IRC M5B Soft Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for IRC M5B Soft Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 66 Reviews

Return to IRC M5B Soft Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

IRC M5B Soft Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Do All Tire

Eric in West Virginia – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 KTM 380 EXC

Comments On Mar 20, 2014:Perfect tire for all conditions, it grips no matter the conditions... Wear has been very good. I recently flipped the tire switching its direction and am still loving this tire... Yes I'll buy the MB5 again, and again...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!

STEVE in IN

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:An excellent choice if you're riding on soft or muddy ground. Perfect for Indiana hare scrambles. Holds up very well unless it's dry, hard pack. Holding up well on my 500 also.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire for soft terrain

Rod in CA

Comments On Jan 19, 2014:Love this tire for the softer stuff in the desert

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

i LOVE this tire

SCOTT in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Dec 03, 2013:This things digs in for great traction, and according to those i ride with it throws up a much bigger roost than the geomax tire. It even seems to wear pretty well considering its a soft terrain tire. The knobbies are huge on it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ktm

Stephen in OR

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Sling mud.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KNOBBY KNOBBY KNOBBY!!!!

LANDON in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Oct 04, 2013:This is the best tire ive ever used!!! Biggest Baddest tire ever!! Huge knobs and on top of that it wears awesome!! totally worth the extra money!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best tire ever

George in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR500R

Comments On Sep 18, 2013:Best for hillclimbing, loose rocky trails, and mud, works good on single track also.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected, even in rocks!

Shane in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Aug 04, 2013:I bought this tire for the sand of Mesquite, NV, where it did great. I brought it home to the nasty, rocky single tracks of the Rockies where I live, expecting it to get chewed up pretty fast, considering it is a soft sand-type tire. I am very impressed how well it is holding up. I'll definitely buy another one when this one eventually wears out.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Look no further...

Rob in Washington – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jul 18, 2013:I have ran this tire on my CR500 (18/140) since 05 in the Mojave Desert with excellent results. It will dig in and bite. I am now in the snotty/wet PNW riding mud, rock and root laden trails and it still works great. This tire will make you "very unpopular" with whomever is following you--it will move some real estate. I just bought one for my 04 CR250--amped to go ride.
HOWEVER, this tire will wear quickly if you're hard on the gas while on hardpack. It will also squirm like a person with bubble guts (gastrointestinal distress) in church. So not so great on hard pack. Get a Maxxis IT instead.
In the loam, sand, mud, rocks and roots and technical stuff..its hard to beat and tire life is pretty decent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The Best!

CHET in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 HONDA CR500R

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:IMO, this is the Best rear tire made for desert and single track. I love this tire and I buy nothing but. It is very predictable and hooks up great. I cant wait to wear out the stock tires on my new KTM 300 XC and get one of these on there. Highly Recomended!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Soft Tire

Eric in ID

Comments On Apr 25, 2013:For a soft tire, this wore well and losted a long time. For early spring riding in the mud, rocks and at the dunes this tire hooks up well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tire. Sizing not accurate though!

Jarvis in AB

Comments On Apr 06, 2013:bought a 130 size, Ended up skinnier then my 110 haha the sizing the use is a bit off definately would have went with the 140.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Traction Monster!

Scott in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 13, 2013:It is actually on a 250x. The RMMC website does not recognize this as a tire that fits 250x, but it does-I've got the 120. Forget all the crap you hear about sizes and ratio changes and not being factory size, robbing power or being too much for small thumpers. If you like traction rather than wheel spin, get this tire!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Huge traction

John in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 KTM 300 EXC

Comments On Mar 05, 2013:I pair this tire with the VE-35 front for the best combination I've ever used off road. The M5B lasts a long time and gets traction on any terrain.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hooks Up!

TIM in OR

Comments On Jan 22, 2013:Great tire. Hooks up great and lasts quite awhile in loose to intermediate soil. Throws huge roost.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best rear tire.

Mark in UT

Comments On Dec 31, 2012:This tire is amazing! If hooks up from day one and just keeps planted in all terrain. It appears to wear quickly at first, but I flip the tire after its about 1/2 worn and it really lasts. I clocked 27 hours of hard use on a 130. Very impressive tire!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GOOD TIRE FOR MUD,RUTS,AND NASTY HILLS.

SPENCER in TN

Comments On Aug 11, 2012:This rear tire did great in the last "mud bog" harescramble.It clawed and tractor pulled through some nasty stuff that I didn't think I would be able to make.I race B class on a 01Ktm300Exc in harescrambles.This tire did great. I would rate it an 8 out of 10 and compare it to an S-12 which I would rate a 9 out of 10. Note:I didn't try the front.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

if u got muck to ride in these are awsome

Scott in CA

Comments On Jul 30, 2012:I was pulling wheelies in several inches of snow on top of mud the tires held up to virginia city as well at first tires wore quick but now halfway worn they just dont wear down i have a husaberg 570 and hammer the tire on the pavement too

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love it

Randal in OK

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:I used it in the gravel pits worked very well. hooks up well in sand and mud. doesent like wet flat rocks but what tire does.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

roots, rocks and wet...

ANTHONY in AB

Comments On Jun 11, 2012:If you ride any of the above or all three at the same time, put the piece of goodness on and rip all day...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK tire

Braden in UT

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:I bought this tire for my 06 crf 450R. It does ok but ive noticed it wears really fast and it is missing a lot of knobs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this tire!

Darrell in OR

Comments On Apr 05, 2012:Throws boulders at the guys behind!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

If you ride in soft mud or sand this is the tire.

JAMES in MD

Comments On Dec 27, 2011:Works well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

M5B - the best rear tire for the West

Wade in CA

Comments On Nov 04, 2011:I have used all the major brands over the last 30 years and this is the best rear tire I have tried. It has huge lugs, good sidewall strength and lasts a good long time. It has incredible traction in the desert hills and also does well in Nor Cal's mountain regions. You can't go wrong with this tire. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Go Anywhere

Daniel in NSW

Comments On Oct 24, 2011:I thought changing my rear tyre wouldn't make much difference to my riding due to my amateur ability..... WOW !!! amazing. Hills that I struggled up before I was actually excellerating up !!! Not to mention leaving my buddies behind and being quicker than ever before. Gave me heaps of confidence to put the bike anywhere !!! Awesome TYRE !!! Oh yeah, we ride on a combo of rock, soft sand and hard dirt trails. I use a mid hard on the front and that works perfect !!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Kyle in CO

Comments On Jul 11, 2011:Used to run the M-12 but now have a new favorite! This tire hooks up great on everything. Hill climbs will leave your buddys scratching their heads trying to figure out how you got up. It will chunk if abused in rocks though.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

only tire I need

TREVOR in WA

Comments On Jun 06, 2011:I have run this tire in sand, rock, hardpack, mud, and snow. On the hardest stuff it can be a little squirly, but everwhere else it rocks! We rode in the Blue mtns this weekend. Half of our 6 guys were complaining that it was more slick than they had ever ridden before anywhere. I never felt it. Not once. We were in mud, snow, stream crossings, etc. and it did great. It handles well in sand, but if you get into some very fine soft sand, its not as good as I hoped. A paddle is the way to go if you ride that stuff.
overall it's my favorite tire. I have run it on my KTM 450 xcf, and on my 530 xcw R.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice tire

jedd in UT

Comments On Jun 04, 2011:It has great hook up and handles good. Pretty tough for a soft tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

one of my favs

JOHNNY in OK

Comments On May 20, 2011:i like the dunlop 952 bc it's easy to find in my local stores, but this tire is well worth the wait if you order it and gives me good grip on my ktm300exc 2 stroke on all terrains and also seems to last just as long on hard terrain as the ones made specifically for that type.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite tire

Karla in WA

Comments On May 09, 2011:This has to be my favorite tire. I swore by the S12 for a number of years... but I have found that the M5B works as well in the rocky, rooty Okanagan terrain and lasts much longer. Plus with with it's large knob size you can easily knobby knife it to get a few more great traction rides in.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MUD and soft tire THE BEST, ALOT of meat on tire

ROBERT in AZ

Comments On Apr 14, 2011:Been using this tire fore ever great in soft mud, East coast hare scramble tire, but have used it out west Just a great tire HUGE lugs

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best tire for Oregon woods.

Tyler in OR

Comments On Mar 25, 2011:I love the way that this tire hooks up in the wet/slick conditions it is amazing how much traction I get, I almost have to try to spin it and the rear end rarely slides out around corners under power. It hooks up like crazy on the hill climbs! Rocky Mountain has the best price too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good

Danny in CA

Comments On Mar 23, 2011:Good tire

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Big Traction!!

Shannon in CO

Comments On Feb 05, 2011:This is great tire for soft loom and sand, It is great for big hills when taction is a must. This tire will hook up on anything, wear is ok if you stay off alot of hard pack and rocks. It will take some but not alot.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The only tire I'll ever use

VINCE in CA

Comments On Jan 24, 2011:After 10 yrs in the desert and thru every major brand of tire, the M5B rear will be the only tire I ever buy again. Great for the loose rock and sandy hillclimbs of Jawbone Canyon, this tire hooks up well at 8lbs and lasts twice as long as the rest. Tough sidewalls and agressive lugs makes it perfect for the single track woods/snow, as well as the sandy desert. Worth the extra $.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Best

John in MA

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Been using this tire since the 90's.
The best for New England Hare Scrambles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

IRC M5B- tremendous traction

JEFFREY in CA

Comments On Nov 19, 2010:Amazing tire for all technical riding and hill climbs. Unbelievable traction in all conditions. I run a 140 on the rear of my 525 Ktm MXC. Certainly not the longest lasting tire, but 1 per season is great with me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire

chris in BC

Comments On Nov 06, 2010:this is hands down the best overall tire made for extreme enduro and hillclimb. i use it (140/80/18)) on my cr500af, and the knobs round quick but dont wear fast it takes me where no other tire will

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best soft terrain tire made

Ken in OR

Comments On Oct 17, 2010: I have been an off-road rider for 42 years and this is hands down the best overall tire made for extreme enduro and hillclimb.
Great wear, chunk resistant, tallest knobs on the planet.. claw deep for traction, working like paddles for acceleration and braking. Bead extends OVER the rim allowing pinch flat resistance and rim protection. 8psi on mud & deep snow days a reality. (with care to watch for square edge hits & super duty tube)
Knobby knife keeps edges sharp for some, with lots of rubber to trim many times.
Some good reports coming in on using the new "screw in" tire studs. Claims are that the IRC rubber used on the M5b's massive knobs holds them in well, even on big bores, and glues the tire to the ground for astounding hillclimb traction! (gotta get some!)
A bit of hard surface corner compromise/too flexy but you get used to it and adjust.
Almost ALL riders here use them. The S-12 Michelin works sad in slick conditions & wears like balsa wood by comparison.
The tire resists chunking (as I stated earlier) better than almost any tire I have ever tried. If the tire is forced to spin up sharp embedded shale or obsidian it will cut, but what tire wouldnt?!
Straight line traction is so incredible, why force it spin? A little restraint in sharp rock will reward you with long lasting value.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

IRC M5B Tire

JOHNNY in OR

Comments On Sep 07, 2010:Living in Oregon.We dill with alot of rain and mud so my son and i have found that this tire works perfect.no injuries do to tire slip. it is the best tire we have found yet.it is nice when you can stop on a steep trail to help some one and start from there and keep climbing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't get behind me

JAY in CA

Comments On Jul 15, 2010:Very good tire with huge lugs. Deffinately intermediate terrain. hooks up great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

LOVE THIS TIRE

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Jun 29, 2010:INSTALLED ON A 2004 WR450 PRIMARILY RIDE IN NORTH WESTERN NEVADA. (FALLON). USED A 130/80-18 AND LOVED IT. TIRE GRABS NO MATER WHAT THE TERRAIN. THIS IS SECOND ONE I HAVE PURCHASED. I LOVE IT PEOPLE BEHIND ME HATE IT. A+

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tire

GARY in ID

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:good traction and held up good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up like crazy

Gary in CA

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:You can see monster rooster tails every time you hit the gas on my 450, this thing really gets good traction. Seems too be wearing good too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great all around tire

John in ID

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:This is a great all-around tire. We ride single track that goes from rocky to muddy to loamy to sandy. This tire handles everything I've thrown at it so far. I've put approximately 400 miles on it with a WR-250.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tire

DOM in RI

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:awsome tire at first but as u ride the nobies start to rip or round over to much to use

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Throws Midget Size Rocks

Jared in UT

Comments On Nov 29, 2009:These tires wear incredibly well. Used a 130 width on a ktm 300 xcw. Not the best on hardpack, but I like them everywhere else. Work well in the rocks as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great rock tire.

Smokey in PA

Comments On May 03, 2009:I've been using these rear tires on my 520 KTM for 3 yrs riding really rocky singletrack. Everyone I ride with uses these tires as well. (10 or more other riders) We love em. Don't last too long but what does? I just bought another 12 for this year.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Tire that I have ever ran

Brent in UT

Comments On Mar 09, 2009:A freind and I both got this tire and ran them on the same bike. We agree that this is our new favorite tire. His still looks like new after 3 rides and one race. Mine is missing a few knobbys but still hooks up like mad

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NICE!

TODD in MI

Comments On Jan 04, 2009:I feel, by far, this is the best tire for soft terrain. I have it on a cr500 & this thing hooks up really well. I ride public trails in Michigan that are mostly sand.If your terrain is mostly sand, get this tire! Just make sure you stay off the pipe when on hard pack & rocks or you'll wear it out fast. I think I'll try this tire next time i go to Silver Lake sand dunes . I think this tire could be used instead of a paddle.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My new standard

Adam in OH

Comments On Dec 15, 2008:I used to run the Michlin S12 as it was the best in the muddy conditions we get in the spring and fall race seasons (hare scrambles). But since they moved the production facility the tire would not hold up. (Rocky trails here as well) This IRC has done great. Getting excellent life and hooks up on mud and rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The Real Desert Storm!

Gary in CA

Comments On Nov 07, 2008:Put a 140/100-18 I bought used on my KX500. Holy cow what an awesome hookup! I typically ride Gorman, Victorville & Jawbone and this tire is awesome for the desert floor in those places. I WILL say that you need to go easy on the throttle when going over patches of hard terrain/blue groove because you can make the rear cut loose easily on those surfaces. She'll wear-down frighteningly fast on tune-up rides down ashpalt.
Oh yeah... and you'll just love your friends coming up behind you complaining about the rock that you shot out that hit their arm, etc. :)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I Love this Tire!

GJ in WA

Comments On Sep 16, 2008:I put my 2nd M5B on my '99 WR 400 with engine mods and big power. I run the 140/80x18 and the thing is the biggest, baddest tire I can find! The Knobbies are huge and wear really well. I got 8 hardcore trail rides until completely dead on the last one (that doesn't count 3 motocross track days and 2 sand dune days.) I ride fast and rally the rocky fire roads; I love to back it in, so the tire is always spinning on the rocks with very little chunking. Wear is even and after the 1st 50 mile ride yesterday the knobbies are only slightly rounded, no chunking. This tire seriously HOOKS UP. You don't want to be behind this tire when you roost. Definately worth the $$!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best traction, but chunks easily

ADAM in CA

Comments On May 14, 2008:This is by far the best traction I've had with any rear tire, but as soon as the ground hardened up, it started to fall apart, knobs chunking off everywhere. I'm going to try maxxis again for the money

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire for CA desert

DOUGLAS in CA

Comments On Dec 30, 2007:This is the best tire I ever ran. Tire works great on all desert terain. Have 20 rides on it no chunking at all. Will not change to another tire unless they quit making them. I have it on a CR500.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire now pricey, ChengShen outlasts for $$

FRANK in WY

Comments On Nov 03, 2007:Use to purchase these all the time for around $48, though when the price went up I switched over to the Chensheng, lasts a lot longer and has impressive knobs for deep sand / mud.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

kick butt tire

eric in ID

Comments On Oct 31, 2007:Works great in everything. Demolished the tire in a weekend chunking the rocks though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Trail

CHRIS in OR

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:Best tire for trail riding.Works great from deep mud,clay and rock hillclimbs.A must have for the woods especially if you run a two stroke.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Tire Ever!

MIKE in CA

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:I only trail ride (single track/hillclimbs). I used to run a Dunlop 756. This tire kicks it's butt. Wears longer, and hooks up in soft/mud better. Killer on hard pack too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Like no other

JAMES in ID

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This will be the only rear tire I will ever run again..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire, great price

Ken in MD

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The M5B is a very hard tire and will last longer than just about anything else. Although it is rated for soft terrain, we regularly ride on 95% rocky technical riding in Moab and they still seem to get good traction. I'm trying an intermediate tire next however to see if it makes a difference.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

IDAHO MUD SLINGER

LeAnne in ID

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is the best traction tire I have ever used on my KTM 300. This tire has good tread wear and if anyone is following too close all you need to do is "goose" it and they are covered and gone! Great tire!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great hill tire...

JIM in OH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I run this in the deep woods on a CRF450R with an 18" rim laced up. The 130/18 will carry you over/through/up ANYTHING! I even run them all summer because nothing is better in a true mixed terrain......soft to hard, and everything in-between. RM has the best price around too!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hill climbing monster

ralph in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:hill climbing monster lateral traction so so

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome soft-terrain, loamy dirt tire

PAUL in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I've used these tires instead of a paddle and they work well. For motocross they hold up fairly well on everything but rock-hard, blue-groove dirt. I wore one out and bought another.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good for soft, chunks in rocks

TIMOTHY in PA

Comments On Oct 19, 2007:Wear is good if minimal rocks, soft and intermediate terrain. Chunks when trails are mostly rocks. Used on KX500 for years.

Was this review helpful?