Primary Drive Steel Kit & X-Ring Chain

Customer Reviews for Primary Drive Steel Kit & X-Ring Chain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 50 Reviews

Return to Primary Drive Steel Kit & X-Ring Chain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Primary Drive Steel Kit & X-Ring Chain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

cant beat the price and quality

Helmut in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 200 EXC

Comments On Jul 30, 2014:this is the 5 set and i keep buying for me and my mates.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

James in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Feb 17, 2014:Run these on the 2st and 4st. I race cross country so a few pounds saved on an aluminum sprocket that is smoked after a handfull of races compared to a chain/sprocket kit that lasts nearly two seasons and holds up to the conditions.... No brainer. I used to buy expensive chains and renthal aluminum sprockets with the steel teeth, never again. Now I get to replace my tires as often as I want, bigger difference then a pound and a half of weight savings. And the gold chains look really nice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Long lasting

Jarrod in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 09, 2014:I bought this setup for my 450 when I first bought it. Since then I've logged over 30 hours on my bike. I use Bel Ray chain lube before every ride and properly clean the chain every ride. Haven't noticed any stretching or abnormal wear. Both sprockets look great still. I use the bike like it's meant to be ridden and this affordable setup holds up great. I even bought a set for my back up bike and most certainly will order another setup when these wear out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just as good as the name brands.

TRAVIS in NC

Comments On Feb 02, 2014:I only use Primary Drive sprockets and never have any issues. Great Value!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Value---Does the job

Cody in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA TTR250

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:All Steel for rugged durability and for a great price. Primary Drive chain and sprocket sets are a great choice for replacement parts for a good price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great stuff

DANIEL in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 KTM 520 EXC 4 Stroke

Comments On Aug 26, 2013:Bought the primary drive set a few years ago and am still running it today. Lots of hard trail miles and it rarely needs an adjustment. the x ring Chain is great and doesn't stretch, even on a big thumper. the Front sprocket works good but is a little bit soft, but for the amount of miles i have on it, it's really working good. Back sprocket i can't say much for as i upgraded it when i bought the set to an ultralight steel version. Overall this is the best value in chain and sprockets out there and the performance rivals name brands. thanks RM!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price Great products

Terry in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jul 02, 2013:I thought that this price for what you get is amazing i love this kit i will definitely be buying this kit again when i need a new set.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great procut Great price.

James in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On May 13, 2013:This kit is great. You don't have to remove or add any links to the chain. This chain is heavy duty and holds up great. The teeth on the sprockets hold up great as long as you maintain proper chain slack. I highly recommend this set up. l

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

its good

Scotty in SC

Comments On Apr 17, 2013:this is a good chain, not much stretching holding up good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You can't go wrong with this product

richard in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 200 XC

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:For the money this is the best buy you can get. I've used this several times and never had a problem with the chain or sprockets. The x-ring chain only needs adjusted after the first ride, then it is good for most of its life. Its also last a long time. If you want to save money and are not sure, this is your ticket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome package

Tim in NC

Comments On Jan 01, 2013:Great quality for a great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great set of sprockets and chain

Nick in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 KTM 300 EXC

Comments On Dec 16, 2012:This kit is the way to go. Steel sprockets and a bullet proof chain that will last for many miles. All at RM pricing. Did not even have to adjust it after our first 30 mile ride. I am impressed. Will buy again for our other bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

since last November

DENNIS in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 HONDA TRX 300EX

Comments On Nov 22, 2012:overall the kit has preformed nicely, both sprockets are still in nice shape with little wear, but i do recommend that you grease the chain before every ride. ( rusts and locks very easly) will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent chain

Koby in NE

Comments On Sep 10, 2012:Great chain for the money! This thing didnt stretch a bit and the sprockets last a long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great price

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 28, 2012:and very durable

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great combo price

Josh in WA

Comments On Jul 19, 2012:I think replacing the chain and both sprockets all at the same time is the only way to go. An old chain will eat a new sprocket fast. The steel sprocket is great, but I've since swithed to Rocky's aluminum sprocket because of the big weight savings.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Chain.

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Jun 20, 2012:Installed on a 04 WR450. I have used this brand before and the chain works well. Would purchase again and would recommend to friend.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chain broke in less than 100 miles

GREGORY in AZ

Comments On May 01, 2012:This chain broke on my 2001 Suzuki DRZ400E. I had less than 100 mile on it and it broke in several sections. The side links broke in at least 5 seperate places. The chain flew off and punched a hole in my engine case. I was lucky that I was not hurt in this incident. I had put a Primary Drive O ring chain and sprocket kit on a Raptor 660 and it held up great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks Good

DON in CT

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:Fast shipping, they look pretty good, hopefully it lasts as well as it looks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic price, great longevity!!

Josh in NY

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:Has held up just fine on my KX250 two-stroke - still going strong after a season's worth of MX and East Coast trail riding. Can't beat that price!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT!!!

Jesse in MN

Comments On Nov 09, 2011:I got this for my 04 cr125 raced all year never had to adjust the chain once!!! its great. never had one problem with it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain broke after 4 months.

DYLAN in AZ

Comments On Sep 14, 2011:I purchased this combo for my YZ450 and it seemed to work well. The chain did not stretch very much and as far as I could tell, everything was fine. After about 4 months of use, the chain broke during normal use and left me stranded in the desert! It did not break at the master link either, which might be forgiveable. I would not buy another Primary Drive chain, but I have bought another primary drive sprocket since then.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quality

Tony in VIC

Comments On Sep 15, 2011:This is holding up really well and was so easy to install. Very happy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Chain Kit

Sean in WI

Comments On Aug 31, 2011:I've ran all of last winter on the ice and a hand full of times this summer, no issues!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good

clifford in OK

Comments On Jul 13, 2011:I installed the kit a couple of weeks ago. Went for a trail ride and it needed no adjustment, then I went race practicing last weekend, rode hard for a few hours still doesn't need adjusting. I will update in a couple of weeks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great deal for you $

Neil in UT

Comments On Jul 12, 2011:The xring chain along with the steel sprockets will last you alot longer than aluminum

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Steel Kit with X Ring Chain

Shaun in NC

Comments On May 28, 2011:I used this kit on my built TRX416EX that ran really well, and I beat the crap out of that quad twice a week usually in extremely rough NE rocky woods. I immediately cleaned the factory "glue" lube off and soaked the chain in used motor oil as this is how I have always lubed my chains anyways. I bought a clip style link seperately from Rocky Mountain. The front sprocket fit properly with no tolerance issues, rear as well. Chain length was proper according to chart. When I am done riding I would spray the chain with power clean and pressure wash the mud and grit off, then I would remove the chain and soak it in my old motor oil bin until next ride. Install and ride. In 2 years the chain NEVER needed adjustment. I wore out 4 sets of rear brakes, and 3 sets of axle bearings and the chain never stretched, and the sprockets never showed any wear. I maintained my Renthal components the same way and they didnt last as long. Of course that was an aluminum rear sprocket though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy

Shawn in MI

Comments On Apr 30, 2011:Easy to install, parts fit exactly like O.E.M. chain & sprockets seem to be sturdy. I am very happy so far!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Steel Kit & X-Ring Chain

Jason in KS

Comments On Apr 21, 2011:Silky Smooth, Nice Sprockets & Chain, Good Quality Parts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doing Great!

Richard in OR

Comments On Nov 18, 2010:I've been using this chain/sprocket combo for almost 2 years in lots of sand. They've held up great. Haven't even had to adjust the chain since the first ride.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Holding up good

Connor in PA

Comments On Sep 20, 2010:Its holding up good and for the price you cant beet it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product, great value!

DAVID in CA

Comments On Jul 04, 2010:The Primary drive steel sprocket & x-ring chain kit is a high-quality final drive kit with incredible value. Sure the steel sprockets are heavier than aluminum alloy, but the steel parts far outlast the aluminum. So if durable components are more important than saving a few ounces, you can't go wrong with this kit. And the price is unbelievable. Highly recommended!
If you are re-gearing and not ordering the stock size sprockets, make sure to get the correct length chain. It's always better to go too long than too short with the chain because you can always remove a couple links instead of having to buy a whole new chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Strong Chain

Corban in PA

Comments On Apr 04, 2010:The chain is stiff at first but once broken in it is very good. The only problem is that the teeth on the ft. sprocket are flexing, other than that everything else is good.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent chain

MICHAEL in FL

Comments On Sep 02, 2009:I had my last X-ring on 06 CRF450 for a yr and decided to replace it not because it was worn, but because who keeps a chain and sprocket for a year. Anyway always wanted a gold racing chain cause it sounded cool, and it streched out in no time. The X-ring and steel strockets are the way to go. I just put a set on my 06 cr250 2 stroke and love it. Excellent quality and unbelievable value. Rocky Mountain rules!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Quality

In Touch in MI

Comments On Mar 19, 2009:For the price you can't go wrong. My brother bought some off brand chain/sprockets and they are wearing in less then a year. This chain hasn't even streched one bit.
Good buy.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Impressed

NICHOLAS in NY

Comments On Jan 26, 2009:I have bought a few of these chains for my different quads over the years. Have to say I was quite surprised with the durability and life span of them...great price for a great part!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GrEat UpgrAde

LANDON in MT

Comments On Jul 07, 2008:this is a great item, very satisfied

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Deal

MICHAEL in FL

Comments On May 18, 2008:Doesn't need a lot of adjusment over time. Has a lot of drag(robs power) and needs to be dried after washing or will surface rust. I'll probably go back to the standard(no o-ring) primary drive chain next time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

overkill

TIM in OR

Comments On May 02, 2008:On a 402ex in the sand dunes you'll wearout the sprockets LONG before this chain begins to show any significant wear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

x-chain

MARK in MA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:very good deal for this kit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Second time buyer with Primary Gear

DOUGLAS in CA

Comments On Feb 20, 2008:It's a good factory replacement. Lasts as long as any other steel sprockets and X/O Rings. Keep the chain lubricated after washing or it will surface corrode. Good dollar saver. I refuse to pay big bucks for wear items and these last as long as many others. Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good deal

TRACY in AZ

Comments On Feb 09, 2008:sprockets fit perfectly and everything has been durable. chain still looking new.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Simple no frills

KEVIN in CA

Comments On Feb 01, 2008:This set was perfect for my LT250R restoration. fit was perfect and they are still working perfectly a year later.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Buy

MIKE in CO

Comments On Jan 29, 2008:Installed this kit on my CRF over a year ago, heavier than stock aluminum sprockets and chain, but haven't even had to readjust for chain stretch yet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

FRANCISCO A in AZ

Comments On Dec 24, 2007:great price,high quality

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the $$

CHRIS in CA

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:For the price this is a solid product and gets the job done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This Product was great

ZACH in IN

Comments On Nov 01, 2007:The shipping was fast. The product was great. I haven't had any problems with it. thanks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great item for the price

MATTHEW in CT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:The chain in this kit seems excellent, the sprockets are nothing special, but get the job done. I haven't streched this chain yet on my 250r, so its all good to me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Still in use

JASON in OR

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great price on the package. All parts seem to be wearing well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Deal

DAVID in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007: This is a good deal. Quality stuff for a good price.

Was this review helpful?