Tusk Brake Pad - Sintered Metal

Customer Reviews for Tusk Brake Pad - Sintered Metal

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 215 Reviews

Return to Tusk Brake Pad - Sintered Metal Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Brake Pad - Sintered Metal Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:I now only use Tusk brand brake pads because they are as good as other brands but at a fraction of the cost.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok

CALEB in IL

Comments On Jul 23, 2010:good as any other brand

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great!

Dillon in VA

Comments On Jun 23, 2010:great product for money!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Installed RM85L

Danny & Lorrie in OK

Comments On Jun 12, 2010:The sintered metal pad is the same as the high dollar set. My son did not even know I switched his renthal rc1 pad for the tusk pad. He races motocross and I did not tell him I put new pads on untill the races was over and he did not know a thing. He is a Supermini rider, and can tell me any twitch the bike has, so if they did not work as well, he would have told me. Tusk just got into my tool box and back up parts. Need to place another order for some back up parts and Tusk will be on it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

z400

Adam in OH

Comments On May 25, 2010:Installed on front brakes for z400 do not feel strong at all. Orignal brakes were much nicer. Have had several rides on them and are not improving

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Brake Pad (Sintered Metal)

ROBERT in NV

Comments On May 09, 2010:Installed on a 2004 WR450. The bike is primarily ridden in the desert of Northern Nevada. High speed roads, long steep down-hills, and super technical riding, have not failed me yet and this is my second set. Would purchase again. A+

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Brakes

Tyler in KY

Comments On Feb 15, 2010:So far these Brakes have performed very well. I have had them for about 4-5 months without any problems at all. Great Brakes for a Great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good brakes

STEVE in IN

Comments On Feb 12, 2010:Works well except in extremely wet conditions. Severely reduced braking power and noisy with my stainless rotor when subjected to lots of water.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

Stacy in ME

Comments On Feb 08, 2010:So far these breaks have been working great.
My Disk wasnt in the best of shape but these pads slipped on without any issues and with a little wear have seated quite nicely.
So far I am a very happy customer - I will be buying a second set just to keep around as we ride alot in the mountains so alot of up and downhill ( breaks required )

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Brakes

Jayson in MA

Comments On Feb 04, 2010:They stop on a dime!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great pads!

Rhett in OH

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:Put them on my YZ250F and they have lasted a very long time. Would definitely buy again and again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Has become the standard

Owen in WV

Comments On Dec 10, 2009:I have 2 boys. 2007 and 2008 YZ250F's racing MX. Have found the Tusk pads to be as good as anything else we've tried. But way less expensive. No brainer as to what is on their bikes right now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stopping power

William in PA

Comments On Oct 06, 2009:these pads work great and can stop on a dime. tusk products are cheap but they work great

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 race-"GONE"!!!!!!!

Jeff in AR

Comments On Sep 07, 2009:As I said in the title,one 2hr XC no rear brakes. I could hear them about half way thru. There is no pad left on either side,metal to metal. I bought these in a hurry. I won't make that mistake again. Maybe this will save someone else money. Also, the fronts seem to wear better put they do not stop very well. You could blow a corner with them very easily.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy the EBC

Tom in ME

Comments On Jul 06, 2009:Lasted about half a ride, the wear portion on one side broke off.
Get the EBC, worth the extra money. If it makes you feel any better, the EBC are $51 in Canada at the local dealer.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love these pads

Tony in NC

Comments On Jul 07, 2009:These are the only brake pads I use. Good stopping power, good wear. May not last quiet as long as name brand but they last really well and cost about half of what name brand pads cost. I actually like the fact that they are slightly softer because they don't seem to wear on the rotors as much. Buy 'em you'll like 'em.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good brake bad for the occasional trail rider

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jun 03, 2009:Brake feel was good but one ride in the wet sand washes in Utah destroyed them. I think they would hold up fine in most other conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just as good as EBC

Josh in WA

Comments On May 27, 2009:The rear is all I've tried so far and they feel identical to the EBC... for half the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very good brakes

Mark in CA

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:These work better than the competitve brands pads I was using. I am very happy with the quality and price. Thanks Tusk!
Additional Comments On May 26, 2009:I have been using these on several bikes for the past few years. Very happy! equal to or better than EBC sintered.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rear Brake Pads 400ex

BRANDON in SC

Comments On May 17, 2009:The product was terrible, rode twice in wet mud and some creeks, pads did not last. spend the extra money and get the EBC's they last alot longer

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good pads

Jonathan in NC

Comments On May 05, 2009:overall these pads are decent, but they haven't lasted as long as i thought they would.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Working good so far

Matt in NV

Comments On Apr 20, 2009:Only had them on for about 5 rides but they seem to be working great with the tusk rotor on my 660 Raptor.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for the price

KENNETH A. in VA

Comments On Apr 13, 2009:We have been using tusk brakes for several years now and note that they stand up well, brake well in all conditions and seem to be the best all around choice for the price.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tear it up.

Roy in IL

Comments On Mar 29, 2009:Lets face it, riding in the dirt can be hard on the machine. Here in Illinois we get some nasty, muddy terrain that eats brakes. Why pay more for something you're just going to trash. On my street bike I go with high end brakes. On the dirt bike, the tire will lose traction before the brake pads can't cope. Save your money and use the Tusk. It's all I've bought for years now for mine and my son's bikes.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A++++++++

Tyler in IA

Comments On Oct 31, 2007:These pads work better than anything I have ever tried. they last long and work great. I have raced a lot of off-road races and have been very impressed. I would recomend these brakes!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Work good

ZAC in OH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Good price and the work good too. What elce do you need???
Additional Comments On Mar 12, 2009:Rears on my z400 were gone after less than 3 hard rides. GOing to by 1 more set and give them another shot

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ruined Rotor

Aaron in OH

Comments On Feb 25, 2009:These only lasted a week on my Trailblazer 250. They also put huge gouges in my rotor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Thanks Tusk!!

Benny in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2009:Good product at an excellent price!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

MATTHEW in MA

Comments On Mar 18, 2009:Good price, good wear, good performance!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not GOOD FOR MUD

saule in TN

Comments On Feb 08, 2009:REAR PADS Lasted me about 1 month (200miles), Front 70% left.:-). If you ride in wet/muddy conditions buy a better pad.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good !

BRIAN in OH

Comments On Feb 03, 2009:Good stopping power, good wear, great price !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good in some conditions

Adam in OH

Comments On Dec 15, 2008:I put these on my '08 KTM in the spring and they lasted longer than the OEM pads as they ran through the summer and into the fall. But when I ran a second set in some wet sand/mud conditions they were gone in one ride. I saw I was not the first to have this issue. I am going to try EBC next.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a great buy

JOHN in VA

Comments On Dec 16, 2008:these pads work as well as any other and the NY mud destroys them quickly, why pay more, i will be getting more

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brake Pad Separated From Backing Plate.

PHILIP in IN

Comments On Sep 14, 2008:I was disappointed. One of the rear brake pads separated from the backing plate on my first ride and nearly ruined the brake disc. Maybe this was a fluke but it cost me time and $$$!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Affordable brake pads, decent stopping power

KENNETH in NJ

Comments On Oct 08, 2008:For the price, you really can't complain. They offer decent stopping power and have held on for over 20 hours so far. They do have a tendency to fade on long hard rides, but again, you get what you pay for and these are good but for the racetrack really.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Something wrong here - bad batch?

ROBERT in NC

Comments On Aug 31, 2008:If you had asked me a month ago what I thought of these pads, I would have given them high praise and a 5-star rating. My normal practice area is, as a general rule, fairly muddy and nasty, and these pads have -always- held up at least as well as, if not better than, EBC gold.
However, my most recent set of Tusk rear pads lasted only one afternoon, aprox 16 miles of single track, before needing to be replaced. I've never seen a pad wear this quickly. Ever. My only guess is that they either got a bad batch or a new manufacturer. At any rate, I can no longer recommend these pads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great pads great price.

COLE in UT

Comments On Aug 24, 2008:Great pads great price. fit like oem. work very very well. easy to install and you can't beat tusks price and quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good pads

MIKE in OK

Comments On Aug 13, 2008:These are holding up well after five rides, two of then in the mud. Good feel on the rear of my YZ250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

First junk from Tusk

TIM in MO

Comments On Jul 15, 2008: I guess I should have stuck with EBC. Only two races and they are metal to metal.I have bought many Tusk products from RMATV.This is the first to be a waste of money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not to good!

jeffrey in SC

Comments On May 27, 2008:lasted about 6 hours terrible situation!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

01 660 raptor

Lee in PA

Comments On Jun 02, 2008:so far is holding up good to a bent rotor

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best pads for the price

MITCHELL in WA

Comments On May 07, 2008:Stop good & don't squeak

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent set of pads

Christian in CA

Comments On Apr 18, 2008:Threw em on along with the Tusk front rotor. Front brakes squeak upon initial braking. Not sure if its the pads or the rotor. They stop the bike fine, can't say if they stop it any better then the stockers.. but I would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

where is the heat deflector?

MCKAY in AR

Comments On Apr 16, 2008:I ordered some new tusk pads and they came without the heat deflector so i have to remove it from my worn out set and put them on my new ones.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not the greatest....

BRANDON in OR

Comments On Apr 02, 2008:I bought these pads for my 91 LT250R and they lasted me one ride. Switched to EBC severe duty and am much more pleased.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Absolute JUNK!!!

ANDY in PA

Comments On Mar 31, 2008:Do not waste your money on these pads. They are cheap and horrible. I changed them before a big woods ride, and they lasted about an hour and a half. Needless to say I was very dissapointed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Price

CHAD in AZ

Comments On Mar 27, 2008:They seem to last as long as long as any pads i have used. Good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the price

roddy in TX

Comments On Mar 16, 2008:They're worth the price and last a bit longer than stock, but nothing is going to hold up for long in the mud

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

GREG in NV

Comments On Mar 19, 2008:Great Pads. I use them all the time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just as good as the name brand

Jayme in IL

Comments On Mar 18, 2008:I decided to by the tusk brand brakes both front and rear and I am very pleased. Long lasting so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product!

TIMOTHY in VA

Comments On Mar 14, 2008:Great Product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stopping power

NICHOLAS in ME

Comments On Mar 11, 2008:Great stopping power with alot of meat on them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TUSK BRAKE PADS

SCOTT in RI

Comments On Mar 12, 2008:GREAT PADS FOR THE MONEY,HOLD UP WELL IN ALL CONDITIONS

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I LIKE GOING FAST AS MUCH AS I LIKE STOPPING

GRETCHEN in NV

Comments On Mar 06, 2008:BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK. I FELT THEY WORK WAY BETTER THAN FACTORY. THEY HAD A CONSISTENT FEEL THROUGH OUT A WHOLE DAY OF RIDING. I WENT DOWN SOME GNARLY HILLS AND THEY HAD GREAT FEEL. AWESOME BUY. THANKS TUSK.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Brake Pad

MARK in CT

Comments On Mar 05, 2008:Easy install, performs as expected.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wear out too fast

kreg in NC

Comments On Mar 04, 2008:I got these for a special weekend trip for the rear end of my kfx400. I burned thru them in one weekend. Granted, the place where I went was muddy and sandy, but still, one weekend? Performance was great but I will not buy these again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

PATRICIA in IL

Comments On Feb 25, 2008:Long lasting in mud!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Like em

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:They are very good for the price and will buy em again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cheap pads

TRAVIS in NC

Comments On Feb 07, 2008:Just like the Tusk clutch plates, spend a few more dollars and buy the EBC pads. The Tusk pads groove up real bad and wear out in a hurry.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1.5 years and still in good shape.

DARRYL in VA

Comments On Feb 11, 2008:I have been using these pads on the rear of my 426 for a little over 18 months of Sunday rides with very little wear, this is the third pair of pads I've put on my bike, and they have lasted the longest so far, I'm very pleased with them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT PADS

Jessica in MO

Comments On Feb 07, 2008:WHAT CAN I SAY TUSK MAKES A GREAT AFFORDABLE PAD

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not so good

MARC in AZ

Comments On Feb 07, 2008:This doesnt seem to be a very good long lasting pad for faster riders.It didnt last 1/2 as long as the stock pads on my KTM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Brake Pad

JEREMY in MO

Comments On Feb 03, 2008:Works very well and for a great price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great pads for the price.

Eugene in NY

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:These brake pads don't last a long time but they stand up well to bad riding conditions and their value can't be beat for the price as is usually the case with Tusk products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

Micheal in OH

Comments On Jan 27, 2008:nice pads for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great value

BLAINE in ND

Comments On Jan 24, 2008:Another great Tusk value.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not for fast machine!!

Mike in OH

Comments On Jan 19, 2008:I installed these pads and heard griding noise on my 3rd ride. Inspected pads, and found none left!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Ben in OR

Comments On Jan 21, 2008:nice brake pad for the money. nothing fancy but gets the job done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far, so good

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jan 18, 2008:I put these on my '07 YZ250 because my stock pair burnt out on my. These are holding up very well and stop my wheels like no tomorrow. Worth the little extra in costs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

long life

john in OH

Comments On Dec 25, 2007:good dry and mud performance

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok for the dunes

MATTHEW in IL

Comments On Dec 21, 2007:Theese brake pads are probably ok for dune rideing, but perform baldy when wet. If you are planing on mud and water like me, I would not recomend theese.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk pads for Z400

Warren in WA

Comments On Dec 10, 2007:put the Tusk Sintered metallics on an '04 Z400, REAR. They were completely gone in about 3 rides, with MINIMAL braking applications. I think mud & crud got wedged between rotor & pads, and wore out the pads. Now using the EBC extreme duty on rears and being very careful to keep them clean.
The Tusks are fine on the front.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tusk brake pad

ROBERT in VA

Comments On Dec 07, 2007:very good fit and last a lot longer than others

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best I've Used

Craig in AE

Comments On Dec 03, 2007:These pads have lasted a long time and still have great braking feel

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great quality

DAN in UT

Comments On Dec 03, 2007:I have lots of miles on these pads and they still work great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not so good

SEAN in UT

Comments On Nov 23, 2007:Purchased for Sportsman 500. These pads squeak and it's because they are cheap pads, I would go with the carbon.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't buy these!

MIKE in OH

Comments On Nov 22, 2007:Gone after just1 ride. Replaced the Tusk pads with EBC sintered and the EBC pads are still good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Work fine.

TIM in OH

Comments On Nov 23, 2007:Good price on a nice set of brake pads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good pads

MICHAEL in MO

Comments On Nov 23, 2007:I have purchased several tusk items and all are just as good if not better than the higher priced named brands. These pads hold up well for my style of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good brakes

KENNY in TX

Comments On Nov 20, 2007:i put these on my z400 and they work great, no sqeaking at all! worked well even after going to mud and water!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

4 star

Justin in IN

Comments On Nov 09, 2007:good long lasting easy to install brake pads at a rocky mountain price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Brake Pad

BRIAN in MD

Comments On Nov 06, 2007:Tough brake pads that last a while.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

hard to put on but work great

vicki in NJ

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:These were a pain to put on my 400ex, i dont know why but after they wore down they have worked great! Awsome stoppage power in wet, muddy and dry comditions i'll always buy these now because they are cheap and work great!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

work good

JAMES in AZ

Comments On Nov 01, 2007:work fine and good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusking IT

JIMMY in TN

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:These pads have been great so far!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brake pads

Joseph in OK

Comments On Oct 27, 2007:Great price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

choose wisely

STEVE in IN

Comments On Oct 27, 2007:ride in the mountains a lot. will last about 4 days of heavy riding in moderate to heavy conditions. factory pads only lasted 2 days and cost nearly twice as much. my opinion, worth every penny spent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

brake pads

STANLEY in TX

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:good product. good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product !!!!!!!!

JEREMY in AL

Comments On Oct 26, 2007:The brakes were a big improvement over stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These are great !

STEVEN in SC

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:These pads fit great and worked great !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good brakes

BRENDAN in PA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:last long for me and they have a bite to them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

PATRICK in NJ

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:good stopping power. wear kinda quick though

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stop it

Freddy in AR

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:good product,good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk brake pads

JUSTIN in MO

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:Better than oem.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stoppie anyone?

DAVE in PA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Another good product from Tusk.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

marks review

MARK in OH

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:works great on my 400 ex great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good pads for the money.

KEITH in KY

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:These seem to wear out quick, but I don't have a ton of experience with different pads to know how they relate to other brands.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok brakes

MELVIN in TN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:ok brakes for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tusk brakes

THOMAS in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:these are an alright set of brakes if your concern is the price but they just don't last as long as the EBC's

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Pads

James in IL

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:A great pad for a low price

Was this review helpful?