Maier XC Pro Handguards

Customer Reviews for Maier XC Pro Handguards

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 19 Reviews

Return to Maier XC Pro Handguards Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Maier XC Pro Handguards Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

JUNK!!!!

LEVI in ID

Comments On Mar 25, 2014:Literally on for less than an hour! DIRT BIKE'S don't always stay upright- it's a fact!!!! the very first time the bike tipped and hit the gravel- the Maier Hand guards broke- the brittle plastic couldn't hold up to 1 minor impact- the Manufacture doesn't stand behind its product (because "they broke on impact with the ground") and I'm out the money!!!! Thanks Maier!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hand guards broke on 2nd ride!

Anthony in TN

Comments On Dec 24, 2013:Spend the extra dollars for better hand guards. These would be ok for around the yard riding. Not good when deflecting off trees!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

not bad for the money

DANIEL in OR

Comments On Sep 08, 2013:i have these gaurds on my wife and kids bikes since they tend not to crash as hard. overall i have had great results. they seem to stay in place on the bar and give just the right amount of protection. My issue is with the mounting hardware. It is kind of chincy. Some cast aluminum, so if you crank down on the anchor screws on the end plugs they can crack and break. Ask me how i know??!!

Additional Comments On Oct 28, 2013:Update: not sure if I want to go with these again. My teenage son whiskey throttled into a tree and the impact fell directly on the throttle side hand guard. the Hand guard snapped and he broke his wrist. I am not sure an Aluminum backed unit would have helped to prevent the injury in this instance? I think the twisting of the bars is more to blame for the wrist break?. Interestingly he complained of no knuckle or finger pain which is what I would expect given the nature of the direct frontal impact. So I guess they did their job? Choose according to skill level and how hard the crashes are.. ;-)

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for minibikes and quads

Jess in OH

Comments On May 22, 2013:Not sure how they would hold up on full size bikes, but they are a life-saver on the mini-bikes and keep the briars off when riding the quad. GREAT value for the $$. On the mini-bikes they have taken some HARD hits without breaking, they will twist on the bar, but no broken or bent levers so far! Install is a bit of a pain or they would have had 5 stars.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Didn't fit my bike

michael in NY

Comments On Jun 04, 2012:Didnt fit on my 2006 raptor 700
So I put them on my 250ex
Nice product just dislike the screwing grip peace

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good buy

jaeron in ID

Comments On Mar 29, 2012:these are pretty awsome for the price. could be taller but seem strong

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great protection for the money!!

MATT in KY

Comments On May 03, 2011:I've put these handguards on multiple dirtbikes. They always wear very long & out of probably 10 sets, I've only had 1 break. I've always used these on standard size bars. The install is pretty easy, but depending on your bike & whats on your bars, you may have to do a little pushing & shoving to get everything to line up & screw snuggly into place. I haven't found a bike yet that these will NOT go on. Good product & I would; scratch that, I HAVE recommended these guards to other riders many times.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

guards

DAVE in MT

Comments On Feb 11, 2011:very strong and durable

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These are good guards for the price.

CAMERON in UT

Comments On Jul 05, 2010:Great price, they take mild hits okay. A good crash and they will break.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maier Hand guards

JEFF in CO

Comments On Jul 06, 2009:Great for the $. I've had three sets on 3 different bikes. WAY less expensive than the others and have worked well for me. Some fitment issues since they aren't machine specific. Had to do some cutting to fit around the master cylinder and controls on a couple of bikes. Cheap insurance in a crash. Haven't broken a lever yet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great priced hand gaurds

KEN in NV

Comments On Dec 04, 2008:My only issue is the clamps you have to "spread to get these to fit on the bars. These work on Polaris scrambler, trail blazer and trail boss atv's up to 2006 then they changed the Brake Master cylinder. I got them to work on my wife's 2008 Trail Blazer 330 but had to make an extension mount for the Master Cylinder side. They look great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the price

STEVE in GA

Comments On Dec 16, 2007:Switching from MotoX to woods riding and these work just fine and look good. Install was easy and they come with hardware for both 7/8" and 1 1/8" fat bars. Some of the other guards want the price of the whole Maier setup for just the hardware. The plastics seems tough but I have not been down hard on them yet. They have held up just fine for the occasional run in with a tree though.
Additional Comments On Feb 04, 2008:I'm actually upgrading my review to a 5 star. For the price you just can't beat these. Been using them for almost a year and they have held up great. The plastic is super durable. I had to modify the brake side some to get it to go around the cable and it took a high speed air grinder and a metal bit to chew through that stuff. Only drawback I have seen is the bar mounts are a one piece split design so you may scratch your bars if you don't remove the grips and slide them on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Affordable

GREG in TN

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:These guards have served me well. I did have to cut and modify for front brake assembly. I have beat them up and they still serve the purpose. I will be trying some metal guards.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

buy something else

BLAINE in NV

Comments On Jan 28, 2008:These handguards are junk they break the first time you have a hard crash. Save your money and buy some better handguards.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

broke'em right off

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Nov 10, 2007:If you ride hard and fall hard, you will break these right off the bars. Buy better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have

BRADLEY in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is a must have for all riders, every wipe out this will save your levers and your hands, I highly suggest buying this product, it has saved me alot of money on crashes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

JAMES in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great price

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tuff handguards

Ed in NC

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I was a little reluctant to try these guards because of they are made of plastic, but my skepticism proved to be unwarranted. The guards withstood a hard crash! The fit and finish of these guards are excellent. Well made, and were installed in about 15 minutes. Evidently, the plastic is very tuff.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love Maier!!!!!!

RICK in OR

Comments On Oct 21, 2007:I put these on my 06' WR450F. Fit and finish is excellent. One of the small clamps however was stripped right from the get-go. I contacted Maier and they sent out new hardware right away no questions asked. I love Maier and will continue to use their products. Awhile back I got some used Maier hand guards from a friend that were missing hardware. I contacted Maier and the lady helped me figure out what model they were and found hardware that would work and sent it out to me, I ONLY HAD TO PAY S.H.

Was this review helpful?