Kenda K270 Dual Sport Tire

Customer Reviews for Kenda K270 Dual Sport Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 56 Reviews

Return to Kenda K270 Dual Sport Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Kenda K270 Dual Sport Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bigger is not always better

Keith in Wyoming – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jun 05, 2014:I bought the 3.25 x 21 front. Makes the bike handle funny. This tire is probably an inch bigger in diameter than the 3.00 x 21. Learned a lesson.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great dual sport tire

DAVID in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 SUZUKI DR650SE

Comments On May 27, 2014:2000 plus miles and still holding strong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Front is great! the Rear im not so shure about

ZAC in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA TTR250

Comments On May 16, 2014:I have 1400 Miles on front and rear tire. MY ttr250 is street legal and about 1390 of those mile were on road. The front tire still has the t**s on it. The rear is showing a good amount of ware. But im a fat guy. I out weigh the bike by 40lb if i remember right. And for the first 500 mile i had the rear suspension really soft for my weight. So i think the ware on the rear is dew to that and my fat behind. For the price im gunna buy another rear when the time comes and give it another shot. I read some reviews and some people talk about the knobs chucking off. i havent had that problem. they handle well on the road and are very stable at speed (no wobble) Give me good traction too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Western AZ

James E. in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:The tread works good my type of riding, 50/50 .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not to impressed but, good for the street

Colin yucca valley in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA XR650R

Comments On Feb 01, 2014:Good for the street but, not that great in yucca washes. Street is cool but, what happens when I want to go off-roading at the lake bed and hit the washes? Evidently , buy another back rim , put a real dirt tire on it, put it in your buddies trailer, and change it when you get there!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value

Scott in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:Tires were easy to install and so far seem good.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Justin in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Dec 12, 2013:Used 90% on dirt/gravel roads. Stop, start, controlled Drift, wonderful control and traction. very managable commuting on paved as well. Only Drawback I found was I only got 3k miles.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

look good

George in Texas – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Nov 20, 2013:Just got them in the mail. They look good. I'll update later after I get some miles on them. They came real fast. Had good costumer support. Thanks Nicole.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Deal

Tyler in WA

Comments On Oct 23, 2013:I bought this for my old 1974 dt125 and it gives it good traction everywhere even in mud.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Killer tire

Kenneth Lawrence in NE – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:When I first got these home from shipping - They remind me of MEFO 99's - BUT @ a GREAT price!!
Kenny.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Andrew in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA XR200R

Comments On Aug 21, 2013:I got this tire because I've used them with good luck in the past. It's DOT and its got great grip both on and off road. It acts like a slightly more aggressive Trials tire. Great grip in the rocks, roots and dirt, not so great grip in sand or mud. Overall a great tire, will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Street Legal

JOHN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Aug 10, 2013:Used to street legal bike no good for trails and really bad on the road

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good product, flate rate shipping to Canada fast!

Bryn in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA XR650L

Comments On Jul 23, 2013:Tires are great and the flat rate shipping was fast. There were no additional fees, taxes or duties as promised.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love These!!

JUSTIN in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 690 ENDURO

Comments On Jul 11, 2013:I have been buying these tires for over 6 years. Never had an issue with any of them. These are the only Dual sport tire I buy. I know I will be buying a new tire every year, they last about 4000 miles for the rear, 8000 front. So I would rather buy these than some expensive tire that last the same amount of miles. Off road traction is awesome, mud, gravel, rocks, or dirt they have great traction in. Pavement, very smooth, a little soft on the edges for really aggressive cornering, but overall my favorite dual sport tire on the market.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A good value

JOHN in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 SUZUKI DR650SE

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:This tire works real well on hard pack and wore reasonably well, not great in mud or soft stuff but that is to be expected. Works well and is quiet on the road, good for around 50/50 dual sporting. Wore way better than Pirelli MT-21 I tried after this, better off road traction in mud with the Pirelli but did not wear well at all, the Kendas are great in rocks etc. A good deal.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire For The Price

Mathew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA TTR230

Comments On May 06, 2013:I bought a rear and front of the K270 for my TTR230 DS and was impressed by compatibility for the price. On the street I felt a noticeable difference in smoothness and grip over typical knobbies. Even though the knobs on these tires are small, they're still capable, rode some single track at Tahuya with no problem. The rear tire has lasted about 2000miles, probably going to go with another K270, front still has plenty of life. That's with a lot of road riding btw. One thing I noticed is that these tires are narrow compared to normal dirt tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires and great price

Jeff in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 YAMAHA XT225 Serow

Comments On May 02, 2013:I got these tires 2 years ago and they're still going strong. They're great for playing in the dirt or commuting, and holding up to wear. I'd definitely buy these again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

i like!! 2001 xr650r with about 60 hp

Brenton in LA

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:Grips great on and off road. Don't know how long it lasts, seems to be holding up good to 60 HP off road ripping and good bit of on road riding. Dot legal and pretty cheap. I'm satisfied.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Didn't feel confident On or Off road

John in NY

Comments On Mar 16, 2013:Rode 1800mi on a set of these on a XL650L. Started ripping the center knobs off the rear immediately. Other than that they are wearing good. ON ROAD they feel spongy on tall soft knobs. Very Imprecise feel. Braking and accelerating ok. OFF ROAD ok traction on dirt trails with some rock. Not enough traction for sand or mud. I guess if you don't ride it too hard or like to do wheelies they should be ok.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great all around tire

jon in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 1991 KAWASAKI KDX200

Comments On Mar 05, 2013:best on/off road crossover tire ive found.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best dual sport tire on the market!

Kerri in OR

Comments On Jul 29, 2012:I have an XR650R with a street-legal conversion kit. I bought this tire because it came highly recommended by my friends. They were not wrong! I have thrown every element and terrain type at this tire and it has performed beautifully.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kenda K270 F/R tires

Jordan in NL

Comments On Jun 13, 2012:i bought this tire for my gf's bike (2005 xt225). So far it seems to be a pretty good tire haven't had long enough to test it on trails and road.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better Dual Sport Tires Exist

Greg in UT

Comments On May 10, 2012:I'm not impressed with overall grip of this rear tire. On asphalt it skids too easily, on dry dusty dirt or gravel it doesn't grab very well, but I haven't tried it in mud or rocky-trial kind of stuff.
Longevity looks like it will be okay. I've had them for a month now and haven't lost knobs or seen any other pre-mature wear.
Save a few bucks for a higher quality tire, I liked my bald perelli trial tires for dual sporting better than this rear tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Durability and traction

DANIEL in CO

Comments On Apr 26, 2012:These tires are great, I have them on an uncorked and converted XR650R. They work well both on and off road.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

DRZ 400s

rick in OH

Comments On Oct 17, 2011:Front tire is 3.0-21 and rear is a 5.10-18...I had a local motorcycle shop balance and install the tires. After waiting, I went on a 30 mile ride and noticed immediately that the tires were way different than stock tires. Bike had a wierd turn feeling on the street due to the tall soft knobbies. Nothing scary, just different. After 10 minutes of riding I got used to the tires. I crossed over 6 acres of damp fields along with grassy fields and noticed a big difference in straight line traction ( k270's hooked up better ). So far I rate these at 4 stars because I really didnt go on the highway or off road trail riding with hillclimbs, mud holes etc. I will post back in a year

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

bad front tire

antonio in AZ

Comments On Oct 12, 2011:ok i put a Kenda in my front Suzuki DRZ 400 and it doesnt work at all, i put about 20 miles on it and the tire get like a potatoes bag, but the worst is huge humb on it, feels like you're are riding a horse and did not put it in dirt, only paved roads would not recomend the FRONT tire at all the rear one is working perfect, just wears to fast on the side knobs, but other than that is ok

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Tire

C. SCOTT in SC

Comments On Sep 12, 2011:This is has been a great set of tires. Friend thought I was nuts when putting them on thinking they would wear out in no time. 7,000+ miles later and they still have decent tread on rear and excellect tread on front. Stick to road vey well for knobby tires. Only dislike is the highway noise from the tire. KLR650.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rear tire throws its knobs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RONALD D. in IA

Comments On Jul 07, 2011:Very disappointed in this rear tire. Mounted on a KLR650 so certainly not failing because of excess power being applied. This tire lost several (6+) center knobs within the first 400 miles of use. Knobs came off deep enough to expose the tire's inner fabric cords. Tire was completely worn smooth in 3200 miles with the majority of the riding on gravel roads (Trans America Trail). Certainly will choose a different tire next.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does what it should very good!

Zach in ID

Comments On May 17, 2011:I purchased this tire after making my KTM 525 street legal. The first rear tire I had on went for the full season of riding and a little of the next. The first ride was in Moab on slickrock and desert, then back home I put ALOT of miles on on the pavement (probably near 700-800.) For on road use, this thing will last a LONG time. One off-road ride will burn off the same rubber as you would in months of riding on the road. I put a front tire on also and will say that they aren't a motocross setup, but they'll get you around on trails and off road whenever you are out. They actually outperformed my IRC M5B on a shale hillclimb. Thats no joke. The problem is they do have a harder time really gripping in turns and such when riding aggresive off-road, but if you are just going for a fun trail ride, you'll be just fine. Quite a tire for the price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really good offroad tire

Lorne in CT

Comments On May 17, 2011:We use this as a front tire paired with a trials rear for hare scrambles and general trail riding. You really can't beat it for the price. Grips in the rocks and is a much better in the mud/loam than a straight trials tire. I'm going to try one on the back of my YZ250 when my trials is done.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tires

Daniel in NM

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:I've been running the K270 both front and rear on my XR650L for around 5000 miles. My commute consists of around 6 miles of mixed desert and 33 mile of pavement and contributed to most of my miles. **Rear - Until now, after a trip that consisted of 30 miles of stream/gravel/sand sandwiched in the middle of 200 miles of asphalt, I had never detected any cracking knobs, or chunking. I had only come close to losing the rear end when I was trying. After 5k miles, and a 200 mile slab run, the rear tire is done. No longer serviceable in the dirt. I am pleased, as some of the other reviews that I read, before purchasing the tire, estimated a life span between 1500-3000 miles. **Front - I was never very confident in the front tire in the dirt, no worries on the pavement. It shows little wear at this point. I washed out the front a few times in the sand, unexpectedly. I won't blame it all on the tire, but I plan on trying a more aggressive front tire soon. **Both tires held up to some canyon carving without complaint. Due to seasonal temperature variations, I ran both tires on extremely low pressure for a week or two and didn't even notice. The rear was down to 5psi, but the combo of the stiff sidewall on the 5.10x18 and the rim-lock made it unnoticeable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!

Cory in MI

Comments On Mar 14, 2011:They are soft but they have lasted longer then i thought they would. I ride everywhere from sand to the tar and they handle all of it as good as a you would expect from a dual sport tire. Back tire has 500mi on it and still has a lot of tread For the price they are a really good tire, and i would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

did not like

jonathan in AZ

Comments On Feb 07, 2011:i rode on this tire for about five months and in the firsts two months it started missing chunks of the tred i was riding on lose gravel road very slick not much traction dont recomend for others

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheap tire ok for off-road!

ROBERT in NM

Comments On Nov 18, 2010:Got these tires a few months ago! ok for light off-road use. Warning if your on the street and you get a flat youll probably wreck. I broke my wrist today the flimsy sidewall folded over on the tire and I crashed into the median. Going back to stock DRZ 400 TW tires!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great dual sport tire!

Travis in MI

Comments On Sep 21, 2010:Have used these on my klx 300 for the past year or so. Really satisfied with them. The rubber is soft and grippy on the street, and I worried that they would wear quickly but they dont! Even with riding hard on and off road the lugs have barely worn. With any dual sport tire you compromise performance for longivity, but these perform well even in the single tracks and off road.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Timothy in CA

Comments On Sep 07, 2010:These are a great tire at a great price. Use them on a KLR 250 and an XT 225, 75% fire roads and trails. Haven't found anything they wont handle. I have tried others, but keep coming back to these.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire value

Randy in AZ

Comments On Jun 01, 2010:All around a good tire. It is quiet and stable on the road and corners. In the hard-pack and rocks, it is superior to a regular knobby. However, in the deep sand, loam or mud, forget it. But then, I bought it to ride in the desert. It has worn very well and I would buy it again. The sidewall is stiff enough for taking a pounding, but I run it at 18psi. My CRF450X puts it to the test and it has held up nicely for the last 600 miles.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good all around tire: road, single track, 4x4 road

MATT in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2010:Installed on recently DS'd WR450. Great price. Works better than expected on single track and 4x4 trails/roads. Does good with slow traction, and will break loose and spin very easily. Not good in slow sand washes, but it will get you where you need to go. Slippery and steps out on graded dirt roads, but if you're paying attention you can avoid/control it. Airing down helps. Transmits small bumps, potholes and washboard bumps. Definately run it at the lowest PSI you can get away with to gain traction and reduce vibration from SM bumps. Ran great on paved HWY, no speed wobles. Have not riden on cement HWY with rain grooves yet. For the price, and my kind of DS'ing, I'll buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works well

GARY in ID

Comments On Feb 26, 2010:works pretty good in most terrain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kenda street knobbies

RANDOLPH in PA

Comments On Dec 11, 2009: These tires are everything that the review said about them, only better! They grip & work well on the street, although a little noise & howling comes in @ higher speeds around 75-80 mph. Off-road they work well, not a true dirt-knobby, but about as close as you're going to get. They seem to be pretty tough too, no abnormal wear or chunking so far. I broke them in easily for about the 1st 50-75 miles & perhaps that made the difference. They are more aggressive looking once they're on the bike than they look in the catalog/website. I would definitely buy them again for my '09 DRZ400S.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Buyer Beware selecting tire size!

Richard in PA

Comments On Oct 02, 2009:First, let me say I am still a fan of the Kenda K270. However, I do have an issue regarding the sizing of the current version. My used Honda XR650L had an older Kenda 4.50/18 K270 on it. It was big and tough, wore well, and offered great "dual-sport" traction. So...I ordered a new replacement, which is now listed as a 4.60/18. Big problem! Not only was the cross section MUCH narrower...looking more like a 4.00...but the knobs were smaller. I ended up passing it on to a friend who found it perfect for his Yamaha 200 Serow. I guess I'll try again by ordering the 5.10/18 version, but I'm sure confused, and disappointed, that the new 4.60 is smaller then my old, beat 4.50. Buyer beware selecting the right size!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long lasting 50/50 tire

Dave in UT

Comments On Aug 14, 2009:If your looking for a 50/50 tire, shop no further. Aggressive tread for a DOT tire. Wonderful on the road, wet or dry; perfect on gravel and dirt trails. I've been in some mud too, while not a knobbie, they work pretty darn good! Long lasting (I run the knobs to 1/4" and replace the tires) got 6000 miles on the rear and over 9,000 on the front tire. This is my third set on my two enduro bikes (DR650 & KLR250). Knobs don't chunk on the sharp rocks, ride anywhere with confidence and no flats!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The best dual sport tire for the money!

MARCO in CA

Comments On Jan 13, 2009:I've tried all the dual sport tires, and most of the dirt tires out there.
The K270 is the best for my riding style 60 street/ 40 dirt.
It is a sexy looking tire too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good All-Around Tire

JAMES in AR

Comments On Dec 11, 2008:This tire works a lot better than one would expect. It is not a full on knobby so does not perform like one in the mud, and it is not a trials tire so it does not perform like one in the rocks. But for an all around DS tire I think it would be hard to beat. I ride a DRZ400 on forest roads, asphalt and single track trails with the 270 and it does a very good job. My only complaint is the tires are pretty narrow and should be built wider.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Charles in NC

Comments On May 21, 2008:I use a K270 front for commuting and exploring. Works just fine on wet or dry for me. Great value on a dual sport 50/50 tire.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Compromise

JOHN in ID

Comments On Mar 20, 2008:Good tire for high speed fire-road and pavement treking. Has more "teeth" than the picture shows for loamy offroad. Not excellent all of these conditions but pretty good. I will be buying another set since I will be on the pavement more with the gas prices these days. Smoother and more traction than say the Dunlop 606's on pavement.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Value

GLEN in OR

Comments On Jan 31, 2008:Great Value in a dual sport tire,,preforms and wears well,,will replace with the same tire on my DR 350,,,Thanks

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

kenda 270

JIMMY in TX

Comments On Jan 26, 2008:kenda k270, probably the best value tire on the market for dual sporting.installed with a heavy duty tube,it is an unbeatable combination. thanks

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best Bang 4 the Buck D/S tire

Jimmy in NC

Comments On Nov 22, 2007:These tires (F&R) work great for how & where I ride my '07 DR-Z400. They outlast any other brands I've tried, and they grip good. I personally like the 5.10 for the rear. It has a nice wide footprint.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love them

DOUGLAS in OR

Comments On Nov 14, 2007:great on and off road tire

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!

KRIS in CO

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:For the bang for the buck, I would have to rate it a 10! I put it on my KLR and have 4000 miles so far. About 1/2 trails/dirt and 1/2 pavement. Howls a little on the street, but a trade-off when I need the knobbies for the tough stuff. FYI I only bought the rear.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Dual Sport Tire

MARK in WA

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:Great Dual Sport tire. Run on a 525 & it has held up well both on & off road. Ran in an Enduro with some wet & mud & was very surprised at the traction & grip. Will definitely buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

traction on road

JOHN in OH

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:Used on road mostly good wet and dry grip.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Kenda K270

BRIAN in MD

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Agreat dual purpose tire, I've used nothing but Kenda for the last ten years. Shippingwas fast, as expected, great job, guys & gals!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed

Michael in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:2nd time I rode these tires I chunked off 5 center knobs from the rear tire. This was during easy fire road riding.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Kenda Dual Sport tires

Troy in NY

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The Kenda dual sport tire shapes up like this. The rear tire I will probably use again it bites pretty well most every where I go but the front is more for the dirt road rider. It seems to load up easy in anything even just alittle wet.

Was this review helpful?