PC Racing Plastic Renew

Customer Reviews for PC Racing Plastic Renew

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 39 Reviews

Return to PC Racing Plastic Renew Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

PC Racing Plastic Renew Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Use this correctly and it is amazing

Don in TX

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:I restore a lot of ATV's and this is a product I recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK if you want a cheap temp fix

Nick in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2013:Bought a biike that had this stuff on it. The bike was in great shape, no wear on the cases and frame but guy used this stuff on the plastic. Looked good for a couple of rides then started comming off. I would only use this stuff if you had an old bike with hard to find plastic like an xr 350. Other than that, just buy new plastic.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Untill you can buy new plastics .Try it !

JEFF in CA

Comments On Sep 26, 2012:Nothing better than new plastic. What about that $250 gas tank ? You have to WORK to have the results and its worth it if you have the patience to do it correctly. Ordering my 2nd kit tomorrow.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

Charlie in MD

Comments On Aug 11, 2012:This stuff does not work tried sanded scratches over and over then the liquid washes off and it is evan worse with lots of small scratches not a good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works ok

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:DON'T SHAKE THE BOTTLE! Haven't had much experience with it but it does make plastic look better. not sure how long it will last. Seems like it will crack and flake off. Time will tell.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nerver

garrett in CA

Comments On Dec 25, 2011:Dont ever use this item it messed up my plastics so bad, they are dull, and ugly!! Waste of money and now i have to buy a new rear fender.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not the best finish but better then scratched

KELL in WA

Comments On Jun 28, 2011:Pretty labor intensive but on old bikes that are hard to find plastics this is a good and cheap solution.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WORKED GREAT!

melanie in OR

Comments On Jun 23, 2011:This stuff made my old 96 rm250 look brand new! easy to use and works great. would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as expected

Jordan in UT

Comments On May 06, 2011:The only way to get "new" looking plastics is to buy new plastics. But to just get a few more years out of your old one, this definitely does the job. Very noticable difference. I liked it enough I bought some more to do another quad.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DONT BUY THIS. IT RUINS PLASTIC!

austin in MO

Comments On Apr 28, 2011:I spent a total of around 4 hours sanding just small patches on my plastics. I had to go out and buy extra sand paper on top of it. Upon putting on the finish i realized it couldnt just be put on patches and thus had to be put on entire pieces leaving scatchly looking plastics which peels right off leaving your bike to look like crap... If i would have known it wasn't meant for completely redoing your entire plastics i wouldn't have bought it... Well now the bright side is i get to go out and spend around 400 or 500 dollars ordering plastics for my 450r!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

not good for deep scratches

joseph in CA

Comments On Nov 04, 2010:tried it on deep scratches and did not hide them like it was supposed to

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

If you're lazy, this is not the product for you!

TIMOTHY in AZ

Comments On Sep 17, 2010:Follow the instructions carefully and you'll be happy with the results. If you want some quick and easy fix for scratched old looking plastic, go buy new. This product works well, but like everything it has limitations. And if you plan on doing a good job, you're going to need more sand paper. If you're not afraid of work, and have OCD, this is the product for you. I've used it for years and keep buying more. I like it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good at first, but flakes off easily.

Scott in TN

Comments On Sep 10, 2010:This product works as described, but will flake off very easily. Don't use it on high traffic or high contact areas. Once it flakes off it leaves your plastic looking white, until you reapply the resin. Overall 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

PC Renew

JACOB in AZ

Comments On Sep 02, 2010:It was helpful with the overall condition. Definately gonna take some time to sand down to standard. Use the wool brisle provided after every coat. It truely helps.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks brand new!

CHARLIE in SD

Comments On Aug 22, 2010:Looks brand new.....If you're willing to put in the time wet sanding and applying multiple coat of the renew chemical. I spent about ten hours over the course of a few days treating the plastic on my atv. I couldn't be happier, everyone keeps asking me if I bought new plastic. The only reason I didn't give this product a five star rating is because the length of time it takes to proparly do the job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

my 300ex looks new!

Mark in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2009:This stuff took a bit of time, but it looks great now that I am done. way cheaper than new plastic.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sucks Crappy Product

terry in GA

Comments On Sep 29, 2009:I bought this kit for my 450r and 400 ex. The 450r is black. i followed the steps and all it did was scratch my plastic worse and took off the shiny gloss finish. havent it tried it on the yellow 400. would not reccomend this for somone who wants a nice finish

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Does The Job

JAMES in GA

Comments On Jul 02, 2009:makes faded, scratched plastics look much better. I wouldn't recommend using the plastic renew until your plastics desperately need it.
Pros- -easy, fast application -looks much better than faded, scratched plastics -much cheaper fix than replacing plastic
Cons- -be prepared to reapply after every few rides to keep the finish -gas and many cleaning agents will take the finish off easily

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazed Me

Jack in CA

Comments On Feb 12, 2009:I never thought this product would work but it did. Made my fenders look like new plus its way cheaper than buying a new plastic kit.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Works as advertised

JOE in OR

Comments On Oct 02, 2008:I gave this stuff a shot and my plastic looks pretty good. I will say that it took way too much work. I had to buff and reapply numerous times to get a good shine on the plastics. I doubt that it will last very long especially in the high contact areas. In the end its probably not worth it as you would have to spend numerous hours after every ride fixing the plastics.
I used up half a bottle on my quad so it goes along ways.
I would recomend this if you have a lot of time on your hands and you really care about the looks that much.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bon't bother

ED in UT

Comments On Jul 17, 2008:This is likely the worst money I have spent on my ATV's. It claims to make faded plastic look new but, after putting in a lot of time, it had no effect at all. If you have scratch's, you could do just as well buying 400, 300 and 200 grit wet sandpaper and using a good plastic polish when you are done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

An excellent value

terry in IA

Comments On Apr 12, 2008:Great value-excellent product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

did the job

CHRIS in WV

Comments On Mar 15, 2008:just right for my plastics

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

JARROD in KY

Comments On Feb 28, 2008:I got this thinking I could "renew" my plastic to a nice newer look... boy was I wrong! Worked HARD at making it look even remotely respectable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

KEVIN in MO

Comments On Feb 10, 2008:Follow the directions carefully and the results will be fantastic. It made my '86 ATC 200X look like new again. After a year of riding and washing it still looks good, like the directions say do not use soap to clean and apply your decals before using plastic renew. Yes it takes some time, be patient and you shouldn't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Plastic Renew-NOT

Justin in IL

Comments On Jan 26, 2008:Didn't work for me for the time and effort put into it. Spent more time than it was worth.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

plastic renew

michael in CA

Comments On Dec 03, 2007:my husband used this after he crashed his new raptor 700! said it worked great and looks like new again!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

uuuggh

BLAKE in UT

Comments On Nov 19, 2007:Not impressed. I followed the directions thoroughly, the end result looked almost as bad as the beginning. It would streak easily, and bubble. Not happy with. I went and bought a polisher and used a wool pad, worked much better.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

dont bother

DERYL in TX

Comments On Nov 09, 2007:this stuff is a lot of work for very little pay off, then it flakes off and you have to redo it. its cheaper, easier, and works better if you go buy a plastic type compound and buff your plastics.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

One of the best products I have bought for my bike

JOE in GA

Comments On Nov 07, 2007:The plastic goes from looking terrible to looking almost new. I use it after almost every wash. It keeps the black plastic on the KX looking incredible.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great temporary results

Devin in IN

Comments On Oct 30, 2007:I followed the directions...I did alot of sanding and applied 8 coats, buffing after the 4th and 6th. I spent about 10 hours on it. UPSIDE, the result seemed worth it. Yamaha Blue had a great luster and did in fact appear new. DOWNSIDE, after a day riding the Badlands, the finish was scratched and my knees made dull spots on both sides of the tank (which they warn about). OVERALL, nice shine, but not durable enough for my trail/mud riding. Obviously, results will vary.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked For Me!!!

Chris in CT

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:I used it on my son's yz85 and on my WR450 and it got rid of all of the scratches and gave the bikes the "like-new" shine! You just need to reapply it every 3 months. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good!

TRAVIS in WI

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I used this to get all of the dirt, and scratches off my plastic. It worked very good, and the plastic looks close to new now.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good to improve looks of plastic, but hard work

JOHN in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:If you spend the time necessary to sand and smooth the plastic, then patiently apply the many coats needed to get a good finish, you probably will like the results. I think it would be better for motorcycles with smaller plastic area because after I finished the acres of plastic on my 400EX, I was exhausted and the results seemed mediocre. After getting it dirty and washing it and then comparing it to an older plastic piece, I noticed how much better it looked, especially from 3ft or more.
*** BUT, the finish doesn't wear all that well and you have to reapply and rework the plastic to keep it nice. OVERALL, I think if you care enough to spend the effort needed to make it look good (detail oriented!), you are probably picky and won't be all that happy with the final product. If you speed through the process, it's going to look OK. Neither will end up with "like new" plastic.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks good,durability questionable

SCOTT in NV

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Easy to apply and looks good when done, but... any sticker placed over it will remove the plastic renew if sticker is removed, also you have to be careful what types of chemicals you use to wash the plastics.I used a certain glass cleaner and the plastic renew rubbed off.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

works as advertised

TODD in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:simply follow the directions and take your time. As with painting the more you prep the better the outcome. Use care when layering up the liquid to reduce the bubbles in each coat you apply. Also works great for protecting your nice new graphics and numbers not to mention frame surfaces that get rubbed on by your boots.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Helps bring back shine

KENNETH in WA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This product works well, but you better be committed to following through with the task of all the required steps to gain an acceptable result. There are several steps using multi grain wet sanding and finally touch up and buffing. Not for impatient people

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

plastic renew

PHILLIP in OK

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:works good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stuff works

DANIEL in MN

Comments On Oct 18, 2007:This stuff does work, but tends to wear in time. It's best to re-apply every couple months. Don't worry you get plenty of it!

Was this review helpful?