DID 520 ERT2 Gold Chain

Customer Reviews for DID 520 ERT2 Gold Chain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 52 Reviews

Return to DID 520 ERT2 Gold Chain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

DID 520 ERT2 Gold Chain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stylish and functional!

Joe in North Carolina

Comments On Feb 09, 2014:Looks great and has held up great with 20 hrs of riding so far. Hasn't stretched yet either.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best MX Chain made

Richard in TX

Comments On Jan 09, 2014:Minimal stretch. Low resistance, takes a beating and stands up to the elements well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Crf450r

Mike in CA

Comments On Dec 19, 2013:First time buying this chain and must say I am very pleased with it. 11+hrs on it and only had to slightly adjust once.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain

Dustin in LA

Comments On Dec 17, 2013:My chain choice for standard chains. Second chain on this bike and I love the gold.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DID 520 ERT2 Gold Chain

DAVID in -

Comments On Dec 11, 2013:This chain will last a long time. Worth the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good chain

SCOTT in NJ

Comments On Nov 28, 2013:good chain but it stretches alittle bit. lasted a season

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Chain

Christopher in PA

Comments On Aug 07, 2013:This is pretty much the only chain I will use anymore. It has one of the highest tensile strengths of the non-Oring chains. I have snapped more than my fair shair of chains on my old KTM 520SX, and my 450SX. I will pretty much only order this chain, as I have never broken one. It does not seem to require much re-adjustment ( I just care about strength, on a chain that will not suck the power out of the bike. When you trust your drive train, you can do faster. I trust this chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Jeff in UT

Comments On Jul 21, 2013:I have had at least 6 of these chains on my bikes minimal stretching and never a failure. Will be the next chain i purchase for sure!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME CHAIN!!!

Ben in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2013:I love these chains I have great success with them with limited stretch! buy you wont regret this product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain

Garrett in AZ

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:only chain i use. ive used a bunch of these chains with very little problems. Master link snapped once but was not a big deal. Last about 40 hours or change with sprockets

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Reliable and long lasting chain

George in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2013:I run these chains simply because they are cheap, reliable, and there are no fitment issues regarding clearances around the countershaft sprocket. I ride moto and occasionally hit the desert or a trail ride. Id wager to say an o-ring chain may be a better buy if you really abuse your bike in mucky wet conditions, but with the type of riding i do, these work perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Chain

Paul in NM

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:Put this on my CRF450 and it looked great. Quality chain that I would buy again. It did not seem to stretch much after break in.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Standard Chain

Tarik in CA

Comments On Dec 17, 2012:I've been running DID gold chains on my yz 250 for years. The best standard chain, plus the gold looks sweet! A+ product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DID ERT2

TIM in GA

Comments On Dec 04, 2012:I have been running these chains for a long time now and they are the only ones that really last with me. Don't buy a cheap chain you will regret it in the end.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good so far

Joseph in MA

Comments On Apr 07, 2012:good chain so far

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

PATRICK in NH

Comments On Apr 08, 2012:Its a good chain..Would buy again .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best i've found

Owen in WV

Comments On Feb 21, 2012:Have tried various chains on 250 four strokes and 450 four strokes. Have standardized on ERT2 because, after the initial little bit of stretch, the adjustments STAY PUT. With other chains I am forever having to adjust a bit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

low rolling resistance

CURT in IL

Comments On Jan 17, 2012:I have been one to use oring chains in the past. I had one on a 1999 yz125 that I bought new back then. My buddy told me to switch to a non-ring chain. The first ride I immediately noticed more responsiveness and overall power with an overall smoother feel.
After that experience, I looked a little closer at the oring vs non-oring chains. The oring chains do not move up and down in the links as easily. Try the same on a good quality non-oring and the links virtually fall all over one another. Its a very significant reduction in friction.
I also have a cbr929rr with some mods. It has about 140 rear wheel horsepower. On this bike I use an o-ring chain of the 520 size. This is the same did ert chain oring chain that you would use on your dirtbike. It can handle all of the power of my streetbike. If you look at the tensile strength difference between the did oring and non-oring, there isn't a huge difference. The 2008 crf450r that I ride has around 50 rear wheel HP. It really doesn't need the o-ring especially when the non-oring has so much less friction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DID ERT2 chain

SCOTT in RI

Comments On Nov 29, 2011:I have not had any complaints about this chain. I have one on a 250 2stroke and ride sand. I keep it clean and lubed and it hasn't stretched after the intial couple of rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding for a 250

Simon in QC

Comments On Sep 24, 2011:This chain is perfect, it's trick looking, has very low friction, excellent resistance to rust and wears very well.
On a side note, the factory grease that soaks it is not good for running on the bike, you have to lube it up or it will pretty much seize and put strain on your counter shaft.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Keep coming back to the ERT2

MICHAEL in FL

Comments On May 03, 2011:This chain has been fantastic everytime I've istalled it. The chain actually lasts longer than the steel sprockets I pair it with. Of course, it stretches, but minimal as compared to some other cheaper chains I've used in the past. I use this chain on my 450 as well as my sons 250.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Chain

ERIC in VA

Comments On Apr 28, 2011:I prefer this chain over any on my 09 YZ450F. It does not stretch too much and it is light and strong. Would definately recomend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain

Mike in PA

Comments On Mar 26, 2011:I've been using these chains for a couple years now and i really like the durability and that they stay pretty clean, they also last a pretty long.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain

Kristafer in NC

Comments On Feb 19, 2011:Ok this chain is great wrecked really bad chain still tight havent tighten once. Also every says that o-rings are better and stay lubricated longer maybe so but you keep this chain lubricated and cleaned after every ride you won't have any problems. Whiich some people dont do and then they complan that they had to tighten it or it coming off. Its called chain maintenance to all of you that complain learn it and you wont have that many problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

grantc

GRANT in PA

Comments On Nov 15, 2010:had it on my crf 450 had to tighten the chain after every ride, stick with an o ring

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Will not buy another.

SHANE in WA

Comments On Oct 15, 2010:03 Banshee. Stock chain was a better chain. Put a 4inch extended swingarm on and went with the DID 520 ERT2 chain. Have to adjust almost every other ride. Chain stretched enough in ONE day to pop off sprocket and the chain is now twisted sideways. Not happy at all with this chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain

casey in UT

Comments On Oct 05, 2010:No worrys with this one. Great chain one of the best Ive used.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for about a yr of riding.

GENE in WV

Comments On Dec 08, 2008:On my 450 this chain has to be adjusted every other ride. It is still a good buy for the price.
Additional Comments On Aug 27, 2010:I have since went to a sidewinder 16,000 lb chain and after several months of riding, I have adjusted the chain 2 times.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great lightweight chain!

mike in NH

Comments On Jul 05, 2010:I've tried most all non o-ring race chains and this one seems to be far superior. With proper cleaning every few rides this chain lasts longer and has less drag than the other guys chains. Must be why more top race teams use this than any other.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Had tight spots in the chain

STEVE in CA

Comments On May 25, 2010:After three different new rear sprockets learned that the chain had tight spots in it. After riding twice on my CRF450 it seemed to get stretched out but was disappointing to say the least.
Additional Comments On Jun 04, 2010:After several more rides/race the chain got stretched out enough that the tight spot was less.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

its holding up

AUSTIN in NC

Comments On May 20, 2010:the chain is holding up to my yz250 which is hard on chains and sprockets. it cleans up well and looks good too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT CHAIN!!!

Travis in CA

Comments On Mar 17, 2010:this chain is veryyy durable so far. took it out of the box, put it on, rode jawbone canyon all weekend doing some nice sized hill climbs and ridge riding. the chain has streched maybe a few milimeters. i was very suprised. i have a yz 250 and ride it pretty hard and have gone on a few more rides and still dont need to adjust anything! Great chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Adds a little bling and is holding up well so far

Mark in CA

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:I've went on 9 separate rides (twice in muddy conditions) using this chain and I have yet to see any signs of stretching. So far so good. And to boot, it adds a little bling to your bike, which is always nice.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DID 520 ERT2, the chain everyone sells

JAMES in ON

Comments On Nov 25, 2009:I had used a chain from Regina, which I didn't notice much performance improvement from stock, and a Renthal chain which I noticed a performance improvement, but, it stretched a little too often for my tastes before I decided to try DID 520 ERT2 chain on my 2006 YZ 125, since most pros seemed to be using it on their bikes. All chains were the same type of racing chain by the way. I noticed increased performance, less stretching, and the gold finish looked great even after 1 1/2 years of use before I bought a new one. My new 2009 CRF 250R is equipped with the DID 520 ERT2 chain and the love continues.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good chain, decent price.

delfino in LA

Comments On Nov 21, 2009:chain does what it should and doesn't strech too much. I adjust after 3 or 4 rides. It can be found on bay for less.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

One tough chain

William T. in CO

Comments On May 18, 2009:After breaking a cheap chain that came in a sprocket kit, I replaced it with one of these. It definately stretches but I'll take that over breaking any day. I have dozens of rides-probably 10 a year for the last 5 years and it's still doing great. It's so old, the gold has almost worn away! I ride a yz426f on a wide variety of terrain and would recommend this chain to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good

Timothy in OK

Comments On Dec 01, 2008:6 races in and still not stretching much on my KX250. I'd buy it again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maybe its just me

RICHARD in AZ

Comments On Jul 07, 2008:Maybe its just me or I got a poorly manufactured chain. But, I am totally disappointed in this chain. Especially, after reading and hearing how great of a chain it was to begin with. After only 6 practice sessions at the track it has stretched out almost every time. I am not a pro by no means and know how to take care of a chain and adjust it correctly. I'm gonna have to pull a link out just to be able to keep using it. Just don't understand why I paid top dollar for a cheap chain. I recommend not using this chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best 125/250 chain on the market!

Adam in MN

Comments On Apr 19, 2008:Long lasting and a top notch product from DID. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain

ADAM in IN

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:only chain I buy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Least stretch of any chain I've bought

BRETT in UT

Comments On Jan 29, 2008:I run this chain on a KTM 380 in the sand and it lasts longer than any other that I've purchased.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Will I ever need to buy another chain

DAVID in AZ

Comments On Dec 16, 2007:Yes, eventually, but the I love the DID ERT's. I ride a 450 in the Vet Int. class. The chain can take a lot of torque and damn near last me a whole racing season.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DID

PAT in CA

Comments On Dec 09, 2007:this chain is awesome it is way stronger than the renthal ones and the gold plating does not fade as fast

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

CHAD in NC

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Great product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain For The Money

JOHN in CO

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:In my opinion this is the best motocross chain for the money. I use this chain on my CRF450R and it rocks. Very reliable, very little stretching...overall, this is a great chain.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

DID 520 Chain ERT2 Chain

GREGORY in DC

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Buy O-Ring. Don't waste you time with a non O-Ring chain. It will stretch forever!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DID Gold ERT2

TONY in MN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:The best and only chain I will use. It will last the entire year racing every weekend and riding during the week.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

520 ERT

CAMERON in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Best chain for mx. Period. Won't use anything else. Great wear with very little strench

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ERT chain

RANDY in MI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:very nice chain for non- o-ring - strong and long lasting

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recomended

MICHAEL in OH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:One tough chain. Good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good chain

MICHAEL in MN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:overall, this is a good chain for MX

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain

CORKY in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:good for at least 2000K off road. needs little maint

Was this review helpful?