Renthal 520 R-1 Works Chain

Customer Reviews for Renthal 520 R-1 Works Chain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 61 Reviews

Return to Renthal 520 R-1 Works Chain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Renthal 520 R-1 Works Chain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value

Trae in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 25, 2014:I needed a new chain, and didn't want to spend a lot on it. I like the chain overall, but one reason I wanted a new chain was because my last chain kept chewing up my tire on the left. Even with adjusting it after coming off of the track, each time I can see where it eats at the knobs. Idk if it is just an issue with my bike or not, but I wanted this chain to stop the problem, but it didn't.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good looking chain!

jonathan in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:I didn't realize that chain itself had a master link included, and bought one to be shipped with it, Now I have an extra just in case! Installed easy, just used a pair of channel locks on the link to put the 'c' clip on. Chain looks great, even comes covered in wax. After the install you just have to clean it and lube it. Great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chains

Gary in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:You can't beat the quality for the price on these chains. I prefer them over oring chains and have them on several bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

Jacob in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 SUZUKI RMZ250

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:A great chain and obviously if it's good enough for the pros then it's good enough for me. Great chain and lasted a long time never noticed any premature wear or tearing up my sprockets as long as your keep it lubed before you ride.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

DANIEL or MELANIE in AZ

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:Gold fades quickly into silver other than that its a great chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

Jeff in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jan 08, 2014:Top quality chain for a lower price. Lasts longer than DID or RK while providing the same performance. I have tried O ring chains and it sucked the power out of the bike! These renthal chains are top notch!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome looking chain

James in NSW

Comments On Jan 08, 2014:The gold chain looks great and the brand speaks for itself

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

my mx chain

anthony in PA

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:still holding up well after six race and three practice days

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked Fine

Brian in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Oct 26, 2013:Gives many hours of use. Price should be lower.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best chain

Mike in CA

Comments On Sep 22, 2013:Super smooth...no complaints at all. Lasted forever too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best chain ever

Haskin in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Sep 17, 2013:this chain lasts forever!! if you havent bought into the renthal club, do it. i never believed people about how this thing never stretches and lasts forever untill i bought one, but now after the first initial adjustment and like 10 races it still has not stretched out on me! looks great too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Winning product

Frode in 1 – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Aug 21, 2013:The renthal chain is the best product for your dirtbike, feels smooth and it's a quality product. Looks cool too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Alec in UT

Comments On Aug 01, 2013:Good quality chain .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Still kickin

Brian in UT

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:After over a year on my Ninja I have had no issues. I was a little worried about putting a low cost chain on like this but it has worked out great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

R1 RUKM

SPENCER in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jul 20, 2013:The R-1 Chain looks sweet out of the box and my buddies noticed the gold look right off the bat, but I have had to adjust this chain more than expected. Maybe it's user error, but I think this chain stretches alot. This is the second one I have had, although the first on a 450F. I can see it lasting a long time as the quality is still good, but be prepared to check and adjust your chain each time you ride for the first 4-5 rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mr. T

Mitch in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 24, 2013:Yep, once connected it spun my back tire. Would purchase again and again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT

Ryan in PA

Comments On Apr 11, 2013:I love this chain, after the first stretch, if you adjust it right, it wont stretch!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT

Ryan in PA

Comments On Apr 11, 2013:I love this chain, after the first stretch, if you adjust it right, it wont stretch!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YZ250F

Bradley in NY

Comments On Apr 08, 2013:This chain is awesome. I'm into my second season on it, it still looks new. It stretched nicely for the first few rides, then it didn't need much more adjustment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

Ronald in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:Great Chain, I have always bought this chain, in fact the only time I didn't was on my '06 YZ450F and the chain snapped (not at the master link either) and went right through the cases. Spend the money and get this chain!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

OK

paul in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:Thought I would save a buck but it did'nt last. Probably be a good trail bike chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The only chain i will buy

JAKE in ID

Comments On Feb 15, 2013:does not stretch and last forever

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

so far so good.

Paul in CO

Comments On Feb 05, 2013:It's holding up well on a 125.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

kyle in NV

Comments On Jan 15, 2013:Great Product i recommend this company for any product you may need,trust what the pros use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Renthal

JUSTIN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Dec 17, 2012:This chain will hold up to anything that is thrown at, from desert riding to trail riding. This chain hardly stretches and does not grab mud. Great chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough chain.

Jacob in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 525 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:This is one tough chain. I run these on my ktm drag quad and they are holding up better then anything else has.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

renthal chain

Isaiah in cruces in New Mexico – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Nov 21, 2012:Rode three times master link snapped going up a jump then took a chunk out of my casing..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent chain for MX application.

david in MS

Comments On Sep 19, 2012:Used on a CRF 450 for MX application. Will stretch slightly during the first few motos, but after break in chain require very little adjustments.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain gang

Michael in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:I love this chain. It lasts forever, hardley stretches and never breaks. Buy this one, it's the best of its kind.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome chain!

Daniel in NV

Comments On Aug 13, 2012:Great chain for any kind of riding from trails to tracks. Got a great deal on it too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Renthal rules

Eric in CO

Comments On Aug 06, 2012:Perfect fit for my 2007 GasGas EC300. No complaints here. Mud bogging, river crossings, no problems. Very Pleased.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this chain

DAVID in IL

Comments On Jun 01, 2012:Ive had great luck in the past with this chain. I replace sprockets at the same time which helps, but i feel renthal makes a great chain. Gold chain looks nice, too

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

09 YZ450F

Justin in NV

Comments On Apr 23, 2012:Fit right out of the box. That was a first for me. hasn't stretched at all after several rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice chain!

Bill in TN

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:I like everything about chain. It comes ready to install so I didn't have to cut to fit. It doesn't seem to chunk mud like my other chains. I like the gold look too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best racing chain I tried

Brian in PA

Comments On Dec 22, 2011:This lasts longer than DID ERT2, I've switched back and forth many times and the Renthal always lasts more hours.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best

ROGER in MI

Comments On Apr 18, 2011:I have been buying renthal r-1 gold chains only very satisfied after initial stretch of chain very little adjustment after that run hare scrambles with 15 races a season and easily holds up for all races

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

RENTHAL 520 WORKS CHAIN

CRAIG in MA

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:This is a great chain and the quality you would expect from Renthal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

the best

CHRIS in CO

Comments On Mar 09, 2011:The best chain for my 250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

renthal

ANTHONY in NC

Comments On Jan 25, 2011:renthal has always stood for quality,and still does

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

As good as any other brand out there.

casey in UT

Comments On Oct 07, 2010:Ive tried all brands of chain over the years and this seems as good as any out there. I have 70 hours of MX track use on this chain and it just doesnt wear out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain

Justin in PA

Comments On Jul 10, 2010:The gold chain looks trick and this is a good chain. After the first ride or two doesnt stretch. I had this chain for about 12 rides and only tightened the chain twice.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good chain but wears quickly

mike in NH

Comments On Oct 16, 2009:Good quality chain. But wears out very quick compared to a DID and is also a little heavier. I take meticulous care of my chains and clean after each ride and it still wore out telly quick.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Overated!! but not bad

Chris in IL

Comments On Jul 20, 2009:I ran this chain on my 07 KX 250f fot mx only, and for the price I was expecting much more...its not a bad chain at all, in fact its much better than OEM or the DID standard 520 chain but for the money there is better stuff out there

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

excellent!

ADAM in NY

Comments On Jul 19, 2009:great chain, stretched a little on my 05 rm 250 after some serious riding. p.s dont use a chain wax on this chain..go with a klotz, motoul, or primary drive lube
and theres a little rust spots but you can clean those off no problem with the proper lube and cleaning

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT CHAIN SO FAR

frank in IL

Comments On Mar 25, 2009:I bought this chain a month ago and raced 24 motos with it so far. HAVEN'T TIGHTENED IT YET! now that's impressive. I would only buy a different chain if it was lighter. The only bad thing i can say is a little heavier than expected but for the price great buy....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain

DOUGLAS in CA

Comments On Feb 15, 2009:It's Renthal gold... next best thing to a Subaki or DID gold. High quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain! Renthal #1

Jimmy in AZ

Comments On Jan 18, 2009:Awesome! Easy to put on and looks good too. Just make sure you lube it every ride.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Chain!

David in TX

Comments On Dec 11, 2008:I had to go middle of the road on cost and I feel I got a good value with this Renthal 520 R-1 Works Chain. After installing there was very, very little stretch! I only had to adjust once when I installed it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Buy

Michael in NM

Comments On Nov 25, 2008:This chain has held up to me racing/riding for two years with little stretching. Taking off master link can be tedious but this is a great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

RUSTY in UT

Comments On Nov 14, 2008:Great chain lasts forever

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good chain

ERNEST in PA

Comments On Sep 03, 2008:good overall chain it barley streched. the down side is the masterlink. The masterlink needs pressed together then once thats done you don't have to worry about that sucker coming off! but it is hard to get off when you want it off. i would have rated this a 5 but the master link brings it to a 4. it shouldn't be a problem if you have a chain breaker.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

An excellent value

TERRY in IA

Comments On Apr 12, 2008:Great value-excellent product

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Stretch!

ADAM in OH

Comments On Jan 23, 2008:This is a good chain but for just having it for over a year I have stretched it a little farther than I expected!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

R1 Chain

FELIX in CO

Comments On Jan 07, 2008:Excellent chain, easy to install and long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

JAMES in NY

Comments On Dec 26, 2007:used this chain over a year's time racing and trail riding still got life left in it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

BRANT in GA

Comments On Dec 06, 2007:A good chain that looks great, but the looks didn't last long. The chain had a decent life span, but wore out a little quicker than I thought it should.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perfect !!!

BENNY in TX

Comments On Dec 06, 2007:This chain was perfect, fits like a glove ... specs are a perfect match, will definitely order again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

renthal chain

buzz in UT

Comments On Nov 25, 2007:only took a few minutes to pop off links and install chain already lubed for racing. chain has been romped on and still has not had to be readjusted. worth the price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

R-1 ALL THE WAY

ROBERT in CA

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:LOOKS AND PERFORMS GREAT. RENTHAL IS A VERY GOOD COMPANY.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Renthal rules

BILL in FL

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:All Renthal all the way. Every application.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

this is the one!

ROBERT in CT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:this chain not only looks good on but it also has a great proformance as well. it is so well made i love it,

Was this review helpful?