Metzeler ME880 Marathon Front Motorcycle Tire

Customer Reviews for Metzeler ME880 Marathon Front Motorcycle Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 19 Reviews

Return to Metzeler ME880 Marathon Front Motorcycle Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Metzeler ME880 Marathon Front Motorcycle Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Surprise! I had a flat on the interstate.

Gary in Massachusetts – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 HONDA GL1500 Valkyrie

Comments On May 20, 2013:I gave the ME-880 front tire on my 1999 Valkyrie a "Good", mostly due to the experiences I've had from riding on ME's for a number of years on two seperate bikes. This past Sunday, however, my ME (front, Valkyrie Tourer) let me down - literally - by going flat as I was riding south on Interstate 91. It didn't lose all it's air at once, which was a blessing of sorts, but it was getting "squishy" at 70 mph, so I knew enough to pull over quick. This was surprising given that the tire had fewer than 3,000 miles on it since I bought it last year. There is still plenty of tread on it, and when I called the rep this AM, he said that if I took it to an authorized dealer, it would be sent back for evaluation. If it was determined NOT to have gone flat as result of a road hazard of some kind, there MAY be a pro-rated allowance AFTER I paid for a new one in full. This has me wondering - are these tires really as good as they claim? Stand-by for updates on this story.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires even better service

Paul in Missouri – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA VTX1800C

Comments On Dec 20, 2012:Metzeler is the tire for me and Rocky Mountains ATV/MC is the place to buy them . Best Pricing I could find on the net and three day shipping . Wow Great job guys.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best service

Greg in NSW

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:I have used these tires before and they are excellent I would like to rate the service form ATV as excellent also I ordered the tires at 6.30pm on Friday and they were delivered by 10.00am Monday that's 3 days from USA to Australia. OUTSTANDING! If you live in Australia and want your tires cheap with excellent service I recommend you give ATV.MC a try.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Me880

Douglas in TN

Comments On Jun 23, 2012:tire does not hold up under hard riding. 5000 miles, tire is cupping and has a flat spot. Would not buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ME880 front tire VTX 1800N

Howard in NV

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:I wore the original Dunlops out at 11,000 On my 2006 VTX1800N. both steer and drive were done... bald. I use the wear indicator as a warning sign, living in Las Vegas I can get away with it and at these prices I want every mile I can out of my tires. I replaced the Dunlops with these and never looked back. They wear better on the front, I've pushed my luck to 19,000 but 17 would be at the wear bars. 11,000 on the rear.I do ride hard and fast. dragging the floor boards is and everyday occurrence as is 100 mph. Once I put these on I instantly felt more grip with these tires, Bike felt as stable as a freight train in the rain (road trip to PA and back, torrential rain in ohio). rock solid in the turns. I've looked at other brands but I will run these until they stop making them. the Dunlops developed a high speed vibration due to wear, felt like a wheel bearing going bad. these tires do not. never had an issue and I'm on my 3rd steer and 4th drive... I think... 47,000 on the bike and 36,000 of it is on metzlers. buy em... you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

hi mileage tire

JAMES in NH

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:love these tires run them on my hi mileage riders customers bikes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2005 Kawa Nomad front 150-80-16

Greg in LA

Comments On Mar 24, 2012:Replaced old ME 880 with new. The old one had 17,400miles , TRUE Fact!! with that kind of mileage I had to use them again. Old tire had no weights but new front needed seven to balance out??? Little concerned bout that! Oh well will see what it wears out to and hope for a repeat performance? JW delivered free & fast on day promised , very satisified w JW, great price & service!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

METSZ Front Tire

Max in FL

Comments On Oct 26, 2011:I have gotten the best mileage out of this tire. It puts Dunlop way to the rear for grip and mileage.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire made in this segment, period !

Lloyd in MN

Comments On Sep 09, 2011: You can not beat this tire for tread life, feed back or traction in all conditions. This is the best all around tire for heavy cruisers or touring bikes alike. I have run 5000 miles more than elite 3's and almost 8000 more miles than D404's. Definately a good buy when you figure out a cost per mile.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Metzeler Marathon

ralph in ME

Comments On Aug 17, 2011:Very nice tire but did require 1.5 oz balancing wts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Metzeler ME 880

Jackie in OK

Comments On Jun 23, 2011:Jake Wilson and Metzeler tires.....Best price and so far the best ride I've ever had on my 2001 Valkyrie Interstate. Prompt shipping too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great value

Mark in IA

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:I found no one that could beat the prices here on Rocky Mountain. The tires are much better than the OEM Dunlops my Honda came with.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WOW

Steve in TX

Comments On Sep 30, 2010:Great tires an great price!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best tire

Robert in NC

Comments On Sep 08, 2010:This is my second set of Metzeler tires. The first set was for a different bike but they had 10K miles on them when I sold the bike. Looked like they had at least another 10K on them. My bike is a Honda VT 1100T and it handles so much better with the Metzelers on it. When in the twestees it seems like you think turn and the bike turns so easily. I'll never try another brand.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tires!

MIKE in TX

Comments On Sep 12, 2010:What a difference new tires make! I have only put 200 miles on them and the nipples have not even worn off yet. I read alot of reviews and these tires are awsome like everyone said. Lets see if I can get 12,000 miles out of them! Thank You Jake Wilson

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best tire

LUKE in LA

Comments On Sep 13, 2010:Best tire for the best price. Jake Wilson has the lowest price for this tire. It is still on bike after 15,000+ miles. Still has plenty life to go.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BMW R1200CLC OEM tires at the absolute best price!

Michael in MA

Comments On Aug 11, 2010:Shopped around for the better part of a day and Jake Wilson's (JW) price is the best that can be found for these tires. Don't be fooled by other offers of "Free 1 -3 day shipping" they use the same ground shipping as JW and Jake's price is less. Also found a JW coupon on the internet and got an additional $20 off the already great price. As for the tires, they are the stock brand and type that came on my R1200CLC and I got over 14K miles on them before I decided to replace them. Probably could get another 1-2K miles out of my originals but I'd rather have nice new ones on for the upcoming wet Fall season.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Darrell in GA

Comments On Apr 13, 2010:These are great tires. After riding on my OE Dunlops I was surprized at what I had been missing. If I ever by another new bike I will trash those OE tires for a set of these ME880's. My VTX 1800 has never rode or handle as good as it does now.I sure am glad I choose this tire and I am glad I found Jake Wilson.Great web store, great service and fast delivery.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Metzeler tires are the best

David in MO

Comments On Sep 04, 2008:These tires were out of stock so I went to a local dealer. I got lucky and they had a pair in stock to fit my bike. The minute I rode off the lot I could notice a huge difference. It was like riding a whole new motorcycle. It was wet and raining when I picked it up and I can say that these tires are excellent in the rain. The rear tire didn't break loose once, and I got on it pretty hard from a stop. I have a 1997 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder. The front tire is a 130/90-16, the rear is a 150/90-15. The Metzeler's are way better then the stock tires I had on there, a Cruisemax on the front and a K177 on the rear. The tread is awesome looking and the tire was close to a half inch wider then the same size Dunlop. It looks and handles great. I would definatley recommend spending the extra money to get a Metzeler instead of a "Cheap" tire. As for jakewilson.com, I didn't use them unfortunatly. But, I did find that they were the cheapest and best overall for tires on the web. Ride free and ride safe.

Was this review helpful?