Works Connection MX Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for Works Connection MX Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 73 Reviews

Return to Works Connection MX Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Works Connection MX Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wish I had WC full coverage skid plate instead

Jamie in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Sep 09, 2014:I was on the fence between the works connection mx skid plate and the full coverage skid plate. I was afraid the full coverage skid plate would be too bulky but, after seeing it on a bike at the track it wasn't at all. The mx version is great but doesn't provide the level of protection the full version does.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Daniel in WA

Comments On Aug 06, 2014:Does the job, easy to install.great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit.

JEFFREY in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Aug 03, 2014:Skid plate fit the contour of the frame perfectly. You dont really know its there. Comes with foam to fill the gap under the engine to keep the mud and dirt to a minimum.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Skid

Mark in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jul 31, 2014:I ride rocky rutted stump and log infested WA trails. I run skids on everything I can. I rode this bike a few times without one and was paranoid about the front tire throwing a rock up and cracking the case. For the price it is well worth the peace of mind in my eyes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

DAVID in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 28, 2014:OK it is a skid plate and does prevent rocks and things from hitting the motor underneath the bike. It has a drain plug hole witch is useless for my year bike as the drain is on the side not the bottom also took a little work to get it bolted up. It is a good product I just wish it would have been more machine specific but I got what I paid for and it does the job

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Barbara in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Jun 29, 2014:First thing i bought for my new bike, was very easy to install and has held up fine with 20 hours of riding so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality

Reannon in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF150R Expert

Comments On May 18, 2014:Install is much easier with a second set of hands and precut foam would be nice. Overall quality is good and fit securely.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

skid plate

John in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On May 09, 2014:works connection skid plate is fits the best and is by far the strongest.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must

MARK in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 30, 2014:Especially for Rocky, sandy or mud tracks this is a must and desert riding, saves the cases big time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect application

Chad in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Apr 26, 2014:Works great for rocks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect fit!!!!

Nicholas in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 08, 2014:Shipping is so fast with rocky mnt skid plate fit perfect make sure you use thread locker ...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Ryan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Nov 26, 2013:This skid plate is pretty good, ive had it on for 2 seasons of rocky singletracks and i have no complaints. Its so compact you dont even know its on the bike, but just think down the line, i wish i would have got a bigger one the covers the engine sides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wouldnt go without it

Jake in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Oct 31, 2013:a lot cheaper than fixing a cracked case. works connection makes some good stuff!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Woo

colby in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Oct 30, 2013:I don't know how I have never bought this. After buying I would never ride without it. 70 dollars for this sure is cheaper than buying engine cases after a rock goes thru it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great piece

Kevin in NY

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:Looks great and had good fitment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

06 WR250f Good fit

Marcos in New York – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Apr 26, 2013:Perfect fit, does not cover the bottom rails completely. I have put some closed cell sticky foam on the sides before installing and Loctite on the screws. Perfect fit. Did not install the provided foam.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2007 yz 450

beau in CO

Comments On Apr 24, 2013:Great product, holding strong

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Garrett in AZ

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:bought 3 for diffrent bikes. fit isperfect. no flaws

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

All my Buds Have the same thing

JOHNNY in OK

Comments On Mar 14, 2013:It's the best out there in my opinion because the ones with built in side guards need adjusting sometimes to make them clear sidecases. Really not alot of added weight either compared to plastic or carbon plates considering the superior protection

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

medium protection

JAKE in ID

Comments On Feb 15, 2013:saves your bike from having a smashed case, but doesn't protect the sides of your engine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works connection skid plate

Grey in AL – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:Decent, takes the abuse and keeps going. Not real fancy or great looking

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Devon in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On Dec 12, 2012:Bolted on no issues

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Paul in OK

Comments On Sep 27, 2012:bolt right on looks great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2007 yz250f workz connect skidplate

Matthew in NY

Comments On Apr 30, 2012:Great product easy installation bolts right on no modification needed. Still have easy access to oil drain plug. 5 star product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

TRAVIS in CA

Comments On Nov 19, 2011:Good at what it does... mounting is a little tough but not bad.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice plate

Nicholas in PA

Comments On Sep 09, 2011:Bolted right up to my YZ125 no modification necessary, looks like it will do the job as intended. Comes with foam.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

For what it is, great

Sam in NSW

Comments On Jul 12, 2011:Fit's perfectly. Drainage holes in the right spots. Light. Protects what it's designed to protect and well priced.
No complaints. I would buy this brand again and recommend my friends do the same.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quality product.

Jake in ID

Comments On Apr 25, 2011:Fitment, look and protection are good, but they need to put a oil drain hole for the 2010 yz450f. I have to take the skid plate off every time i want to change my oil so i can get to the plug. Other than that it looks like a quality product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not as big as i expected

Dylan in VA

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:I was not all that impressed due to the fact it barely gaurds the frame, it wasn't the easist to install had to make small mods to get it to fit right. Wouldnt buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

John in GA

Comments On Mar 07, 2011:Perfect fit might need someone to help you put it on. Its hard to hold the brackets skidplate and tighten up the screws. Not a maximum coverage skidplate but it protects the bottom of ur case

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice

DEAN in CA

Comments On Feb 09, 2011:I love the look and this plate fit great. I am removing the foam though because I feel it makes the bike run a little hot and will only use the foam if it is really muddy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great fit

Jerrod in CO

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:This is the second one I have had over the years. They fit awesome and the drain plug hole is dead on. Put some foam tape on the frame rails in between the skidplate and locktite the screws. It wont rattle and it stays put for life. My newest one has already kept a rock from punching a hole in the bottom of the engine. Money well spent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

James in MO

Comments On Nov 01, 2010:This skid plate worked for what it was intended for and well worth what I paid for it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beefy! Brackets need work. Price is excellent!

John in NM

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:I installed this last night on my 2009 YZ250 and it took me about 15 minutes. It should have only taken a minute or two. It has two bolts, two screws, the plate, and four brackets that hold it to your frame. The rear brackets are no problem, although the right side rear bracket has very tight clearance on my YZ. You can make it fit though. The front brackets were just a tad too narrow. They won't wrap around the frame like they should. They are holding the plate in place and it doesn't seem like it's going anywhere but those brackets should wrap around the frame not sit on the edges like they are. I'll probably take a grinder and take a millimeter off the inside of the brackets to see if they will wrap around the frame like they should. Seriously though they should just bolt on and work it shouldn't be this difficult. Outside of that this is a solid plate and it really adds peace of mind. I threw out the foam pad that is advertised to keep dirt from accumulating in between the bottom case and the skid plate. Just take the plate off and wash the bike when it builds up. There is no ventilation holes like in some of the pictures either. Just one hole so you can access your drain plug. I'll just take it off when I need to drain my bottom end.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Its a skid plate.

Benjamin in VIC

Comments On Feb 04, 2010:I think these might have worked better with some strong hose clamps then the provided, but they seem to do the job quite well! Also it would have been better if the screws used needed sockets, not a phillips head.
It just sits under neath my YZ 125 and protects the bottom of the engine/frame. Seems good build quality so it should last a very long time!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works on a 02 wr250

Keith in CA

Comments On Jan 17, 2010:the description said it fits a 03 to 06, but it fit my 02 just fine!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Piece of mind

Anne in NH

Comments On Dec 03, 2009:Gives me peace of mind when i ride track or trail. Its very light and goes on easy. Looks pretty good too and the oil drain plugs line up great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great item

tony in TX

Comments On Oct 22, 2009:This plate fits perfect on my CRF 450. This was the first thing I put on my bike before I rode it and would suggest the same to any trail rider.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

For what it is, it's great

DARIN in UT

Comments On Oct 21, 2009:For what it's designed for, a MX guard, it's perfect. It's lightweight and offers good protection, and I don't even have to remove it to change oil. I do wish I would have gone with an offroad guard though...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Duran in CA

Comments On Sep 23, 2009:bolted up real easy and fit great, plus no vibration sound

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Larry in FL

Comments On Sep 01, 2009:Fits perfect- does take extra effort to keep sponge spacer clean.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 size fits all? 09 YZ250

Jim in NY

Comments On May 10, 2009:Raced for 20 years and am still riding 12 years later. Why am I still modifying bolt on parts to make them fit? The right side hooks are too long. The front right hook goes in the muffler bracket and hits the bolt. The rear hook won't fit through the gap between the motor and the frame. Cut the end of the hooks halfway and they'll work fine. Would have saved me a half hour.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best

IMELDA in CA

Comments On Mar 23, 2009:Went on easy

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A MUST HAVE

JEREMY in PA

Comments On Feb 19, 2009:This is one of the first purchases I make for a new machine. Saves the underside of your case. Cheaper to buy the skid plate then replace either side of the bottom end.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

BRIAN in OH

Comments On Feb 03, 2009:Good quality, good price, easy mounting, does its job well !

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Does the job

SEAN in ON

Comments On Jun 20, 2008:Fit was perfect, even the oil drain hole lines up. Great value. A must for any woods rider.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great skid plate

Barton in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2008:fits tight and was easy to install, all holes lined up perfect. Great plate for the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

looks fits & should work excellent

JoE in CT

Comments On Mar 03, 2008:i like it, a definite must have for my woods converted 01 cr250r, fit well, had to cut my own oil access hole in the foam but thats neither here nor there -recommended

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Required Add On !

Tim in VA

Comments On Feb 28, 2008:I woods ride my 450R and this has been a case saver more than once! PERFECT fit easy to install. 1 screw driver and 10 minutes and your saving yourself fear and worry about rocks busting your case. weight is not an issue light weight and very strong! also takes less time to clean up/wash bike because you don't get all the mud packed on you engine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:I love this skid plate, great coverage and appears to be very strong. The fit was perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Connection Skid Plate

Shane in AZ

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:My skid plate was easy to put on, took about 5 minutes. It comes with a foam water resistant engine pad to keep dirt from getting in between the engine and skid plate. I've smacked several rocks and it has handled all beatings well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit and great product

PAUL in UT

Comments On Jan 16, 2008:Provides great protection of the engine and fits great. I don't like how the CRF version mounts but that is Honda's fault and not Works Connections. The skid plate on my Yamaha go on and comes off quickly and easily. I buy one of these everytime I get a new bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NICE

PETER in CA

Comments On Jan 15, 2008:This is a good, light easy mounting skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

kevin in SD

Comments On Jan 09, 2008:Wow, had this thing out of the box and on my bike in minutes! Super easy installation and a perfect fit! Plus it looks cool. Great job WC.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sure beats stock

JEREMY in NV

Comments On Dec 30, 2007:this was the first aftermarket skidplate i bought and it sure beats the hell outta them plastic piles that are stock!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Connection MX Skid Plate

Brian in MA

Comments On Dec 25, 2007:Nice fit, must have for woods riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

CHRISTOPHER in CO

Comments On Dec 11, 2007:fit perfect with no issues. I have been using this skid plate for over a year with absolutely no issues. Works connection makes great products

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

TRAVIS in CA

Comments On Nov 29, 2007:great product looks good too

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

WENDELL in NM

Comments On Nov 19, 2007:I put one of these on my KX450f, fit and finish was really good. I would not ride off road with out one to protect the engine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good quality part

JERRY in NE

Comments On Nov 16, 2007:Fits well and is a very strong skid plate. don't forget the loc-tite though, replacement parts are pricey

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Risky not to have this

JAMES in MI

Comments On Nov 09, 2007:In Michigan rocks and ruts, this is essential unless you like cracked cases.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Saved my butt!!

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Nov 05, 2007:Or should I say my bikes butt time and time again. I have hit some hard rocks with this thing and it works. Light weight as well. I would buy another one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

STEVE in NV

Comments On Nov 01, 2007:best thing i have bought for my bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Good!

RUSSELL in TN

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:I am very happy with this purchase all Works Connection stuff WORKS!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

KURT in NY

Comments On Oct 28, 2007:easy installation and good fit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice plate , one hole off

STEVEN in SC

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Purchased for 2007 CR250R. Nice plate. Looks great on. One hole was to far forward so I had to drill a new hole but other than that it is nice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hot plate

TROY in MT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:fit well and really helps protect the bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit

AMANDA in UT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Fit great and was very easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

CHAD in KY

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great dirt bike protection for hare scrambles and off roading. CB

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

daniel in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:works great looks good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worth the money

jake

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:well designed and provides good protection for ur frame and motor definatly worth buying

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

RICK in OR

Comments On Oct 21, 2007:Great product, easy to install, fit & finish good, works good.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Skid Plate

Kenneth in IN

Comments On Oct 19, 2007:great skid plate, best ive had yet,the factory foam doesn't last long if u cut a hole n it (so dont cut it) but replacement foam can be bought anywhere, n best of all theres no drilling or tapping required it comes with mounting hooks awesome buy n price

Was this review helpful?