Tusk Chain Riveting Tool

Customer Reviews for Tusk Chain Riveting Tool

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 19 Reviews

Return to Tusk Chain Riveting Tool Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Chain Riveting Tool Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for cam chain

Brent in AL

Comments On Apr 21, 2014:Just rebuilt the top end on my KTM and this tool made breaking and riveting the cam chain a breeze. Good quality tool and well worth the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Life is good!

thomas in NJ

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:I don't know why it took me so long to get one of these. Life is so good now! Great quality and the price was awesome compared to other chain riveting tools. The ability to rivet my own chains is so worth it. I used this tool on my dirt bikes, quads and sport bikes. The added confidence when riding my sport bikes now is priceless. It's easy to use. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough

Brandt in TX

Comments On Jan 27, 2014:A must have in any tool box. Works great!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Broke on second use

Stan in CO

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:I have three bikes that I maintain (mine, wife's, and daughters). I decided to rivet the master links as a nice upgrade to the drive lines. Got thru wife's bike then on my bike, the tool pushed the anvil pin thru, and in turn began pushing the master link pin out instead of riveting it. had to use other solid back pieces that were in the kit, but I had to modify them to work. So I now have two worthless parts in the kit that I will need to find replacements for.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does the job

val in QLD

Comments On Aug 15, 2013:got it for a ktm 525 cam chain . doesnt rivet the link in the same fashon as the ktm tool. gets the job done but is not perfect for my aplication .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price

Kyle in WA

Comments On May 26, 2013:Picked this up to finish the rebuild on my friends KTM. Not possible without it. Thanks Rocky Mountain atv. I think I have every tusk tool there is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool to have but needs better pins

MATTHEW in NJ

Comments On Mar 20, 2013:I bought this chain tool to do the timing chain on my polaris outlaw 525. It did the job but after one use the pins broke. the upside is , the motion pro replacement pins will fit the tusk press. The motion pro pins cost around 6 bucks so even buying a few extra pins the cost is still better then buying the motion pro tool. I would suggest buying afew extra motion pro replacement pins when buying this tusk timing chain breaker/press.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

omg its great

Kyle in VIC

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:works awesome, makes putting chains together a breeze, havent used it to break a chain though. and i use a 14mm spanner rather than the small bar they give you

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent little tool

Joseph in RI

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:I got this tool to rivet my new 520 chain. It worked perfectly. I have not used this for breaking a chain yet so I can not say how well it works for that. I would recommend this for anyone who needs to rivet a new motorcycle chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great.

Dan in CO

Comments On May 05, 2012:I found that by grinding the end off the link, it breaks the pin out with ease. I recommend sharpening the flaring tip to help prevent it from walking. Great tool for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It worked the first time..

Ken in CO

Comments On Mar 06, 2012:I now consider this a single use product. Worked great for me the first time for splitting and pressing in a new master link on my KTM cam chain. The second time, the brittle push pin just snapped. Everything was aligned property and the guide was being used. Unfortunately the metal used for the little "breaker" pins just isn't a strong enough for repeated use in this application.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice tool

Sebastian in NE

Comments On Feb 16, 2012:a must have if you do your own chain and sprockets. i bent one of the push pins after a couple of uses but i got to give it to RMATV customer service, they had new one on the way asap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain tool

NATHAN in MO

Comments On Dec 14, 2011:Very good quality tool. Makes installing a new chain easy! I can't believe I ever payed someone to install a chain for me... never again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price and quality

Rick in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2011:Great price and quality

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

well worth it..

jorge in CA

Comments On Jun 14, 2011:been using it for a while and it still cuts and rivets like new.....cool little case too..

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Value

perry in CA

Comments On Mar 15, 2011:no matter what kind of tool you use, you should always grind the rivet head flush with the link before attempting using any tool to press it out, with that said this is a beautiful kit with multi function capability, i used a harbour freight tool to drive the pin out but the riveting thing was a little vague, i ordered and used this kit to rivet my shiny new ek 530 xring chain, it worked great and since riveting my new chain using this tool the new chain has had several pulls to 175 mph + ,

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works ok quality small pin did not last long

Tim in MI

Comments On Jan 29, 2011:I bought to do a cam chain on a Husaberg that uses a split link. Just wanted to have as much insurance as possible that master link would stay together. Have used for a couple other chains since.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

it works

JASON in UT

Comments On Oct 27, 2010:It works good I took some time to figure out how to make it work but it does work good.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

great product

Tyler in IA

Comments On Feb 19, 2010:used this to break the cam chain and install the masterlink on my KTM. worked perfect!

Was this review helpful?