Michelin Pilot Power 2 CT Rear Motorcycle Tire

Customer Reviews for Michelin Pilot Power 2 CT Rear Motorcycle Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 28 Reviews

Return to Michelin Pilot Power 2 CT Rear Motorcycle Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Michelin Pilot Power 2 CT Rear Motorcycle Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stop searching... you have found your tires.

Carl in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 SUZUKI GSXR1000

Comments On Oct 20, 2013:I have been riding (aggressively) for over 20 years. I road raced in the mid 90's and attend an occasional track day now. I have come across very few riders capable of overriding a good set of tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

09 firebolt

steve in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 BUELL XB9R Firebolt®

Comments On Sep 08, 2013:Love these tires! I get great wear out of these michellins, and feel very confident in the corners. Overall just a great tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Two thumbs up !!

Alec in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZF-R6

Comments On Aug 01, 2013:These tires are un-beatable . Street or track . Durability , longevity. These tires have it all!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire for Sport Bike

ROB in IL

Comments On Jun 04, 2013:Great traction, cornering, etc. Felt very confident. After 1000 mi there was some wear (flatter) in the center. I would run them about 36lbs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Exelent

Nedzat in MI

Comments On Apr 18, 2013:Just got am, but there is no doubt about the service and hendling shiping.It was fast.Thank you one more time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent grip

MICHAEL in LA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 TRIUMPH Speed Triple 1050

Comments On Feb 05, 2013:I've always used 2ct pilots. But it gets log changing the rear out every 2k. Front every 6k. Drive 50 plus miles daily when weather is decent. Loves the tires but bad choice if durability is a concern.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sport tire / street tire

Blake in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 BMW K1200GT

Comments On Jan 09, 2013:Wore out a set this year. I bought these from this site, (great site by the way), in April 2012 and rode them from MA to FL and back, with less than 25% of the miles on interstate. But that does not mean it was a lot of twists, but there was a lot of two lane.
I had intended to purchase Michelin Road 2 but mis ordered and mounted them up anyway. These are softer, quicker initiating a turn and wear very well for a sport tire. As I am sport touring and they are not always on edge they will flat in the middle. That trip the bike was loaded so the BMW K1200GT is heavier than a sport bike. Did not get the mileage I got on the Road 2's but these are an excellent tire. I got maybe 7000 miles where the Road 2 would give me 33% more miles. They felt very good in turns in the hills of VA, NC, TN and KY. There was a swoopy 180 turn on the Blue Ridge north of Little Switzerland near 226 and a sport bike was following me. I leaned it over and know he was impressed how a sport touring bike with luggage would lean through that turn from the thumbs up. I would recommend them for people that are leaning hard and often. For one that is traveling more than turning the Road 2 is my choice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great street tire.

Robert in FL

Comments On Sep 14, 2012:I've had a few different tires on my cbr 1000rr, and this is the best tire i've put on to date.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

CHRIS in FL

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:I got 2010 FJR1300 and bike came with stock bridgestone tires that was really cheap,when i put those michelin pilot power 2 ct on my bike, ridding experience change so much bike handle Great on corners, riding during rain it's no problem,I do a mix of local (going to work and back home daily 100 miles)and long distance riding(around 3000-5000 miles)with bike loaded and still handle great,this is my 4-th set of them,I average around 6000 to 8000 miles on tire,there is probably diffrent tires just for touring bikes but i like to hit some corners and don't have worry that my tire would't keep me to road like glue.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice tire

Robert in WA

Comments On Aug 06, 2012:I run this on an FZ1 and my son has the same on his CBR 600. Very different bikes and riding styles, these have performed well on both.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So-cal bendys needed these

Felix in CA

Comments On Jul 26, 2012:I switched from another top rated brand tire that starts with a P not saying those are bad tires but nothing handles the southern California curves and bending mountain roads better than these tires! I am so happy and will not change tires until Michelin makes them! This rubber sticks to the road like Velcro and rides smooth like a cadillac and doesn't break the wallet either!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires

BRENT in TX

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:But I got the Michelin Power Pures and I think these are the way to go. The middle patch is thinner providing sticker tire earlier in the turn. Sometimes you will lean the bike in a turn and still be in the medium compound on the Pilot Powers...try the Power Pures! I believe they are the same compounds, just a different percentage on the tire.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Michelin Pilot Power 2 CT Rear Motorcycle Tire

DONALD in TN

Comments On Oct 08, 2011:OK I am on the tread limiters after running this tire 4200 miles on my 09 Hayabusa. I love this tire compared to the Bridgestones that came factory on the Hayabusa. This tire has given me the Michelin confidence of scraping pegs. I road this tire on Tail Of The Dragon at Deals gap and let me tell you this tire will allow you to lean as far as you want to go leaving sparks fly from the pegs. Super smooth tire and doesnt take much weight to balance. Michelin has done it again and met and exceeded my expectations in tires!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thrilled so far

Jason in NJ

Comments On Sep 09, 2011:Coming from Pilot Road 2CT's, I can tell these definitely feel sportier. The first few turns were weird, how quickly it tipped into the lean. I feel they're much more aggressive with their tip-in angle. But, the Roads were also worn down the center badly from highway miles, so that makes for a bad comparison base.
Thrilled with them, just afraid of uneven tire wear from more too many straight roads. We'll see. I decided they were worth the risk, being that I don't wear out tires anyway. I always catch a nail or trade vehicles before that point.
I was told mounting was a breeze, too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Jacob in MO

Comments On Jul 19, 2011:Only tire i will buy. Holds strong in the rain and I can get 7,000 miles out of it even on a 1000cc.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Michelin PP2 CT

JAMES in CA

Comments On May 26, 2011:Awesome tires, confidence inspiring. I got about 4K rear and 6K front, not bad for a hardcore sportbike tire. But, what I like the most is that I just think about leaning into a corner and the tires drop in without effort.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff

JW in AZ

Comments On Apr 13, 2011:I've been using Michelin's since 2006. Once my pilot powers wore out, I picked up some 2CT's. I really love these tires. I am a canyon rider and these tires have awesome grip in the corners, even on chip seal. Good feedback and excellent wear so far. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great hypersport tire, not a sport/touring tire

Jeff in NC

Comments On Mar 08, 2011:This tire is competent on track but is especially sensitive to hot psi and track temperatures. Warm up is within 1-2 laps depending on ambient temps. It sticks great and gives decent feedback, but it will bite you rather quickly and almost unexpectedly if it gets too hot. Just gotta keep the PSI under close watch.
Otherwise these are another excellent example of hypersport tires available today. Mileage is expectedly low for the rear, especially if you run a liter bike, but isn't out of the ordinary for its classification. These tires are really meant for the twisties and not the highway if it can be helped. But they will work just fine for any condition rain or cold, just not for a lot of miles

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good tire

David in PA

Comments On Nov 13, 2010:2nd time using, put over 6000 on the first one

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mileage, smileage

Lloyd in MN

Comments On Oct 01, 2010: Considering this tire is the exact same tire as a Pilot Power, except for the 10%/ 11% of the edge compound (9/16" on the front and 7/8" on the rear) your mileage between the two will be identical! This tire isn't worth the $30+ extra per set over the pilot power, and the Power Pure is a much better rain tire and even gives better feedback with almost identical mileages. For me this was a waste, 2500 miles and the rear was beyond the wear bars and the front was flush to them on the edges, run @ 33 front, 36 rear-I have ran no less than 7 different tire combinations on my bike now and this isnt anywhere near the best. You may be able to take advantage of the "additonal" traction offered at the very edge in a trackday environment, but on the street you would have to be riding like an idiot-which far too many do.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Sport Tire, But Mileage Could Be Better

Thomas in NC

Comments On Sep 08, 2010:Bought these tires in January, it is now September. I've put a little under 8000 miles on them. Front is fine at least another 6000 miles on it, but metal is showing on the rear. The mileage is good or bad depending on who you talk to. Sport riders say it's good twice what they get on Power 2's. Tourers say they get 10-11,000 on this tire.
Great ride, grip and wet weather traction. Rode 8 hrs in pouring rain and never slipped.
I used Dynabeads when I installed these tires. The wear seems uneven. I'm not even in the wear indicators on some parts of the tire, but in the metal in another. Going to stick with traditional balancing with the replacement and see how it goes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire for my R1

Darin

Comments On Aug 30, 2010:This is the best tire I have used period. Warms up fast, very sticky but doesn't wear fast. I have almost doubled the km's on the 2ct as compared to my Pilot Power. The dual compound is the perfect tire for me. I ride 200km's everyday to work and back at high speed(150-160km/h) with minimal turns, but when I ride the twisting mountain roads the soft side compound sticks like a race tire. I run the 2ct on the front also with the same results. I've tried others but will stick with the 2ct from now on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

Eliberto in TX

Comments On Jun 22, 2010:THE BEST TIRES I HAVE EVER HAD PERIOD

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

08 600RR

DONNIE in KY

Comments On Jun 16, 2010:Run the PP2CTs on a 08 600rr and love them. They stick to the road like no other.. definitely recommend them.. I have 2000 miles on them so far and it looks like I may get another 2-3 out of them before I have to get a new rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Grip and Life!

Bailey in CA

Comments On May 06, 2010:I have had several sets of Hypersport tires on various sport bikes and I always come back to the 2CT's!
They are nearly as sticky as the slicks I have on my race bike, with good life to boot.
On my R1 I had Pirelli Diablo Corsas and every morning I would go WOT down the street and leave a big black mark. I got a set of these 2ct's and when I did the same thing they hooked up and I rode the street on 1 wheel. They are great street tires and even better on the track!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire

Josh in MN

Comments On Apr 30, 2010:this is a good tire it sticks to the turns and warms up fast, had a fluke i was riding and picked up a 3 inch bolt in them with only 300 miles on it. I am buying 1 more to give it another shot!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire

Charles in PA

Comments On Apr 26, 2010:Great tire for the price, it grips great into turns and warms up fast.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

awsome tires

paul in TN

Comments On May 27, 2009:i bought these tires back in febuary and they still have not worn out they have NEVER broke loose my buddy runs on a 02 r1 and he runs pirelli's and he cant even stick with the 2 ct tires there is a world of difference in the 2ct and the regular pilot powers so next time your thinking about buy some new tiers the pilot power 2 ct's is the only way to go.

Was this review helpful?