Galfer Front Steel Braided Brake Line

Customer Reviews for Galfer Front Steel Braided Brake Line

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 40 Reviews

Return to Galfer Front Steel Braided Brake Line Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Galfer Front Steel Braided Brake Line Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit is perfect

Mark in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On May 28, 2014:I went back and forth between these lines and streamline. I am happy I went this way. Bolt on, bleed the lines and you're done! Had them swapped out in 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome product

Jim in California

Comments On Mar 19, 2014:I have their lines for my Harley, and just bought a set for my dirt bike. Perfect fit, better braking feel and easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Garbage!!!!

Andres in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jan 27, 2014:IF YOUR LOOKING TO PURCHASE A STEEL BRAIDED BRAKE LINE I SUGGEST YOU LOOK ELSEWHERE!!! ON TOP OF IT LOOKING DUMB THE BRAKE LINE WAS LEAKING FROM BOTH BANJO BOLTS AND THE SWIVEL CONNECTION THAT IS ADJUSTABLE.I CONTACTED GALFER AND JUST GOT THE RUN AROUND. THEY WERE WILLING TO TAKE THE LINE BACK TO CONDUCT PRESSURE TESTING. I TRADED UP FROM THE GALFER LINE AND HAVE HAD NO ISSUES AT ALL..NICER QUALITY AND BETTER FITMENT. SAVE YOUR TIME AND TAKE MY ADVICE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

look cool but bad fit

PHIL in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jan 07, 2014:the fit is bad stay with oem!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great brake line

KOREY in LA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Aug 26, 2013:This is a great brake line. Not only does it work way better than stock, but it also looks way better than stock with the option of color matching to your bike. This brake line does not expand when you squeeze the brake lever and it has a great feel at the lever giving your better braking control.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy to install

val in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:works just like it should .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Front brake line

George in CA

Comments On Aug 13, 2013:You can feel a difference from the OEM. Way, Way better!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Galfer Brake lines

Korey in Louisiana – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 14, 2013:I got the red front steel braided brake line and it looks great and performs just as well. I love the feel and great longer service life. And it was very nice that the banjo bolts and washers come with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does its job

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:does its job

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Makes the KLR brake decently

Alejandro in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Mar 11, 2013:I had the bike for about 2 months before ordering the steel brake line and I am extremely impressed with how much better the feel to the brake is and the stopping power. The brake used to feel spongy and now is much stronger. I now plan on buying the rear brake line.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Too Short

Chad in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Nov 28, 2012:Everything was good but the line was a little short. It still fit though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The cable is 1/2 twist off

Brian in AZ

Comments On Sep 21, 2009:Purchased for 04 250x. Chose this over the stocker, the ends want to be bolted in 1/2 twist off from how its built.

Additional Comments On Sep 16, 2012:You can turn the fittings, my mistake

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Useless without special clamp 2010 RMZ450

Brian in PA

Comments On Mar 23, 2012:On some bikes a new smaller diameter clamp is needed on the lower fork guard. The stock one is too big to clamp the hose, but it clamps good on the "stiffener" hard section. BUT, in the instruction for the new line I bought elsewhere, it stated "DO NOT CLAMP TO THE STIFFENER! HOSE WILL SLIDE INSIDE THE STIFFENER AND HIT THE ROTOR AND WILL BE DAMAGED!" This is exactly what happened to my Galfer line. Outside plastic rubbed away, and frayed the inner braided SS. Didn't start leaking, but need to be replaced. It's required on an RMZ450 for sure.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Still going strong

TYLER in IN

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:Installed several yrs ago on the XR400R and they are still going strong. Increased feel and firmness. Only issue is the rubber "boots" near the each end of the hard plastic sheath eventually dried out and fell off. Didn't affect function. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

Brian in ID

Comments On Dec 07, 2011:Good product, but I didn't like the banjo bolts that came with it (wrench head instead of OEM allen head).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

Tony in VIC

Comments On Sep 06, 2011:It was a perfect fit and really easy to install. I replaced it because my 08yz450 line was worn and the front brake got really spongy after a couple of laps. cant say that theirs a huge increase in braking but the brakes don't fade and i have much better feel.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the price

Ryan in CO

Comments On Jun 24, 2011:This is a very good line for the price. It is missing some of the final "spit and polish" of the OEM lines, but functions just great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not a smart buy.

Josh in UT

Comments On Mar 27, 2011:I bought this for my 2010 YZ 450F and noticed right away that is not stronger than stock. It seemed to fade slightly as it got hot, not quite as bad as the stocker, but not much better. The main problem i had about 30 min after using was the spot where it is clamped on the fork guard is not a big eough diameter for the clamp (it was as tight as it could get) and it slipped out and the extra length below the clamp got into my rotor and cut through the outer layer and the steel layer. Had to tie-wire in place to last the day till I could get home and order something better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Galfer Front Steel Braided Brake Line

BRIAN in PA

Comments On Jan 19, 2011:Works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

mmm

Paul in VIC

Comments On Sep 21, 2010:a little dodgy fit but work ok got me out of trouble

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Brake line

AUSTIN in AZ

Comments On Jul 19, 2010:KTM 200. Fit perfect

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Believe the bad reviews!

TED in FL

Comments On Mar 15, 2010:I've used SS lines since the 70's. We made our own then and they were great. When they started coming pre-made the only drawback was you had to twist them to make them fit. No biggie and still better than homeade.
These are cheap and unlike the lines old. I hope Tusk starts making more of these so we can get quality again. First off they are no firmer than new stockers. May be a slight improvement over old rubber lines. They are not the Galfer of the 80's. The problem is how poor quality the banjo fittings are. One crash and they snap right off. My lasted 10 min. Guess I shouldnt crash so much.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good choice

Owen in WV

Comments On Dec 10, 2009:Front brake on 2007 YZ250F. Comes with everything you need including banjo bolts, copper washers etc. The line seemes maybe an inch too long, so is positioned a litte away from front number plate instead of flush against it. This is really a small issue. Given the price and braking performance I would buy the same thing again if I had to bust this one. The blue looks good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Terrible fit

Kyle in KS

Comments On Jul 26, 2009:I bought this for a 2000 KX 125. The fit is wretched at best. The line itself doesn't work any better than stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product...

KEVIN in MO

Comments On Mar 10, 2009:Love the look and worked great but they don't tell you might need to come up with a mount but I did and they work great...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have for Banshee Owners

Steven in PA

Comments On Jan 24, 2009:Love this kit... Good price, easy installation, and so much better than the stock lines... Only complaint is that it does not include a bolt so you can mount where your original block was.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Junk

Mark in CA

Comments On Oct 18, 2008:This thing did not fit the bike at all! One banjo fitting would not even fit the angle required to get it on the KTM master cyl. The plastic guide would not fit the fork guide. Then the banjo leaked. I did not ask for replacement as I broke it trying to make it fit. They get only one chance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Line

WALLACE in WA

Comments On Oct 19, 2008:Looks good and fits well! No noticeable sloppyness in brake feel

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

FIT ????

DARRIN in MO

Comments On Sep 25, 2008:Fit wasn't perfect. I had to twist it some to make it fit. Performance is great though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK...

Glen in IL

Comments On Aug 30, 2008:Brake line for my 2002 CR250 was 4" longer than stock

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks and Works great

KEVIN in CA

Comments On Feb 01, 2008:Beautiful lines. These brake line fit my machine so well. I also now have a much firmer feel in the brakes. Highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bad turned Good

GREG in TN

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:First one made me ask "Where's the BEEF"? Banjo fitting broke on install. After 4 weeks dealing with Galfer, they made it right. They have redesigned it and the new style "Has the BEEF".

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Brake lines

BRANDON in WA

Comments On Jan 24, 2008:they do cost a lot but i would say they are a little better than stock

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy and perfect

JEFF in OR

Comments On Jan 03, 2008:These lines were very easy to install and set up. Performance it top quality also

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Work well/look good

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Dec 19, 2007:These seem to work very well & look pretty good. They are a universal type thing though, so plan to scrounge for a mounting bolt....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Galfer Front Steel Braided Brake Line

FELIX in CO

Comments On Nov 29, 2007:Installation is easy but bleeding the line can be difficult.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Galfer=Quality

Brendon

Comments On Nov 27, 2007:Really easy to install. Greatly improved the lever feel and braking power. Seem to be extremely durable plus it just looks cool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT PRODUCT!!

ROBERT in CA

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:INSTALLED ON MY 06 YFZ 450. LOOKS GREAT AND ADD A REAL DIFFERENCE IN BREAKING.THE LEVER FEEL IS MORE CONSISTANT AND NO FADING.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product!

FRANK in CA

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:I installed these on our Blaster and noticed a greatly improved lever feel. These install was straight forward and they bled easily. My only complaint was that I had to zip tie the T fitting to the frame (no ability to use the stock bolt)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit - great braking!

MARTIN in CA

Comments On Oct 20, 2007:Offers great control over your front brake - consistently! Recommended

Was this review helpful?