Rekluse Z-Start Pro Automatic Clutch

Customer Reviews for Rekluse Z-Start Pro Automatic Clutch

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 43 Reviews

Return to Rekluse Z-Start Pro Automatic Clutch Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Rekluse Z-Start Pro Automatic Clutch Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I love this thing

Henry in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 09, 2014:I have always had great lever control, and this clutch wasn't something that was going to make me faster . After getting used to the new YZ 450 feel I have to say it is much more fun to ride. you loose some hit but gain in technical climbs and sections.
you'll have to work on throttle control; however. you can still flame out under load if you blip the throttle hard. you will have to be prepared to try a few settings until you find the sweet spot but this is super easy.
I wish I would haave tried this on my 2 stroke...
SETUP 11 yz450 , FW weight, injectioneering TB mod..... 13-50 SSPROCKETS , DIRT RIDER MAP...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pretty cool

Joe in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Apr 10, 2014:this is a really cool piece of equiptment for my bike. kind of expensive but worth every penny. no more stalling out. EVER. no more feathering the clutch. I never have to touch the clutch lever while riding if I don't want to. you can idle in gear with your hands off the bars and it will move if you apply the throttle if not it will idle. BUT even if you leave it in gear the machine acts like it is in neutral, so don't park on a hill and make sure your machine is strapped down good. also you lose the ability to bump start it, but hey ive got electric start so who cares! awesome awesome awesome

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

EPIC

MATTHEW in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Jan 22, 2014:Yes its cheating. No I don't care. Seriously one of the best things I've ever done for my bike. The clutch is just like a normal clutch above 2500 rpms or so. Pull the lever, or don't, up to you. Below 2500 the clutch takes care of itself. On slow and technical trails, its an amazing addition. Hit that rut and bike suddenly stopped? No prob the engine is still running. Yeah the price is high, but once you run it you'll wish you'd bought one years ago.
Also, major props to Rekluse's customer service. Called them up when I dropped a 565 into my 450 and they were very knowledgeable and helpful. Got 6 tungsten balls and just like the Tech at Rekluse said, I have the exact same feel that I had on my 450.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still running strong.

Brian in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Sep 12, 2013:Ive now had the rekluse for 2 years now. still works great no internal damage at all. 350 hours no complaints. flip the bike going up a hill bike tumbles down lands upside down.... roll down after at pick it up still running down shift and go, cant beat it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I'll never be without one on a dual sport bike

CLINTON C in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Aug 31, 2013:Had one on Husky TE610 and loved it. Three 80+ mile DualSPorts, dozens of single track riding days, plenty of shifting with and without clutch lever, and the end gap (friction disks) is virtually unchanged from measurement after installation (0.040 at install, and between 0.041 & 0.042 now). It has 0.008 to go before installing the included "wear plate" to get 0.015 back! It gives full engine braking, but disengages when I want to lock and slid the rear into a turn. Clutch lever is still fully functional, and I use it most of the time to keep in practice. However, the pull is now VERY easy with one finger. It's nice to have the other three wrapped around the grips! So far it's the best single investment in both bikes.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Incredible!

DAVID in AE – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Aug 01, 2013:My nephew races a Honda TRX 450R and he told me about this clutch. I decided to try it out and see how it might improve my riding. WOW! This thing is awesome. It makes even a mediocre rider like myself a lot better. I can only image what a pro would do with one of these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I didn't like it

Steve in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Jul 27, 2013:Wouldn't give me any play with clutch lever, either on or off. Traded it in for EXP, $300 cheaper and works perfect !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I dont know how I lived without it!

Dave in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS OUTLAW 525 IRS

Comments On May 31, 2013:This was BY FAR the best upgrade to my bike. Shifting is smooth. Adjustability is great. No more messing with the clutch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Still Having Fun

Lamar in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On May 12, 2013:After not riding for 30 years, I got back into the sport. I was ready to give up until I read about the Rekluse. This thing eliminates stalls, arm pump, and gives you just the right amount of traction in all situations. Although a bit pricey, it was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Auto clutch

Michael in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:What a Great product. The Rekluse auto z clutch is like having traction control on my dirt bike. As a new rider in the woods, this has given me confidence in almost every situation. Its a great advantage to not have to worry about grabbing the clutch at times and allows me to focus on the million other aspects of riding hard. Not to mention its nice to not have the bike stall when it does get dropped. I know there are those riders who think its not worth it, well i can say for me its great. Easy to install and have ridden both with it and without it and with another wrist injury, it is allowing me to still ride even though i probably shouldnt. Cuts down on how often i have to grab the clutch, only out of habit now. So if your asking is it worth the money...i think so. Auto z still gives my bike a stock clutch feel and give me the choice of using it or not...buy one they are Great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2005 CRF250R

Phillip in AL

Comments On Oct 23, 2012:My reflexes are not like they used to be (at 47), but this makes brake sliding turns easy! I do a lot of woods riding and hare scrambles and getting around sharp trails is a lot easier. Take your time getting it dialed in and you will be greatly rewarded. You may want to order another cover gasket directly from Rekluse, pending how many times you make adjustments. I experimented a lot over a week's period (8 adjustments) and settled on the heavy spring (fast engagement), with all the SS balls. Hill climbs and dead starts in 2nd are more fun now.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still working out the bugs.

David in BC

Comments On Aug 01, 2012:I have this installed in a 2008 KTM 250sx 2 stroke. I believe the part is the same for 2007 - 2012 or so. They packed the wrong gasket in the box and it took Rekluse 3 weeks to get me a replacement as they sent it USPS regular mail to Canada. Box was opened when I recieved it and it look like someone may have stole the correct gasket.
Setup was a bit of a pain. Started with the recommended settings and have since added all the balls and changed the spring for sharper, faster engagement. I am ordering the heaver ball kit for faster engagement as it still feels too lazy to me. Also tried 3 different oils to try to get it to stop sticking. Belray 80w fixed this issue. I have a bad left hand and this allows me to ride. Works perfect 90% of the time, just like an auto tranny in a car. The other 10% of the time you want to rip it out. If my hand was good, I would just use a clutch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

JAMES in MO

Comments On Apr 05, 2012:My friends said its like cheating. Now i know why. This clutch made me a faster rider overnight. Best money ever spent on my bike! Works flawless. Only complaint is the clutch pull feels different at low rpm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KTM 450 EXC

Brian in NJ

Comments On Mar 26, 2012:I'm lazy... real lazy. I am in love with rekluse. took me about an hour to install. would have been 20 mins but i dident have an impact wrench. now my 04 runs on cupcakes and rainbows. lofts the front end without any pull can stop and go in 3rd gear without stall or grind. im going to have to save up and order 3 more of these bad boys.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

At first I was thinking man!! I wasted $$ then....

Brad in MO

Comments On Mar 13, 2012:Once I got this clutch dialed in right, on my 08 YFZ450 it took the thicker metal plate when you had choice between it and the normal ones. WOW. I have never had problems with clutching, since I have been riding for over 15 years, but this clutch makes me faster, more confiedent, and less wore out after long rides. I have no complaints and plan to buy one for my WR450.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Customer Service!!!

GLADYS in NV

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:Just purchased my first Rekluse clutch, the Z-Start Pro for my 2011 KTM 300XC-W. Ordered it from Rocky Mountain (why would I order anywhere else?) Installation was a breeze until...I discovered I was missing a 1/2" spacer/washer for the throwout bearing. This put the brakes on the project & started a bit of stress momentarily in the garage. After all 3 of my Golden Retrievers evacuated the scene I calmed down & called Rekluse. I left a panicked message on Thursday night. Friday morning a quick follow-up to the message the night before to Rekluse's friendly sales man "Joe" & I had the replacement by 9:00am this morning (Saturday). Stellar customer service Rekluse. Just AWESOME. Thank you all especially Joe! Can't wait to break it in tomorrow in the Reno, Nevada desert!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rekluse Z-Start pro

George in OH

Comments On Feb 05, 2012:Ok Guys, Finally broke down and spent the money. First of all- Watch the Rekluse video BEFORE you install this clutch. I felt the installation instructions were a little vague. However after watching the video it all makes sense. The clutch performs flawlessly after minimal break in. A fantastic addition to any bike. I race harescrambles and can definitely see an improvement in lap times as well as fatigue. I would definitely recomend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rekluse z-start pro

DAVID in CA

Comments On Dec 20, 2011:This clutch and the left hand rear brake kit is great off road combination, Have this set-up on two bikes no problems at all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rekluse miracle clutch

EDWARD in CT

Comments On Nov 29, 2011:Makes riding and racing offroad more fun. Will never go with out one again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outlaw 525

David in WA

Comments On Nov 22, 2011:I cannot say enough good things about Rocky Mountain ATV!!!!! These guys rock!!! Best prices and super fast delivery!!! Awesome products... the Rekluse is the single best thing you can do to enhance your riding pleasure!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Justin in ID

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:This product makes riding more fun. It allows me to race longer without getting arm pump because it is easy to pull in the clutch with one finger if you want to use the lever. Sometimes it causes the bike to stall if you dont use the clutch at all which sucks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Much improved over the original Z-Start!

JAMES in CO

Comments On Aug 31, 2011:Purchased this for my wifes 2007 Yamaha WR250F. Installation was fairly quick and easy, much easier than the 1st generation Z-Start. Function and adjustment are also much better than the original. Engagement and dis-engagement are consistent and smooth and neutral is easy to find. There is also no stupid spring attached to the clutch actuation arm like the old style Z-Start. Very nice product with good product support. Would definately do business with Rekluse again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

can't live without it

CHARLES in IL

Comments On Aug 16, 2011:best thing i have ever bought for my bike lap times improved instantly. every bike i ever own will have one. only draw back you cant bump start the bike, but since it never stalls not that big of a deal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best clutch ever.

cory in IN

Comments On Jul 27, 2011:Its a must have! Woods and motocross.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

kfx 450r

michael in QLD

Comments On Mar 09, 2011:Got this clutch today 9/3/2011 and had it installed in about 2.5hrs.....very good instructions and easy to install. A couple of notes on tools to install....you will need a 32mm socket and preferably an impact gun to get the nut off the stk clutch. My impact crapped itself so I put quad into top gear, adjusted park brake up tight and heated the nut up, I was then able to break it free with breaker bar and socket(clutch holder tool would be handy). You might want to check your stk clutch basket and fibers as these need to be in good condition as you re use these.....z start pro comes with new steels. Also need a torque wrench. It was dark out when I finished the instal so have not had a chance to break it in and ride but will report back when I do. 4 stars for now until I get some ride time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

john in MD

Comments On Feb 28, 2011:wish i could have this on all my bikes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Dan in TX

Comments On Jan 24, 2011:Works flawlessly. KTM250xc I used the high rpm engagement spring and 24ball set up and think it works great. Bought a tusk clutch kit at the same time made, it go together the first time per the directions with out any added adjustment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

this this is pretty awesome

RALPH in CA

Comments On Jan 10, 2011:have it on yz 450, 130 hours on it - on 3rd clutch pack -have not replaced steels. Works great - stock jetting - best to use with aftermarket basket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rekluse z start pro

ALEX in NC

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:i currently have three quads and will not ride or race cross country without a rekluse clutch they a extremely well worth every penny spent for the rekluse.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I've been bitten by the Spider.

Mike in KS

Comments On Aug 18, 2010:Awesome! Best auto clutch around. I have one in my YZ426 and KX450. You won't be disapointed.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Like cheating

Randy in AZ

Comments On Jun 01, 2010:I had fun putting the clutch in. I started with my brand new CRF450x, so the plates and basket were up to spec. I did not find this to be all that hard to install, but I do like to wrench. I am not a professional mechanic though. The engagement is smooth as slik. In the technical sections, hairy climbs and sand corners it is very impressive. I did get the version that allows you to work the clutch lever for standing starts and disengaging the clutch during warmup (high idle). I think it is worth the extra money. If you have a dual-sport, this is a must for your wish list. It is absolute perfection in manufactuing. I have about 800 miles on it and there is no indication of any wear whatsoever. It really is like cheating - no clutch faning, no stalls and predictable operation at all temperatures.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

08 KTM 450 XCF

Lance in CA

Comments On Jan 05, 2010:An awesome invention! Basically a centrifical clutch with adustments and a clutch when you need it. No more stalling, decreases arm pump for me (I'm a mature rider). Absolutely love it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worth every dollar

tony in TX

Comments On Nov 02, 2009:Best thing that I have put on my bike. I had a prof install, alot more complexed than sounded. Works just as stated and has saved me on Rocky climbs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Try it, you won't regret it.

Robert in CO

Comments On Sep 11, 2009:That says it all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Why did I just learn about this?

William T. in CO

Comments On May 18, 2009:I've been riding my yz426f in every kind of terrain over the last 7 years and when I got in the tight, wooded, or rocky stuff I would stall in the worst places. I just installed one of these a week ago and have gone from stalling 3-6 times per 100mi in the single track to just 1 stall in the last week (about 200mi).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YZ450F Trail Bike

EDWARD in WA

Comments On May 08, 2009:A YZ450 is anything but a friendly single track bike. Its rather an un pleasant ride. The Rekluse Pro has made the bike an ultimate trail machine. I bought another for my 250F, and gave my 450 to my kid. This is the best product Ive seen for a motorcycle. Hard to justify, but worth it in the enjoyment youll get riding instead of fighting the tight stuff. Like a gaint xr50 but still has its 450 power and snap.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Best Mod you can buy!!

jason in NC

Comments On Apr 29, 2009:This was a steal for what you get. It also has the best instructions I have ever dealt with. As far as riding I do hare scrambles and moto on an 09 YZ 450, for woods riding it is a must have. You can creep on off camber roots, rocks, slam on the brakes and no stall. You can fan the clutch just like normal, and you can wheelie creeks and logs just the same. The first time I rode with this clutch I got faster as the race went on, and I had no blisters, which is not normal for me. For moto it is great because you can come into a turn, brake really hard and then just kill the throttle. The clutch combined with the power of a 450 does all the work with no excessive wheel-spin. Also you can adjust decompression braking, engagemant speed and hardness to your liking, just awesome sums it up! I used the medium settings as per the instructions and loved the results.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

eric in CO

Comments On Apr 27, 2009:installed it on my crf450. Quality design and function. Everything that I expected and more. Very smooth engagement. Idle adjustment is critical for the ability to prevent stalls and for desired rpm engagement. I set up at medium engage. rpm and hard engage. pressure. I ride tight trails and rocky terrain and this is exactly what I wanted. Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic product

Mark in CA

Comments On Apr 06, 2009:This unit seemed pricey until I installed it on my YFZ450 quad. I immediately found out that it is worth every penny. It gives great starts, allows full brakes into the turns without stalling or using the clutch and clutchless shifts are fast and smooth. Installation was relatively easy with excellent instructions. The only down sides are no more bump starts and the quad will roll when parked, even while in gear. All-in-all, a great deal.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'm sold....

JASON in AZ

Comments On Nov 17, 2008:after just a few rides with this thing i can't believe it took me so long to get one. very easy install and incredible performance out in the dez in any situation.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

crf250r rekluse pro

JOHN in TX

Comments On Nov 01, 2008:Since my bike is a kick start 4 stroke motocross bike (CRF250R), I bought this clutch to eliminate stalling while racing long distance enduros. I have raced 4 enduros since installing the clutch and I have never stalled the engine during the combined 16+ hours of intense offroad racing. It is an absolute life saver. As an added benefit, it makes hill climbing, super tight trails, etc. a whole lot easier. I cannot imagine not having this clutch now that I have experienced it first hand.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 23 people found this review helpful.

quick question

TERRANCE in NJ

Comments On Dec 25, 2007:i'm more of a stunt rider and i would like to know if you can clutch wheelie with this system

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best Purchase Yet!

James in TN

Comments On Dec 05, 2007:This clutch works great for XC racing! Helps so much it should be illegal!

Was this review helpful?