Tusk Oversized Floating Typhoon Brake Rotor Kit, Front

Customer Reviews for Tusk Oversized Floating Typhoon Brake Rotor Kit, Front

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 29 Reviews

Return to Tusk Oversized Floating Typhoon Brake Rotor Kit, Front Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Oversized Floating Typhoon Brake Rotor Kit, Front Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent

Colze in Western Australia – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 26, 2014:i was 50/50 on buying an oversize front brake so didnt want to spend heaps in case i didnt like it. was very impressed with the quality of the tusk brake disc. installed in 15-20 minutes no problems. have ridden with it twice. works well. no problems at all. would def recommend to anyone to buy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product, great stopping power

Jeremy in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On May 19, 2014:My RMZ450's braking power was so weak that it was almost dangerous riding on a motocross track. This oversized rotor kit installed very easily, the fit was perfect, and the stopping power is leaps and bounds better! This product is well worth the money, especially if you have an RMZ450, as the stock braking power is weak. Oh, I also took a hard spill on the rotor side last weekend, and the rotor held up with no issues.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wow

David in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:glad to see MXA testing tusk products. tons more stopping power than stock, great quality, fit is spot on... the only reason to run a name brand rotor is if it was free. I recommend this kit to anyone that will listen

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk 270mm front rotor

warren in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Apr 06, 2014:Works great. Much better than stock for me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!!

JOHN in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 SUZUKI RMZ250

Comments On Mar 02, 2014:I had been shopping for an over sized front rotor for a while but always put it off due to price and other things that needed to be bought. Then I found the tusk rotor and I heard and read good things about it so I tried it out. Install is quick and easy, all good quality parts and performance is incredible. I also installed a steal braided brake line with it. Modulation is great and not overly powerful as I thought it might be and definitely enhances stopping capability.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great upgrade for my '14 YZ450

BRENT in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 19, 2014:The product works pretty well. Fit and finish are great. It was a good upgrade for me as i am a heavier rider (200#). This is my first oversize rotor and I have had a few bikes over the last several years. I can't say it is as good as or better than some other brands, but it is much better than OEM and the price is reasonable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Buy

Tim in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:Perfect fit, easy installation, good looks, great performance. What a great value. Home Run Tusk!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

CARMEN in PA

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:HUGE improvement in power. Great deal like super amazing deal it looks very quality honestly cant believe the price for the kit, awesome awesome awesome.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great upgrade!

JOHN in FL

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:Gives you more braking control. I was able to start tripling into a turn at our local sx track that I wasn't able to do before from fear of not being able to slow down.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome

SANTANA in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:great stopping power! love it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bought one for my 2013 RMZ450

bentley in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Nov 17, 2013:Wow...this thing is amazing. I didn't expect the quality to be so high. It is a great value and really perks up your stopping power. I have received several compliments that it looks great and I think it does too. You can't go wrong with Rocky Mountain's service either.
5 Stars without hesitation!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk 110mm brake kit

Thomas in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 11, 2013:The kit is a snap to install. But, the improvement of the front brake is incredible, sure more power is expected. But, I found a great deal more feel. I am using one finger in the turns, giving me a lot more control.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk oversize front brake rotor

Andy in Arizona – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Oct 26, 2013:Purchased this for my '13 crf450, the price is definately right and figured why not? It is a great bag for the buck. The adapter fit right on and had no issues-great product. braking action is very good- no complaints. make sure to brake your rotor in properly. only thing that is odd- no instructions in the box. at least they have a video on-line that explains it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Much better than stock

DAN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Aug 08, 2013:Great brakes. If you have a speed sensor it will no longer work. So, better stopping needs to be a priority over speedo

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have

WHEATLEY in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:I bought this to improve my front braking when going to Moab, Utah. Works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wow

Jeff in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jul 21, 2013:After about a year's worth of use and abuse i can highly recommend this product. Better stopping power than stock and better modulation. Great product for sure!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very nice rotor for the price!!

Timothy in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jul 14, 2013:I had to replace the front rotor on my KX450 and figured I would upgrade to a larger diameter. The box had no instructions which I thought was weird, but no big deal.....pretty easy to convert over. It took me about 30-45 minutes to remove the front tire and rotor, then replace everything. Stopping power feels really good. A good buy for sure.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must upgrade

Frank in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jul 01, 2013:Get this and a braided steel line and the Honda brake mush is gone. No need to spend a fortune on a Galfer or EBC. Works super and a breeze to install !!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Significant improvement

scott in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Jun 11, 2013:The front brake on my bike has been anemic since it was new 13 years ago. The lever has alot of travel and not much stopping power. First I tried the Tusk stainless steel braided brake line, it made no noticeable improvement. I just bolted on the oversize rotor today. It is fantastic, dramatically increased stopping power. It is a must have if your brakes are too weak!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Quality!

Ian in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 05, 2013:Excellent Product for half the price of other's..Highly Recommended..Huge Difference in Braking Feel & Stopping Power..Needed on a 450..These Bikes are plenty Fast!..You need to slow em down..Great Site! RMATV your one stop shop.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great OS brake at a great price!

David in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 28, 2013:Love it!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

TUSK 270mm brake

ERIC in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 18, 2013:Very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

save your money, great feel and power

david in California

Comments On Apr 07, 2013:been back on a 2 stroke for the last 2 years, bought a 2013 RMZ450 and with the extra weight i needed an oversized rotor..My RM250 has a Braking 270mm rotor , but i figured id give the Tusk one a shot for the 450. not disappointed at all. in fact, i think that it has more power and better feel than the braking wave rotor. i would not hesitate to buy this rotor. break in time was immediate and like i said, great feel and power

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very happy

Travis in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 03, 2013:I am very happy with the overall fit, finish and quality of this product! It was huge saving over the other brands and after installing it and riding with it Iâ??m sure itâ??s just as good as the other more expensive brands. Good job Tusk!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 finger

Dana in OH

Comments On Oct 11, 2012:New to ktm and not satisfied with the braking power on 2005 300exc. This rotor made a huge difference with 1 finger stops and little lever travel. I used my old brake pads so there was initial time before the pads matched up to the rotors. Once you get used to oversize awesome brakes everything else feels unsafe. At this price there mandatory.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tusk oversized typhoon

michael in WA

Comments On Aug 10, 2012:This is an excellent brake rotor. Very high quality and for the money it is a steal. Same quality as paying 300 for other brands.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

brakes are the best

CHARLES in IL

Comments On Jul 25, 2012:helped with poor braking very easy to install and fit perfect and about half the cost of other brands great deal!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quality !!

GARRETT in OK

Comments On Jul 09, 2012:Installed on crf450r to replace worn stock rotor. Wow, this is a quality item! Braking power and modulation is fantastic. Highly recommend! I suspect its actually a re-badged Galfer product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

amazine quality and value

Mike in CA

Comments On Jun 26, 2012:I just put this on my yz250f. It works great! I can't believe the quality of the rotor and caliper bracket. very, very nice!

Was this review helpful?