Tusk 17" Mega Tire Iron

Customer Reviews for Tusk 17" Mega Tire Iron

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 67 Reviews

Return to Tusk 17" Mega Tire Iron Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk 17" Mega Tire Iron Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mega Iron

BRIAN in CA

Comments On Aug 14, 2014:Makes life easy. I should have had these years ago.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

That WAS easier

Duane in NY

Comments On May 21, 2014:I've always hated changing tires as many people do but this tire iron sure does make the job a lot easier. It's big enough that you have to be careful not to break something.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My new favorite tire tool

James in MO

Comments On Apr 08, 2014:We use these on everything. The curved shape gives you more options on how to use it. I use it to mount street bike tires, tractor tires and bibs in the dirt bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Now that is a tire iron!

Sky in FL

Comments On Mar 20, 2014:Great value along with nice construction and finish. If you don't loose it or have it borrowed, this is a life time tool. Larger than you want to carry on your bike, but a great additon to your truck or shop motorcycle tool kit. Provides all the leverage you should need for any motorcycle tire change. I use it with two 12" tire irons for those tough spots like the final stretch over the wheel. If this isn't enough, use more technique.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Monster tire spoon

derek in CA

Comments On Feb 24, 2014:This thing is a monster and really allows you to get some good leverage. Just be careful because if you are really needing a tire spoon this large your technique is probably wrong. If you use a bead buddy tool you really shouldn't need a tire iron of this size. you could easily bend your rim if your not careful. This is a must though if you have tires with super hard side walls.. Believe it or not i used it to change the tires on my sons 50 because the geomax 51's are super stiff and the rims are so little that they are a major pain to change. Give me a full size bike anyday over changing mini tires!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

its a beast

CARMEN in PA

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:Tons of leverage but the giant spoon end lots of times just cant fit or is too big and clumsy. Right tool for the job though when it fits.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very nice

DAN in CO

Comments On Jan 27, 2014:All aluminum and very hd for those tough tires

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Use this

Josh in AL

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:If small ones work good... Big ones work better!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tire iron

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:this works great for the rear tire. I use two of these and makes it way easier for me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

whooohoo

Michal in IL

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:thats what i was looking for , good stuff

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome Tire Iron

Benjamin in MA

Comments On Oct 03, 2013:Very strong and well made! The tip is a little large so i wouldnt recomend buying two to remove a tire. Get this one and another with a small tip and its the perfect combo to remove quad tires!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

buy these

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:get two if you dont have these yet its 2013 stop changing tires with tiny little tire irons

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The big stick...

Erik in NY

Comments On Jul 24, 2013:Ruggedly built, and the machined aluminum handle is a nice touch. This is the bar you want for persuading tough beads, and it is more than up to the task. If you're finding this bar undersized, or if you somehow manage to bend or break it, then you're doing something very wrong (or using it for something other than dirt bike tires). Get one of these and two of the Motion Pro 10.5" spoons and you've got the perfect tire changing set, in my opinion. This iron is a great deal for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bit over priced

Jack in NSW

Comments On Jul 21, 2013:Good tire iron size but think the price is a bit much

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

JAMI in WY

Comments On Jun 11, 2013:Great for changing tires and changing tubes. Well worth it, I would recomend this to a friend anyday

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good leverage

COLE in MT

Comments On May 18, 2013:need to sharpen the tip but after that it worked excellent

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

Daniel in AZ

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:...a must for all toolboxes!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST

Josh in WA

Comments On Mar 15, 2013:cannot imagine doing another tire without it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk 17" Mega Tire Iron

Juan in TX

Comments On Feb 01, 2013:Great tool to own if you are a DIYer. great price and well made.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Stephanie in NH

Comments On Jan 10, 2013:Good value, great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wow

DEAN in CA

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:This is the one for getting the tire off. I use the 15" for getting tire back on as well as this one. Solid and tuff.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

Eric in IL

Comments On Jul 28, 2012:If your gonna change tires, this is a must have, and the quality of the tool is unbelievable at that price! Don't think twice, get it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a must have

DARREN in TX

Comments On Jun 16, 2012:I wish I would of ordered two

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Andrew in CA

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

big

TROY in UT

Comments On May 17, 2012:this is big!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No more busted knuckles

ALBERT in CA

Comments On May 02, 2012:Bought two of these, and once I learned the trick to taking the tire off, these are real helpful.........twosixtwo

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Too big of a spoon to be much use on dirt wheels.

JODY in IN

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:Better for street tire changes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best item for mthe money

Brian in AZ

Comments On Apr 01, 2012:These tusk tires irons are the best. Heavy duty and half the price. My only complaint the handles are screwed on and come loose in use. Easy fix through, some lock tiight, and everything is great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Need one of these in your toolbox

Kyle in OR

Comments On Feb 21, 2012:Having one of these and two short tire irons makes quick work of a tire change.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No Sweat

JOSEPH in NSW

Comments On Feb 19, 2012:Makes changing tyres easy.. Have KTM 530 & 690 so I go thru a lot of tyres, with 2 levers & a bead buddy easy as.A must have if you change your own tyres.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Personal opinion...

David in WA

Comments On Dec 27, 2011:These are better quality and half the price of the motion pro tire Irons. I love motion pro products... but... for half the cost... this is a no brainer!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A "Must Have"

Josh in WA

Comments On Oct 31, 2011:The cheapie, old school irons are a pain and bend, losing their curve which makes it even harder.
These big Tusk Irons are super tough, have no sharp edges, and the big handles are Awesome when fighting a rear tire. I bought 2! Easy is Good!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Mark in PA

Comments On May 09, 2011:I used these on a 200 size rear tire and they did great! Get 3 and have a friend help. Tire changing was a snap with these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maximum Leverage.

tempe in CO

Comments On Mar 29, 2011:These are cool,built like a tank!!!I got 2 and love em.Another quality Tusk product!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect iron

RYAN in CA

Comments On Feb 25, 2011:the pitch on the iron is perfect. And the weight/handle work perfect for changing even the toughest of tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

must have

BRIAN in TX

Comments On Jan 24, 2011:love it wish I had this years ago. I bought two.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

When you're tired of struggling.......

Owen in WV

Comments On Jan 18, 2011:Have 2 boys on YZ250F's racing MX. We do all our own tire work.
If you are tired of struggling to get a tire on, stand yourself to a birthday treat (even if it isn't your birthday). Buy a pair of these.
Pity 5 stars is the limit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Leverage is the key,,,,

michael in FL

Comments On Jan 03, 2011:,,,, and if you want to make a tough job easier, these irons work GREAT! Thanks Jake Wilson for making the tire change video, it really was a snap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works GREAT!

Joseph in AZ

Comments On Dec 27, 2010:This is a Great tire Iron. Buy One!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent value in tire irons!

JASON in UT

Comments On Dec 07, 2010:I purchased three of these irons and changing a tire has never been easier. Other tire irons bend, break and wear out quickly. Not these! They even work great on the rear tire of a 950 Adventure which almost as big and stiff as a car tire. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Make easy work of tire change.

casey in UT

Comments On Oct 07, 2010:Nice tool, makes easy work of tire changing task.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big and Tough

Kyle in PA

Comments On Aug 24, 2010:if you want a tire iron that will last you 7+ years .. this is the one you want ... has so much leverage on tires it make it easy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

heavy duty

Jeffrey in OR

Comments On Aug 16, 2010:after using one of these you will forever wonder why you wasted your time trying to remove a tire with those smaller tire spoons. It is very strong and the rounded edges seem to make work much easier

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk 17" Tire Tool

Robert in TX

Comments On Jul 31, 2010:This tire iron works really well. The construction is heavy duty and the round edges don't pinch tubes. The length really allows you to flip the bead over the rim with minimal effort. I bought two and was able to change my tire without problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My favorite

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:I love this tire iron. I don't need one this big and strong but it has a great feel and works every time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

CLARK in UT

Comments On Jul 20, 2010:Best tire iron i have ever used

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk tire iron

AUSTIN in AZ

Comments On Jul 19, 2010:Awesome irons for those nasty stiff tires. So huge they could double as a weapon if needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A good addition to anyone's toolbox

MARK in IL

Comments On Jul 09, 2010:This tire iron has a nice, wide spoon which keeps dents away from the rim. Plenty of leverage to install those pesky brand-new 19" rear tires on a cold day!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

caulin in OH

Comments On Jun 22, 2010:For some reason I got them for 6.99 a piece. It came to $14 for 2. Must have been a glitch because they are more expensive now. Even with the price now i would get them all over again. They didnt bend and the leverage was great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great! I am ordering 3 more!

GUY in WA

Comments On Jun 09, 2010:Just the ticket for changing you own tires, leverage is good and shape of spoon works perfect. This will make five, I own. Going to put some in the trailer and at the shop too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Save money

KENNETH in NJ

Comments On May 11, 2010:Buy this and the motion pro set and you will save a ton of money by being able to do your own tires. The leverage this thing creates is insane.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buy it

Chris in WY

Comments On Apr 20, 2010:Very strong and heavy duty tool. Its a must have tool to get it done fast and simple and half the price as other tire irons. Dont let the price get to you. people always say "you get what you pay for" and this tool isnt frangile at all, its solid steel and aluminum. I didnt have any problems with them and i didnt pinch the tube for the first time. Its gana save me $25 everytime i need to change my tire or fix a flat. It did more than save me money the first time i used it. It also saved the gas money to drive to the motorcycle shop, and the wait time to get it fixed. So now im gana get a bead buddy. Buy it, its well worth it. I bought two.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Had to order one more

Douglas in OR

Comments On Feb 26, 2010:This is a great item; buy two. I kick butt on tires with this. It used to be that changing tires was a bad thing. With this bad boy leverage is on my side. I even change tires for friends now so I can get faster at it. Need help? Watch You Tube video from Dunlop on tire changing it will help your speed. Also it's TUSK good stuff cheap price. You will need the bead buddy TUSK offers. BUY IT!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Handy iron

Mark in CA

Comments On Feb 25, 2010:This a good iron for those hard to remove tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tire changing made easy

MARC in CA

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:these are the best tire irons you can hands down. these give you all the leverage you need to change tires quickly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good but spoon was a little thick

dan in CA

Comments On Dec 12, 2009:good tire iron but spoon was a little thick

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire iron

Mark in OK

Comments On Nov 22, 2009:great tire iron works well.
tusk has suprised me with their quality/prices

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good workhourse for tire irons

BRENT in CA

Comments On Sep 20, 2009:These big tire irons a good additions to the 10" levers. You will want a set of the smaller tire irons for the MX tires. These big spoons can't be used for that last section where things get tight.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pleasantly surprised

KEVIN in OH

Comments On Aug 14, 2009:I was nervous about this tire Iron due to the price but after receiving it I am extremely impressed. This is a very well made tool. Good solid construction.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not perfect

TYLER in OH

Comments On Jul 09, 2009:These irons are extremely large and are not exactly the idea iron for removing the tire. I had to struggle getting the lip under the rubber when taking the 3rd byte on pulling the bead up, had to use a flatblade screw driver. Installation of the tire was an absolute breeze, highly recommend 2 of these for installation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good

LEONARD in MO

Comments On Jun 27, 2009:Works good and has plenty of leverage when changing or putting a tire on. Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get This!!

Adam in WV

Comments On Apr 19, 2009:Awesome tire iron!! Changed both of my tires in 30 minutes. A must if you go through the tires like I do.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Too big for 65cc and 85cc tires

dave in MD

Comments On Mar 28, 2009:The spoon's profile is too thick for replacing tires on smaller bikes, e.g. KX65 and KX85. However, it is a quality product. I prefer the Tusk 12" for the smaller bikes. I'll probably grind it down to a thinner profile. Can't say how it works on larger rims.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have

Gary in CO

Comments On Dec 12, 2008:If you're changing your own tires or fixing flats this tool is a must. You'll be very glad you bought it. RM-ATV shipped fast and accurately filled my order. Thanks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good

MYLES in CA

Comments On Oct 05, 2008:These tire irons make changing tires super easy. The extra leverage that these have make all the difference.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk 17" Mega Tire Iron

sonny in MA

Comments On Oct 01, 2008:This tire lever is the best thing ever made, I changed my tire so easy and fast, for the first time with this 17" tire lever.....GREAT GREAT, worth its weight in gold

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TUSK 17" MEGA TIRE IRON

fred in IA

Comments On May 06, 2008:THESE IRONS ARE HEAVY, AND OF GOOD QUALITY. MAKES TIRE CHANGES EASY.

Was this review helpful?