MSR Folding Shift Lever

Customer Reviews for MSR Folding Shift Lever

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 49 Reviews

Return to MSR Folding Shift Lever Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

MSR Folding Shift Lever Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

ANDREW in NV

Comments On Dec 01, 2013:This is a great shift lever it fols back and has not broken on me the only thing I can pick out is the weight.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good part, didn't fit my bike.

Randy in CA

Comments On Nov 09, 2013:Contrary to another review, spline size did not fit my 2006 Kawasaki KLX 250S. It was worth a try.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

As Expected

Chuck in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 HONDA XR80R

Comments On Sep 06, 2013:Everything I expected. great quality

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality product

janice in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF80F

Comments On Aug 29, 2013:This is a good thing to have if you only have a stock shifter it is dubable and wont bend because its a folding leaver its worth the price and iis worth the purchase cause the stock leaver will just fold over and break after so many times of dumping your bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

way better than stock

RALPH in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA XR100R

Comments On Jul 31, 2013:Sturdy and looks good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get the Aluminum one Chewbacca!

Jared in ID

Comments On Jul 23, 2013:Yeah it's tough. That is the problem. It would probably bust your case open or bend your shift rod. It didn't quite fit right on an XR 400. Yeah I ride an XR 400. I had the KTM 300 and it was awesome, but I got bills. When things get a bit western on the trail, you may just want that shift lever to bend or break rather than force something downstream of the impact. I carry this one for spare; just like a kidney.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid- Well Made

Shane in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF230F

Comments On Jun 04, 2013:This shifter is SOLID! It is a tight fit and machined well (NO PLAY ON SHAFT). If you put a standard screwdriver in the gap to open the diameter of the spline, it will slide on. Good Product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

XR400R fitment

Devon in NY

Comments On Apr 08, 2013:Lever fit tight on shift shaft but does not align well with foot peg. Sticks out too far from engine and is hard to shift with this lever. Will have to try and bend in a vice to make this lever work

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

broke after 5 rides

matthew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Feb 21, 2013:was a great shifter till it broke on its 5 ride out. it snapped right by the shift shaft. wouldnt recremond if u like riding tight trails with stumps and rocks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great quality

ANTHONY in UT

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:strong and well fitting, and looks great as well

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Big difference

Duane in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Jan 27, 2013:I was surprised how much difference a bit longer lever did in helping to shift with a size 12 motocross boot.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits KLX250S

Christyn in UT

Comments On Nov 08, 2012:My stock shift lever was scratching up my casing, so I got this one to give it a try. The 09 KLX250S is not listed but it is a fit, and will place the lever far enough away to not scratch up your bike!!
Tightening the screw is a little difficult but possible :)
Much stronger than stock so hopefully it won't pretzel after every crash!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Nathan in MI

Comments On Jun 29, 2012:Great Lever - Longer then stock. Needed to be bent to clear the case guards on my DRZ. Replace the bolt with a hardened one from the hardware. The stock bolt is crap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

shift shaft broke

jason in MO

Comments On Feb 13, 2012:This lever is very tough. Tough to the point that it will not give at all and instead broke the end of the shift shaft off of my 01 xr250r during a harescramble leaving me stuck in 2nd gear. Repair requires spliting the case to install a new shift shaft

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MSR Folding Shift Lever

Jason in TX

Comments On Jan 24, 2012:Works great on my son's CRF80. Much better than the stock shifter. This one should last for as long as we have the bike!! I would purchase again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good enough but sticks out far

TYLER in IN

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:Used to replace a Tusk lever that would not stay tight. The MSR is better quality and has stayed tight. Cheaper than OEM but not shaped well. Only complaint is that the lever sticks out too far...as far as the foot peg on the XR400R. I plan to cut some length from the toe piece to keep it from digging in to the ground.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tuff enough !!

Ed in ON

Comments On Oct 20, 2011:Bought one of these for my XR650 a couple years ago. Been through some pretty knarly mountain terrain and it's crunched more than a few rocks and boulders...yet...it's still in one piece...no bends. Money well spent !

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It´s better than the original one

Enrique in CA

Comments On Jun 10, 2011:It´s a hard piece and confortable.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Has'nt broken

Tom in SA

Comments On Mar 18, 2011:I got this for my 09drz400 as i couldnt fit my boot under the factory one. Its longer by about an inch which made it just right and has held up to a fair bit of punishment. Overall good quality

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

much better than stock

Daniel in NY

Comments On Mar 10, 2011:This seems to be a lot tougher than OEM shifters.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fits great

RYAN in CA

Comments On Feb 25, 2011:msr knows how to do it. thing bolts right on...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This thing is tough!

Jason in KS

Comments On Jan 08, 2011:This shifter must be made out of recycled tanks! Love the knurled folding end, it provides a good grip on the boot. I have dumped the bike on its side a couple of times, and this shifter didn't even get bent unlike the factory one.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MSR Folding Shift Lever

Mark A. in VA

Comments On Dec 18, 2010:I purchased this item because I couldn't get my size 12 boot anywhere close to being able to shift my KLX400 with the stock (and very short) shift lever. I thought about altering the stock lever by purchasing a used one, sectioning it, and welding the two together. Why go through the hassle when you can buy the MSR for the price of the used shifter alone. It is a quality item, fits perfectly, and allows even the largest boot to activate it without problem. Great product for you 400 Kawie and Suzuki riders!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

its on the bike and working fine

bert in WA

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:its on the bike and still working fine 3000km later. certainly makes changes better with a big hoof and mx boots.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good buy

Jason in NY

Comments On Jun 13, 2009:Great price, stronger and tighter than the stock piece which I destroyed in the trails... Good job MSR!
Additional Comments On Oct 18, 2010:Better than stock, will bend and not break after a hard crash... I've bent it back to shape and I still believe I have seasons worth of life left with this part. It's a great buy considering if seen similar parts go for twice as much.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Ron in PA

Comments On Jun 09, 2010:Very well made product....its very tough!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Shift Lever

Jeff in OH

Comments On Mar 12, 2010:Very solid quality product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality

Mark in IN

Comments On Feb 19, 2010:I replaced this on my Xr100 after bending the stock one so many times. This steel one is tough and can be bent back several times without snapping, unlike aluminum. Yes, the XR100 is a small gutless bike, but it gets ridden hard.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LOOKS GREAT

jessie in IL

Comments On Oct 30, 2009:not only does it look great but way lighter than the factory shifter

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stupid Spring

BRIAN in NY

Comments On Jul 01, 2009:I keep reading about how that spring breaks easily, and what do you know. i get the shifter put it on, I push the one peice in a little and the freaking spring breaks. Lame.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Broke before even riding

Dalton in WY

Comments On Jun 14, 2009:i just got the lever and havent even rode it once and the spring on its already broke other then that its an ok shift lever could of been better though

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Broken already

CHRIS in NC

Comments On Apr 29, 2009:Spring broke on first fall. Very disappointed :( I'll try to drill out the rivet, and put a new spring in. Hopefully that will fix it. Otherwise, it has a better feel than the stock shifter on my 2000 TTR250.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great shifter great price

michael in PA

Comments On Apr 10, 2009:Shifter fit perfect, like it better and was cheaper then the competitive brand that was on it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great shifter!

jared in PA

Comments On Mar 28, 2009:my factory shifter stripped out on my 93 yz 250 so I bought this one. it fit right on the bike soo easily and it gives me much faster and firmer shifts. I've dumped it a couple times and didnt even scratch it. I'm definitely happy with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ok for the money

HOWARD in AZ

Comments On Jan 13, 2009:Installed the shifter on my bike and it was at a very strange angle, tip bent back and down. Took some "adjusting" with a couple of adjustable wrenches and a vice to get it to fit properly.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2003 Suzuki DRZ400E

Stephen in OH

Comments On Aug 28, 2008:Installed easily, fits great. I wear a size 11 boot and it was hard to shift with the stock short lever. very happy with product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MSR Shift Lever

Brinton in UT

Comments On Aug 06, 2008:This is a pretty good lever to buy, it is a heck of a lot easier to shift with when you have boots on than a stock lever, but the paint seems to scratch of pretty easily. I bought one and put it on my 1994 XR200R, it fit perfect! It has good functionality which is the reason I gave it 4 stars.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad

CHRIS in MA

Comments On Mar 09, 2008:Not a bad shifter, has held up well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

JASON in OR

Comments On Feb 10, 2008:Great product fit perfectly and works great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I want 2 tell you about your product.

cody in OH

Comments On Jan 27, 2008:The shift lever works great on my dirt bike. Also it was an affordable price for me. If I had to get another one I would get it from you. Another thing is it looks great on my bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended for XR250

ROBERT in NC

Comments On Jan 18, 2008:Bought one of these shifters for my '93 XR (same p/n fits up to 2004). Looked good, nice fit, solid feel. About one month in however, the return spring for the folding tip broke. I thought it was a fluke so bought another one. A month later, that one broke in exactly the same way. RMATV, providing some of that great customer service that keeps bringing me back order after order, credited me for both shifters and I bought another brand. Bottom line, I would not buy another one of these shifters under any circumstances, nor would I recommend one to anybody.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just like factory!

WILLIAM in CO

Comments On Jan 20, 2008:Great replacement shifter. Quality construction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

shorter than stock

JUSTIN in LA

Comments On Jan 19, 2008:it's an inch or so shorter than the stock crf80 shifter, but much stronger and better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Much more room

JASON in TN

Comments On Jan 04, 2008:One of the best mods I have done on my DRZ as far as comfort and fewer missed shifts to boot.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MSR Folding Shift Lever

LYNN in WV

Comments On Dec 13, 2007:Great product. Good price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sturdy

Randy in NC

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Shifter seems to be durable enough, a lot better than factory (the fact that it folds) and at a good price compared to other folding shifters.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice fitting shifter

jim in OH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:works a bit better than the oem one and doesnt bend or break when you lay it down.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Smart upgrade

TOMMY in NC

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great replacement for solid shifters. No more broken shifters/ shortened days

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Lever

MARK in NH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Got tired of unbending my stocker whenever I hit a rock or root. Very tough shifter. Still straight. Definatly worth buying!

Was this review helpful?