GPR V4 Fat Bar Stabilizer Kit

Customer Reviews for GPR V4 Fat Bar Stabilizer Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 23 Reviews

Return to GPR V4 Fat Bar Stabilizer Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

GPR V4 Fat Bar Stabilizer Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Crutch Ever!

Sean in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jan 07, 2014:I'll admit it, stabilizers are a crutch. But a damn good one and worth the money. I ride off-road not moto so bar slaps in 5th are pretty sketchy. I love how simple this one is, when at speed i don't want to fuss with multiple adjustments. One knob, good breaking free point and the under bar option is what sold me. I'm a shortish guy 5'8" and the added height did not bother me at all. I've had never had an issue with it and have many many rides/races on this time. GET ONE!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stabilizer does the job.

ROGER in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Dec 27, 2013:My friends all ride with this brand. They are all racers or retired racers in enduros and hare scrambles. Mostly A riders. We ride all over the us.It is adjustable for every type of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great, but needs some maintainance

Scott in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:My GPR worked great for over a year before it leaked and got an air pocket in it. I sent it back to GPR for the free service and then it worked for another year before it needed service again. I've sent it back every year since, and they have great customer service. They even replaced the whole unit because it wasn't lasting long between service at that point. I now bleed it myself instead of having the down time with shipping, etc. I've now switched it over to my 2012, but it only fit because I kept my '08 triple clamps.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Makes high speeds easier, worst instructions ever

Justin in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Aug 10, 2013:The previous owner swapped my 09 top triple clamp for 06-08 style. So $100 later for used one off ebay and I was able to install this. and take it off and reinstall it multiple times. Instructions were put together by a fifth grader. For the money it costs they should be better. A video from RMMC would also be nice. Riding with this was very nice. I never had to adjust it past the number 4 setting. I really enjoyed riding with this product. 5 Stars for performance. 1 Star for instructions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GPR V4

TIM in GA

Comments On Dec 04, 2012:I would highly recommend this stabilizer. You can ride much faster and still feel planted.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great fit

Michael in PA

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:Fits great and does its job. Also much cheaper than a scotts and some other comparable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fit great!

Tom in AB

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:This was easy to mount, took about 1hr. You only need to take the top triple clamp off, make sure there is something under the wheel so it doesn't fall.
Totally calmed down the busy bars of this bike.
2008 KTM 450 XC-F

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does the job

Jay in QLD

Comments On Mar 21, 2012:Only problem I'm having the the KTM300 is the throttle cable hooks on the adjuster knob when turning the bars right.
The dampener does it's job for a simple dampener, so I'm happy. Good bang for buck.
Make sure you use locktite when screwing the dampener down, you won't quite get a hex-key into the holes to tighten them with the bars on (with fat bars).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

the best thing i ever bought EVER!!

christopher in OK

Comments On Mar 07, 2012:i hated when my dirt bike's front tire would knife or when going through the whoops my bike would be unstable, its hard getting over the price but you will never wana ride without one when you do

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Holy crap, I had no idea what a difference!

Adam in UT

Comments On Jun 16, 2011:All I can say is wow... It felt kind of weird at first having resistance against the steering but once I got out on the trails and dunes I was converted completely. Clearly the BEST performance addition I have ever made to my bike (CRF 450R).
That being said, yes as noted, the instructions for this kit leave a little to be desired in the clarity dept (meaning they lump all the special circumstances for every bike manufacturer into the instructions together, which makes it very confusing), they also need much better pictures. But in the end I used my little brain, read them a couple times and figured it out. The fit and install was perfecto, could not ask for better quality than this.
Riding was dramatically changed, following marshmellow sand ruts at the dunes was eased tremendously. Trail riding on hardpacked ruts and rocks got so much easier to control. Busy arms are a thing of the past. I rode with it set to #2 at first now ride mostly at #4 now that I know how to have the whole zen thing going with it.
If I could give it 6 stars I would, and thank you to all the other reviewers whose input caused me to give this thing a chance in the first place!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GPR Stabilizer

PAUL in CA

Comments On Mar 30, 2011:Installation was simple and everything matched up perfectly. Works great on the track and in the desert! Adjust on the fly worked flawless! I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

KATHLEEN in MO

Comments On Feb 22, 2011:I've used Scotts dampers for years, but wanted an underbar mount that was lower. I was not dissapointed in the fitment or performance of this damper. 2008 YZ450F

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bars Too Busy

Cody in UT

Comments On Jan 13, 2011:The bars were way to busy for me almost unbearable to ride. Bought this and problem solved. Little pricing at first but worth every penny. Wont ride without one again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Minor Mods required for install

ROGER in NV

Comments On Sep 08, 2010:I love my GPR stablizer, but the install required some tweeking. Had to leave off the fuel tank bracked at the top of the tank because with the GPR kit there wasn't room to have both.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love it

Gary in NV

Comments On Jun 29, 2010:I was saving for a sup. mod and was told by others from my club to try the GPR 1st . It was easy to install no grinding like the other type it was made to fit rite on . took the bike out for a 40 mile ride and love the way the bike works . now i have more money to spend on other things i want. start here 1st.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

07 YZ250F

Patrick in OH

Comments On Jan 13, 2010:Intructions sucked of course but you really dont need them its kinda common sence. the only thing I didnt like about it was the mounting bolts they took allen wrenches...i just cant wait for the snow to melt so i can test it out

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

PAUL in CA

Comments On Nov 16, 2009:The GPR stabilizer is an great product and comes as a complete kit. The instructions suck! They are just way to vague and lack the information needed. A call to GPR with any questions will get you on track, they are great to deal with. I especially like how this unit only raises the bars 3/8" You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just what my KTM needed

TIMOTHY in AZ

Comments On Oct 06, 2009:One of my bikes is a 08 KTM 200XCW that was a little too busy for my liking in the sandy areas and through the washes here in the desert. Awhile back I had put a Scotts on one of my 4 strokes and was really pleased with the improvement that it made. So, I decided to try a stabilizer on the KTM. When I saw the GPR V4 setup offered at Rocky Mountain for a really good price, I thought I would give it a go. Like reported in the other reviews, the instructions do leave a bit to be desired. However, a call to GPR answered all of my questions. The guys there are a good group that really know what's up. The installation was painless and straightforward and only took about 20 minutes. Also included with the stabilizer is neat billet cable guide for the throttle cable for my model of bike. The fit and finish of the whole setup is first rate. But most of all, the difference it made to my bike is outstanding. This bike is so much more stable, and planted feeling, and less fatiguing to ride, that it's unbelivable. This is without a doubt the best improvement that could possibly be made to this motorcycle. I doubt I can say enough good about what the GPR V4 did for this KTM. Let me assure you, that if you get one, you won't be disappointed. Plus, unlike my other stabilizer, GRP will service this for free for as long as I own it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

04 crf250r

Matt in UT

Comments On Jul 06, 2009:The other reviews are not joking the instructions really suck!!! stabilizer and bar mounts worked perfect, the ring that goes on under the triple clamp, i had to grind down cause my steering was binding on it and the stem that goes into the steering stabilizer would not fit in its slot so i also had to grind it out a very small amount to make it work properly. Once i got it on though it has been the best thing i have ever bought for my bike!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great stabilizer

Steven in TX

Comments On May 11, 2009:Great product, but the installation instructions could use some work. If the instructions are unclear to you, dont waste your time trying to figure it out. Pick up the phone and call GPR. I called and got Randy at GPR, and he had me sorted out in about 3 minutes. Excellent customer support.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product!

Jason in UT

Comments On Apr 28, 2009:This product has been great. I don't think I would ever ride without one again. It makes a huge difference. I installed this on a 2008 CRF450R. Fit's great. Instructions were not very clear...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best purchase I ever made

clint in TN

Comments On Apr 14, 2009:I love this stabilizer. Works excellent. My bike is stable at all speeds. I will never go without one.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Works great, install questionable

STEVE in CA

Comments On Apr 02, 2009:My CRF250X kit came with the wrong post mount and wrong bolts that go from under the triple clamp into the handlebar clamp. The post mount fit very poorly around the head tube so the long bolts rubbed on the post mount when turned in both directions. The installation instructions are worthless and missed a lot of details. After discussing the matter with GPR, they sent me the correct post mount and bolts (no charge). The fitment was improved about 85%. Now the right side bolt slightly rubs on the post mount when turned completely to the right. The person I spoke to at GPR stated that Honda CRF frame specs can vary 1-3mm so the GPR kits won't all fit perfectly (hmmmmm). Despite all the drama with the post mount, the GPR stabilizer and handlebar clamp are fantastic. The sub-mount system is very compact and hidden under the handlebar. Comes with a large 8-position adjustment knob, tank strap (for CRF "X") and GPR bar pad. With the RM $100 coupon I saved a lot versus purchasing a Scott's kit from BRP.

Was this review helpful?