Maxima Chain Wax

Customer Reviews for Maxima Chain Wax

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 98 Reviews

Return to Maxima Chain Wax Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Maxima Chain Wax Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Do it right and its the best!

Chris in GA

Comments On Apr 17, 2014:First of all its Maxima so that alone means its good. The trick to Chain Wax is the application process. I clean my chain every time I wash the bike. I clean the chain first, let it dry and sit it in the sun to get nice and hot. Saturate all sides and each link with Chain Way and let it dry in the garage in a cool spot. Once the wax congeals, wipe the excess lightly with a shop rag and re-install for the next ride. Keeps the bike, rear shock, rear wheel and my boots looking good. Its also very good for oiling the hinges on the race trailer ramp door and the ball hitch...DON'T USE IT FOR CABLE LUBE!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Chain Lube

AARON in WA

Comments On Apr 15, 2014:The only issue that I have with this is that you can get a fair amount of cast off from lubing the chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

dont fling

richard in MA

Comments On Mar 20, 2014:this stuff is awesome don't fling if you let it set up

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Erik in MI

Comments On Feb 20, 2014:Does not fling off or make a mess.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

joe in North Carolina

Comments On Feb 09, 2014:Attracts a lot of dirt. Doesn't protect chain well!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

CAMERON in UT

Comments On Feb 09, 2014:I grew up just using WD40 on my chains. This product makes that seem so old school. Chain wax keeps the chain clean. Just don't over spray a ton on or it won't work like it is supposed to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff

Nick in TN

Comments On Feb 08, 2014:Better than the maxima chain guard in muddy cond. both r great products

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good and heavy

Tyler in PA

Comments On Jan 18, 2014:I was looking for something that would put a heavy coating on the chain and hold up for more than one ride, this stuff does the trick.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:tried this once I prefer the regular lube not the wax but its not bad

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Alright

shawn in NY

Comments On Aug 21, 2013:The chain wax is okay makes a mess and a pain to clean off the swing arm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great

Brian in UT

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:No surprises.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

does the JOB and NO clean up, or chainlub all over

Thomas in CA

Comments On Jul 09, 2013:Nice and clean and easy.. No chain lube slung all over ..
Works well in the desert and will not collect mud/dirt build up..Which means Alot less time spent when u get home cleanng up th bike.
So u have more time to do other things..
TM

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Best

Joshua in TX

Comments On Jul 05, 2013:This stuff is the best for lubing your chain. There is no residue that causes dirt to stick to you frame like most other brands. I find that it works best when you apply it a few hours before you ride so it can dry, but it still works great if you do it right before you go out. You will be pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wax On Wax Off

Mitch in CA

Comments On Jun 24, 2013:Its keeps my chain lubed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Stuff

Carson in GA

Comments On Jun 20, 2013:Doesn't fling off and lubricates well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok

DAVE in CA

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:coats fairly well, sort of dry

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My favorite, I guess

Mark in NH

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:I'm always trying other brands and always end up going back to Maxima Chain Wax. It sets up well and doesn't fling off the chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WAX ON....

CHET in UT

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:I have been using Wax for many years now and IMO it is the best there is, especially if you are running o-ring chains. Works great at the dunes because once it dries the sand doesn't stick to it like normal chain lubes. Works best if applied when chain is warm. Love this stuff. Highly recomended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product!

jdoc7 in Illinois

Comments On Jun 02, 2013:Fantastic chain lube! If used as directed, there is no fling and no mess. I use it liberally on my chain and wait 24 hrs before riding. Have not had any problems what so ever. It also smells pretty good. This will be the only chain lube I will buy from now on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have

Keenan in PA

Comments On May 28, 2013:Great product. Keeps my chain clean and lubricated.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very little fling

JOSHUA in ID

Comments On May 27, 2013:Great "clean" chain lube

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Clean and works well

Patrick in CA

Comments On Apr 28, 2013:Chain wax is great for o-ring chains to keep the chain from rusting and keeping the bike clean. This Maxima chain wax sprays nicely without making a mess.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No mess

Craig in MO

Comments On Apr 26, 2013:This stuff is great. Stays on the chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain wax

Mike in KS

Comments On Apr 18, 2013:I'm sure something is better out there but for now this is the best I have used. Stays on and doesn't fly off easily.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no wait

chad in UT

Comments On Apr 10, 2013:I love u really dont have to wait to dry and dosnt make a mess

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love this stuff

corey in SD

Comments On Jan 25, 2013:This is my fourth can. Will not buy anything else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Finally found the best chain lube

Kevin in IN

Comments On Jan 01, 2013:Look no further, this is the best I have found, lubricated great, does not sling off and make a mess. We use this on all of out chains, street, ATV and MX.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works

Derrick in FL

Comments On Dec 19, 2012:Does job and have to use hours before you ride or it gets everywhere.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain wax

EVAN in CA

Comments On Dec 04, 2012:Works great. Keeps chain clean and lubricated.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Super slick baby, yeah!

MICHAEL in NV

Comments On Nov 22, 2012:Kept things slidin along real proper like.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent lube

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:resists fling-off and not sticky

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maxima Cahin Wax and Off-Road Riding

ERIC in CO

Comments On May 08, 2012:Use on all my dirtbikes (two YZ 250's, KDX220) with my RK O-ring chains. I get great chain life with this product and some extra care when I wash the bike. I like the chian wax becasue it doesn't fling off and grime everything up. I also use the wax for lightly lubricating pivot points such as foot pegs and shifter end.
Used this priduct for about 10 years now, works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff

STEVE in IN

Comments On Apr 27, 2012:Stays on chain longer. Be sure to give it some time to dry before riding.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Chain Lube

Daniel in MO

Comments On Apr 21, 2012:This is by far the best chain lube around. I have been riding for over 20 years and this stuff is awesome.
There are a few negative reviews but those people just dont know how to use it. First, clean your chain with a degreaser and let it dry, then heat the chain up with a short ride, then coat chain on both sides and hit the rollers, clean up overspray, allow to dry overnight. This lube does not attract dirt, it comes out and dries a dirty color so thats why people say it attracts dirt.
This stuff will absolutely not fling off once it is dry.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best stuff around

THOMAS in IL

Comments On Apr 06, 2012:awesome product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Applicator, Stays On Chain

Sean in OH

Comments On Feb 20, 2012:I have used this for many years on my Suzuki 1200 Bandit and the last 3 years on my CRF250X Honda. As to reduction in wear it is hard to say how good it is. With "O" ring chain the lubrication is for the "O" rings and not the internal pins. The rollers don't really need lube as they are a loose fit and can't hold any product. Not a bad idea to put some WD-40 type stuff on the rollers after cleaning the chain after a ride for rust proofing. I don't get nearly as much thrown off the chain as with other lubes. The best thing about the Wax, even compared to the Maxima Ultra) is the pin point control you have with the nozzle. I spray down both sides of the chain BETWEEN the plates with almost no overflow because i can control the amount very closely. There are instructions. Apply to warm chain and allow to solidify. Used properly this stuff lasts a long time in amount used and adherence to the chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best in my opinion

Michael in PA

Comments On Feb 06, 2012:Used alot of chain lube over the years...by far the best stuff yet. Remember however that if u include this in a purchase it excludes you from the 3 day shipping

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Jeffery in MA

Comments On Dec 21, 2011:Works great. Keeps chain clean and lubricated. What more could you ask for.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Rick in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2011:I only ride in the sand, and this keeps the sand from sticking!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good results for at least 10 years

Paul in CO

Comments On Aug 17, 2011:I've used Maxima chain was for at least 10 years on my O-ring chains. I ride everything from dry, sandy areas to muddy areas and I get extended chain and sproket life. It's a pain to clean off the overspray, but it's worth it. I lube my chain after almost every ride which can be 2 to 5 hours and also every time I wash my bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain wax

aaron in CA

Comments On Aug 08, 2011:The wax is really better, keeps chain lubed and clean. It also extended the life of chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No fling off!

Robert in IN

Comments On Jul 22, 2011:Maxima is quality, and there is no fling off!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OLD CHAIN

MONICA in UT

Comments On Jul 01, 2011:RAN THIS CHAIN LUBE FOR 2 YEARS KNOW SAME CHAIN HOPE I GET ONE MORE YEAR OUT OF IT

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

dont like it

DANE in UT

Comments On Jun 28, 2011:this chain lube gets on your bike and wont come off

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Wax

Brandon in KS

Comments On May 12, 2011:I have used this chain wax for years, it does an excellent job penetrating and keeping your chain from rusting up when you get it wet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain lube

curtis in AL

Comments On Apr 18, 2011:works great no sling off if u wait 15 to 20 min b4 ride

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best lube for a thirsty chain.

Douglas in PA

Comments On Apr 12, 2011:Goes on easily with the wide spread nozzle. Dries in about 10 minutes, less in warmer/drier climates. Very good water and rust protection. Highly recommended for woods/trails/mud riders.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain lube

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Apr 06, 2011:works very well on oring chains. very satisfied with this chain wax

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice stuff

jonathan in MD

Comments On Mar 27, 2011:This stuff is good and sticky. Doesn't fling off if applied by the directions. Plus if you already have a gold chain it seems to make it look "more gold"

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good wax

Michael in MS

Comments On Mar 17, 2011:extends the life on the chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

JEREMY in PA

Comments On Aug 07, 2009:I came upton using the Maxima Chain Wax a few years back, and I won't use anything else. Yes it is sticky and dirt tends to stick to it, but once you apply it and let it try it won't leave a film over your entire swing arm.
Additional Comments On Mar 16, 2011:This product states on the outside of the can chain and cable lubricant. DO NOT USE THIS ON YOUR CABLES. Once it starts to solidify it'll almost seize your cable up. It becomes very tacky and sticky. Ruined my throttle cable. GREAT for chains NOT cables. Purchase a silicon, graphite, or telfon base lubricant for your cables.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this stuff.

Kelly in WA

Comments On Mar 10, 2011:Just give it time for the carrier solvent to evaporate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great stuff

JOHN in AZ

Comments On Feb 03, 2011:does the job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Only stuff I know about

Austin in WY

Comments On Jan 14, 2011:I use this mostly because it was the first one I found. I use it religiosly on my chain and have never had a problem. Works well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy

BRIAN in CA

Comments On Dec 12, 2010:Easy to use, and works well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maintenance Item

JOEL in CA

Comments On Nov 16, 2010:Good lubrication as it stays on the chain but slings off and makes a mess when not applied correctly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love this stuff

Chris in CA

Comments On Aug 16, 2010:no flinging mess...easy to apply

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works well

Jeffrey in OR

Comments On Aug 04, 2010:this does not make as much of a mess as some chain oils I have used and it does not seem to get flung everywhere when you start riding. It can last a few rides but I recommend chain cleaning and waxing after every ride

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good

GARY in ID

Comments On Feb 26, 2010:does its job keeps the chain lubed and stays on

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Mike in CT

Comments On Feb 12, 2010:Good, wait at least a day before riding or it will sling off

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Wax

VINCE in GA

Comments On Nov 24, 2009:Greatest chain lube ever.......stays on chain in all conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Lubrication, Bad Mess

Joseph in MD

Comments On Sep 10, 2009:This lube does stick to the chain like no other and really doesnt attract that much dirt but the dirt that does get on the overspray areas does not come off! Overall I would use again but be prepared for a mess.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does its job

TYLER in OH

Comments On Jun 28, 2009:It does it job, does not seem to stay on the sprockets very long at all. Attracts a BUNCH of dirt to the chain.
4/5

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2 problems with it

Mark in AZ

Comments On May 06, 2009:First, dirt sticks to it like glue. Even after letting it set for 24 hours after applying it, my chain is caked with dirt when I return from a ride.
Second, it does not work itself down into the pins of the chain. I am running a standard roller (non o-ring chain). I just recently removed the chain and there was no lube on the pins of the master link. Chain has 5 rides or so on it and it was "lubed" every ride. A good lube will find its way down into the pins. Seems that this stuff just sticks to the outside.
Tried the Bel Ray when I got everything back together and that one DID get down into the pins. Maxima is off my list.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

maxima chain wax

Dustin in OK

Comments On Feb 16, 2009:doesn't sling off as long as you let if dry before you ride and it works pretty well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seems fine but very sticky

Joseph in TX

Comments On Nov 03, 2008:No issues except that alot of dirt sticks to the chain with this wax

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Stuff

STEPHEN in NY

Comments On Aug 24, 2008:I use it and like it. RM ATV MC Discontinued it so now i cant get it from them. Why they would discontinue a good product is beyond me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain wax

ERIC in CA

Comments On Jul 13, 2008:too tacky... dirt and dust stick to it and it gums up the chain... maybe more suitable for super moto or something

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wax Away

JIMMY in TN

Comments On Jul 06, 2008:I use this chain wax every time we go riding!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

An excellent value

TERRY in IA

Comments On Apr 12, 2008:Great value-excellent product

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great!

COLIN in WA

Comments On Mar 05, 2008:Great stuff! Keeps chain lubed great and doesn't leave nasty residue.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good stuff

JAKE in NY

Comments On Mar 04, 2008:great stuff and works just how they say

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BOOOOO!

zak in NC

Comments On Feb 22, 2008:I used this on my dirt bike and fourweeler followed the directions and after gettin the chain a tiny bit wet the stuff came right off i think it sux and wouldnt buy it again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Chain Oil

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:We like it and have used it for the last two years. Nice, clean and works.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good lubricating chain wax

ROD in KS

Comments On Feb 06, 2008:Lubes and waxes all in one. Seems to not attract dirt real fast, which is good. Lasts a long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxima Chain Wax

TED in AZ

Comments On Jan 29, 2008:Especially great product when used in the sand or dusty conditions, doesn't attract dirt like some other chain lubes out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Wax

NEIL in AZ

Comments On Jan 27, 2008:I have tried every lube possible on street, dirt & sand chains. Chain wax is the only lube I use anymore ! It stays on and does not collect dust dirt or sand. Apply, let stand a day if possible and go ! Great stuff ! Funky smell ?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

one of the best

TIMOTHY in IL

Comments On Jan 01, 2008:i have used all kinds of lube for my chains and i keep coming back to chain wax.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

chain wax

DAVID in KS

Comments On Dec 13, 2007:put it on a few hours before riding or everything sticks to it, make sure it has air dryed

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Wax

SCOTT in FL

Comments On Dec 05, 2007:Good Stuff

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent

BRYAN in OH

Comments On Nov 29, 2007:Pro's: Doesn't fling off like oil based. Seems to stay on chain longer. Con's: Attracts and retains dirt easily. DO NOT use in sand - instantly eats sprockets b/c sand sticks to the waxy film.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain lube

JORDAN in VA

Comments On Nov 30, 2007:this stuff works great and stays put...minimal fling off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain wax

BOBBY in WV

Comments On Nov 27, 2007:chain wax is the best chain lube i have ever used

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This stuff works

Bill in SC

Comments On Nov 20, 2007:Chain wax is great. Stays on chain and works great on cables.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for the sand.

PHILLIP in OR

Comments On Oct 30, 2007:Cleaning and treating the chain prior to every trip to the dunes has helped to keep the sand out of, and off of, the chain. Not like using a wet lube (WD40, etc) that would attract sand. Have a large can in the garage and a small one in the tool bag.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain wax

Ryan in NY

Comments On Oct 27, 2007:Good chain lube.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff

DANIEL in NV

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:It stays put and seems to lubricate well. Plus, did I mention that it stays put? No mess.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It Stinks...

DARYL in CA

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:Literally! Allow plenty of time to air this stuff out. After it dries, it's works good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works well

JUSTIN in OR

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Kind of tough to mess this one up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK, But not great

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I really expected more out of this product. Regular penetrating oil was just as effective.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

RYAN in FL

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I love it doesnt stain the swinger like oil does

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

maxima chain wax

MARK in IN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:works great. stays put after recomended dry time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I get max chain life

ROBERT in IN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:i get at least a year out of my chains,I think chain wax has a good deal to do with my max chain life.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stays put and lasts long

JEFF in CT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I use chain wax on all my bikes now, and the Maxima brand is a good value, good price and good quality. It stays put after the recommended drying time and doesn't fling off and make a mess on your bike. It definitely protects the chain from water/mud too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Wax

MAXWELL in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Like this Product, works well in all types of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD STUFF, BUT

ROB in IN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:HAVE USED THIS STUFF FOR AWHILE, WORKS GREAT, NO DOUBT ABOUT IT, BUT HAVE SWITCHED TO THE MAXIUM LUBE, ITS JUST LESS MESSY

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain wax stays on chain not the wheel

JEFF in FL

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Been using chain wax for over 15 yrs now. wont fling off and make a mess like others. great for cable lube and other uses. the best out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great stuff

JUSTIN in UT

Comments On Oct 21, 2007:this stuff is easy to apply and works great for all typess of riding conditions

Was this review helpful?