Rider Cargo Single Motorcycle Carrier

Customer Reviews for Rider Cargo Single Motorcycle Carrier

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 19 Reviews

Return to Rider Cargo Single Motorcycle Carrier Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Rider Cargo Single Motorcycle Carrier Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Motorcycle Carrier

Jeremy in UT

Comments On Oct 10, 2012:Great product. Feels very sturdy. Works great for my CRF250R. Easy assembly and installation. I'm 5'10" 185 and I have no problem loading and unloading my bike. Only complaint, the stabilizer had to be modified at a machine shop to fit on my Jeep Commander. If your hitch receiver doesn't stick out from the back of your vehicle(mine is flush with the bumper), you might have the same problem. I had it modified because this is one of the main perks I bought this carrier for. You can use it without, but I didn't want my bike bouncing around after ever bump in the road. Otherwise, a great product, and no, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to be able to figure out the limited instructions(a piece of paper with an exploded view). Thanks RM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the Price

John in WY

Comments On Sep 13, 2012:Made in China. Missing a few minor hardware parts due to overseas shipping. Easy to assemble. Very sturdy with the exception of the tie down arms. A little modification and they'll be fine. The anti wobble device works great on squared off hitches, but is difficult to tighten on the rounded off ones. Best of all was the outstanding fast service (as usual) from RockyMountainATV/MC! Thanks guys.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not perfect

JOHN in IL

Comments On May 31, 2011:I bought this carrier to replace a trailer because I needed the space in my garage that the trailer was taking up. Overall, the carrier fit the bill. It is well made, easy to assemble and to load. However, there were some issues: - As others mentioned, I had to drill out one of the holes to get things to line up properly - Flat washers and the large circlips that hold the ramp in place to the carrier were missing and had to be shipped separately. - The carrier rides low (has a straight tongue that comes out of the receiver hitch) but this is more of an issue with my vehicle and the mounting of the hitch. I had to cut and re-weld the tongue to raise the carrier a few inches to give greater clearance. - There is a plate that slides on the tongue then bolts to the receiver that is designed to remove wobble in the carrier. It does not bolt in place easily. It tends to back off the receiver as you tighten the three bolts to secure it to the receiver. It sounds like there is a lot wrong with this product, and there is, but I would buy one again. It is a quality carrier but it would be ideal if these nusances could be addressed by the manufacturer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to set up

Robert in MD

Comments On Nov 22, 2010:It was so easy to put together I did it in the dark!But before I cauld put it together I had to find some bolts!The box had more tape then carbard.It looks like it was the last one on earth!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't expect perfection for this price!!!

Caleb in UT

Comments On Apr 12, 2010:This carrier is still an extremely good deal for the price. I did find that some of the holes do not line up perfectly, so I had to drill out two of them. Not a big deal and for the price I really can't complain. Also, the brackets on the ramp that allow it to be pinned to the hitch are not inline so it sits a bit crooked...again, not a big deal. This rack worked great for my heavy Husky and I couldn't have asked for anything more for the price. I'm sure it will provide many years of trouble free use.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Money Well Spent

Jason in ID

Comments On Dec 04, 2009:I needed a way to get my dirt bike to camp behind my motorhome with out pulling a trailer so I started pricing out different brands before I found this one. I liked the fact that it has 4 corner tie down points because I feel more confident knowing it wont fall off or drag behind since I cant see it behind my RV. Very sturdy and easy to load. For the price it's hard to beat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best bike carrier!

Paul in AB

Comments On Oct 23, 2009:This is the best thing I have bought since my bike. I would never use anything else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet!!!

Corey in UT

Comments On Sep 08, 2009:I bought this because I have a shell on my truck. I am very happy with the carrier. I get the same mpg in my truck with or without it plus its cake to load or unload. No need to store a trailer on the side of my house, this thing can hang on the wall in my garage. Great Product!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not for scooters!

Jason in CA

Comments On Jul 24, 2009:I couldn't tell from the pictures, but there is a large hole for the front wheel of a motorcycle. Its about twice as large as the holes on the ramp that you can see on the picture. I bought this for a scooter with 13" wheels, so a warning about that hole would have been helpful. As for the actual product, it seems like it'll be sturdy enough after I modify it for my scooter. Lighter than I thought it'd be. The assembly instructions (if you can call them instructions) were terrible, but it wasn't too hard to figure out. I don't like the tie-down arm pins either, but they will work. Overall, not bad for the price, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Okay carrier

Josh in UT

Comments On May 19, 2009:80% of this carrier is stout, the hitch and the actual carrier is very beefy. I returned mine because the way the tie down arms attach is very mickey mouse. Its not a tight fit at all and they just flop around. If you want to do a little modification to the tie down arms this would be a very sturdy carrier. For now i'm just going with a trailer

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy to use

Mark in CA

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:This carrier is easy to hook up and works nice. I can haul my bike with confidence.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

hauls my xr!

Tyler in IA

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:I have used this over a year now to haul the xr400. works great. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

decent for the money

travis in ID

Comments On Mar 24, 2009:I had an upcoming trip that required that i purchase this type of a carrier. I had only 3 days advance notice and live in a rural area of Idaho. I found this carrier in stock and it seemed the most promising for the time I had. Rocky Mountain ATV was awesome. they had it shipped the same day and it arrived the next day even using the free shipping. The problem with the carrier is that the two pieces of steel that are welded onto the main tubing are not even with each other (1/4" off). This causes the bike to ride with the front tire about 3 inches closer to the vehicle than the rear but it seems to be sound. If I had the time, I would exchange it for another but I don't. I have yet to take it on the road but I am hoping that she holds up to the 800 miles that i am about to drive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Satisfied

KELLY in UT

Comments On Mar 24, 2009:As others have said, directions are a little fuzzy. But it works very well once assembled. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Better than I thought

PAUL in CA

Comments On Jan 22, 2009:Given the limited reviews of this product and the fact that I could find NOTHING on the internet about it, I was hesitant to order it over other carriers, but am glad I did. The instructions are poor and a bit fuzzy, but its a simple assembly. Its a sturdy carrier, lighter than other brands, and its easy to load your bike. Here are some things to keep in mind if you are thinking of trying this carrier: (1) The tie down extensions use pins and not bolts to connect to the carrier. Not a problem, but I'll have to see how well they hold up in the long run. (2) There are two holes to use for locking into the hitch depending on how far you want the carrier to stick out. The spare tire under my Tahoe prevents the carrier from being inserted deep enough to use the closer option. (3) You have to really yank up and back to get the front tire out of the groove in the carrier. I am 6'4" and its not a huge problem, but if you are under 6' it might be an issue for you. (4) Get tie downs with the carabiner so the hooks don't come out and tie your bike down in the back like they show in the picture. I tie mine down in 4 places. (5) Make sure you have the anti-wobble bracket tightened down securely everytime you hook the carrier up.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for SUV's

COURTNEY in WY

Comments On Mar 08, 2008:I bought this so I could haul my 250f with my Chevy Tahoe. The carrier was easy to assemble and a lot cheaper than any trailer. With the rack and bike on the rear you don't even notice it's there. Just make sure to get the stablizer bracket tight. Overall good rack for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I take this thing everywhere

NATHAN in AZ

Comments On Dec 24, 2007:Good price, works great. The stabilizer lock device doesn't seem to work real well. Overall, good product.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Rack, Nice Price

Chris

Comments On Dec 15, 2007:This is one of the cheapest transportation options that I found and it works great. My bike fits snug in between the rails and I feel confident taking road trips with this rig. It wasn't to hard to put together but the instructions/picture were a little small and fuzzy. I have a spare tire rack on the back of my vehicle and the bike clears it easily. I was expecting to have to remove the spare tire to take my bike with me but I don't have to which is great.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good deal

JASON in CO

Comments On Nov 01, 2007:simple, holds the bike well. the front trough for the wheels holds on sungly. no issues, satisfied for the least expensive rack i could find.

Was this review helpful?