Primary Drive Rear Aluminum Sprocket

Customer Reviews for Primary Drive Rear Aluminum Sprocket

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 100 Reviews

Return to Primary Drive Rear Aluminum Sprocket Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Primary Drive Rear Aluminum Sprocket Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

i do like it but

Brendan in Ontario

Comments On Jul 31, 2014:after a couple of rides the paint has worn off. still looks great and little to no actual sprocket wear

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wears Well

Bob in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KAWASAKI KX65

Comments On Jul 03, 2014:Bought this sprocket 1 tooth larger than OE to give my grandson a little better starts. Did the trick through his training at the gate, but on the longer track do give up a little top end as well of course. Sprocket is wearing great and seems to clean the teeth of mud a little better than OE?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ktm 250 sx

kirk – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Apr 25, 2014:It lasted 50 hrs on a ktm250sx.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good!

Terry in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 22, 2014:Kind of a pain to install, but ever since that, it has worked great, No complaints! No color fade/chips.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice :)

KEVIN in WA

Comments On Apr 15, 2014:Great sprocket. Stretched my chain bad (DID) but the sprocket held up well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Same as renthal but half the price!

Kyle in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 300 EXC

Comments On Mar 12, 2014:Great sprocket for half the cost of Renthal. High quality. Will purchase again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

Tom in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On Feb 01, 2014:fast delivery, parts fit perfectly and installed easily

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value

Greg in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Jan 01, 2014:Purchased the set, it's holding up well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product!

Nicklaus in WA

Comments On Nov 11, 2013:Nice sprocket!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Price

Brian in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Oct 26, 2013:These sprokets are great. The Price is very reasonable. Have had no issues with performance. The coloring faded out with in the first 6 hrs of use, but who cares. It is light and works good. Currently have 35 hrs and it is still working fine. I purchased a second one becuase the price is so low, I can get two for the price of one big named sprocket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very nice quality, works great

Weston in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Oct 23, 2013:Very nicely machined and fit perfect. Went up to a 51 tooth from 50 and love the powerband.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good sprocket so far

Josh in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:This sprocket hasn't had the chance to stand the test of time just yet, but so far it seems pretty good...and it definitely looks good!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

its ok

DENNIS in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 HONDA TRX 300EX

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:depending on where you ride this sprocket is ok, a stick got caught in my chain and broke the sprocket in two. Got a steel one now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not on a 450

DRAGO in CA

Comments On Aug 30, 2013:mounted on kx450f perfect fit did not hold up very long wear wise maybe got 7 rides before the removal due to tooth wear

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:always run these

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fair for price

robert in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Aug 18, 2013:needed replaced after 8 rides

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

matt in PA

Comments On Aug 20, 2013:great and even better price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sprocket

jeff in OR

Comments On Aug 06, 2013:Great product and fit great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good

Mark in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:I've only put few hours on this sprocket and it still looks as new. Only time will tell.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Aluminium sprocket wears a little too quick

Chris in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 09, 2013:I got this sprocket with the X ring chain combo and the aluminium sprocket is wearing out a bit quicker than it should. chain and front sprocket are going good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Jared in PA

Comments On May 17, 2013:best one for the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

JOHN in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 08, 2013:Works great. I've used several of these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Buy

Zachery in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On May 07, 2013:For the price you cant beat this sprocket. Lasts as long as a renthal and looks like one too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sprocket

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Great for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

will buy again

Daniel in OR

Comments On Mar 19, 2013:so far I've been very happy with all primary drive sprockets and chains.. i run them on all my bikes and will continue to in the future, ill never go back to the expensive stuff

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GREAT SPROCKET

DAVID in VA

Comments On Jan 02, 2013:THESE SPROCKETS ARE STRONG, LIGHT, AND LAST A LONG TIME. ONLY SPROCKET THAT CAN TAKE THE ABUSE AND LAST THAT I HAVE TRIED.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT

JAMES in UT

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:GREAT PRICE GREAT PRODUCT

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product for the price

Michael in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Nov 19, 2012:If you don't need your sprocket to ad bling pick up one of these a lower price. They last well too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It is a sprocket gang - buy it!

TODD in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2012:Basic hardware and have had great performance in the past. Why pay more?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NICE

MARKO in BC

Comments On Sep 29, 2012:Nice sprocket seems to hold up quite well. Sure shaved a lot of weight off the ttr230 removing the pig iron sprocket that came stock. Anodized blue looks great after 2 years too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great sprocket!!

richard in RI

Comments On Sep 10, 2012:Quality and price are a perfect match love it!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Jeff in OR

Comments On Aug 17, 2012:The initial wear in might scare you but it doesn't go much passed that. Had this thing on for 50+ hours (Dunes)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 28, 2012:Lasts longer than that junk Renthal I had. Great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

as good as renthal...

PATRICK in OH

Comments On May 25, 2012:I have been pleased with the quality of the primary drive aluminum sprockets, and the price is right

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

Donald in PA

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:looks great, probably good for normal use or trail riding. not good for very aggressive woods riding. 2 rides ,chain adjusted properly and well lubed and its showing wear, not junk yet but showing enough wear to consider replacing before race season starts

Additional Comments On Apr 14, 2012:I may have judged a bit to soon!! Several more rides on it and no additional wear, actually looks good. I'm gonna keep it on for the first race, I think it may last for a few of them! I'll find out next weekend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Price, low life

Ryan R in WA

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:I have around 4 hours on the sprocket on my 2008 YZ450F.
I'm a jr/c rider.
I put on a Renthal R1 chain at the same time.
I've noticed the tops of the teeth are starting to hook already.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Tony in VIC

Comments On Feb 28, 2012:good sprocket and cheap

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Tyler in CA

Comments On Feb 21, 2012:Great sprocket and looks good also!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WORST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brice in SC

Comments On Jul 29, 2011:I purchased this sprocket and a Primary Drive chain for my son's KX85 and was very disappointed. Only lasted several months. I would not buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Durable

Josh in WA

Comments On Oct 31, 2011:The Primary Drive sprocket looks great and is lasting longer than any other I've used.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very good

Mike in CA

Comments On Aug 17, 2011:lasted as long as my renthal did, but cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

holds up great

Stan in ID

Comments On Aug 17, 2011:nice sprocket. light and durable. If i change my chain and sprockets as a set my sprockets last a long time. I had a friend put a name brand new rear aluminum sprocket on with a worn out chain and the sprocket was toast in just a couple rides. This sprocket is as good as any other aluminum rear. I recommend it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

France in QC

Comments On Aug 10, 2011:perfect

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WORKS GREAT

Jason in CA

Comments On Jun 30, 2011:fITS PERFECT WEARS GOOD.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great sprocket for the money.

William in FL

Comments On Jun 23, 2011:Our Primary Drive aluminum sprockets have lasted a long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Aluminum sprocket

Jay in IA

Comments On Jun 05, 2011:I was using steel for awhile instead of aluminum since they last longer even with the extra weight it was better, but this is the longest lasting aluminum sprocket i have ever bought. I would recomend it to anyone and i have recomended it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Sprocket

Mike in CA

Comments On May 23, 2011:you have to change your sprockets often and with this one the price is right and works great.. I will buy more!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very durable....

DENNIS in MO

Comments On Mar 06, 2011:These sprockets might not be as 'trick' as some of the other, more expensive brands, but they look like stock, and last as long, at a very nice price! I am getting over two seasons as a casual practice rider, trail rider, and occasional racer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rear Sprocket

DIRK in UT

Comments On Feb 01, 2011:A+
1/2 the price
great quality
All i could ask for is it to come in black.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very nice

Travis in FL

Comments On Nov 11, 2010:Save some money and buy this sprocket. Beefy teeth profile and good fit/finish. Sure would be cool if there were color options(like black) for my application(KX250F)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Light sprocket

Robert in NJ

Comments On Nov 08, 2010:This sprocket is heavy duty and isn't going anywhere teeth are perfect

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bought this to try.

casey in UT

Comments On Oct 07, 2010:Purchased this to try it out, but wasnt impressed with the design, mainly the groove depth was really shallow and really square, most the tracks I ride are muddy in the mornings and this looked like it would pack badly so I sent it back.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Okay rear sprocket.

CAMERON in UT

Comments On Jul 05, 2010:You get what you pay for. Its an okay sprocket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the $$$ CRF250R

KEVIN in ID

Comments On Nov 16, 2009:We have had this on our CRF250r for about a couple months now, it has held up great, I also purchased a D-ring chain with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

SHELLY in NY

Comments On Jul 01, 2009:I've had it on my kx250f for over a month and is just starting to show signs of wear... I ride almost everyday and have race with it 3 times. strongly reccommended. very light

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

too soon to look this bad.....

William in OH

Comments On Jun 10, 2009:after one good dual sport ride (3-4 hour) the chain is loose in the sprocket teeth.....

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks cool but.....

TYLER in IL

Comments On Jun 11, 2009:There is no real reason to get this sprocket unless you want it for looks. It is lighter than steel but no noticable difference in power. The only real difference is that this sprocket will wear and tear faster than a steel sprocket if your chain is too tight or too lose. It will hold up fine if the chain is properly adjusted at all times. Other than that, I will just go with steel from now on. I just wanted to try this product out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seems as good as any other sprocket out there.

DOUG in TX

Comments On Mar 11, 2009:No complaints here. We'll see if I can get a season out of it like the others.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great !!!

BRIAN in OH

Comments On Feb 03, 2009:Hard anodized, light, good wear, great price !!! Great value !!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

so far so good

mark in NE

Comments On Jan 08, 2009:Now I'm just your weekend rider as I dont race anymore but I put one of these sprokets on my cr 125 and after 6 months it shows very minimal wear. For the price you cant go wrong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not good for MX

Robert in FL

Comments On Dec 10, 2008: If you ride MX this sprocket will only last a few motos.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

can't beat it

WILLIAM in FL

Comments On Sep 26, 2008:good as gold....I got more than my $$ worth

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wearing out FAST

David in TX

Comments On Sep 21, 2008:I bought this sprocket as part of a set with a steel front and gold race chain for my CRF 450. The chain stretched fast and I'm sure that's what wore the sprocket out. If you ride hard stick with steel. The weight savings aren't worth it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

CHRISTIAN in CA

Comments On Jul 24, 2008:No problems here and better/lighter than stock

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Should have bought a better rear.

BOZO in NC

Comments On Mar 09, 2008:Installed Friday, MX race Saturday, and Sunday. Will replace sprocket on Monday. The rear sprocket did not last the entire weekend, after several laps arround the track, it already started to wave top, and was missing 0ne tooth. Don't know if it was just defective, or if it cannot withstand the rigors of track riding.
Tech Note: Aluminum rear sprockets are not recommended for the above mertioned siuation. Please be sure to use a steel sprocket for extreme conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

so far so good

Jason in AK

Comments On Apr 04, 2008:installed and runs great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Rear Aluminum Sprocket

KIRK in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2008:Nothing fancy, but works great and is really inexpensive. Can buy 2 of these for the price of one of the big name brands. I'd rather replace it twice as often and not put the wear on the X-Ring chain, allowing the chain to last 2-3 times longer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Buy

Mike in NY

Comments On Mar 15, 2008:Having always used renthal products, I have been pleasantly surprised by the excellent reliablity and preformance of this product. I will most certainly continue to use this on all my race bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love it

JASON in KS

Comments On Mar 09, 2008:the sproket looks great fits great, and has been holding up great, i saw some one that said they lost some teeth but if your chain is adjusted correctly you will have no problems with this product, I use it on a hopped up Banshee and have had it on for a year with no problems

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You save some weight...

MIGUEL in CA

Comments On Mar 04, 2008:But loose some strength. I think if you have a 450cc motor and up you might want to stick with steel. The aluminum is just not worth the weight savings IMO.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great value!

MIKE in CA

Comments On Feb 22, 2008:As good as any out there!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not fond of Aluminum

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:Not very fond of Aluminum because I have had many in the past just fall apart, BUT this one is holding up just fine and may change my mine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not worth the savings.

BRIAN in TX

Comments On Dec 17, 2007:This sprocket is a little less expensive,but I had to replace it after two rides because of broken teeth. Next time I will spend more to get better qaulity.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great!

GREG in TN

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:Just what I wanted, perfect fit and is holding up well. Tough and lightweight.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Durable

Edward in TX

Comments On Jan 26, 2008:The sprocket has absolutely no wear indicators after 65 hours of hard riding. Have had fellow riders replace theirs at least once in the same timeframe.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy Primary Drive and save $$$

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jan 18, 2008:Anything Primary Drive makes is a great OEM replacment part. Thank god for manufactures like these or I would not be able to keep riding. Things are getting way expensive out there. This was used on one of my YZ250's and it held up perfect.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Rear Aluminum Sprocket

LANCE in WA

Comments On Jan 16, 2008:these are a great sprocket for the money. They seem to last every bit as long as other high dollar sprockets as long as you replace the chain with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

light

Nick in NY

Comments On Jan 11, 2008:this sproket was great i was surprised how much lighter it was than the stock sproket. I had to modify my guard on a blaster due to it being dented and rubbing the chain..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

terry in IA

Comments On Jan 06, 2008:A great value for my Yz 450F-Good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great sprocket

Tyler in IA

Comments On Dec 14, 2007:great wear for aluminum and the price is awesome. I have been very happy with all PD stuff.
Additional Comments On Dec 31, 2007:Still wearing great after 9 months. I am very impressed with this sprocket and PD chain set!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sprocket review

Sun in TX

Comments On Dec 05, 2007:I had noticable tooth migration after one single ride. The teeth had noticable wear in the direction the chain pulls. I think this aluminum is too soft. I think it is a more appropriate product for trail riders, 125s, etc than racers.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

mixed bag

TIM in OR

Comments On Dec 11, 2007:If you want light weight with very good fit-ment, and shave weight, than this is the way to go. However, if you're expecting longevity from an aluminum sprocket, you can learn the HARD way... or you can learn from what you read. Aluminum doesn't hold up like steel does. Period. It's all in what you want. If you wanna shave weight, this is the way to go for sure.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sprocket for z400

Anthony in CT

Comments On Nov 29, 2007:I put one on my 05 z400. My quad has a jet kit, exhaust, and air filter. I got a -1 rear sprocket to ad some top end and it is the perfect complement to the other mods i have. GREAT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Rear Aluminum Sprocket

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Nov 24, 2007:This rear sprocket fit very well and is good quality. I have about 100 miles on it now and it is not showing any unexpected wear. It does not have the "bling" of a Tag or other name brand sprocket but it is very functional. Since I am not into "bling" I would purchase this sprocket again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good

ZACH in CA

Comments On Nov 02, 2007:Great product. Good price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth It

RICHARD in AZ

Comments On Oct 31, 2007: By far, primary drive has the competition beat in price and value. Bang for your buck, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rear sprocket

PHILLIP in NY

Comments On Oct 31, 2007:great quality and great durabilty

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Value!

SCOTT in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:15 Hours of Moto and still holding up. Running on a YZ250F.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

very good sprocket

JOHN in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:this sprocket has held up on my quad and it has been on for over a year with very little wear

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Renthal ? why

JEFF in UT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This sprocket lasts every bit as long as a renthal at half the cost!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

At this price....Why not!?!?

JAMES in IA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:If you're going for bling, look somewhere else. If performance is all that matters to you, this product is as good as what the big brand names offer at a much lower price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Sprocket

SAMUEL in NV

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:It was a great sprocket for the price. Held up as good as others. Not as good lookin, but it is coverd in dirt most of time anyway

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

HOWARD in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Doesn't look as "trick" as the designer sprockets, but very durable and affordable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

cant beat the price.

mike in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:not as fancy or trick looking as the $65.00 premium sprockets but i change gearing from track to track so price is very important. fit is near perfect.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice addition

SCOTT in HI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:very light weight

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sprocket

JASON in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great quality, as good as top brands.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad

JUSTIN in IN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:bought this product not thinking, i race harescrambles, and it wore out to fast, the first ride, was basically the last, replaced with steel.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Probably a good sprocket but...

ROBERT in IN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Again,they are probably good sprockets but the profile is not as clean looking as the sprockets I usualy run.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

ERIN in MA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Good product, held up well and got the job done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good value

JOSEPH in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Sprocket fit as OEM, good durability, for much less than any competing products.

Was this review helpful?