides!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very Good thick well Made and fit was good!! Had to cut some of the Org,Plastic,s but well worth it,and it look,s good after you get it on,I Highly Recommend this for the Long Hauls.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well designed tank

LARRY in CA

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:I ride out in the dunes and in the desert, so I was looking for more range out of my fuel injected quad (08 KFX450). This tank met my needs perfectly. The fit and finish is great. No problems during the install. Just follow the directions and everything should work great for you. I've been running this oversized tank now for over 6 months and have not had one problem.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

More fuel=Less stops

CIRO in CA

Comments On Mar 06, 2008:The more fuel that I am now able to hold lets me go further than what I could with the stock tank!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks trick.

JASON in WA

Comments On Mar 05, 2008:The tank was a tight fit, It went on our kx80. Holds a ton more fuel and really holds up good to the abuse it has gone through. Gives the little bike a great mini woods racer look.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

2008/ KTM 530 EXC-R

RICHARD in CA

Comments On Feb 22, 2008:I was very disappointed with the fit and finish of this tank. The oem tank shrouds did not fit,nor did the acribes shrouds...it required much drilling and cutting,plus the tank just did not fit the bike well. I do not recommend this tank and would not buy it again,for this model KTM until IMS does some more R&D to improve the fit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Big pig

Jason in CA

Comments On Feb 21, 2008:just put the tank on my '95 cr500. No problems with install and no leaks! I've only taken it around the block a couple of times but the big tank just feels right, especially while standing. Not to mention the extra 1.2 Gal.! SWEEEEET!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ims tank blue

DAVID in CA

Comments On Feb 10, 2008:good fit but had to open holes for fuel cock a little. color is perfect match

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Jason in MI

Comments On Jan 13, 2008:Now I will never run out of gas out in the woods alone.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

pretty good,

trevor in ID

Comments On Jan 13, 2008:i have a banshee and i had to extend my steering stem my 2 inches, (should have gone 4), so that i could turn with the tanks big neck, but other than that it is the best

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tank 4 years old

TIMOTHY in IL

Comments On Jan 01, 2008:this tank did require a little finesse to make it fit right and the gas cap can sometimes leak a little if the rubber inside isn't just right. but still am very happy with the product. this tank is on it's second bike! thats 4 years with no failure.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very large

Kyle in CA

Comments On Dec 20, 2007:Worked out great for me, is a little tight fitting but never have to worry about packing gas agian.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big & Ugly/Works Great

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Dec 17, 2007:It's Huge. It holds lots of gas. If you're into really long rides, or have a highly modified motor, or both, then you need one. It's pretty easy to get used to it, though you do loose a little turning radius... A longer steering stem helps. Make sure you use a fuel filter, these do have crap in them. Way better than the Out'N'Back rack.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality control guy needed for IMS.

Brendon

Comments On Nov 27, 2007:Great idea and it served it purpose but it didn't fit my yfz450 without a lot of trimming the front tabs which mount the front of the tank to the frame. Also the finish could be better. all the cast lines were exposed and easily noticable. Honestly, it looked like the tank just finshed the baja 1000.Lots of scrathes and casting voids.Not that impressed with the look but iit is very useful on those long days.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best investment so far

PARKER in KS

Comments On Nov 19, 2007:I race baja just for fun every year and would have to say this is an excellent upgrade. Fits perfectly and quality couldnt get any better. doesnt get in the way of anything and you can barely tell its oversize on looks.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

BIG TANK!!!

ROBERT in AZ

Comments On Nov 13, 2007:ITS almost twice the size as stock but you dont feel it at all. Can't feel a difference at all. LOVE IT!!! plus its cheaper than buying a stock tank.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fuel Tank

CASEY in CA

Comments On Oct 31, 2007:Works great!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

IMS Tank

LYNTON in AZ

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:I purchased mine for a 06 KTM 300XCW. The tank seems durable enough but the fit leaves something to be desired. The shrouds don't quite reach the anchor spots at the lower front of tank. Can be a pain to put shroud bolts in.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Tank

ANTHONY in TX

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Tank fit the bike great and has met all of our needs. Would purchase again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great service!

SHAWN in MT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Very good product. Needed a fitting that was lost out of the package. Company sent it directly to me, NO CHARGE!! highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

IMS 3.0 Gal Tank for '06 KTM 450 EXC

Philip in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The IMS tank fits well with no hassles. Looks great in black and seems as slim as stock. Overall I'm very pleased and appreciate the extra capacity.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid product

SCOTT in MI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Bought this for my son's KX100. Easy to follow directions. Installed in 1/2 hour.

Was this review helpful?