Cycra Speed Armor High Impact Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for Cycra Speed Armor High Impact Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 13 Reviews

Return to Cycra Speed Armor High Impact Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Cycra Speed Armor High Impact Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Product

WILLIAM in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 15, 2014:Skid plate is good, but the zip straps that come with it are junk, use better ones so you don't lose the skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bad design

alan in MO

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:Every time I rode I broke some of the supposed high strength zip ties. Eventually it fell off on the track and I lost it. Good riddance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Do not waste your money on this item

DAVID in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Jan 23, 2014:Fell off the 2nd time that I mounted it! Just fell off - with six (6) zip-ties holding it on. Did not crash or fall....just disappeared.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

for KTM 250SX - Fits well, zip ties were garbage

SCOTT in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Jan 05, 2014:I like this skid plate, it fits well, is light, wasnt too expensive and should do the job. At a minimum it keeps all the mud from collecting on the bottom of my case, and keep rocks from dinging the case as well. I dont do much hard trail riding, so I dont know about protecting from logs or big rocks though. The zip ties that came with it were garbage. It takes 6 to put it on, they give you 12 so you can take it off and put it back on again, but 7 of mine broke just putting it on for the first time, so I had to go to home depot for an alternative solution. I would buy it again though, just know the zip ties might break when installing. Also, for the ktm there is no issue with having to remove it to change the oil, so that is nice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Like the idea but needs revision.

Garrett in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 08, 2013:Zip ties that were provided are hard to get tightened all the way. good construction but nothing compared to a real metal skid platw

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2013 KTM 250SX

Christopher in IA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Aug 18, 2013:KTM owners will love this skid plate. Due to KTM having a side oil drain plug versus a bottom plug. You mount the plate and forget about it. I have this on my bike (listed above) and I have had no issues. I race mx and the plate was easy to install and provides worry free function. I would buy this again. BTW, you can get replacement 175# zip ties at Harbor Freight and I have even seen them at Wal-Mart for a few bucks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great skid plate

Kevin in WA

Comments On Jun 17, 2013:This has taken some hits that have saved my engine cases,
It is attached by zip ties and you cut them off to remove to drop the oil but thats not really a drama,
It looks neat and the no holes in it means no mud gets built up behind it like on all of the aluminium ones

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NO HOLE TO DRAIN OIL

JOHN in KY

Comments On Apr 02, 2013:I had one of these on my KTM and really liked it, but the drain plug for that was on the side. For my Yamaha, the drain plug is on the bottom, so you would have to replace the straps every time you change the oil, which could be expensive. I just drilled it out, but had to remove the back mount of the skid plate to do so. If you have a drain hole on the bottom of your bike, buy a different brand skid plate or be prepared to spend more than the price of the skid plate on industrial zip ties over the course of the year.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not what I wanted

KEVIN in UT

Comments On Apr 02, 2013:Returned this skid plat.when unpackaged it wasn't what expected.Decided to use an aluminum plate instead

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Horrible coverage.

Donald in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:I have used cycra products before with good results so I thought this skid plate would be good. I am OK with the material it is made of, I actually prefer it, and I'm OK with the way it is zip-tied on, but I am not OK with the coverage it provides. If this plate covered like it should I wouldn't have any issues with it.
On my 07 crf450 this plate doesn't come close to reaching where the frame splits near the exhaust port. There was a 3.5 inch gap between where the frame Y's and the skid plate began. The plate covered up to where the bolts are for the white plastic engine guards.
This is an important area to cover in my opinion, and this skid plate didn't get the job done.
I bought a works connection aluminum plate instead, the WC plate covers great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the price

Joseph in NC

Comments On Oct 11, 2012:Seems beefy enough. Have not had any hard hits with it, but I can only imagine if you manage to break through the thick plastic, then you can just buy another one and be happy it was the guard and not your engine case.
I am fortunate that I don't need to remove it to change the oil on my 2012 150sx since the plugs are on the side.
If you want to save on the expensive zip-ties, just go get some of the huge ones from a home improvement store for pennies compared to the absurd price from cycra. HVAC contractors use them all the time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for what I bought it for!

Fred in OH

Comments On Jun 17, 2012:Good product , easy to install. descent protection for motocross racing .

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay product

Collin in NC

Comments On Dec 05, 2011:The unit works as described. You bend the front of the plate to form with the frame and then zip tie it in 6 places around the frame. It comes with 12 zip ties but you have to remove the unit when changing the tranny fluid so I'll eventually have to buy more. If you try to drill an access hole you will drill out a riveted piece that holds the back of the plate to the frame.

Was this review helpful?