Ricochet Offroad Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for Ricochet Offroad Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 134 Reviews

Return to Ricochet Offroad Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Ricochet Offroad Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet Skid Plate

Gage in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jul 25, 2014:I got this skid plate for my crf450r and so far it has done what it is intended to do. I ride in some really rough country and have nailed my bike one some rocks pretty hard. This skid plate has done great protecting my bike. It is kind of a pain to install but other than that it is great especially for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wrong size bolts

terry in CA

Comments On Jul 03, 2014:The skid plate it self is fine but for almost 100 bucks you think they could provide you with the rt lenght bolts now I have to drive 35 miles to buy the rt size bolts WTF???

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Thing takes a beating!

Vincent in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI DR650SE

Comments On Jun 29, 2014:This thing can take a hit.It's heavy duty and its light. i have hit stumps hard and its not bent and my engine is fine!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Kelby in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 29, 2014:this skid plate fit perfectly on my crf450r

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit great-Lots of protection

Dave in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jun 21, 2014:It fit great and does a good job of protecting the sides of the engine and water pump.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty tough

STEVE in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 HONDA CR500R

Comments On May 28, 2014:Great protection for the cases/frame rails. A must if you're racing an mx bike in hare scrambles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WOrks great

Joey in AR – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 KAWASAKI KDX200

Comments On Apr 30, 2014:Works great and I have never had a problem with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good skid plate, but....

Michael in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Apr 30, 2014:Skid plate fits nice and looks good. It needs better instructions. First ride with it on it made a really weird sound and I though something was wrong with my bike. Then i realized the skid plate was what made it do that. Overall it is a good investment though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect skid plate

Dan in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 29, 2014:Super beefy and strong. Installed in 10 minutes. Has taken some direct impacts on rocks, without even breaking a sweat.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's a skid plate

Sky in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA XR650L

Comments On Apr 18, 2014:Overall I like this product. The skid plate is thick aluminum, with good welds, and the fit is good. I wish you didn't have to remove the factory skid bars to install it. I did not like the hardware, which are plain steel. This item seems overpriced to me for what you are getting in materials. If it protects your bike it would be more than worth the price though.
I spray painted the exterior black for appearance. I coated the inside with spray rubber to help with vibration and noise. I coated the S-hook fasteners with rubber tool dip. I wanted the rubber coating to protect the paint on the factory frame from being worn off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not perfect

Geoffrey in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Mar 15, 2014:Fortunately I have gotten better at keeping my bike on the wheels so I haven't put this through a true torture test. It seems like it is capable of protecting the bike reasonably well, but there is definitely room for improvement: 1) the sides could extend just a bit higher / our. 2) more holes for air flow. SOUND: The first time I rode with this on it had a nasty hollow sound, I actually thought my water pump might be running dry... I finally realized what was making the sound so I removed it and put silicon caulk all over the engine side of it. This has helped with the weird hollow sound quite a bit, but it still sounds a little bit different that my bike did before installation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Erik in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Mar 14, 2014:This is the 2nd Ricochet Skid Plate I have used. Also have one for a TTR230. Both are well designed, and well built. Very Sturdy! Easy to install, very good protection.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great protection will but one on every bike i get

matthew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 09, 2014:I ride single track a lot and its great for slamming on trees and rocks and slides right over fit perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love it

Daniel in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Mar 04, 2014:put it on right before my desert race and it saved my bike so much recommended for all my friends to put one on there bikes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good enough, only minor complaints

Drew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Feb 13, 2014:The skidplate does its job and has protected my cases and frame tubes from some serious abuse. With that said, the fit is a bit sloppy; it doesn't interfere with anything, but it takes some attention to detail to get it on straight and centered where it should be on the bike so it doesn't look dumb. That just irritates the perfectionist in me everytime I take it off to clean the bike. I'd have probably given 4-stars if it was just a little less expensive or if it fit just a little more precisely.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits perfect on a 1999 RM 250

Nick in CA

Comments On Jan 20, 2014:Could not find a skid plate for a 1999 RM250 anywhere. Did some research on RMs and discovered the RM in 1999 has same overall specs as the 2001. Could it be the same frame? Did not know so I ordered it anyway. Fit like a glove. And no modification needed. And can still reach the drain plug on the bottom. Love it when things work out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

matt in UT

Comments On Jan 14, 2014:Ricochet skid plate installed easily on my bike. The sides of the plate angle up for more protection on the crankcase cover and clutch cover. This plate has taken some major hits and holds up nicely.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit and very well built

Joshua in NB – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Dec 21, 2013:This item works great, it fit well and is very well built!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hardware

Chris in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Dec 21, 2013:Great product beside the fact I had to tap out the threads in their hardware because the bolts wouldn't thread all the way. Other than that works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product at a great price

Stephen in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 09, 2013:Excellent skid plate. This thing has held up to a lot of abuse since I installed it and is no worse for wear. The side ears are nice and large for good side case protection. The oil drain hole is perfectly placed so I can drain the tranny oil with my bike sitting on its side stand and not a drop gets trapped on the skid plate.
I'm very happy overall with this purchase, the only reason I give it four stars is that the fit was not a good as it should have been. The main issue was with it hitting my stock pipe supports, but this did not prevent it from installed all the way and providing adequate protection.
I would recommended this product and would purchase again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

DAN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Dec 03, 2013:Awesome product and fit!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Heavy duty skid plate

Chris in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:This skid plate is heavy duty and bolted up without any modifications needed. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

TYLER in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 22, 2013:The fit was great and took about 3 min to install. The only bad thing I would have to say was that when changing the oil, some of the oil sat in the skid plate. So I had to wipe it out. But I think its a small price to pay for protecting your engine.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

skid plate

Billy in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Nov 08, 2013:Top notch.Great fit except had to trim a little to remove water cover in the future,but have to do that on all skidplates

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good peace of mind

Brian in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 SUZUKI DR-Z 400

Comments On Oct 26, 2013:Offers great protection and peace of mind.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bullet proof

Todd in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Oct 16, 2013:I ran one of these for three years on my 06 YZ450 and the thing was awesome. Tons of protection and durable. Mounted really nicely and looks great too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fit great.

Caleb in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Oct 17, 2013:Fit great requires 2 people to put on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good protection, ok install, no drain holes

ALAN in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Oct 08, 2013:This is a good skid plate and it provides decent protection. It is also only one of the ones available for my model of bike (KTM 200XC-W).
With that said, it does have one flaw: no drain holes for oil. My bike has a drain plug on both sides of the case, and there is not a drain hole for either. This means that you usually end up with an oily mess on the skid plate. Removing it would be an option - but the install is sort of a pain so that isn't a great option either really.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This thing does its job great....

Marty in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Sep 07, 2013:Installed easily in about 15 minutes with removing the old skid plate and side guards. Fit and finish is good to go. The protection is great as I have cased this thing several times and ride in rocks a lot. You CAN change the oil without removing the skid plate. If you have a steel frame bike and want to clean or check the strainer in the oil lines it will have to come off though. Overall I like it...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Takes a beating.

Geoff in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Sep 09, 2013:Tough skid plate. Held up to rocks and logs no problem. Really strong and good looking.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best

Julia in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Aug 26, 2013:This is the only skid plate I run. It mounts easy and does the job. Made in the u.s.a. Very good for all types of ridding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BASH proof!!!

JOE in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Aug 20, 2013:Simply the best. Bashed this for years in the rocks. Zero issues.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Runnin Fun

Rick in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Aug 07, 2013:Saved me in the backwoods. It's sturdy and light.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fits Great, very solid

Jay in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA WR250R

Comments On Aug 06, 2013:Pick this skid plate up to replace the wimp stock plastic pieces. Fitment was perfect (you'll need to remove the charcoal canister if you have a CA model). Quick easy mod.....
Only down side is that it it makes the motor a hole lot louder....the noise bounces off the plate and up to the rider. Did a quick search online and found some product to put between the plate and the bikes frame and all is good with the world again.
Highly recommend to anyone with an off road bike!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, but fit could be better.

Ryan in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KAWASAKI KLX250S

Comments On Jul 04, 2013:The fit is pretty good but the metal hangers fit poorly and look cheap. The holes in the plate for bolting it on line up well but the hangers push the plate out of position when tightened. I tried installing my plate with the hangers first and nothing lined up right.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Does NOT fit with SW Motech crash bars. Poor welds

CASEY in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:At Rocky MT ATV's recommendation I bought this to go under a KLR with sw motech crash bars. It doesn't fit. i had to cut off 3/4 of the ears on the sides to make it fit.
The skidplate also fits a bit wonky, it mounts in contact with the original front mount for the OEM plate and the rearmost lower hooks are almost on the peg mounts, Which would be fine but that area isn't round it is more "D" shaped. The welds are terrible with large voids and flaws on my plate. I would recommend looking at other brands. I have not bounced it off of rocks yet so I don't know how well it will hold up.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

did it's job

Marylou in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX100

Comments On Jun 21, 2013:went on no problems, and covers motor nicely especially since so much is exposed on a little kx100. Good buy for the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kicks Butt

Wes in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On Jun 06, 2013:This skidplate kicks Butt!! It's rugged & works well. Wont have anything else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does the job

Louis in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On May 16, 2013:Really good quality make sure you have a torques socket was a little tricky getting the brackets to line up just went for the first ride with the skid plate and it held up good must have for any trail machine

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fits good and offers good protection

Mark in TX

Comments On Apr 17, 2013:Fits good but a pain to install. Used some tips learned from reading the reviews and that definitely helped. It still took me 30 minutes to get on due to the hanger's constantly moving when trying to line up the screws.
I also was not aware of how much noise would be reflected back at me from the engine. On my first ride, I pulled over because I thought my radiator was boiling over...it was just the sound of my engine coming back off the skid plate. You get used to it quick, but it was startling at first.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits perfectly and is tough!

Brian in AZ

Comments On Mar 06, 2013:Great item, I ride a lot of enduros and this is a huge upgrade from the OEM plastic POS that comes on the 2012 and newer wr450f

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works pretty well

John in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI KDX200

Comments On Mar 05, 2013:I installed this skid plate on my KDX200 and it has taken a beating. Installation was easy enough. The only trouble I've had that after it took a bit of a beating it forced the plate backwards to the point where it is difficult to get easy access to the oil drain plug. If the hole was a bit further forward this would not be an issue.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very nice

jeffrey in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:very easy to install.thick steel and good protection.would recomend

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Protection

BRYCE in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 28, 2013:Pretty thick steel while able to protect the water pump Great product for the price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great skid plate

Zachary in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Feb 21, 2013:This thing fits great. I used never-cease on the bolts. After 10hrs of woods riding it shows no signs of loosening up. No rattles either! Great price compared to others on other sites.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, better than stock

Gabe in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA TTR125E

Comments On Feb 07, 2013:This certainly beats the cheesy OEM plastic skid plate, even though it is expensive for what it is. This one has a wing on the right side that protects the starter. It took some adjustment to get it to fit correctly (had to clamp in vise and reduce bend in wing to avoid hitting the starter). I also had to add spacers on the rear holes between the frame and skid plate. Then I replaced the supplied Torx head fasteners with standard hex head metric bolts. If I need to conduct a repair in the woods, Torx tools are not readily available.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet Offroad Skid Plate

brent in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 SUZUKI DR-Z 400E

Comments On Jan 28, 2013:Super strong skid plate. I haven't beat it against anything yet but I'm sure it will work just fine. Install will be easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good price good product

david in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jan 01, 2013:Works as advertised. Look no further.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome

joseph in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:best protection you could have. bolted right on with supplied hardware, works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Have them on all 3

John in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Nov 30, 2012:Good skid plate. Fits well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome plate

Angela in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Nov 30, 2012:gotta love ricochet. make seriously tough skid plates that cover the motor nice and look great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the money

Glen in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KLX250S

Comments On Nov 28, 2012:The stock skid plate in my klx isnt realy a skidplate so this is a great upgrade. only thing ive noticed is dirt gets behind the skidplate

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tuff Plate

SHANE in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF150R Expert

Comments On Nov 24, 2012:Strong! Holds up well to the mountain boulder and slick rock steps of Utah. Protects the engine well. However, it is hard to line up the bolt for mounting and rattles once on as the screws need to be shorter or a second washer added.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very nice

Tim in IL

Comments On Nov 06, 2012:if you ride in the woods this a must,.very well made and solid as a rock.Already saved my shifter

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet skidplate

Jerrod in CO

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:I put this on a DRZ400 and it got a lot of offroad use. Big rocks, logs, stumps and roots. It worked great and fit up pretty good. Id buy another if the need arises and it looks great by the way.

Additional Comments On Oct 13, 2012:I just bought a second one of these skidplates for my 2011 KTM 250sxf. Very well built and the mounting hardware is great. They come with welded on locknuts and it fits just perfect. The drain holes line right up. Its very well built and covers the cases ignition cover and waterpump nicely. This thing is a beauty. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Michael in PA

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:Did its job but would, purchase a poly skid like the acerbis before i ever purchase another aluminum one again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice armour

ART in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Don't leave home without protection

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great skid plate

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Aug 05, 2012:great product. saves from having a crushed or damaged case. love the heavy duty part of it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

Lane in ID

Comments On Aug 03, 2012:Very nice skid plate wraps around my water pump and mag cover. well worth the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very beefy

CHARLES in IL

Comments On Jul 25, 2012:well made very thick and fit perfect. looks like it would stop bullets.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

09 YZ450F

Justin in NV

Comments On Jul 07, 2012:Fit and install was easy. Oil changes with skid plate on are messy. Protection off road is great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

every bike should have one

jason in AB

Comments On Jun 25, 2012:I bought this for my xr400 and it has protected my frame many times I have even jumped 20 feet and landed on a rock and it just bent the plate just a little on the edge. Glad I purchased this skid plate. I would of had to replaced my frame by now.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great skid plate

Donald in IN

Comments On May 31, 2012:Sturdy, light and easy fit for 09 KLX250. Easy access to the drain plug.....good price too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

02 cr250r

Jamal in VA

Comments On Feb 16, 2012:The plate is light weight and feels strong but I Haven't been able to put it on my bike yet. The right side case cover part keeps hitting my expansion chamber whenever i try to put it on. I will cut it a bit and see what happens. Not worth the price unless it fits your model perfectly. The pipe is an FMF gnarly series, not like it makes a difference though. I wouldn't purchase again.
TECH NOTE: OCCASIONALLY SLIGHT ALTERATIONS WILL NEED TO BE MADE WHEN USING AFTERMARKET PIPES

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

easy install on XR650L

Kyle in IA

Comments On Mar 03, 2012:Purposly cased it out on some differnt stuff. Broke my disk brake guard and my kick stand, but skid plate and underside of bike held up great. Gotta quit field testing... :P Catches tons of mud though as expected.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bulletproof

Jim in AZ

Comments On Feb 26, 2012:Second bike I've purchased one for. Great fit and excellent protection, I'm confident it will stop most handgun bullets!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

XR650L Protection

Marcus in PA

Comments On Jan 23, 2012:I was skeptical about this skid due to some of the reviews, but purchased it anyway. Glad I did. The fit was excellent, you got to leave all fasteners a little loose until they are all started and positioned correctly, the same as with anything. Quality is excellent as well. Self locking clamping hardware was also a nice touch. A+ there!!! Great product, buy with confidence!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid

TYLER in IN

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:Beefy skid plate. Thick. Used on the DRZ for the TransAmerica Trail. Did suffer dented header but I doubt any skid plate could have prevented it. One bolt uses Torx/star patter, rest are allen/hex and they do sit on the surface vs. recessed. Has not been a problem yet. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must have

RICHARD in AZ

Comments On Jan 12, 2012:This skid plate is a must have for your dirt bike whether your on the trails or track it protects your engine period. Its tough as nails and takes a beating and won't let you down or wear out. Two issues though, its too heavy for mx, but I don't notice it cause I'm on a 450. And, the screws that hold it in place should be more inside and flush than stick on the outside of the bottom of it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great product

KEEGAN in UT

Comments On Jan 11, 2012:this was the first after market part that i purchased for my CRF450R. it fits the contours of the frame perfectly and is highly durable. the aluminum is thick but relativly light. it also protects the water pump and oil filter, taking the place of the plastic factory guards. it is great. I highly recomend it. Also it's easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

05 crf250r

Angela in MO

Comments On Jan 06, 2012:looks sturdy and covers cases and frame well but 2/4 mounts had to be fixed from the nut being welded in the wrong spot. And would not buy again because of fitment issues. but good quality for the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good protection

dana in CA

Comments On Dec 03, 2011:this thing has saved my case many times over, the one thing about it is that it, vibrates your engine noise.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product but would be excellent but...

Frank in CA

Comments On Nov 18, 2011:Like other reviewers have said this thing is built like a brick house and will take some serious abuse. The one thing that would take it from good to excellent would be bolts the correct length front! come on, they should just throw in a couple of extra longer bolts in case you need them for you particular installation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

09 WR450

Vernon in FL

Comments On Oct 14, 2011:This plate bolted on in minutes and already has stopped lots of hard things from getting near my engine. One of the best purchases I've made for this bike! Ride hard!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bullet Proof

ROBERT in MI

Comments On Oct 14, 2011:Everything I could have asked for, '01 KDX 200
Indestructible
Easy to Install
Allows easy maintenance, due to cutout for drain plug

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

yz 250 06. not a great fit

owen in VIC

Comments On Aug 09, 2011:purchased for my yz250 06 only 3 of the 4 mounts would fit. still on the bike offers great protection. woudnt buy again though from the issues with fitting
TECH NOTE: Be sure to leave all mounts loose before tightening.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

lined up well fit good but...

richard in RI

Comments On Aug 03, 2011:Front two screws were to short no biggie but when u spend almost 90 bucks for a peice of alluminum u would hope forthe right size screws

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Most Excellent

braden in CO

Comments On Jul 14, 2011:Very good coverage, heavy-duty, and easy to put on and take off. No need to take off for oil changes. This thing has taken a beating and is going strong. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

CRAIG in UT

Comments On Jul 13, 2011:Easy to install, excellent workmanship. Great level of protection and made right here in Utah!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet Offroad Skid Plate, very nice!!

Douglas in OR

Comments On Nov 27, 2009:This is a great item; light yet very strong and the fit is great. Go ahead, buy it, you won't be unhappy. I have one of these for my 06 YZ 250 and my kids 04 WR 250. These really cover the bike yet don't get in the way of your boot shifting or braking.
Additional Comments On Jun 29, 2011:I have totally abused this thing running over rocks and downed trees. Yes, it is scratched up but has retained it's shape. I just think what would have happened to my frame and case without it. Will I buy another one for a new bike someday? You bet. After time it did vibrate a little but easy fix. I seriously abuse this thing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Heavy duty

Christopher in CT

Comments On Jun 29, 2011:I had to open up the front holes where the stock skid plate bolted on. other than that its big heavy and fits nicely.
The only negative I see about it is. the back bolt head protrudes out from the plate so its not completly smooth on the bottom. That bolt will catch something at some point. I think I will replace it with a round headed screw.
07 yz250f

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid product

KELL in WA

Comments On Jun 28, 2011:Good quality aluminum skidplate designed to take abuse. Good fit on my 2008 KTM 300 XC-W.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Belly bash plate

RANDOLPH in PA

Comments On Jun 20, 2011: Engine/frame skid-plate bolted-on & fit perfectly right from the start. Covers up all of the exposed lower engine-case, oil-lines & frame-tubes. Nicely made - good, clean welds & smooth almost laser-cut edges. Great product, holding up well so far even after bottoming & scraping it several times crossing road-blocks & riding on rocky trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great skid plate!

megan in CA

Comments On Jun 14, 2011:Looks awesome Android protects my 450x way better than the stock three piece plastic skid plate. Only complaint was the suplied hangers, way pain in the butt to put on and made sense, I did not use them. Just bolted up to stock holes and it works great. Great buy!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

understated armour

craig in IL

Comments On May 20, 2011:this skid plate is beyond beefy,i should never have an issue with anything getting smashed bashed broken or cracked.my only complaint would be its so sturdy that the wieght is a bit much,now im sniveling.bad-a** protection.now ill have to see what else ricochet carries for my bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CRF450X

Ray in WA

Comments On May 10, 2011:Great fit and finish , ended up testing it's strength on the first ride out after I installed it . Hit a huge rock , and it came away with barely a scratch .
I would get this again for any of my other bikes .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a must have for woods and rocky terrain

george in NY

Comments On May 04, 2011:fits beautifully on kx 250, all holes line up exact. great protection for tree stumps and limbs and big rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

use your protection

Derek in WA

Comments On May 04, 2011:This has been great fits good works good!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does it's job

Curt in MN

Comments On Apr 21, 2011:Skid plate mounting and drain plug holes are perfectly aligned. Easy 5 minute installation on the 2010 Yamaha WR250R. Heavy duty construction and protects the bottom end well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid Plate

John in CA

Comments On Apr 07, 2011:Best price I could find. It's not easy to R&R.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Save your cases, get this skid plate.

Rob in FL

Comments On Apr 11, 2011:Great plate, better price and shipping. Your bike needs this skid plate if you ride off road, it is top quality and easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet

Adam in NY

Comments On Apr 09, 2011:This is a great product and does a good job protecting critical components.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Noisy but tough

Brad in UT

Comments On Apr 06, 2011:This guard is heavy, ugly and rebounds a lot of engine noise back at you but it's the toughest full coverage guard out there. I've seen numerous, sexy carbon fiber guards shattered in desert racing. If your purchasing a skid plate for protection this is the guard. Will also work as a scoop shovel in a pinch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good!

Justin in PA

Comments On Apr 02, 2011:Great fit on my 07 KLX250S. Seems to take the hits pretty good,also makes sitting on bike stand more stable. WILL make you notice engine noises alot more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't beat this price ! CRF450X

Richard in SA

Comments On Mar 30, 2011:Top quality bash plate at a reasonable price. Fit's perfectly 100%. It's done it's job of saving my engine cases a couple of times already.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very nice skid plate

James in MO

Comments On Mar 28, 2011:This plate fits excellent, the hardware was very easy to install and the locknuts on the hardware was a nice touch. Lots better than the one we took off and for a good price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sturdy, Good Covereage, Perfect Fit

KATHLEEN in MO

Comments On Mar 13, 2011:I've bought two of these plates: one for a 2006 DR-Z400 and the other for a 2008 YZ-450F. Both covered the vitals and both fit perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

strong thick

samuel in FL

Comments On Mar 13, 2011:strong thick guard nice fit yz250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good fit and appears to be heavy duty.

Francois in CA

Comments On Feb 15, 2011:At first impression I was surprised how heavy duty it was.
During installation it went on rather easy. I had to loosen the water pump hose clamp and rotate away from the skid plate ear closer to the water pump. The clamps went on really easy.
I would say if the manufacturer drilled some holes on both ears it would probably provide better air ventilation to both side of the engine case and components. Also drilling holes on the bottom would provide drainage...nothing really the bike owner couldn't handle though. Overall, very satified with the product. Thanks RM-ATV for the good service and deal...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Had same one since 2005!

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jan 27, 2011:I have had this on my 2005 YZ250 and then my still owned 2007 YZ250 and have taken literally thousands of hits by rocks and this thing takes it, comes right off for cleaning & oil changes and goes right back on. NO bends. Just remember to use never sieze on the threads each time or it may be on for good.

Was this review helpful?