Primary Drive 520 H Gold Racing Chain Master Link

Customer Reviews for Primary Drive 520 H Gold Racing Chain Master Link

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 86 Reviews

Return to Primary Drive 520 H Gold Racing Chain Master Link Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Primary Drive 520 H Gold Racing Chain Master Link Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works

chris in MN

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:Works Good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works fine

John in IL

Comments On Dec 01, 2013:Ran this chain on a YZ125. No problems

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These chains haven't failed me yet

Brian in AZ

Comments On Jun 07, 2013:I keep buying new chains just for looks, have 2 back-ups that I am 100% confident in!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent value For money

Peter in NSW

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:A great product for a great price 5 rides now, has settled in beautifully, cops a flogging

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent chain

Larry in NSW

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:Nice strong chain, wont stretch as easy as some other brands. Gold is holding up fairly well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A basic need that works great

TODD in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2012:Basic hardware and have had great performance in the past. Why pay more?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best bang for the buck

ART in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Nice long lasting chain,

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

why pay more

KEVIN in TX

Comments On Aug 02, 2012:works and last fine on my rm250 stretched a little then settled in. on my crf450 have to adjust small amounts every 3 rides, for the price difference im good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff!

Fred in OH

Comments On Feb 13, 2012:I have been buying Rocky Mountains house brand for years! It has never failed me and lasts just as long as the more expensive chains.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Raptor 660

Evan in NL

Comments On Nov 22, 2011:Looks awesome, so far holding up good!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Chain

Tarron

Comments On Oct 28, 2011:Put this chain on my bike and after the first initial adjustment I have not had any problems with it after many miles of abuse.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

garbage

james in UT

Comments On Oct 23, 2011:It stretches every time I ride. Generates lots of heat and is hard to keep lubed. Just after a few rides the links are already starting to kink and I lube it alot. Dont buy, spend the extra money and get a real chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT!@!@!@@!@! BEST CHAIN

shane in FL

Comments On Oct 13, 2011:I have just got this chain. i thought after my hard full throttle running doing wheelies on the 1st 5hr ride would stretch it but no@!@! DON'T LISTEN TO ALL THE PEOPLE WHO SAY IT Stretches. Unless you have a bike that is like 450CC bored out with like tons of torque , this chain runs nice ... I run it on a 04 yz 250f geared 14/47 and man i can do over 85+ i smoke stock-to jetted piped banshees.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stretch

DAVID in CA

Comments On Sep 16, 2011:alot of stretch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good!!!

Alan in SC

Comments On Jul 05, 2011:Put it on my 2004 KX125, it seems like much better quality than the stock chain. Plus it looks awesome in gold.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Chain Great Price

SPENCER in AZ

Comments On Jun 18, 2011:For the price Primary Drive is a good chain. I used to run a Renthal R1 Gold and it was great and never stretched. I was worried that buying this brand would be a mistake, but I was wrong. My buddies say it looks sick. It stretched alot after the first ride and I have had to adjust it a couple of times, but checking/adjusting your chain tension should be a pre-ride ritual. I would buy again. Especially for the price and having some extra dollars left for new grips, etc., was kinda nice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

primary drive

DAVID in PA

Comments On Jun 13, 2011:this chain is great for my two boys lt 80's they have got a lot of riding on that chain !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain

KIRK in MT

Comments On Jul 08, 2010:Ive had this chain on for 2 years now and stll showing no wear.
Additional Comments On Mar 10, 2011:I have had this chain on my ktm 300 for 2 years now and its still in good shape very strong chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive is the way to go

Daniel in NY

Comments On Mar 10, 2011:I have always used primary drive chains , they last long and never gave me a problem

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value....

DENNIS in MO

Comments On Mar 06, 2011:This chain is as good a value in a racing chain as you'll get. There are other chains that may be more durable, but you can buy two of these for the price of some of the more well-known name brands. I've had one on my YZ250F for about two years now. I'm a practice rider, but I ride in mud and dust, and I'm a big guy, so the chain has a lot of work to do. If you have to have the name brands, one of these is an excellent spare.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Dave in NJ

Comments On Feb 16, 2011:Aweomse price good chain. I beat up a lot of chains through out the year and this one can take it. Thumbs up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

520 H gold chain(Primary Drive)

Kevin in CA

Comments On Feb 15, 2011:Very similar to the other chains but much cheaper. Seems to be of similar quality and gold finish is nice. I have not had any issues so far w about 10 hours on the bike. Running on a 2 stroke yz250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

MIKE in UT

Comments On Jan 08, 2011:I've been using PD chains and sprockets for a few years and I've been very happy. The chain does not stretch very much and doesn't need constant tightening. I highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain gang

jonathan in OH

Comments On Aug 04, 2010:mine seamed to stretch badly. maybe im hard on stuff. cant keep lubed with the gold. oil seams to fling off faster. seemed to generate alot of heat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very strong

JAY in CA

Comments On Jul 15, 2010:Love these chains. Run them on all my bikes and all customer bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain for the money

Mike in PA

Comments On Jul 09, 2010:Well I went cheap and decided to get this chain... But I have about 8 hours of heavy riding on this thing and I have only adjusted it once... This thing is anything but junk. Looks trick too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great looking chain

Clayton in KS

Comments On Jul 06, 2010:I've had this on my bike for several months now and it still looks great and it didn't stretch much. Great buy!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Its a good chain. No problems.

CAMERON in UT

Comments On Jul 05, 2010:I use this on my trail bike. No problems for me. Long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not for me

ISRAEL in OR

Comments On Mar 03, 2010:this chains stretches and then it will stretch a little more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

new chain

GREGORY in CA

Comments On Feb 23, 2010:first chain I have bought from Rocky Mountain installed on a 1987 quadzilla. very good quality has held up well very little stretch after riding 12hrs+ will buy again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's a good chain 8/10

DUSTIN in UT

Comments On Jan 19, 2010:I bought this chain just before the big weekend in Dumont. Yes it did stretch as expected. I adjusted it twice during the weekend however taking into consideration it's 118 links long on a +6" swingarm with substantial hp. I put it through its paces with 90% drag racing. After the second adjustment, it was fine for the rest of the trip. For the money, great. For the quality, good. Did exactly what I expected of it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice chain

Daniel in MD

Comments On Jan 18, 2010:I love the new chain. installation instructions are very clear and very easy to install. will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Stretches to much for me

Clayton in OH

Comments On Dec 31, 2009:This chain lasted almost a entire season. Be prepared for some major stretching with this chain. I have to tighten this chain every ride. On the first ride I had to tighten it once an hour. For the price it was OK though

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Broke

KYLE in NY

Comments On Sep 24, 2009:put chain on ltr-450 with 490 kit. had chain adjusted right a dozens of times because of stretching then the chain snapped. master link held up though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works for me.

Jeffrey in VA

Comments On Sep 12, 2009:Installed new front and rear gears with this chain. After about 30 min of riding adjusted the slack, hours of riding since and no problem, no more slack. Good chain, good price, love the gold chain on my yellow and black Suzuki.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My chain of choice

Pino in TX

Comments On Sep 03, 2009:I don't care for O-ring chains, nor do I enjoy paying $90+ for a chains. Chains on a high performace racing machine are expendable items just as tires and brake pads. I ride hard 1 - 2 times a week at the local track and get about 6 months use out of this chain. It is true about stretching, I have to adjust after every ride but after a 6 or 7 rides it settles in and stretch becomes minimal. If you race you will have the same results with the more expensive chains in my opinion. I prefer the good looks and value of this chain instead. I can buy 2 for the price of some of the other chains out there. I'll stick with this one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

JEFFREY in CA

Comments On Aug 08, 2009:why buy the name brands and pay more?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Race chain

Mark in CA

Comments On May 09, 2008:Great chain. very durable for a non-O-ring.
Additional Comments On Jun 18, 2009:mine lasted pretty good, but I think I will go with the x-ring for off-road riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stretched and stretched and stretched........

NICHOLAS in CA

Comments On May 23, 2009:constantly had to adjust on my banshee. couldn't go on a ride without tools to adjust several times a day. Would not buy again and wouldn't recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

constantly have to adjust every hour or so..

eric in OH

Comments On Apr 27, 2009:spend the extra money and get a better chain gold finish comes off too

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not good...

Steve in TX

Comments On Apr 06, 2009:The chian got a kink in it after 2 months of use that I could not get out, even with a soaking in gasoline (i ride trails so might be better mx only). Gold finish doesnt stay on long either so might want to just go with the non-gold finish. Streches after almost every ride...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get ready to adjust...

Aaron in NV

Comments On Jan 31, 2009:From the time I put it on, til I had to cut out the first links...Constantly adjusting. CRF450R

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

STRETCH!

GORDAN in MD

Comments On Aug 03, 2008:This chain stretched way too much. I rolled my Suzuki Z400 down a hill and had some minor damage, but the chain had stretched so much that it slipped off while riding back. It bent my new sprocket, and I had to be towed!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MAJOR STRETCH PROBLEM

James in NY

Comments On Jul 29, 2008:Purchased for a CRF450. If you love to tighten your chain every hour of riding this chain is for you. Stock chains stretch far far less then this chain. Spend the extra cash and save yourself from contant chain adjustments and link removal after only 10 hours on the chain!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

350 WARRIOR

HENRY in NJ

Comments On Jun 30, 2008:GREAT PRODUCT!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain, Great Price

WILLIAM in WA

Comments On Jun 18, 2008:Don't let the price fool you. This chain holds up just as well as some of the more expensive chains.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain @ great price, lasts longer than stock

Christian in CA

Comments On Jun 05, 2008:As title states... Great stock replacment chain and easy to install!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gold racing chain

RICHARD in AZ

Comments On May 20, 2008:I have used RM's gold racing chain for years now and can honestly say that for the price you get what you pay for. It just stretches out far too much and after numerous practice sessions and racing I end up taking a link out so it fits again. I think I'm gonna move on up to a better chain like a DID ERT2 and see what happens. I do like the sprockets though. RM just needs to make colored rear sprockets like Renthal does.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tough chain

Tyler in IA

Comments On May 09, 2008:Raced a season with this chain on my YZ250. Lasted as long as the ERT chain I had before. Stretched a bit, but nothing out of the ordinary. I recomend this chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TRASH

shaun in WV

Comments On Apr 18, 2008:I had the chain on my polaris scrambler 500 for a couple months and it broke! ran it 7 times at most, and it also stretched considerably.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheap but works

KEN in OR

Comments On Apr 10, 2008:Stretched more than expected but not bad for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LIKE A CHAMP

mckay in VA

Comments On Mar 26, 2008:THIS CHAIN HAS BEEN GREAT SO FAR. I HAVE BEEN TO THE TRACK NUMEROUS TIMES. AS LONG AS YOUR CHAIN IS FIT AND ADJUSTED PROPERLY THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE IN THIS CHAIN AND ANY OTHER EXPENSIVE ONE. ROCKY MOUNTAIN GOT IT TO ME QUICK ALSO

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very little stretch noticed

JESSE in OK

Comments On Mar 20, 2008:Seems to be a good chain with very little stretch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

gold racing chain

GILBERT in MO

Comments On Mar 18, 2008:I can honestly say I am impressed with this chain. I run this chain on my drag banshee and I have 10 runs on it and about 3 hours of just riding around and it hasnt stretched but very little and it was so slight of a stretch that i haven't adjusted it yet, this chain is heavy duty. I love that, because this chain is pulling my 100 horsepower banshee!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive 520 H Gold Racing Chain

KIRK in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2008:As far as non O-Ring chains go, this worked just fine. Put on my 450 4-stroke, and was having to adjust the slack frequently. Racing with it would be fine, but since I do a lot of play riding in the desert (Mojave), the chain would be out of adjustment midway thru a long ride. Ended up buying an O-Ring and haven't looked back. Guess that was my bad for not having the experience/knowledge of the stress 4 strokes apply to the drive train. But, like I said, this is a great chain for what it is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best non oring chain

BILL in OR

Comments On Mar 06, 2008:/nice fit/good qualit/best bang for the buck/heavy duty

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gold racing chain

CHRIS in OR

Comments On Mar 01, 2008:Nice chain till you get it wet then wears out fast even with regular maintnice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Short life

CHRIS in CA

Comments On Feb 19, 2008:I bought this chain for my WR450 supermoto. I'm not used to non O-ring chains, but with a 160 rear tire, I need every millimeter of clearance I can get. But after 3 races and 1 practice day, it has stretched quite a bit. I'll stick with O-rings from now on and run them a little tighter.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good chain

ROBBIE in GA

Comments On Feb 19, 2008:good chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:Good chain and lasted for a long time on our CRF450R which eats chains for breakfast. Will buy again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

at least its cheap...

JASON in AZ

Comments On Feb 08, 2008:i ate threw one of these chains really quick on my 450f. i think you are better off just spending the extra cash so that you dont have to buy another chain every 2 months.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good spare chain to have in the trailer

BRIAN in OK

Comments On Feb 07, 2008:bought this as a spare to keep in the trailer. had to use it and it was fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What a Great Purchase!

WILLIAM in WA

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:Higher strength than the DID ERT chain, with a much lower price. I do recommend this chain to everyone.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Value!

ADAM in OH

Comments On Jan 23, 2008:For the price you can't beat it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT

David in WY

Comments On Jan 13, 2008:BEST LOOKING AND LONGEST LASTING CHAIN

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Value

terry in IA

Comments On Jan 06, 2008:A great value for my Yz 450F-Good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great affordible chain

KEVIN in NV

Comments On Dec 30, 2007:This chain fit perfect with no cutting and works great. so far no breakage and the gold color looks good too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best value

Rob in CT

Comments On Dec 23, 2007:works just like it should and quality is definitely good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great deal...

ANTHONY in NJ

Comments On Dec 07, 2007:I had the O-ring chains on my CRF450 but kept having issues with my front sprocket bolt coming loose. It's been good since I switched to this chain and it hasn't stretched that much throughout the riding season.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

PD 520

Thomas in NM

Comments On Nov 27, 2007:nice chain for the price, bought as a kit (chain and sprockets)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Golden bling

Geoff in BC

Comments On Nov 23, 2007:I needed a gold chain to match my polished orange chain guard.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Gold Racing Chain

Derek in PA

Comments On Nov 15, 2007:This chain would have to be one of the "best bangs for your buck". Why buy more expensive chain, when you can get the same quality for a substantially lower price?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great deal

Jeremy in ID

Comments On Nov 12, 2007:great chain for the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great racing chain!

CHAD in CA

Comments On Nov 06, 2007:This chain has a very low drag compared to other chains and is a great value.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

little time on her

RANDY in MD

Comments On Nov 05, 2007:so far so good! The master link was a pain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

DANNY in MO

Comments On Oct 30, 2007:good chain for the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sweet chain

SHANE in OH

Comments On Oct 30, 2007: for the price, its the best deal out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain at a very reasonable price

TIMOTHY in CA

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:I've used two of these and they hold up great. Team them up with PD sprockets and you have decent quality at a good price. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive 520 chain

Kelly in CO

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:This chain compares to the more expensive Renthal and D1D chains. I have been out several times riding cross country trails here in Colorado (Pikes Peak) area and we ride through some pretty rough trails on our Kawasaki KLX 450s.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain

RANDY in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Good chain for the price. Makes it a little less painful to replace the chain frequently.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

very strong

JOHN in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:this chain has been through some tough rides and hasnt even stretched much yet

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

On a budget

JEFF in UT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This is a good chain for the racer who can not afford the D.I.D. ert. Requires more adjustment but still protects against rust with plated links.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Value

JOHN in TX

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:TOP QUALITY CHAIN!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality chain

GLENN in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Quality chain as good as the top brands at 1/2 the price. Buy it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain

JASON in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Very good quality, at great price. As good any top brand.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

KYLE in FL

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Chain came sized correctly and held up well until I sold the quad. I will probably buy one for the LTR when she needs one.

Was this review helpful?