Hot Cams Valve Shim Kit

Customer Reviews for Hot Cams Valve Shim Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 86 Reviews

Return to Hot Cams Valve Shim Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Hot Cams Valve Shim Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice to have

christopher in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jul 17, 2014:if you own a 4s or ride with friends who own 4s, this is a great kit to have. you will never have to worry if you have the shims you will need.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit!

SETH in WI

Comments On Jul 11, 2014:Just what I needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

amazing

Matthew in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On May 21, 2014:kit worked great for me and had everything I needed. I highly recommend it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Shim Kit

Norman in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Apr 21, 2014:Great kit. Everything you will need to get it right the irst time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Ryan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Apr 06, 2014:I love the kit everything you need plus some if you think you need to shim your valves get it worth every dollar.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

KEVIN in NC

Comments On Mar 31, 2014:great had everything I needed to fix the problem

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must needed for a 4 stroke

BRITT in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:Why go to the dealer and hope your buying the right size shim for $10. Thats $40 for 4.... Just spend a little more and have EVERY shim you need PERIOD

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must Have!

Thomas in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Mar 08, 2014:Gotta check those valves if you want to keep it screaming, good quality kit!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Josh in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:plenty of shims good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as intended

Forrest in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Dec 09, 2013:Never worked on the shim type valves before so it was nice to be able to use a little trial an error to determine an ideal shim size. It also comes with a lot of shims so I can help out friends as well. I'll never use them all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very helpful but pricey.

Parker in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Nov 27, 2013:This kit is way better than buying each shim individually for five bucks a pop and the case is a nice touch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Heather in UT

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:Everything you need, comes with 3 shims of each size and that honestly seems like plenty, and if it's not there are always recharge packs for a particular shim size. I believe it's a MUST in this four-stroke era.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Partial shim kit

Steve in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Aug 13, 2013:This kit is ok in a pinch but lacks all the .75 and .25 increments needed for a perfect valve job. Not the quality I was hoping for. Will stick with OEM shims from now on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very neccessary if you own a modern race 4 stroke

James in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Aug 03, 2013:Unfortunately, those with modern 4 stroke race bikes will need this set quite a lot. Came with 3 shims in each size, in very identifiable slots.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

JACK in UT

Comments On Jul 18, 2013:good stuff

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works as expected

Taylor in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Jul 01, 2013:They are shims... They went right in and haven't broke, so all it well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What a money and time saver!!!

Alexandre in NY

Comments On Jun 14, 2013:That's one fo the most usefull things I've acquired lately for my mx. For the price, 85$ in a box of 141 shims 8$ each at the dealer, they are a huge time saver for those who adjuts their valves and are forced to get one shim at a dealer (supposing the shim is of the correct size).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

Ryan in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On May 29, 2013:Had all the shims i needed and more exactly as described

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good to have

Scott in WV

Comments On May 17, 2013:Nice to have around the garage for your valve shimming needs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No issues

ROBERT in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On May 03, 2013:Re shimmed my rm z450 with no issues. They did what they were suppose to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy this if you do your own shims

Jeffrey in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Apr 27, 2013:Plenty of shims to get the job done right, without ordering individuals or running back and forth to the shop. Must have if you value your time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

haven't got to use yet

michael in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:best deal !!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

haven't got to use yet

michael in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:best deal !!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Kit

Kevin in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Feb 24, 2013:Large selection of all valve shims you may need.. Nice large stamps on shims so they can not be mistaken. All depending what shims you use, you will be able to do multiple vehicles with it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great kit

Blake in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Feb 18, 2013:This is a must have for tuning your quad/dirtbike. no need to mess with single shims at a time, there are 3 of each size all in a nice pack.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

is a must

JAKE in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Feb 15, 2013:having a shim set is much easier than going to the dealer everytime you adjust your valves.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Value

Peter in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Feb 14, 2013:A nice variety of shims at a fraction of the cost of a factory kit. Been running then in my KTM without any issues.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Shim kit

George in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 13, 2012:Used this on my sons Suzuki 450. Did just what it was supposed to. Plan on using it on my Kawaski 450 when the time comes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

SEAN in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 SUZUKI DR-Z 400SM

Comments On Dec 02, 2012:It was nice having a selection to fumble through as I figured out what I needed. Ready for next time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DOES WHAT IT IS SUPPOSE TO

Andrew in NT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 28, 2012:Works as they should and at a good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good value

val in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HUSQVARNA TC 250

Comments On Nov 26, 2012:much cheeper than buying one at a time .nice to have all sizes on hand

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very good shim kit

Michael in KS

Comments On Sep 18, 2012:The sizes make it easy for adjustments to be made.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

kyle in HI

Comments On Sep 10, 2012:Easy to use. Good kit to have for installing hot cam.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

4 stroke

Michael in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:If you have a fourstroke race bike, mechanically inclined and you want to save some money you'll need these.You can't adjust valves without them. Very nice kit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Beats going to a dealer

Robert in WA

Comments On Aug 06, 2012:Cant beat that price for a full set

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

drz Ltz

PATRICK in CO

Comments On Aug 04, 2012:I used the kit to fit the Drz400 and Ltz400 Has worked great, has had all the needed sizes. would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice kit

Pierre in QC

Comments On Jul 18, 2012:very handful

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have

Kristian in WY

Comments On Mar 30, 2012:Great product, clean, exact fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

Brandon in WA

Comments On Feb 23, 2012:after a little engine work and replacing the valve shims my bike runs great. Good purchase

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product you can hold onto for years,

ZACKARY in MN

Comments On Jan 24, 2012:I bought these shims when I was a kid and have used them several times when rebuilding the top end of my '03 LTZ 400. They are neatly organized and labeled as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cams

Mark in CO

Comments On Sep 20, 2011:This is a great set of shims. Way more than I needed but since I didnt know the size I needed and do not have a shop near that I could buy them at this was the best way to go. The only problem is now I have a bunce of unused shims and I dont think I will ever need that many.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

Tony in VIC

Comments On Sep 06, 2011:Comes with heaps of shims and is a no brainer for anyone who does their valve clearances themselves. Some of the shims didn't fit (they were too big) which is why i knocked off a star, however you can always go to the next shim size down if this happens and the clearances will still be in spec. I would still recommend this product but the pro x kit might be of better quality ie all the shims fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have for CRF 250 owners

Dave in CA

Comments On May 31, 2011:We've got the 2004 CRF250r. These shims come in really handy. Save yourself time and money and get these shims.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must Have

DON in UT

Comments On May 11, 2011:If you own a new 4 stroke and do your own work this shim kit is a must have! Buy this kit and save yourself a lot of trips to the dealer and wasted time ordering parts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great to have

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Apr 06, 2011:good for when you do top ends and valve work to reshim.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A good investment

JEREMY in ME

Comments On Mar 09, 2011:you should just buy it if it's time to adjust your valves

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

lots of shims

DEAN in CA

Comments On Jan 19, 2011:I found a simular storage case at kmart for 4 dollars and wish I would have just ordered a hand full of shims. Way to many and I will never use them except for a few.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheaper than gas

BRIAN in PA

Comments On Jan 11, 2008:A lot cheaper than a couple trips to the dealer to buy shims as needed.
Additional Comments On Jan 11, 2011:So nice to have when you want to adjust valves. Saves a lot of time .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Exactly what it should be

Mark in ID

Comments On Nov 08, 2010:Lots of tiny little parts stored in a tightly closing case. Product does what it should and is a must for anyone with titanium valves. much easier than measuring and then purchasing shims. Do it right the first time with this kit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect is you keep your bike maintained

BRIAN in UT

Comments On Oct 26, 2010:Nothing like having shims without doing the calculations, praying your right, then running to the shop to find out they do not have what you need. If you maintain 1 or more bikes, especially if they all take the same shim diameter, get this kit!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

EDWARD in NY

Comments On Oct 19, 2010:Comes in very easy to read container, all shims are marked, a must have to keep your 4 stroke running tip top....best of all all 450s are the same you can even share/sell with your buddies must have...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hot Cams Shim Kit

ROBERT in AZ

Comments On Sep 07, 2010:It's nice to have what you need on hand. It sure beats having to go to the dealer everytime a valve adjustment is needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

kit makes it easier

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:This kit make things easier instead of ordering and waiting for a single shim.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Shims!

Justin in PA

Comments On Jul 10, 2010:With this kit u should never need to buy more shims. I have more than I will ever use with this kit. Plus shims cost about 6 or 7 bucks each at a shop. Much cheaper to get this kit if u check your valves yourself.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

shim kit

craig in IL

Comments On Jul 04, 2010:perfect fit and a must for shimming your valves

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

HOT CAMS VALVE SHIM KIT

GEORGE in WA

Comments On Jun 17, 2010:This is the only way to go if you are going to adjust valve clearance.No need to go back & forth to get the right shim at the local dealership.Its all there.I highly recommend it.awesome kit...thanks rocky mountain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

valve kit

LOUIS in AZ

Comments On Jun 03, 2010:great product very well marked ... just awesome

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Everything you need

JUSTIN in PA

Comments On Apr 17, 2010:I bought this for my crf450r and they were very clearly marked. Only complain is that there are only 3 of each shim, what if the small chance occurs that you need the same size for all four valves?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a must

Dale in NJ

Comments On Feb 28, 2010:it is a must if you do everything your self just wish there where more than 3 of the same size shims

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice kit

Josh in PA

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:The shims are very consistant and seem to have good tolerances. You cant beat this for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A very good investment to have in your shop

MIKE in WA

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:Bringing your ride to the shop for valve adjustsments can get very expensive, and it's not hard to do yourself. Purchase this kit and do your own valve adjustments.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NICE!

Luke in CO

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:Makes life easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No messing around !

Owen in WV

Comments On Dec 10, 2009:Opened up 2008 YZ250F to do top end job. Thought good of it to buy this kit before I started the job. Good thing. Needed shims in 1.70 -1.80 range. Clearly marked and nicely organized. Recommend without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

JAMES in AR

Comments On Jun 18, 2009:has everything you need

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Less Down Time

KENNETH in NJ

Comments On Apr 15, 2009:This has been great because I can work on my bike at anytime and not have to worry about running to the local shop for shims. My only beef is there are only a few of each shim and I have a 5 valve head and a dirt bike with a 4 valve head. While its unlikely I'll use all the shims at one time, its still gives you a more secure feeling.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Saves a headache

JEFF in WA

Comments On Apr 08, 2009:This makes adjusting the valves easy. No guessing and they are marked very well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

shims

BRETT in AL

Comments On Mar 19, 2009:nice kit like the box it comes in didnt come with any stickers though but the shims do their job perfectly

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great!!

CHRISTOPHER in NC

Comments On Oct 08, 2008:makes adjusting your valves simple, you always have the right shim

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Makes life simple

DAREN in ID

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:Can do the job all at one time. don't have to make a trip to the dealer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not cheap but well worth having

MIGUEL in CA

Comments On Mar 04, 2008:I own several different hot cams and like to switch them up depending on the type of riding. That's never a problem with this shim kit. I can easily re-shim cams and make the required maintenance on my valve's with this kit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

all shims handy

ADAM in IN

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:convience

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome to have on hand

COLIN in NC

Comments On Feb 12, 2008:THIS PRODUCT WORKS GREAT AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE TO USE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

GIBSON in OR

Comments On Feb 11, 2008:Great selection and quality! Another great hotcams product with a great RMATV price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ltz 400 shim kit

ANDREW in KS

Comments On Feb 05, 2008:get it before improper valve clearances get you make sure you have the proper feeler gauges also

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

MERRICK in VA

Comments On Dec 17, 2007:It's great to have just the right shim on hand when you need it. (Like Saturday night before a race or ride...)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

check them valves

DAVID in KS

Comments On Dec 13, 2007:This is a must have. The kit will save you time and money

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Lori in PA

Comments On Nov 13, 2007:This is a great product to have on hand. With a 450r you always have to keep a eye on your valves. At 75 bucks a pop at the dealer this product will start saving you money soon and for a long time. You receive a great assortment too. The shims are well marked also.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well

GINA in SD

Comments On Nov 12, 2007:Great kit.
Used on 05 CRF 250R, 06 YZ250f, and 07 RMZ250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

JOE in OR

Comments On Nov 08, 2007:This product is spendy but a must have if you are going to do your own valve adjustments. They fit perfectly and I have had no problems so far

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great kit for a great price

ERIC in ME

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Good to have when you're always adjusting your valves!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

valve shim kits

JOHN in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:this is a great buy for do-it-yourselfers.really good if you can share cost with friends who can also use them. you may still need to buy additionnal shims, as first-time valve adjustments may need more of the same size shims than supplied in kit. there are also a lot of thicker shims (than oem) that you will never use (honda& yamaha).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

shims

ED in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:its a nice set to have. its costs a little to much for my tastes for a product you may only use once,Ive used it once to adjust my valves, may never have too use it again but if I do I know i'll have them and I wont have to pay for somebody to adjust the valves

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big money saver

MICHAEL in TN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Buy this kit, use it once and save big time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Kit.

JEFF in NC

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This kit saved me $9 a shim at the shop that did the adjustment on my 2000 DRZ 400e. I took with me to the shop and the mechanic even wanted to buy them from me. Thanks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to use

Julie in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:All of the shims are clearly marked. The markings stay clear even after many hours of use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect kit for people who maintain their vehicle

MAXIMILIAN in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:this is a must have for any motor head. I use these shims all the time. Most people neglect their toys. but if you like to keep your motor running in tip top conditions this is a must have for anyone who wants to stay competetive, and have a reliable motor.

Was this review helpful?