Tusk Fork Oil Level Tool

Customer Reviews for Tusk Fork Oil Level Tool

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 51 Reviews

Return to Tusk Fork Oil Level Tool Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Fork Oil Level Tool Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good to have.

STEVE in IN

Comments On May 28, 2014:If you do your own suspension maintenance, this is much better than measuring oil level with a ruler!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't really go wrong

KEITH in UT

Comments On May 08, 2014:Simple tool works as advertised. Check the demensions etched on the tube with a quality scale, mine was off close to 5MM

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

Rob in CO

Comments On Apr 16, 2014:As always it was a seamless purchase from Rocky Mountain ATV/MC.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great, Easy to Use Tool

james in AZ

Comments On Feb 11, 2014:Simple, easy, does the job. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great price

Russell in AL

Comments On Jan 19, 2014:pretty handy little tool. Makes fork work a little bit easier

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Inexpensive alternative

Jeff in CO

Comments On Nov 12, 2013:Absolutely does the job, and I've used it many times. You will need to lube the plunger now and then, but that's common for this type of suction tool.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works Great

Tobias in ND

Comments On Apr 15, 2013:Works great so far. It says single use on the pump. Used it twice so far and no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fork oil Level Tool Review

Jacob in CO

Comments On Mar 22, 2013:Good price... Gets the job done... hard to pull back the plunger.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Edwin in CA

Comments On Mar 01, 2013:cant do the job with out this tool

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool

JOSH in UT

Comments On Dec 17, 2012:after uses it seems to stick quite a bit but im sure all of them do a must have when rebuilding forks

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

clint in OR

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:Good deal on this one for occasional garage use. Would not recommend for professional shop use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fork oil tool

craig in IL

Comments On Oct 18, 2012:name brand tools without the name brand hype.tusk by far is the leader in the diy garage.buy any of their products and be surprised on how much more u can b impressed each time u get a new tool from them.the fit finish and durability is unsurpassed then u have the customer service n support

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tool

Jeramy in VA

Comments On Oct 07, 2012:This is a good tool for the price. Only issue is pulling heavier weight oil through it. A little more of a pain, but managable. That is pretty minor for getting this at a great RM price.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

good tool

KEITH in CA

Comments On Jul 26, 2010:Makes adjusting the fluid level easy. It says one time use on the side of the syringe so I dont know what that is for. I was pretty pleased with it. It is pretty difficult to suck the 10w fluid through the tiny straw. But overall I was happy.

Additional Comments On Oct 01, 2012:So now that I have had this tool for 2 years and have done at least 4 sets of forks and have another 3 more jobs for friends in mind I realize that the syringe itself is really kind of useless after one or two uses. I think the rubber itself either swells or maybe it drys out so that when you go to set the fluid level and you pull the plunger, it takes all your might if the rubber is dry. So what I did to fix it is just take fork fluid and rub it on the rubber part of the sryinge and its enough to lube the sryinge so that way it doesn't take as much effort to pull. Overall, Its a good that for the average joe makes this an easy and doable job. Got my moneys worth on this tool!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

DAVID in FL

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:tusk are great products cheaper than other brands

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ever mechanic needs this

ART in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good products, but...

Mark in MO

Comments On Jul 09, 2012:Works like you would expect it to, but thought it strange that the directions say the syringe is only for one use due to oil contamination. Really? Just make sure you clean it very well, spray in some plastic or rubber protectant and it was fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool handy and easy to use .

TERRY in KS

Comments On Apr 14, 2012:Great tool handy and easy to use .must have changing fork oil is a must and this makes getting the level easy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok if you plan to replace the syringe

RONALD in NM

Comments On Oct 02, 2011:The plunger rubber in the syringe swells over time making the tool almost impossible to use. So it's just ok if you plan to replace the syringe regularly.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Jack in MI

Comments On Mar 21, 2011:Great tool for the price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Stephen in VA

Comments On Feb 07, 2011:Great tool, especially if you do fork seals yourself.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good very simple

Darren in QLD

Comments On Nov 04, 2010:Simple quick easy. Buy one. The laser etched markings are a big bonus

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for KTM open chamber forks

RONALD D. in IA

Comments On Oct 25, 2010:Saves lots of time and easy to use setting the oil height in my KTM OC forks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good enough

Scott in AL

Comments On Sep 13, 2010:I wouldn't call this a precision "instrument" but it certainly gets the job done for the home mechanic. Just remember, if your looking for a tool that's going to last a lifetime you'll want to invest more money in higher quality.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did the job but...

JEFFREY in MO

Comments On Aug 26, 2010:Did the job but the plunger was hard to pullout when drawing oil and the markings on the plastic wiped off once they got oil on them. Marking on the metal tube are fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stop guessing

Bryant in NV

Comments On Aug 18, 2010:With this handy little tool you will always have the right amount of fork oil in your fork tubes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Restrictive

Jack in FL

Comments On Aug 02, 2010:Once the fluid has been retrieved to the syringe it is restrictive on removing the fluid from it. It does a nice job on the level of fluid.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tusk

Travis in CA

Comments On May 08, 2010:this is an essential tool if u have forks that need to be measured, its really hard to get the level accurate if not for this tool so if ur changing ur seals u need this part. make sure to put a little lube on the plastic parts tho so it will slide easier

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tool!

Max in UT

Comments On Feb 16, 2010:This tool is a must, I double checked every thing with measuring gauge after using the tool and everything was spot on. Would recommend, Once you know it is accurate makes changing fork oil a snap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does the trick but...

James in CT

Comments On Jan 05, 2010:that darn plunger is tough to press!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

must have!!

clint in TN

Comments On Oct 13, 2009:This tool works slick! great investment if you change your own seals. I have used mine a dozen times with no problems.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Affordable, but not the best

BRENT in CA

Comments On Sep 20, 2009:I love my Tusk tools and have many of them. This tool is hard to use. The oil tubing is too small or I have some blockage. I have to work very hard to draw out the oil. A turkey baster with some tubing works better. I am maintaining forks on 3 bikes in our house, plus friends. I am servicing somebodys forks about once a month. I need it too much to deal with a non-performing tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works

jaeron in ID

Comments On Sep 14, 2009:is what is

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A "must have"

Owen in WV

Comments On Aug 25, 2009:I am a total rookie "wrench man" for my boys on YZ250F's. Did my first front fork over-haul today. Setting the 145mm oil level for the inner chamber was a BREEZE, with this tool - even for a novice like me.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

works but flawed

ERIK in NV

Comments On Mar 11, 2009:Nice but requires too much effort to pull back the plunger to suck oil out of the fork. Then it requires too much effort to push the plunger to put that oil back in the bottle.
You really need three hands: one to hold the level tool on the fork, one to hold the syringe body, one to pull the overly stiff plunger.
TECH NOTES - It works much better if the rubber plunger is lightly greased.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked Perfectly

Peter M in NV

Comments On Mar 23, 2009:Used it on the forks of my 04 KX500. It was very easy to use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Performs perfectly

KYLE in UT

Comments On Mar 19, 2009:I had no problems using this when I did my forks. It is an excellent tool. Tusk makes good products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Price!!!!

Benny in CA

Comments On Feb 17, 2009:Another fine product from Tusk!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Can't read it.

DOUG in TX

Comments On Jan 10, 2009:It works great for the syringe part, but you can not read the oil on mesuring part at all. What I'm saying is that you can read the measurments (numbers) on the metal tube, you just can't tell where the oil level is on the tube. Needs to be a different color or something.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK product

Chad in OR

Comments On Nov 25, 2008:Like the measuring rod and easy to adjust. The syringe is horrible and is very hard to pull and push. Wish they would have used a better syringe. still would recommend for non-pansy types.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

For the Average Joe.

GLADYS in NV

Comments On Jun 23, 2008:Probably would not find this tool at Dicks Racing or Race Tech! But for those of us who CAN read our owners manuals or log onto Thumpertalk for advise, it is perfect. Gives the peace of mind concerning fork oil level for the home mechanic.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good with experience

ETHAN in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2008:This product makes adding and removing oil easy if you know how to do it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It works...

DOUGLAS in CA

Comments On Feb 20, 2008:It works

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good, Not Great

MARK in OK

Comments On Feb 18, 2008:This is a good tool that is one step away from being great. The syringe is very hard to use. The amount of force required to move fluid in and out of the syringe is so great that it takes two hands. I may try find my own syringe that is easier to use.
One other small concern was the aluminum suction tube was inserted into the plastic tubing 180* out. I flipped it over and all was well. The distance markings were spot on.
All in all it was worth the $20 for convenience but it's not up to typical Tusk standards/value

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Price But..

Paul in WV

Comments On Jan 26, 2008:Inexpensive, but not as easy to use as some of the more expensive tools. a good tool for the rider who does his own fork service. I would buy a better tool if I were doing fork service daily.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

no directions

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Nov 10, 2007:not exactly sure how to use it. I do alot of my own work but never had one of these. Just came in a bag with no info on how to make sure you use it right. I'll give it a try but not sure on this one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This tool is perfect for new yamaha suspension

JASON in CA

Comments On Nov 06, 2007:Perfect for measuring oil in inner cartridge on new Yamaha's

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Fork Oil Level Tool

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:The oil level tool worked as it should except that the marks on the tube were off by a few millimeters. I used a set of calipers to set the depth of the tube.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great value

JASON in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Can't beat the price and the product. I have used it multiple times on different machines.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oil level tool

ANTHONY in TX

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Works but it is not very user friendly. Next purchase will be a different design.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best price

Tyler in IA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This worked awsome! if you change your own fork seals or want to adjust oil heights it is a must have. By far the best price I have come accross.

Was this review helpful?