Moose Racing Magnetic Drain Plug

Customer Reviews for Moose Racing Magnetic Drain Plug

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 56 Reviews

Return to Moose Racing Magnetic Drain Plug Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Moose Racing Magnetic Drain Plug Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Nicholas in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Mar 28, 2014:Great plug does what it needs to. Worth the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit Honda CR 250R perfect!

Derek in IN

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:Keeps metal shavings out of critical engine components. A+!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice part, strong magnet

Drew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Feb 13, 2014:better quality than the soft OEM yamaha drain plugs that I've rounded off the hex head of several times now. Fits perfectly, won't round off like the stock plug, and has a nice strong magnet to catch metal shavings from the transmission.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

just in case

SANTANA in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:bought it to catch any metal shavings

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love hate relationship

jayce in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Nov 06, 2013:great drain plug grabs any metal fragments there are unfortunatly it reminds me how much my bike is tearing itself up

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I like it!

ROBERT in WA

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:This does a very good job. I am uber-anal about my bike up-keep and change my oil after every good ride. You would be surprised how much metal particles this snags out of the oil. This is good, metal particles in your bearings = accelerated wear. I dont like going into the bottom end until the crank starts getting loose which is a while. Good insurance to have. Bearings and tranny parts add up quickly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's a love hate thang

Scott in CO

Comments On Jul 22, 2013:Love it for keeping the oil clean......hate it for showing me how much the motor is eating itself up...lol

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Eh

Andy in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Jul 07, 2013:VERY tight going in with this new plug. Was worried I was going to strip it out but it did not

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

moose drain plug

Alan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 01, 2013:good plug works well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great addition

JOHN in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On May 08, 2013:Great addition to monitor any issues in your engine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great drain plug!

Raymond in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On May 03, 2013:Was thinking of making my own, since I am a machinist. But at that price you just can't beat the quality you get from this plug. Love it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

An essential upgrade

Paul in NSW

Comments On Apr 08, 2013:First thing i buy when i get a new bike, essential maintenance bit for a tiny price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy one.

Brendel in NJ

Comments On Mar 15, 2013:It's cheap insurance and it does its job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Another great Moose Racing product

Hunter in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1993 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:You should get a new oil drain plug after every three or four oil changes. This is a great plug and i noticed some gunk actually attached to the magnet tip when i changed my oil, so the magnet actually works. You need to use the washer they give you in the package or the plug won't seal properly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Well made, like safety wire hole.

Lawrence in CO

Comments On Jan 10, 2013:2008 Yamaha WR250X/r converted for dual sport. Good fit and finish; liked the features; strong magnet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

catches some metal

Brian in AZ

Comments On Nov 06, 2012:Now where did it break off from??

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Fit and Attracts Steel Shavings

Marc in VA

Comments On Nov 06, 2012:As advertised!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Say what it does

Jeramy in VA

Comments On Oct 16, 2012:Picked up a chunk and protected the motor. Good indication a bottom end was needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Cody in PA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:A must have for any machine to keep shavings out of your oil!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Suprised at what you find

Robert in ID

Comments On Aug 26, 2012:Installed this on the XR, rode about 400 miles and was surprised at all of the shavings that I found sticking to the magnet. Tore the head off and sure enough, rings were down to bare minimum. Time for a new top end. It would have cost me alot more if I hadn't found this out until later, the hard way.
Like always, Rocky Mountain ATV provided great service and lightning fast shipping. Thanks guys!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as advertised

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:Collects (at least some of) the junk that would otherwise be flowing thru your engine. I'd rather have it than not.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect fit

Henry in FL

Comments On Jun 11, 2012:Installed in YZ125 and works perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Andrew in CA

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Strong Magnet

Christiaan in CO

Comments On Apr 15, 2012:I was amazed at how many metal shards my 2 stroke had inside. I am sure I will extend the life of the bottom end with this plug.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

02 cr250r

Jamal in VA

Comments On Feb 16, 2012:It does what it says it does. When I'm letting my oil drain I always wipe off the metal flakes with a rag. I feel like it is helpful for us two stroke riders because we have no oil filters. Plus if there is any serious problems in the bottom end I will know it when I change the oil. I have used the plug for over 5 months/ 45 hours of riding and it hasn't failed me yet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Extends Engine Life

Will in NJ

Comments On Feb 11, 2012:Captures all the metal pieces floating around in the engine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Simple and effective. 1999 yz250

Ross in LA

Comments On Nov 18, 2011:No problems at all...screwed right in. After the first oil change since it's install, I was quite taken back at all the 'stuff' on the magnet. I only rated it a 4 based on price. I feel it could be a little cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I think its worth having

Daniel in NY

Comments On Aug 18, 2011:Every time I do an oil change , there is a little bit of metallic stuff stuck to the end of it , if this is preventing that metal from cycling through the engine , it will give the engine a little more life.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent. Must have

Jeffrey in CA

Comments On Aug 16, 2011:can't believe i ever ran a bike without these. scary what you find the first few oil changes.
I recommend this for everyone, on everything. DO IT!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Steven in CA

Comments On Jul 22, 2011:works great does it's job and is the same head size as oem. keeps your case a lot cleaner

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DRAIN PLUG

RICHARD in IN

Comments On Jun 30, 2011:PLUG DOES AS DESCRIBED, CATHES ALL LOOSE METAL SHAVINGS. CHEAP REPLACEMENT WITH BENEFITS

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT TILL IT BROKE

MICHAEL in HI

Comments On Jun 27, 2011:This product was great untill today when it just broke off. I've been using it for over a year without issue, so I guess if you want to use it, buy a few and change them often. I am not the only one who has had this problem with this style plug.
TECH NOTE: MAKE SURE AND USE THE MANUFACTURER'S TORQUE SPECS

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2001 xr650r

ANDREW in UT

Comments On Jun 12, 2011:Beefier than the old plug and worth the money to keep the loose metal from floating around your engine

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Way disappointed in this Moose product

TIMOTHY in AZ

Comments On Jun 08, 2011:Bought this for my XR400R. I have the magnetic drain plug for the down tube from XR's Only, and it works great, but unfortunately they didn't have the engine drain plug in stock at that time. Normally I think Moose has good products, but the magnetic drain plug for the engine of my bike doesn't fall into that good catagory. When I put it on and added the oil it immediately began seeping from the plug. The threads appeared to be the same pitch yet they obviously are a little loose. It really doesn't matter why or what happened when this was manufactured, all I know is it leaks. So, back to the stock non-magnetic plug and voila, no leak. Not a huge loss, but a waste of money nonetheless. I just hate when that kind of thing happens, as it seems to happen a little to often with non oem parts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

jedd in UT

Comments On Jun 04, 2011:Love it nice strong magnet

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ITS A GOOD INSURANCE POLICY

Ray in NV

Comments On May 13, 2011:KEEPS UNWANTED METAL FROM YOUR INTURNALS FOR A FRACTION ON THE COST TO FIX THEM!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BADRASS!

jonathan in MD

Comments On Mar 27, 2011:Very cool thing to have. Catches all the little nasties in your oil.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

moose

samuel in FL

Comments On Mar 08, 2011:keeps my junk stuck where i want it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheap Insurance

TIM in OR

Comments On Jan 02, 2011:Amazing what you find on it each time you change oil. Put them on all my bikes. Great value

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a must have product

matthew in FL

Comments On Aug 29, 2010:ive only been through one oil change on my bike and i feel like it has already paid for itself by the amount of metal it collected. it will pay for itself in no time by extending the life of your transmission components. it also comes predrilled for safety wire attachment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does Its Job

DAVID in CA

Comments On Jul 04, 2010:The Moose Racing magnetic oil drain plug does its job well -- catching fine metallic particles before they can circulate through the engine or plug up the oil filter. There's always a little blob of superfine metal shavings on this plug when changing my oil, not sure if this stuff comes from the gears or the clutch assembly or what, but I'm glad it's getting caught on this magnetic plug. Great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Investment!

GARRETT in AZ

Comments On Feb 13, 2010:This is one of the most underrated (and cheap) upgrades for your bike! You'll be surprised my much metal flake is floating around in there... Buy one!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works amazing!

Tyler in UT

Comments On Jan 07, 2010:My stock plug got stripped from incorect size socket. When i first got it, it looked like it wasn't the right size but to my suprise the threads fit perfectly and the magnetic part works really well i had no idea that much metal was floating around my 2002 CR250R tranny case.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a must

BRETT in AL

Comments On Mar 22, 2009: a must for a 2 stroke being as they have no oil filter...works well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

magnetic drain plug

Dustin in OK

Comments On Feb 16, 2009:works well, good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You gotta get one!

DAVID in CA

Comments On Jan 04, 2009:This is a MUST HAVE item! All of my motorcycles, cars/trucks/lawnmower engines, trannys, rear axles have 'em. When you do your fist oil change after installing this product, you will see why it's so important. Even the smallest metal particles can ruin your motor/etc.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

One of the First Buys

JEREMY in PA

Comments On Sep 13, 2008:Helps keep metal flakes from floating around inside your bottom end. For me, this is a must and one of the first purchases for a new machine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WOW

GREG in TN

Comments On Aug 08, 2008:This tells its own story. Holds on to the damaging steel metal particles in the oil. Wish aluminum was magnetic too. Every precaution taken helps increase engine life, so get one of these for your bike today at R.M.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Moose Magnetic Drain Plug

Jason in CA

Comments On May 02, 2008:Works and fits great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works like it should

Jacob in NM

Comments On Mar 05, 2008:I put this on my bike so I wouldnt have small metal pieces floating in my oil and it works perfectly. I put it on and then I changed my oil the next week and it was completely covered in little metal filings. It also gives you more motivation to change your oil because you want to see how much metal it picked up. Recomended if you want to keep your oil clean. Wow, I said oil a lot. lol

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Like it

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:Works well and I will be getting a few more. It does pick up small metal filings, better on the magnet than running through the motor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great stuff

KARL in TX

Comments On Feb 08, 2008:No problem, fit great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

BRANDON in FL

Comments On Dec 31, 2007:This does its job well. it catches some of shavings and fits nicely.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fits

JAMES in AZ

Comments On Nov 01, 2007:Fits perfect and worth the investment

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

She's tight and attractive

JAMES in WA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The plug fits oem snug and does a great job of attracting all those pesky engine damaging steel pieces/flakes/particles. Every time I change my oil, there's a tiny new pile of metal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good insurance for debris in oil

ROBERT in IN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Magnetic drain plugs are just good cheap insurance for keeping metal from circulating in your transmision.

Was this review helpful?