Hinson Clutch Basket

Customer Reviews for Hinson Clutch Basket

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 23 Reviews

Return to Hinson Clutch Basket Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Hinson Clutch Basket Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

Justin in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Jun 03, 2014:This is a awesome clutch basket. It made the clutch pull a little easier and controlled the engagement better. I would definitely buy one again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

MICHAEL in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 14, 2013:Had to buy a new clutch basket because I ride my 450 like a 2 stroke (bad habit to break) and notched out the stock basket. I put 40 hours on the Hinson basket and it still looked like new. Great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

top notch

JOSHUA in ID

Comments On May 06, 2013:Well worth the cost

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice basket

Ken in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Feb 20, 2013:Workmanship looks great. Going to install tonight, but wanted to correct a previous commenter that said it comes with cushions.
The model I received for my KTM 300 does not come with the cushions (and RM never said it did). It comes with: * Basket * A new retainer plate * Torx head screws for retainer plate
To install, you will need to reuse or order new cushions and have some fresh Loctite red 272. I spoke with the Hinson guys and they were clear that the normal red 271 doesn't cut it as it's not the same high-temp spec, and that the 272 has a limited shelf life of 8-10 months before it starts to loose effectiveness.
I suggested they start including packets of 272 with the basket as it's hard for most of us to source locally.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2 years later...

Wes in Oklahoma – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Feb 09, 2013:I broke a fiber so had to replace them. The Hinson basket still looks brand new. The OEM basket with 2 years life was totally shredded!! This basket truly is BULLET PROOF. I ride about 2-3 times a month training and racing offroad events so it has seen some abuse.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

smooth

lee in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jan 17, 2013:This basket is very smooth and works well. Easy to install. Hardest part is getting the main gear off the old stock basket. A grinder worked for me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Rick in OR

Comments On Nov 13, 2012:Bought this for my 92 CR500. Stock basket was worn badly and caused hard clutch pull and the clutch would not fully disengage causing the engine to die when the bike was in gear and not moving. Installation was fairly easy. Special locktight is required (high strength and high heat stuff) that is not common in hardware or autopart stores, would be nice if a small bottle was included with the kit. Other than that, it worked great, and has held up so far with no issues. I would purchase again for sure.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice.

Emmanuel in NC

Comments On Oct 26, 2012:Replaced my groovy stock basket with this one and it has been holding up great. Be ready to remove the stock gear from the original basket and install on this one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Basket case

Michael in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Bought this for my sons RM 125. works pretty good and lasts longer than the stock aluminum, however it's showing signs of wear sooner than I expected. Think I'll try the wiseco with the lifetime warranty next.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

money well spent

Michael in ON

Comments On Aug 21, 2012:other than needing a good gear and parts to pull off, and the bit of work to transfer, it is as easy as installing a new oem, it fits and works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough as nails

KEVIN in IL

Comments On Apr 23, 2012:Purchased for TRX450R with a rekluse auto clutch after the stock basket roached out. Perfect fit and strong. Little sign of wear with years of use

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

clutch

KEVIN in NC

Comments On Oct 15, 2011:the best you can buy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outlasted the stock clutch

MIKE in AZ

Comments On May 03, 2011:After replacing the stock clutch I installed a new Hinson Basket. Clutch is smother and basket is in better shape than the stock with more hours on it!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best clutch components around.

RICHARD in NJ

Comments On Apr 11, 2011:I replaced my stock TRX450r basket with this and the clutch has been smoother ever since. Hinson is the way to go.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great basket

Chris in IN

Comments On Jan 04, 2011:I put this basket in my 2008 CRF450R along with a Rekluse ZstartPro clutch. It works great. I also want to let everyone know that it comes with the cushions although the product heading does not say that it does. I called Rocky Mountain to have them change the listing 4 months ago and they still have not changed it. Anyway good clutch basket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best

ROBERT in CO

Comments On Sep 18, 2010:I will buy another.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great basket

Corey in OH

Comments On Apr 26, 2010:This is a great improvment from my stock basket. you will need a press to put it on though. not that big of a deal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

can't beat it!

SUN in TX

Comments On Jan 29, 2010:Great product. Bike shifts much better now and the Hinson has way outlasted the stock clutch basket on my KTM 250SX (300 top end).

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Depends on the bike

KENNETH in NJ

Comments On Apr 15, 2009:I had this in my 400ex and it was worlds better than my stock basket but in my 2009 yfz450r it couldn't compare to the gytr I used for racing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great basket!!!

JASON in AZ

Comments On Nov 17, 2008:i installed one of these when i put in a new Rekluse auto clutch. the combination of the 2 is unbelievable.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

great clutch basket

ED in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I've had it in my 03 Suzuki Z400 for almost 4 years. replaced the clutch plates 6 months ago, not even a wear mark on the basket, the motor is hopped up to a 470, port and polish, cams, valves and ect, love the performance

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better Basket

VIN in NJ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Smoother clutch action and lasts longer than stock basket

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid for several hundred hours

KEITH in NV

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This basket has worked great in my KTM 200EXC for a couple hundred hours if riding time.

Was this review helpful?