Tusk Crank Puller/Installer Tool

Customer Reviews for Tusk Crank Puller/Installer Tool

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 68 Reviews

Return to Tusk Crank Puller/Installer Tool Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Crank Puller/Installer Tool Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A++++

Tabitha in AL

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:Great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool!

TIMOTHY in VA

Comments On Jul 03, 2014:This tool worked very good on the flywheel side. Since Kawasaki decided to use a snap ring to hold the main gear, I had to also purchase the adapter and since it was a small crank I had to use the stock snap ring. While it did pull the crank in, it destroyed the snap ring. It could have been something I did wrong and I don't necessarily blame the tool. I think it is more an issue with Kawi design. Go ahead and order a replacement main gear snap ring if you plan to use it on a small Kawi.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool

Bob in BC

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:Worked as described, good quality threads etc. pressed just fine in our little KX65

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WIll NOT work on primary gear side of KX250F!

Joseph in VT

Comments On Jan 09, 2014:This is a great tool for the $$, but the 07-09 kx250f (and more years I would imagine) there is no piece provided to use on the primary gear side (left hand thread), meaning you have to use the primary gear nut. however, there is not enough space to thread on the primary gear nut over the nut for the crank puller. this is a great tool but I wish I would have known before purchasing. TECH NOTE: ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS HAVE BEEN INCLUDED FOR MACHINES THAT THIS TOOL WONT WORK ON THE PRIMARY GEAR SIDE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works like a charm.

Bill in MD

Comments On Jan 06, 2014:No problem using this tool!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works Great

SHANE L. in KS

Comments On Nov 18, 2013:This is a great tool for the home garage. It was much easier then the freeze/heat method, and hope it gets installed before it sticks. I used it on a '03 KX65. If you take a ASE washer and file it to fit inside the collar adapter. Then file and bevel the inside hole to fit the crankshaft. You can reinstall the original snap ring and pull the crankshaft/ engine case together.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy tool

jayce in TX

Comments On Nov 06, 2013:makes putting cases back together a dream

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked fine

Brian in CA

Comments On Oct 26, 2013:No issues with tool. Would be nice if it was $40.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Crank Puller/Installer Tool

Emmanuel in CA

Comments On Sep 14, 2013:I used this for my bottom end rebuild and it made it way easier

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked perfect

Phillip in MS

Comments On Aug 12, 2013:If you are going to do a bottom-end rebuild I highly recommend this tool, it makes the job alot easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I love tusk!!

MARK in MI

Comments On Jul 22, 2013:This tool is a life saver! If you are rebuilding a motor this is a must! Thanks RM!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Jason in SK

Comments On Jun 18, 2013:A must have even if your only doing one rebuild! wicked quality and value in TUSK products! sure beats ruining your crank by pounding it in, versus sucking it in the proper way with this tool, worked on both my 2-stroke CR85 and 4-Stroke YZ250F.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

what took me so long

Timothy in MI

Comments On Jun 01, 2013:no more heat & beat to fit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get it done

FRANK in TX

Comments On May 28, 2013:This product worked without a hitch. I will continue to use all of their tools. I have purchased four different tools and all have preformed well not to mention how I enjoy saving money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked great

Joshua in NB

Comments On May 21, 2013:This item works great for pulling cranks into their case however be careful when using the C-Clip adapter as I had problems with it.
Good item to have so you can save money if you rebuild your own bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good but need more adaptors

John in Virginia

Comments On May 20, 2013:Well made tool but needs to come with more adaptors. This tool will not work on the clutch side of the RM 85. It requires a left hand thread.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dont use a Hammer !!! Buy the right tools

Neal in ON

Comments On Feb 24, 2013:I had to do a full engine rebuild on a 04 yz and this tool was worth every dime. Worked great had no issues and very well constructed very happy!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as it should

Jeff in MI

Comments On Feb 15, 2013:Works very good, makes the process much easier

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWSOMENESS!

Paul in UT

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:This tool saved the day! makes quick work of pulling and especially installation of cranks! Love it, I would definately recommend!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Right tool for the right job.

KEVIN & JULIE in UT

Comments On Jan 02, 2013:Don't screw up expensive parts by jimmy rigging tools. (Sorry Jimmy!) Do it once, do it right with the right parts and tools.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well but needs improvement.

Ed in California

Comments On Dec 07, 2012:I rebuilt my 2012 RMZ450 using this tool.
Works well on the ignition side case but doesn't come with an adapter for the left hand threads on the clutch side. I had to grind/modify the adapter end so I could thread the primary gear nut on and use it to pull the case on to the crank. If it came with a left hand adapter I'd rate the tool 5 star.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

crank puller

LARRY in IN

Comments On Oct 05, 2012:works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid

DEAN in CA

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:my honda crf 250r 2010 crank came out without using this tool. So its unused still in box. But instead of sending it back I am keeping it. May come in handy and built well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool.

CARMINE in CA

Comments On Sep 03, 2012:Works just as I expected. Could not have worked any better. Love tusk tools.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pull

Michael in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:this worked perfect.It's hard to believe Tusk is so inexpensive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Tool

William in NY

Comments On Jul 19, 2012:Good tool for the money, comes in handy with many things not only crank installing! (EX: Great to pull out carbon covered exhaust valve stem from cr125's!!)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk-Crank-Puller-Installer-Tool

Ron in TN

Comments On Jul 16, 2012:This tool will ensure that the crank is being pulled in/out at perfect alignment in relation to the bearing. It definitely saves the headache of taking a gamble using makeshift tools that can pull the crank in or out of the main bearing at an off camber and twist the inner race and destroy the new bearing in the application. Don't risk it! Use the right tool - This one is worth it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool

matt in PA

Comments On Jun 29, 2012:amazing tool must have if you plan to do alot of rebuilds

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Randy in NY

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:The puller worked great. Just wish it came with the adapter for the right side of the crank so you could pull it into both sides not just the left.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality

Christiaan in CO

Comments On Apr 15, 2012:This little (not so little) is built like a German tank. It will never break on you and is essential to getting out the crank/bearings.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works, but could be improved

Brian in NSW

Comments On Mar 31, 2012:I wish I could give this product a five star rating. The product worked ok with installing the crankshaft into the left hand side crankcase, however I found two things that need improvement. Firstly, the bolt that threads into the crankshaft does not fit well into the coupler. I purchased 3 washers to use with the bolt so that it fitted properly into the coupler. Secondly, when turning the puller nut, the pulling shaft started to rotate also. I fixed this problem by using the two steel bars that came with the tool, however it would be better if a spanner could be attached to the pulling shaft to stop it from rotating. Despite these two problems, the tool worked well in helping me rebuild my engine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

must have for bottem end rebuild

richard in RI

Comments On Jan 27, 2012:good to have will save u hundreds in mechanic bills

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I am all split up!

Angel in TN

Comments On Dec 21, 2011:Best tool since the screwdriver!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

Davin in MN

Comments On Sep 03, 2011:Worked perfect! comes with adapters for multiple sized cranks. Very heavy duty and looks good too. Pulls the crank in nice and straight with little effort. It will be one of the best tools you will ever buy, just like all the other Tusk brand tools. Buy it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

cant go wrong!

Larry in IA

Comments On Aug 22, 2011:The crank puller worked like a dream!! I'm not sure how you would be able to remove the crank without this tool?? Well worth the $$

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

would not recomend

James in NY

Comments On Aug 15, 2011:This tool requires the aid of a soft face hammer. The adapter for a 250 kxf crank is not included and doesent exist. I had to use a hammer to install due to the fact it is not compatible with my bike.
TECH NOTE: DOES NOT WORK ON 2009 KXF 250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool

Lincoln in NSW

Comments On Aug 07, 2011:works perfectly and well worth the money, exactly the same as others that are twice the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tools make the job easy

Allan in WA

Comments On Aug 02, 2011:I used this tool on my 2007 KX250 and it worked perfectly. There is no simpler way to install the crank that I've found - even freezing the crank and heating the cases is harder to do than to use this tool. Great to see it also came with 2 steel bars to put accross the case if the case surface wasn't suitable for contact with the tool. Well made, great price and just so easy to use!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tool ever made!!!!

Mike in CA

Comments On Jun 24, 2011:An absolute must for installing cranks. OE ones cost like $400!! Thank you Tusk for making this tool! it works perfectly. I have used it on half a dozen bikes with ease!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Gear

Keith in NSW

Comments On Jun 19, 2011:This is a great product, even came with barstock to enable seating the crank into bearing on YZ 125. One critisism, however is that it did not come with a bolt small enough to fit inside the flywheel end of the HotRods crank for my YZ 125, and had to find my own before I could finish the job.
TECH NOTE: THE TOOL COMES WITH AN ADAPTOR THAT ATTACHES TO THE EXTERNAL THREADS ON THE CRANK FOR A YZ125
Additional Comments On Jun 21, 2011:A correction to my review: the smaller of the two bolts did not fit into the clutch side of the crank (internal thread).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product...

Brian in NH

Comments On May 24, 2011:Easy to use, makes pulling the crank back into the case a breeze. If you do engine work you need one of these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tool

Mike in AB

Comments On Apr 19, 2011:Everbody needs one of these in there tool box!!! makes installing cranks simple.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very nice tool

MATTHEW in IN

Comments On Mar 12, 2011:Works very well on my CR250 engine

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked Great

BRANDON in MI

Comments On Feb 28, 2011:Just rebuilt the top and bottom end of my '01 Cr250. This tool worked great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works

brian in MA

Comments On Jan 26, 2011:I think the TUSK brand is really putting out some great tools and hardware! This tool is no different.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent tool for the money

James in NV

Comments On Jan 26, 2011:This tool is adjustable although hard to see from the picture. It works great and makes splitting the case of 2 and 4 stroke motors easy. also great for removing the crankshaft. great tool at a lower cost

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works like a charm!

David in CO

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Great product - wouldn't have been able to complete the rebuild without it. Solid tool and a great price what else can you ask for?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Brett in SC

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:Have used more than once for rebuilds, quality tool for a great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

superb

stacy

Comments On Nov 22, 2010:i first saw this tool being used on the rocky mountain youtube videos,that was it i had to have one,trouble is in the uk i could not find it,so i used rocky mountain for the 1st time i could not belive how fast it arrived at my door in the uk,and was a breeze to install my yz250 crank this is a must have when doing bottom ends.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

must have for bottom end rebuild

Josh in GA

Comments On Nov 11, 2010:this tool is amazing at what it is designed to do and it is reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great value and producdt

terry in IA

Comments On Nov 09, 2010:Great value and producdt

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

kenneth in ME

Comments On Nov 01, 2010:works good...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Jimmy in CT

Comments On Oct 19, 2010:I couldn't have done my bottom end without this tool. And since it's a Tusk tool it has awesome quality at an even better price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

TIM in CO

Comments On Aug 19, 2010:This tool is excellent I was able to get the crankshaft installed in 5 minutes. The application I used it for was a KLX 110.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

montana in CA

Comments On Jul 24, 2010:Just used it on my '06 rm125. THANK YOU

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Makes the job easy

Toby in TX

Comments On May 17, 2010:great tool, used it once so far. Did the job as it should with no hesitation. But dang kawasaki for putting splines one of the ends of the crank.
Freeze, heat, grease... nope..., Freeze, heat, grease... nope... Freeze, heat, grease... nope... , FREEEEZE!!!, heat, grease... Yesssss!!...(use dry ice)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quality

Shannon in CA

Comments On Mar 16, 2010:I wasn't sure of the quality of the tusk brand but the price was right. I bought several tusk tools and was very impressed with them all worked great !!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Mike in CT

Comments On Feb 12, 2010:

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

08 yz250f

Chris in CA

Comments On Jul 11, 2009:FYI it does not work on the clutch side of an 08 yz250f :-(

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool!! Great price!!

Shane in NC

Comments On Aug 28, 2009:When I received this tool I was very surprised. It is a good quality, heavy duty part that works very well. In the past I would heat the bearings and freeze the crank which takes about 2 hours. With this tool I can easily install the crank in under 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best thing I ever bought

BRIAN in KY

Comments On Aug 20, 2009:This tool is awesome. Well built and sturdy. I did have to improvise on the KX100 due to the left hand threads. Flipped actual nut over and voila. Worth every penny. No freezing cranks whereas you get moisture. I love it and I'm very meticulous about tools.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Tool

Roger in SC

Comments On Feb 25, 2009:This is a nice tool. I kept mine, but make sure it will connect to both sides of your crank via threads. It will not on a 1998 KX250. On the side with threads the tool worked perfectly

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tool

TODD in IA

Comments On Dec 01, 2007:This tool worked great. Installed crank into case halves without using a press and crankshaft jig. No need to worry about the crank halves being forced together during installation of the crank.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool & Great Service

William in NY

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Tool is awesome - a real life saver. Easy to use and versitile - at an equally awesome price and backed by that uniquely amazing and greatly appreciated RM ATV customer service!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Crank Puller

AARON in ID

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Love It The Only Way To Install CrankSaft A++

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

SWEET TOOL!!!!

KENNETH in WV

Comments On Oct 23, 2007: I WAS SCEPTACLE AT FIRST BUT IT BEAT THE PRICE OF BUYING A HYDRALIC PRESS SO I ORDERED IT AND IT WAS HERE IN 3 DAYS VERY NICE SHIPPING! IT WAS AS EASY TO USE AS THREADING A NUT. IT WAS VERY EFFORTLESS ALMOST HARD TO BELIEVE HOW EASY IT WAS TO INSTALL THE CRANK INTO BOTH CASE HALVES OF MY KX125. THANKS RM FOR ANOTHER HIGH QUALLITY TOOL! - KEN

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Dennis in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Easy to use and works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sweet!!

Tyler in IA

Comments On Oct 18, 2007:I love this tool. If you split an engine case you have to have it if you want the engine back together correctly. the tool from Yamaha is over $300. Not only was the functionality a life saver, but so was the price.

Was this review helpful?